Shearbarn Holiday Park

Shearbarn Holiday Park Reviews

Good rating
3.5
469 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (317)
tipps_12
tipps_12
2020.12.15
Verified
Almost perfect We stayed at Lakeside 10, which was immaculately clean, and the sunken Hot tub lovely and clean aswell. The only reason I haven't given a full 5 stars was due to the fact that the bed in the lodge was rock hard and not comfortable to sleep on, also the ensuite flooded when having a shower due to the glass screen not being flush to the bath. Both minor problems which didn't massively affect our stay, and I would still recommend Shear Barn to anybody looking for a quiet few nights away.
Advertisement
rhianna_howard
rhianna_howard
2020.12.12
Verified
Brilliant Break! Me and my partner have just returned from a 4 night stay at Shear Barn, we stayed in Lakeside 7 lodge and absolutely loved it!! The lodge was immaculate and modern which was exactly what we wanted and had everything we needed including a dishwasher and washing machine. We did have our own hot tub which was perfect however due to filter issues we couldn’t use the hot tub during the last night of our stay, we spoke to reception who were brilliant and offered us another lodge with a hot tub we could use nearby. Hastings seafront was a 10 minute drive away which we made full use off, plenty of supermarkets were nearby so it was every easy to pop out if we needed anything. Overall we loved our stay and would definitely return!
Guest
Guest
2020.11.15
Verified
WORST STAY EVER The place was covered in cobwebs, marks al over the doors and walls. When complained the manager told us that the place was clean to there standards.... clearly not a normal persons standard. Makeup on the pillow that was insinuated to be put there by us. Bad management, bad hygiene. Apart from that the view was nice and was located in a good area. That’s the only positive I can find with my stay.
Marie B
Marie B
2020.11.08
Verified
Pas de réponse Nous sommes français et avions réserver pour cet été du 10 août au 19 août. Vu la situation sanitaire, Shear Barn nous a envoyé un message en juillet pour annuler notre réservation et demande à nous rembourser. Jusque là tout était honnête mais après acceptation de notre part nous n'avons jamais été rembourser et plus aucune nouvelle même après un mail de réclamation. A fuir car pas correct.
Zoë
Zoë
2020.10.23
Verified
2nd wedding anniversary break This is our second time staying here, we came in March 2019 for our 1st wedding anniversary but stayed in a different lodge, more basic. This lodge is the next grade up called the Lakeview, it was very comfortable and wide so a wheelchair could get through. The lounge has a wonderful huge corner sofa with a tv and a fully working kitchen with dishwasher, microwave and a fridge and freezer. You get a lovely boxed welcome pack and as it was our wedding anniversary they left on the table a box of chocolate, a card and a bottle of Prosecco which was a lovely touch. In this lodge you have a master room with a double bed and en suite of a shower, toilet and sink. A second bedroom with twin beds and a larger bathroom. This lodge has decking wrapped round and a hot tub which is sunk into decking which was fabulous but a little disappointing that on our first night the hot tub wasn’t warm enough to use, I hope in future they get the hot tub filled and heated quicker so it can be used. We love the location, there is a club house that serves food and alcohol and there is a swimming pool you can use. We normally just stay in the lodge, using the hot tub or we go into Hastings as it’s not too far away. We are back next year staying in another lodge this one is their best lodge so look out for pictures and a review on that. I do have to say that this park and their lodges are great and the prices are extremely good value l, compared to other ones we have stayed at not far from this one have been more expensive but lacked atmosphere, character and luxury, we would definitely recommend Shear Barn and we next year would have celebrated 3 very good wedding anniversaries here. We have given 3 out of 5 because the hot tub wasn’t warm for the first night and as we were only staying for 3 nights it was disappointing the lodge I would say is worth a 4* overall and is the best lodge we have stayed in so far. We look forward to our stay in March 2021 this time in Woodland 8 for our wedding anniversary for 4 nights and hope we receive some goodies again to celebrate.
Advertisement
Carol H
Carol H
2020.10.19
Verified
Safe and Sound break! Came years ago but to the camp site with our children. Needed a break to see something other than what we’ve been seeing for the past 6 odd months. We hired Lakeside 2 lodge and it was beautiful. The lodge was spectacularly clean and it truly felt safe to walk into. The lodge itself was beautiful with all you could ask for. The site was lovely, our first night we had a takeaway from the bar - lovely. The staff were hardworking and very friendly. Anybody nervous about going away should consider Shearbarn - it’s only a couple of miles (if that) from Hastings and within easy reach of other historical towns. It’s unfortunate that we had to leave a night early, but I return to work tomorrow. Will definitely visit again. Thank you Shearbarn !
