Ideally located, Villa katerina with salted Heated pool,to explore West Crete!

Ideally located, Villa katerina with salted Heated pool,to explore West Crete! Reviews

Excellent rating
5.0
105 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (105)
Kerrie C.
Kerrie C.
2023.08.20
Verified
Beautiful villa Beautiful setting in a small village. Sea views, beach about a 10 min car journey. Fabulous pool and good quality sun loungers. Well equipped villa with everything you need to cook or BBQ. Great local, friendly taverna 2 mins walk away. Host Manolis was so helpful, responding to any query very quickly and providing us with lots of Cretan specialties and treats. We had a great stay - wish we had booked for longer !
Advertisement
Heather E.
Heather E.
2023.08.01
Verified
Perfect Holiday and Host Lovely Villa in a great semi-remote location, beautiful grounds, garden furniture and pool which we all hugely appreciated and enjoyed We had everything we needed already there, but host Manos ensured we had an amazing stay, by leaving a welcome hamper of food and drink, bringing more lovely homemade treats during our stay and was there if we needed anything else in super fast time There are 2 Tavernas within walking distance and a shop not too far by car, as well as the lovely Kolymvari just over 5 minutes away with its shops, restaurants and harbour Would happily stay here again without hesitation
Carsten D.
Carsten D.
2023.07.17
Verified
Super stay Manos made the stay wonderfull
Yves D.
Yves D.
2023.06.04
Verified
Le calme proche de tout Très jolie villa surplombant le village de Spilia avec la vue sur les colline et la mer Les commentaires sur le propriétaire sont tous vrai il est super accueillant et a votre service nous reviendrons
Silke H.
Silke H.
2023.04.13
Verified
Schönes Haus in ruhiger Umgebung Sehr netter Vermieter, der bei Ankunft den Kühlschrank befüllt hatte und auch zwischenzeitlich kleine typische kretische Köstlichkeiten vorbeibrachte.
Advertisement
Jason H.
Jason H.
2023.01.11
Verified
Unexpectable experience!! We booked this Villa for 10 days during the wintertime!!! We saw the photos firstly and the reviews which were unbelievable and that's it!! When we arrived we saw many differences at the villa. The Villa is more beautiful than the photos!!! New fence, new doors, new garage area, what a surprise!!! The pool of course as every guest mentioned is fantastic! Manolis informed us that he also changed all the mattresses. We had such a nice sleep!! 10 days resting, eating, and drinking local wine. We also had the opportunity to meet Manolis who gave us many ideas for things to do during this no-tourist period. Manolis was (as all the reviews mention) very generous and he make as feel like home! We will be back!!
Paul H.
Paul H.
2022.11.16
Verified
A wonderful place to relax - a great base for exploring Crete The villa looked great in the photos - and lived up to all our expectations. The pool is delightful and the en suite bathrooms for all three rooms plus the huge beds are all great. Manos is an excellent host - quick to communicate, eager to help, full of useful advice about the area and generous with his gifts!
Paul H.
Paul H.
2022.08.27
Verified
One of the best - fantastic stay Having stayed on Crete 3 times now, can definitely say this is our favourite - Villa Katerina is a fantastic place to stay with the family - if you want seclusion but also being within a v.short drive to beaches and restaurants ( there are 3 within walking distance as well) - one of the best pools we have had and great bedrooms, air conditioning that works very well - finally, the owner, Manos is great to work with - very nice welcome gifts and then brought further gifts during our stay - all local produce - thanks to Manos for being such a great host - will hope to return
Reply from Ideally located, Villa katerina with salted Heated pool,to explore West Crete! 2022.08.29
Thank you soo much!!! I tried to improve your stay, i hope i could do more. It was my plaisure to meet you and your lovely family. I am looking forward to seeing you again!
Bernadette H.
Bernadette H.
2022.08.12
Verified
Amazing Holiday! Just a fantastic holiday! Beautiful villa which has everything you could possibly need. The pool is beautiful and so relaxing. Manos we can’t thank you enough for all your help and generosity. We hired a car and got to see the Mose beautiful sunsets and beaches. Stunning food at the local restaurants. Can’t fault this holiday and will be back! We have older kids ages 14 and 17 and they just loved it! Thank you xx
Reply from Ideally located, Villa katerina with salted Heated pool,to explore West Crete! 2022.08.29
Thank you so much for your nice comments!! I am really happy to hear that you had a good time!!! You have a lovely family and I hope to meet you again!!
