AVISTA Family Medical Center

AVISTA Family Medical Center Reviews

Excellent rating
4.5
187 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (187)
K K
K K
2022.06.14
I wish I could give 0 stars. I agree with others the staff, including the business owner (did not retain his name due to his nonstop talking, but he is tall, has red hair and blue eyes). I had 2 very cold experiences with Dr. Raman. I think she was uninterested because I am healthy, so no money to be made from me on weight loss or all of the other gimmicks they market all over their TV screens and images on the walls. This is not a general practitioner. I moved on but wanted copies of my 1 lab result and the close out of my billings. For 3 months, they never answered the phone or returned my calls. Finally, after another VM, Samantha called me back, she was new, did not know what to do and became aggressive very fast. She claimed that I needed to come in person to obtain billing statements due to HIPAA requirements. So I did and they still did not provide them. And, HIPAA states specifically that a doctor cannot request this of a patient, records should be accessible by mail or by email. Listen, the list of issues goes on and on with them. I went in to obtain solutions but got nothing but a bunch of false claims, rebuttals and conspiracy theories. I stayed very patient, calm and did not raise my voice, eventhough they just pushed back, showed themselves to be uninformed and incapable, and as a result, they became defensive and condescending. They literally will not print a bill or medical records unless you pay $75. And they state anything you need, you should be obtaining from your insurance... so basically, they do nothing for you. Additionally, the "owner" literally told me that my health records are not mine, but the doctors, so legally, I have no right to them!!!! Who are these people? None of this is worth it, it'll just hurt your health. After reading the reviews, I would not be surprised if the positive reviews are fake. PS: I bet the owner will add a response to my review claiming I am not a patient or was a some sort of a bad patient, just like the other negative reviews. Luckily, I did not stick around long enough. So funny! 😭😭😭
Reply from AVISTA Family Medical Center 2021.05.05
My name is Chad Gammage, and I am one of the owners and the General Manager of AVISTA Medical Center; and I acknowledge you were a patient of Dr. Raman. I remember our conversation as talking in circles because you refuse to follow the simple instructions stated in all healthcare plans (insurance policies), AMC policies, and your statement. You demanded something different because you feel the rules don't apply to you. I also explained that AMC employees are not licensed in health insurance and cannot legally discuss the terms and conditions of any insurance policy or change any decisions made by the payor (insurer). Unfortunately, you felt none of this mattered to you, so we talked in circles for about 30 minutes. I was patient and polite, as was AMC staff when they tried to inform you. But eventually, I terminated our conversation. I ended our discussion by repeating for a final time, "Please call your insurance company if you have any concerns or questions regarding your insurance policy, its terms and conditions, billing, coverages, decisions, statements or balances owed, and we will be happy to comply with their instructions." As we always do, as required in all contracts with payors and Arizona Insurance Law. It's too bad you have to attack our staff for following procedures and doing their jobs. This is not about their behavior, training, or the quality of care you received from Dr. Raman. This is about unreasonable demands and ignoring simple instructions that work for the vast majority of others. We were just not a fit for each other, and that's ok. This does not make you a lousy patient either. We sincerely hope you find the care you need with another provider and follow through with any recommended treatments. By the way, it's true; a few former patients and one former employee found it necessary to involve others to help vent their anger with additional poor reviews. Case in point; one week ago, we received three one-star reviews in the same hour immediately following the termination of a patient for misconduct. Two of those reviews are from non-patients—shame on all of them. No doubt the majority of our reviews, 5-star reviews speak for themselves. Again, sorry things did not work out, and we hope the best for you and the care you need. You are not a bad patient. Respectfully, Everyone at AMC.
Advertisement
Nicole Hunt
Nicole Hunt
2022.04.22
Do NOT go here if you have the option. Had a year of allergy treatment. Did nothing. But the worst part was the employees not ever giving me a straight answer on payment due. I paid cash on two of my visits and they tried to tell me I never paid for them, until I presented my receipts (thank God I kept them). After my treatments were over, I was told I had no more bills. I received a bill in the mail a month later and called to pay but they told me it was a mistake. 6 months go by and I receive a bill from a debt collector WITH INTEREST. I called avista and they said there was nothing they could do. I just asked them to remove the interest due to their poor communication and they refused. It is a shame as the doctors were nice, but the incompetence among the employees make this business deserving of 1 star.