A. B
A. B
2020.10.12
Verified
Turned away at door We booked via Hoseasons and arrived to be told they had no record of our booking. Now I know this isn't shear barns fault, but the staff were disinterested and essentially shrugged their shoulders and told us we would need to go away and call hoseasons (as opposed to offering to call and resolve as clearly their had been a miscommunication between the two companies). Whilst I was on the phone trying to resolve my partner asked to use the bathroom after our long drive and was told she would need to wait an hour for the restraunt to open - I appreciate things are stricter because of covid but this felt like another 'thats your problem'. After speaking with our hoseasons rep the manager offered us a different lodge that would be without hot tub etc like we booked. We initially turned it down because quite frankly we had been put off by the staff and were hopeful hoseasons would find us elsewhere with a tub. Our rep called back about an hour later to see if this lodge was still available and they said it had been booked... which at 6pm on a Monday I found very hard to believe. I can imagine they just wanted nothing to do with our problem booking. So, again I appreciate the mess up wasn't their fault, but we were put off by staff attitude.
mandyW186
mandyW186
2020.10.06
Verified
Fantastic midweek break Stayed in Lakeside 10 was clean and had everything including dishwasher and washing machine Hot tub was lovely with great views Couldn’t fault a thing although need to update WiFi coverage Also had some cute visitors at night ? !
Hayley M
Hayley M
2020.10.03
Verified
Lovely midweek break We stayed here for a Mon-Fri staycation and it was perfect for what we wanted. We had a lodge in the lakeside section and I have to say the lodge was so clean that we thought we were the first people to stay in it! It was well equipped with a welcome pack containing a few tea bags etc and washing up liquid etc and the bottle of hand sanitiser was a nice touch! The only thing that was missing was oven gloves! The beach was about 30-45 min walk away and it is uneven so some people may prefer to drive. We didn't use any of the facilities on the park such as the restaurant as we chose to venture further afield. We would definitely return!
Advertisement
JohnNorfolk
JohnNorfolk
2020.09.13
Verified
4 night stay in September 2020 Lakeside 133 was our accommodation and it was well presented with fully equipped kitchen. Spacious, with modern decor. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this holiday park in the future. The extra amenities were not open due to the Covid situation and we therefore couldn't comment on them.
Ian J
Ian J
2020.08.15
Verified
Great place to stay!! Family Holiday. Just returned from a week's stay at Shearbarn, 2 Adults and 11 year old. We had a lodge - 9 Gelnside. Fantastic lodge with newly renovated outside decking with Hot tub. Location was perfect with Seaviews to the front and Country Park to the side. Inside was very clean and spacious (unit had been sanatized well) Alcohol hand wash, Antibacterial soap, Tea Coffee etc, Towels all supplied. Also had Iron and Ironing board. Very comfortable lodge everything you needed to cook. Site was very clean and well kept. Bar/restaurant was organised well for social distancing. We ate here twice not a massive selection (may be limited menu due to covid) but both meals very tasty and well priced. Pool was obviously closed. Barrier on entry via key fob supplied and security at night. Hastings can be driven in under 10 Mins (we loved the old town and rock a nore beach). Aldi under 10 mins away for supplies but also small shop onsite. Various takeaways close by and delivery to the front entrance. Staff all very happy and friendly. Would definitely visit again. Great break in these strange times.
John B
John B
2020.08.08
Verified
Great Stay! We stayed this week for 4 nights with our grandchildren in Wood End 8.I had read a couple of negative reviews about the lodge but we found it spotless with everything we needed in it.The only downside was the Wifi which was very poor.The jacuzzi was great,our grandchildren were in it all the time! The staff on the site were excellent. I emailed Hoeseasons (who we booked through)about the hot tub about a week before the holiday,they did not even bother to reply.I also tried to phone Hoeseasons and was told by recording that they were busy so to call another time.In the end I emailed the Shearbarn reception and got an instant friendly reply.Great customer service!The site was clean .The indoor pool was closed unfortunately but think this was a maintenance issue .We will recommend to others
LowestoftJo
LowestoftJo
2020.08.03
Verified
Great Weekend Booked a 3 night long weekend and we stayed in Lakeside 10 absolutely lovely and clean accommodation with the added bonus of a very nice hot tub sunk into the decking. Great location nice walk into Hastings and lovely seeing the badgers coming upto the decking in the evenings. Had a couple of drinks in the bar and also had Sunday lunch in the restaurant which was very nice. Couldn’t fault it and would return.