Advertisement
Stephanie S.
Stephanie S.
2022.08.06
Verified
Wonderful Truly amazing in all aspects. A beautiful property and village. The warmth from the place and people is unforgettable with a most generous host to match the experience. A lovely welcome package and fantastic stay. Never been happier to leave a review.
PAUL E.
PAUL E.
2022.06.03
Verified
The perfect villa in Western Crete I’m not sure what impressed us more between the host and the villa itself. This was an unbelievably well executed Holiday stay from check-in to check-out. First, about the host. He’s incredible! Affable, earnest, helpful, flexible, and a wonderful person with whom to interact. He takes your vacation stay seriously and sees to it personally that you have a wonderful time. There’s a notebook in the villa of what to do and where to go with his recommendations. You arrive and the refrigerator is stocked with treats and local specialties. He’s responsive to inquiries/requests and flexible to your preferences. This is the host I want for every VRBO, forever. He’s really that good. The villa itself is gorgeous. The little village of Spilia is wonderful! Partially up the mountain with views to the Mediterranean (from the villa’s back yard!). A couple of delicious local taverns within walking distance. 1km up the hill is the cave/historical attraction/Orthodox church of St. John the Hermit. The villa itself was pristine, well-appointed, and very comfortable. The pool was an extravagance our daughters enjoyed daily. There’s an outdoor downstairs table set in the shade of the upstairs balcony with views of the town, mountains, and sea; we ate at that table daily. The furnishings are attractive, comfortable, as pictured, and exactly what I would wish for on this type of stay. Air conditioners by room let everyone set their preference for comfort. And the location gave us 30-60 minute driving access to pretty much everything the prefecture of Chania has to offer, from Southwest beaches (e.g. Elafonissi) to old town Chania proper. We chose this villa because every review seemed to rave about how great the place was. They were spot on. If you’re considering a stay in/around Chania, I wouldn’t even consider another location. Thank you!
Ginny H.
Ginny H.
2022.04.11
Verified
What a Gem A very relaxing peaceful and enjoyable week. Manolis looked after us perfectly and went above and beyond, the goodies on arrival to helping us out with our hire car, places to visit and any issues we had. The pool was lovely and warm and the villa is perfect in every way, we will return x
NIck H.
NIck H.
2021.12.09
Verified
Excellent time in West Crete in the winter time We were having a hard time writing a review of this home because we don’t want anyone else to know about it. This Villa is spectacular. Close attention was paid to every part of this house. It is all remodeled (new cabins in the bathrooms) and clean. The layout is Perfect for any family. The pictures do not do any justice as to the size of the home. The outdoor view from ground floor and first floor is just beautiful. There are plenty of places to sit and relax. The heated and salted pool is the perfect size with lounge chairs surrounding it. I confirm that the salted water is amazing and you make feel much better than being in a conventional pool. We took a risk of being in December in this villa but we never regreted. The combination of a heated pool and a fireplace made our holidays perfect.Manolis was absolutely wonderful and if there were any problems he was available by phone immediately. Manolis was extremely accommodating and truly made us feel at home. I have stayed in the area for many years and so far this is my favorite of all my rentals in the West Crete area. Ballos ,Elafonissi and Chania were so nice at this time of the year . We also went to some secret villages and local taverns where Manolis suggested. The location of the Villa is ideal to explore the region of West Crete.Thank you Manolis for lending me and my family your home. It’s a week we will never forget.
Advertisement
Josef P.
Josef P.
2021.11.11
Verified
Peace and tranquility!!! What a fabulous treat. The house was immaculate, beautifully furnished, and fully equipped. The pool is salted and heated and it was amazing to swim when it s raining.!!! First time in my life in a salted pool, I won't book something different in the future! The sea view from both first and second floor is amazing. During the night when the weather was good we could see so many stars!!. We loved the area too, a nice traditional tavern in walking distance. More restaurants you can find in less that 5 minutes drive. The villa is situated in a perfect location to explore the West Crete. We were not so lucky regarding the weather conditions in November but the Villa and the owner Manolis made us feel at home and we had a great time. Some more words about Manolis. Although he was sick during our stay he was always available to help us and give us the best options!!! Moreover, the welcome pack he prepared for us was the best we ever had!! We will come again!!!