Reply from AVISTA Family Medical Center 2022.04.22
Hello Nicole, I've read your review, and I'm not sure why you complain. I don't want to embarrass you; however, I need to explain this to you and anyone else reading your review. The comprehensive reports you filled out state that you experienced significant improvement during your allergy treatment. Despite admitting you weren't always in compliance and missing several treatment days. Also, you failed to follow up with your treatment to its completion. Because you are upset about something else does not give you the right to misinform others that immunotherapy does not work. Your statement is irresponsible and could cause a patient who needs immunotherapy to go without proper care. According to the World Allergy Organization, allergies are reaching epidemic proportions. The WAO also states that allergies are a primary care problem. Testing and treatment should be a central component of medical centers. AVISTA provides a comprehensive array of services to treat adults (and children age 12 and older) who suffer from allergies by employing various advanced allergy testing technologies, we can identify and treat the causes of allergy and asthma symptoms. Therefore, patients feel better and lead healthier life free of their daily or seasonal misery. As for why you are actually upset, being sent to collections, you are responsible. Here at AVISTA, we document every patient encounter for training and accuracy. We have learned over the years to rely on proper note-taking and documentation instead of recalling on memory or recalling statements of former employees. It has proven to be an essential part of our daily activities. That said, your memory is not serving you well in your review, or you just decided to paint AVISTA in a negative light. Here's what you need to know about your unpaid bills. Because you have insurance AVISTA has no say in how much you owe. When you receive healthcare or medical services, AVISTA submits an insurance claim to your insurance company. The insurance company decides how much it will pay, if anything, and how much its policyholder (patient) will pay, if anything. Statements are then sent to the patient to collect any balances due. As for going to collections, you ignored seven (7) statements mailed to your home and phone calls to keep your account from going to collections. I hope this response serves you well. Regards, Chad Gammage General Manager
Maggie Akkad
Maggie Akkad
2022.02.20
Love everyone at this practice everybody’s friendly, Professional and take the best possible care of you I drive quite a ways to get to this practice but I wouldn’t change it for anything they are the best.
Angela Weaver
Angela Weaver
2022.01.23
Reply from AVISTA Family Medical Center 2022.01.24
Thank you!
DLS
DLS
2022.01.18
When I made the decision to come to Avista I felt ready. My weight had risen to a point where I was unsure if I could ever get back to my goal weight. I was hoping for help and I got it. The process at Avista for losing weight is easy to follow but you have to do your part. It’s not magic but rather science. It is achievable. Jennifer is waiting for you to come in and get acquainted. She is warm, kind and nonjudgmental. All visits with her are positive and encouraging. Dr. Raman is kind, considerate and helpful with the process of losing weight, answering questions and providing information. I am closing in on a 30# loss in 3 months. Worth every penny.
Reply from AVISTA Family Medical Center 2022.01.19
Thank you for the kind words! You are doing awesome!
Advertisement
Tami Crosley
Tami Crosley
2022.01.14
Margie Garrett
Margie Garrett
2022.01.06
I love this office! Everyone is so friendly and knowledgeable. I know I’m in good hands having Dr. Ramen looking after me.
Al Paone
Al Paone
2021.12.15
Judy Dziekanowski
Judy Dziekanowski
2021.12.07
Reply from AVISTA Family Medical Center 2021.12.07
Thank you!
Advertisement
Tyler Aston
Tyler Aston
2021.11.07
Reply from AVISTA Family Medical Center 2021.11.11
Records indicate Tyler Aston has never been a patient.