Advertisement
Gill
Gill
2020.07.31
Verified
Wonderful accommodation, site and staff We stayed in the Ocean View 7 Lodge in July 2020. The lodge was amazing, well equipped, very clean and modern. The hot tub and decking was very spacious and clean. I cannot fault Shear Barn staff at all, so very helpful and polite and would always go the extra mile, especially Michelle. Friendly service in the restaurant and bar considering visiting soon after the lock down. Cant wait to book for next year. May I recommend that you book directly with Shear Barn NOT Hoseasons (very bad experience with a very unprofessional company)
Steven H
Steven H
2020.07.25
Verified
Touring caravan Nice location next to country park and 20 min walk from Hastings. We are very disappointed as they dont even have toilets open. No swimming pool and limited bar with no entertainment. They blame all this on covid 19 when the rest of the uk is starting back up running. We have been charged full price with not even a toilet open. It's obvious to us they have furloughed most of the staff so they can claim cash from the government. They should be ashamed of them selves.
Wend222
Wend222
2020.07.15
Verified
Safety and security of children and dogs a real concern , such a shame as it could be so much more Yes the ride up steep hill is pretty treacherous, please district council cut back bushes to make the road safer for all, that is both vehicles and pedestrians and perhaps some speed limits as people are driving crazy up and down the lane . The main problem I have which is a security risk for all, children , personal belongings and dogs , which I felt unsafe with all three is, the camp has more people free walking their many dogs off the lead through the campsite at all times of the day than crufts ! More walkers off site streaming through and not a care in the world for those paying price for privacy and security ? Not once did I see anyone stopped with their dogs as they wandered through , and I mean all over not just on pathways, but through the vans and on grass pitch areas, letting dogs go into play area , messing and not cleaning up anything and they have notices to keep dogs on leads ! Yes I will as a responsible owner, but the Alsatian that bounded up to my tiny dog and daughter and wanted to rip at it until the owner came running up and grabbed it , with no apology and then disappeared off site. Well I would feel very worried about your children playing and safety and welfare for all , if this open aspect continues . Such a shame as beautiful location .
Adam
Adam
2020.07.14
Verified
Absolutely spotless lovely stay We arrived on the 4th of July we was welcomed with a gift bag which was lovely had the essentials you need. The lodge was absolutely spotless which made you fill very comfortable and the jacuzzis they have are good quality, not like some of the other places that we have stayed Was very relaxing and peaceful enjoyed having a quit drink at the bar Would highly recommend this place and will go back again
Advertisement
Jlo211
Jlo211
2019.12.30
Verified
We stayed in Lakeside 10 Spa (booked through Hoseasons) 23.12.19-27.12.19. The ONLY problems we had were that the front door to the lodge occasionally got stuck on the frame and the wifi was very poor where we were. You can only have one device connected per pass code and we were provided with two codes. Not the end of the world but when there are three phones, a kindle and a laptop, it was impossible. If you need constant access to the internet, this isn't for you, because even when connected it was a poor signal and slow connection. Everything else was perfect and we even managed to cook a full Christmas dinner on Christmas Day, albeit that it took twice as long as at home! We enjoyed every second of our break. The hot tub was ready for our arrival and we used it everyday. There is a full size fridge freezer, plenty of storage and 2 bathrooms, both with shower, toilet and basin. Huge bath sheets and hand towels provided. The cooker and hob are gas and the lodge is heated via gas central heating. The site was quiet while we were there and we ate at the onsite restaurant on Christmas Eve. The food was basic - burgers, steak, etc but delicious. I would imagine that in the summer months it is still quiet as the indoor pool is small but clean. No slides or attractions for kids. There is a small games room off of the restaurant but I assume the site is aimed at those with older teens, which suited us as we travelled with our 17 year old daughter. Car definitely needed as it is a very steep hill to climb to reach the site. Staff always very friendly and helpful.
Fred P
Fred P
2019.10.28
Verified
I just tried to book a grass only pitch for my camper and they said they only had hard standing and electric (which I don't want??) for £33 ???!!! I've just booked a nice b&b for £35 including breakfast!
robert c
robert c
2019.10.26
Verified
I will start with the positives - the site lighting, water locations and wifi are great. The showers are ridiculous, no holders to put products so have to go on floor, no benches in cubicles and worst of all - you are lucky if the water lasts for 5 seconds so its virtually impossible to wash your hair!! The sink taps are even worse, as soon as you press the tap it goes off and after continuous pushing of the hot tap it still never came through. So therefore the shower blocks definitely need updating as paint was also peeling and generally tired. The grass is overgrown and the hard standing pitches are screaming out for more gravel as they are so muddy. The bar is standard pub prices. The food is of poor quality, £9.20 for the worst no frills burger I've ever eaten and the menu is basic. After the long walk to go to the clubhouse for a drink, on arrival we were told that dogs aren't welcome, so we went back to our caravan. I don't expect to take my dog into a restaurant but would have thought a bar area would be acceptable but the area is more like a function room and sparse.