Society Mortgage

Society Mortgage Reviews

Excellent rating
4.5
1522 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (1525)
ShaneDooley5
ShaneDooley5
2024.04.12
Verified
Very helpful!Review for Member: Dillon Mathewson Very helpful! He was very patient. Checked in often to see how it was going. Made things easy to understand for a first time buyer. I would definitely recommend him to friends and family.
peytonsmommy61
peytonsmommy61
2024.04.08
Verified
Johnathan truly cares about his clients!Review for Member: Jonathan Simpson Johnathan truly cares about his clients! Our first time home buying process would not have been possible from start to finish without Johnathan. He is professional, punctual, detail oriented and genuinely goes above and beyond for his clients. Johnathan maintained consistent contact with my husband and I regarding documentation needed to get a pre-approval, a conditional loan and a clear to close. Even when complications arose with our seller, he was able to effectively correspond with the seller and get our growing family into a home we fell in love with. We have the most appreciation for the work he put into completing our file, often working beyond his normal business hours to ensure we were satisfied with our closing timeline. We move into our home this week and we cannot express enough gratitude for him and his ability to make this happen for us. We highly recommend future home buyers to use Johnathan for all of their lending needs!
lindsayk1997
lindsayk1997
2024.04.07
Verified
Great!Review for Member: Dillon Mathewson Great! Dillon is super nice and patient. He checked in with us frequently, helped estimate monthly payments, and helped us find a realtor office close to us. I would highly recommend requesting him for your loan officer if possible! I will be recommending him to my friends looking for a house.
Michelle Grant
Michelle Grant
2024.04.06
I thank everyone so much for all their help in the process of purchasing my first home. They were very helpful making sure all documents needed were in place.
loribailey613
loribailey613
2024.04.05
Verified
Gabriel did a wonderful job and was always nice and respectful.Gabriel did a wonderful job and was always nice and respectful. He did a great job on our loan. He kept us up to date on everything we needed, and just kept in touch so it did not feel like we didn't know what was going on.
Alan L
Alan L
2024.04.04
**** with Society Mortgage provided the best possible service in the refinance of our property.I would highly recommend Society Mortgage to anyone getting a loan. The process was smooth and everyone at Society Mortgage was incredibly responsive to our questions and concerns.
awhitecastle
awhitecastle
2024.04.04
Verified
Great service!Review for Member: Alexis Gonzalez Gonzalez Great service! Alex was just great guiding us through the lending process and responded to all inquiries promptly. I would definitely use society mortgage again! Everything went smoothe.
Justin Mapp
Justin Mapp
2024.04.03
Jonathan and Carina were very helpful with my home buying experience.
Mortgage Banker (MLO) in Fort Lauderdale, FL
Mortgage Banker (MLO) in Fort Lauderdale, FL
2024.04.03
Subprime Pros:Health insurance and office location Cons:Subprime management and clients. We prepare our loans horribly. A paystub and they qualify. We dump too many unorganized clients on LCs to deal with. Worst customer service I’ve seen from a company. Everyone basically gets a prequal even when it is not deserved. Zero leadership here. Advice to Management:Stop having us waste time with clients that can not buy. Manage this company. Ideally, have a better mortgage lender buy us out.
Lynn Fitch
Lynn Fitch
2024.04.02
I applied online for a pre-approval process and was matched with this agency who then proceeded to cold call me. I was connected with agent Kisiah. I quickly identified that I was not interested in this specific service (it’s nearly 1000 miles from where I reside, I’d rather seek local options which I then proceeded to do. I was not obligated to tell the agent why I was not interested and did not provide this information.) Two weeks after verbally telling this agent I was not interested in their services, I received a follow up email indicating they had “made multiple attempts to contact me” but was unreachable, and that I need to call them to resume the process for pre-approval. The ONLY contact I had with this agent up until this email was the initial cold call. The email insinuated it was my fault that I had not been reachable despite them making absolutely no attempts to reach me via call, text, or email. This review is specifically for the poor practice of blaming the potential customer for the agents lack of A) accepting no as an answer and still attempting to contact me, and B) then blaming the customer for the agents blatant lies about follow up regardless of point A, being told no. Edit as of 4/1/24 - I received another, unsolicited, email from the same agent stating that I can use their services for pre-approval. Again, despite being told no multiple times, this company continues to send me unwanted requests. I find this behavior to be unprofessional. The email in question did not contain an “opt out” or “unsubscribe” option. If they can’t take “no” for an answer, I have sincere questions about their business practices. I’m disgusted by this entitled and manipulative behavior and will never recommend this service. I’m glad I went locally as my lender of choice has been nothing but courteous, communicative, and respectful.