Reply from Ideally located, Villa katerina with salted Heated pool,to explore West Crete! 2021.11.11
Thank you so much for your nice comments.I wish i could do morefor you!!!Next time..
Eliz O.
Eliz O.
2021.11.01
Verified
Wonderful Villa in West Crete We made a fantastic decision by choosing this Villa. There are 3 bedrooms and it is very important that there are 3 ensuite bathrooms. When we arrived Manolis the owner, made us feel at home. The fridge was full of local products, coffee, honey and so many other things we couldn't imagine that provided to us. The best welcome pack we ever had. Manolis who was really helpful during our stay had already printed some tips on things to do and alternatives depending on the weather. We followed some of them and we definitely go again to do most of his list. Taverns, wineries., secret small villages, gorges, and so many other things...Last by not least the pool....Fantastic chlorine-free, heated we really enjoyed it!!! Thank you Manolis, see you probably next June!!
Josef P.
Josef P.
2021.10.12
Verified
An ideal place for friends ot family!!! Well as most of visitors before choosing a villa i read the reviews.So the reviews about Villa Katerina were perfect!!!I don't have many things to add...The villa has everything you may need.The location is fantastic, the salted pool is unique first time in my life i enjoyed a pool so much.No chemicals no red eyes anymore.My grandfather is from Greece and i have heard a lot of stories about Cretan hospitality.I know that every guest who stayed at the Villa mention Manolis i read so many comments.I will add another one.He is one of the most intelligent and interesting person i have ever met.We all enjoyed our conversations during his visits. Grate sense of humour very helpful and so generous..We booked for the next year already.
Andreas M.
Andreas M.
2021.09.08
Verified
Purer Genuss Eine wunderschöne Urlaubsreise in toller Unterkunft und freundschaftlicher Betreuung durch den Vermieter. Kann man nur weiterempfehlen.
Advertisement
Harrison M.
Harrison M.
2021.08.17
Verified
Great Villa, Amazing Host This villa was perfect for our family, including two children under 5 and a Grandma! Maniolis was a wonderful and generous host, even bringing Grandma a cake on her birthday while we had dinner at the local Taverna. Spilia is a good spot to launch day trips around the rest of the area, but you can also relax at the villa with plenty of room for everyone. Highly Recommended.
Nicolai S.
Nicolai S.
2020.10.27
Verified
Great Location and Host plus fantastic Pool We had a great time at Villa Katarina. Manolis, the owner, is extremly friendly and accomodating. We have travelled a lot in several countries and he easily ranks amongst the best hosts (if not the best) we ever had. The location is great for exploring the west side of the island, e.g. Balos beach, Chania or even Elafonissi beach. The villa has a big and heated pool which our kids loved and is top. The villa itself is spacey, the bathrooms, however, are a bit aged and could use a bit of renovation here and there. But that did not affect our overall rating/impression. All in all, highly recommended.
Graham B.
Graham B.
2020.09.21
Verified
Excellent Getaway Beautiful location in the village of Spilia about a 40 minute drive from the airport of Chania In Western Crete. The owner is very friendly and you do get a free supply of local cheese, wine, bread and other assorted goodies on your arrival. The pool is great and a good size for swimming in. The air conditioned rooms are well proportioned and the kitchen is well equipped with everything you will need. We ate out in the evenings at the two local restaurants,the furthest being a 5 minute walk from the villa. Very good local meals and we never paid more than 25 euros for dinner with wine. That is for the two of us and not each! You often get a free dessert to share between you and some raki - nice but could easily blow your head off with too much!!
Reply from Ideally located, Villa katerina with salted Heated pool,to explore West Crete! 2020.10.08
Thank you so much for your nice comments!I am really happy to hear that, you had such a nice time. This is the goal of the holidays actually. It was really my pleasure to meeting you,i hope i will have the opportunity to meeting you again. Take care