Dasmond Richards
Dasmond Richards
2021.11.04
olivia jordan
olivia jordan
2021.11.04
Non patient centric and doctor does not go into depth with anything. Not recommended if you care about your health
Reply from AVISTA Family Medical Center 2021.11.11
Platforms like google allow consumers to voice their opinions and share their experiences with others. However, occasionally, reviews are made from emotion, the memory of events, and do not always tell the entire story. Also, they may unintentionally fail to rely on documentation or proper review of the facts. In this case, the former patient intends to inform others. AMC reserves the right provided by this platform to reply to this incomplete review and to set the record straight. HIPPA laws prevent AMC from publicizing specific details of the patient's medical file. Records indicate the review came from a new patient, who grew frustrated and ended their visit abruptly by walking out on the doctor. The patient had certain and unreasonable expectations limited by law. The entire AMC staff works hard to ensure the consistent delivery of exceptional primary care and medical services and the best patient experience possible. Patient visits and communications are carefully recorded to ensure policies and procedures are adhered to, including providing referrals, recommended diagnostic tests, lab work, and the dispensing of controlled substances under strict protocols. Thankfully, this same consumer platform allows responsible companies to provide general and essential health-related messaging to the community. AMC is happy to take this opportunity to provide this PSA to anyone that may benefit. If you or someone you now have a behavioral, alcohol, or drug addiction, AMC is happy to assist in finding proper care or treatment. The Arizona Department of Health Services provides assistance and free drug counseling to residents of AZ requiring help for substance abuse. Call the drug crisis hotline number on 1-602-364-4558 or their toll-free line at 1-800-867-5808. AZ 2-11 - is a valuable resource for referrals and information on Arizona's community health and human services. They connect individuals with drug addiction and alcohol dependence to available treatment services. Dial the abuse hotline number 2-11 to get connected. Arizona Drug Addiction Helpline - the Arizona Drug Addiction Helpline is available for residents in Arizona to get the help they need for drug addiction. This free substance abuse hotline provides access to professionals who provide treatment advice and counseling services 24/7. Call the addiction helpline at 888-576-4147. Residents in Arizona with drug addiction problems can access the help needed by contacting the free hotline numbers. Call the numbers and start the journey to recovery or read about the drug rehab centers in Arizona. For questions about how AMC can provide support, I can be reached at support@avistamed.com. Regards, Chad Gammage General Manager
Devon Hancock
Devon Hancock
2021.11.03
I hate to write this type of review, but I would like to notify potential patients of this issue. First, I went in 2019 so routine lab work and a referral to a GI. Diabetes and Heart Disease run in my family. I also wanted an allergy test completed for my reference. The labs were run and Dr. Raman said they came back good. Now, in 2021, I logged into my portal via their website to see that, no, they are not good. I have a severe yeast allergy (which could be some of the concerns of my GI problems), as well as a high A1C and glucose levels. Neither of these were every communicated to me. A few months ago, I had lab work done for possible thyoid issues. My T4 was low, and based on the fact that my mother suffers from a thyroid condition (along with symptoms that I am having), I thought it was good to get it checked. When I had my virtual visit with Dr. Raman, she states that "my psychiatric disorder is causing the symptoms and I may be making them up". I took it upon myself to go see an Endocrinologist. Come to find out, I hypothyrodism and am being tested for possible Cushings. Had I not taken it upon myself to do this, I would have lived for a while thinking "I am just crazy". The reviews for Dr. Raman were good, but I do not recommend her. She may not be the same way with you that she was with me.
Advertisement
Michelle Detras
Michelle Detras
2021.10.30
Darlene Ledbetter
Darlene Ledbetter
2021.10.29
Deanna Hoskey
Deanna Hoskey
2021.10.26
The staff was very friendly. Jeff was really efficient. Dr. Raman determined that I have a sinus infection and prescribed the medication that I needed.
Libby Carter
Libby Carter
2021.10.25
The staff is very efficient and caring. Dr. Raman is very through and kind. Couldn’t ask for more from a care provider.
Advertisement
Jodi wonderlee
Jodi wonderlee
2021.10.22
Mary Reichert Mistero
Mary Reichert Mistero
2021.10.19
Courtney Nail
Courtney Nail
2021.10.08