Loan Officer, Loan Coordinator in Fort Lauderdale, FL
Loan Officer, Loan Coordinator in Fort Lauderdale, FL
2024.04.02
Great Company, Greater People Pros:I have nothing but good things to say about this company. The vision is excellent, work-life balance is great, compensation is phenomenal, and the people are the absolute best. I genuinely believe that if you work hard and have a positive attitude here, you will thrive. Excellent management, looking for devoted employees and frequently promote from within. Co-workers and environment are awesome. I am someone that has always preferred remote work, but I wish I was able to work in person at their Ft. Lauderdale office (I live in Pittsburgh) solely because of the culture and environment that I encountered virtually. They are doing things right. Further points below: - The ball is in your court for success (and serious compensation) - Ultra transparent and extremely competitive (if not generous) income structure - Fantastic transparency in company vision and where we were heading - Growing very fast, which provides ample opportunity for growth in personal and professional development - Tenacious Leadership - You work hard and have a good attitude, you will be noticed and appreciated - Solid work/life balance - They are NOT stuck in their ways - I give them so much credit here. They are CONSTANTLY looking for ways to improve their company, employee satisfaction, compensation, etc. - YOU have a voice (They do a great job at listening to their employees on when/how things need to be changed as applicable). Cons:-Onboarding and training need to be revamped a bit (and already were being improved upon when I left). The dramatic improvements of training new hires from when I first started to when I left was night and day. They are definitely heading in the right direction with this. - Training and Processes need to be revamped/expanded upon for specific roles. For example, Loan Coordinators do things a bit differently than other places I have worked as a Loan Processor. You get the hang of how Society does things over time, but expectations and processes can definitely be streamlined to establish those good habits faster. - I personally believe that the probationary period for new Loan Officers may need to be reconsidered or tweaked (which again, already was being worked on before I left). I am someone who always asks what I could be doing differently; however, there were aspects of the role that I felt were not within my control which in turn contributed to my lack of success within this role. I (and my supervisor) believed I was doing everything else right, but just was not getting lucky with the results. - Ironically enough, I would say that Loan Officers need to be held a bit more accountable - which management saw and was addressing before I left. (Only truly saw this when I switched into the Loan Coordinator role). - Job security felt a little uncertain at times. I contribute this mostly to the market that we were in during my time there, - Constant change can be a bit overwhelming at times (this is no one's fault, just a lot going on!) Advice to Management:Invest a bit more in INTENTIONAL hiring, extensive training, onboarding, and processes and I believe many of the issues we faced as a company will decrease. Otherwise, keep doing exactly what you are doing. This company has serious potential to be BIG, and I genuinely believe that it will be. This is how all companies should be run in my opinion.
Andrew Bennett
Andrew Bennett
2024.04.01
Ben was incompetent. Made me pay for an appraisal when he should have known I would not be able to get the loan because my job is too far from the property. He knew this weeks before. Then he is covering his tracks by sending a denial letter stating there is a problem with my credit. Why didn't he know this from the beginning of the process when he ran my credit. Rather dishonest if you ask me. They should have minus stars. That's what I would rate him
Andrew B
Andrew B
2024.04.01
Not honest people, they had my work address and the address of the property I was trying to buy for weeks before they told me to pay for an appraisal then told me I could not get the loan because my job is too far from the property. Then to add insult to injury they send me a denial letter saying I was denied because of issues with my credit. They had run my credit at the beginning of the process. So why make me pay for an appraisal? Rather dishonest/shady way of doing business. There is no justice in America for some people
Mlo
Mlo
2024.04.01
Scammers Pros:Relaxed office set-up. Office view is amazing. Cons:The management does not know what they are doing. They are basically scammers, so do yourself a favor and just stay clear from this company.
Mike
Mike
2024.03.28
Verified
LuisReview for Member: Luis Nieto Leal Luis Luis has went above and beyond with every question or concern I have had thus far. No matter the time of day or if he is busy he makes the time for you. I highly recommend him for any loan decisions you plan on making..
Nolan
Nolan
2024.03.23
Verified
Great experienceReview for Member: Luis Nieto Leal Great experience Luis was great to work with. He was very responsive, even when he was on vacation. I will definitely use Luis and Society Mortgage again for future loans.
strakanathan
strakanathan
2024.03.21
Verified
AmazingReview for Member: Jonathan Harnish Amazing Jonathan was great he worked very hard and diligent to help me get through the issues. When things weren't going the best and we were getting frustrated he took over and pushed things through. Any questions or problems I had he did amazing to help me get answers and help solve any and all problems.
Cheyanne Bailey
Cheyanne Bailey
2024.03.20
Society mortgage was a complete nightmare. I will absolutely never refer them, not even to my worst enemy. I was given a closing date that Society Mortgage chose themselves for February 3rd, 2024. My first red flag emerged when it took several attempts by my realtor and then myself to get email responses regarding my mortgage estimate. Well into the underwriting process was I finally able to secure some actual numbers. The second red flag that occurred was during the underwriting process. I was very prompt with the requests that were given to me. I was eager to close on Society Mortgage’s proposed closing date because #1. My family was soon to grow. #2. The sellers needed to me to close on their old home before they could close on their new home. I did not want to be the reason for any hold up. Society Mortgage was aware of my self employment the moment I was pre approved for a loan back in October of 2023. Paperwork and transcripts they needed from the IRS should have been top priority, given that it’s the IRS we’re dealing with. Society Mortgage was more worried about receiving comfort letters from my CPA and proof of my sole beneficiary on bank accounts rather than requesting what was most necessary for the home closure. This pushed back my closing date, which caused the sellers immense distress and a contentious closing between us and them. When I say that this pushed back my closing date, I’m saying that these underwriters waited until 3 days before closing to request needed documentation from the IRS. What bothered me the most about this mishap was that the underwriters tried to place blame on my behalf stating that it’s normally my duty to retrieve all necessary transcripts from the IRS (given zero direction to do so) when I later found out that it was actually the seller’s realtor asking MY underwriter’s permission to allow me to request these transcripts from the IRS myself to push the process faster and help alleviate some of the stall on my closing date. Accountability was never taken for them dropping the ball, only lies and deflection onto myself and everyone else. The third and final red flag Society Mortgage had given was that they immediately turned around and sold my loan within a week. My first mortgage payment is due April 1st, and my new mortgage company is still waiting for all final paperwork and documentation from Society Mortgage to issue my first statement for payment and welcome packet. This issue forced me to sign up for auto pay via my new lender on their website because it’s truly the only option I have at this moment. Society Mortgage had never even informed me that my loan was being sold which also violates federal law. I unfortunately only discovered this detail from my new lender, who is still waiting for Society Mortgage to complete their job. -Cheyanne Garcia
Sandy Drelich
Sandy Drelich
2024.03.15
Run, don't walk away from this mortgage lender. They make promises that they cannot and/or do not keep. As a realtor, I have dealt with many lenders and they have earned "the worst" on my list of lenders
Mortgage Loan Officer in Fort Lauderdale, FL
Mortgage Loan Officer in Fort Lauderdale, FL
2024.03.14
Great Place to Level Up Pros:Society provides their employees with the tools to succeed, and plenty of opportunity for in-depth education and career growth. Only for the truly motivated, however, Laziness is not asset with this crowd. Authenticity and effort all around. Cons:Can't think of one at the moment. Advice to Management:Keep up the good work!