Melbourne Transmissions Reviews

Melbourne Transmissions Reviews

4.1

Good - based on 23 reviews

s877498976.onlinehome.us
is verified by Trustindex

We guarantee all reviews are 100% real.
What's Trustindex?
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (23)
The last Grounder
The last Grounder
2021-10-14
Critical
Professionalism
Apparently you can't even get a quote because they're "back logged" wtaf?!
Advertisement
Robert Peipert
Robert Peipert
2021-10-06
Critical
Professionalism
Punctuality
Quality
Value
In March of 2021 I brought my 2008 Scion to this store with a broken transmission. They were unable to find a replacement transmission. I ordered a new transmission from Toyota and had them install it. When I received the vehicle I noticed that engagement of the clutch was making noise, a new clutch assembly was supposed to be installed, and when it was put under torque from the engine it was grinding. I was assured that this was part of "breaking in" the clutch as it was new. It should be gone in about 1500 miles and that I should replace the transmission oil after driving 1500 miles. When I had the oil changed it was revealed that the transmission had not been filled with any oil!!! (Only 8Oz of oil was extracted.) Inspection of the transmission bell housing also revealed that a bolt was not installed at all and that the three other bolts were not tightened correctly. It is apparently, well known that Toyota always ships transmissions and engines without oil to avoid spillage. (I was fortunate to not have burned up the transmission.) Not to mention that clutch, even after 3500 miles still makes the same grinding noise. My experience with this business has been the worst I have encountered, they claim to be transmission experts but are unaware of proper installation of OEM systems? They claim to have installed the clutch correctly but it sill slips and grinds? At this point I have little recourse, as I agreed to payment in cash. I will advise any of my clients, friends, family and anyone reading this review to avoid this business in the future. I will refer you to AAMCO.
Reply from Melbourne Transmissions 2021-10-06
In early February we received vehicle removed disassembled and inspected the transmission. Inform the customer that the damage was more expensive than would be to purchase a new unit. The customer purchased a brand-new unit from Toyota as well as the clutch that we ordered for him. Both parts were installed here by our team, which has a combined 45 years experience removing rebuilding and installing transmissions and accessory parts. Robert returned and complained of a noise in second gear I told him to go to Toyota that they are solely responsible for anything pertaining to transmission warranty. As always all parts are installed to factory specifications torque specifications and sequences have all been followed any problems but exist with the transmission need to be addressed the transmission manufacture Toyota before any other work or diagnostics can be performed. I'm sorry for Roberts issues but they should aimed at Toyota not us.
Michael Mann
Michael Mann
2021-05-20
Highly recommend. Triangle Auto quoted me 4200 to put in a remanufactured transmission with a 3yr warranty. I couldn't afford that, and my car isn't worth much more. After shopping around the space coast area, a lot of mechanics were telling me transmission repairs are a gamble, and it's real easy to get screwed.. well I took that gamble with Jim at Melbourne Transmissions. He rebuilt my transmission and included a 1 year warranty for less than half of what Triangle Auto was going to charge me for a swap. It's about 2 weeks after the rebuild and my cars still running and shifting good. Jim even offered to pick me up when I was car-less. Thanks Jim!
Henry Hunt
Henry Hunt
2021-03-30
Positive
Professionalism
Brought my car in for repairs, not knowing what to expect. Transmission diagnosed and repaired as quoted. They went above and beyond to secure parts (personally driving to pick them up). I am very impressed with the service. Highly recommend
cameron worth
cameron worth
2021-03-04
The service was great and the prices fair would recommend to a friend
Advertisement
Antonio Rivera
Antonio Rivera
2021-01-25
Quick and good service.
James DeAmara
James DeAmara
2020-08-29
Positive
Quality
Auto repair shops have a reputation for inflating prices but they are very fair with pricing and will always answer questions and phone calls. Jim is always there so you know that you are being taken care of personally and that he knows what your issue is. My Scion has never run better since he helped me.
Jerry Berling
Jerry Berling
2020-01-11
Did a good job quickly and at a fair price. Plan on having more work done on my truck by them
Cheryl Willis
Cheryl Willis
2019-11-12
Advertisement
Elizabeth Velazquez
Elizabeth Velazquez
2019-09-08
My new best friend. I have brought my suv to many places who could never find the issue. Finally my suv decided to go into fail safe mode while driving and I limped it all the way home I called him up and he was ready to find the problem. He looked up and down and found the problem finally. Very competitive prices. For the work he did I was expecting to pay so much more. I was so ready to throw my suv in the garbage thanks to Jim I’m happy with my suv again and now I know he will be there with great service and great prices if and when I need him again. Thank you Jim.
Reply from Melbourne Transmissions 2019-09-09
Thank you for the review, Elizabeth. We're happy that you're back on the road and satisfied with your vehicle. If you have any other issues with your vehicle down the road, even if they're not transmission-related, we'd be happy to take care of you and your vehicle on all other fronts as well. Have a great week. :)
Doug Powers
Doug Powers
2019-05-20
great people
Papa B
Papa B
2018-12-05
They give a one year warranty and just over one year my daughters transmission crapped out again, how convenient. Had my son's transmission rebuilt there before my daughters transmission died again. They didn't take my son's car for test drive before claiming the transmission needed to be rebuilt, they did the rebuild and after all that...it didn't fix the problem. $2200 later I find out it was just the shift solenoids, $160 part and I'm out $2200. These guys will scam you out of your hard earned money . Beware! Read Anthony's post below because he is spot on about the cash only and the rest of what he states. The other reviews are fake. Stay away!!!!
Reply from Melbourne Transmissions 2019-09-09
This is a completely false review. We stand by our work and our warranty on all repairs. Prior to preforming any repairs or work, we preform extensive diagnostics in order to provide accurate labor and parts pricing to our customers. We do not simply "change parts". If any customer has an issue with their vehicle after repairs are preformed, we rectify the issue without any additional cost while under our in-house warranty and even when a customer is outside of our warranty period, we provide a substantial break on any repair costs. We are a small business and as such, we ensure our customers are satisfied with our workmanship as can be witnessed by our reviews.
John Novratil
John Novratil
2017-12-01
Owner goes out of his way to do it correctly
Advertisement
Adams Family
Adams Family
2017-10-14
Super knowledgeable, fast and HONEST service. They went above and beyond to check out my Jeep and did the service same day since it was an easy fix. They have all my business now- nightly recommend.
Tari Kinyon
Tari Kinyon
2017-10-09
This place is great, they pick up my car from my job and return without any problems. Makes having a busy schedule in a Doctor's office so much easier. Love These Guys!!
Anthony Abbatelli
Anthony Abbatelli
2017-09-29
Avoid this shop at all costs...seriously. I was charged a boatload of money and my wife's car still has the same problem when they finished. I did an inspection and found bolts missing and not tightened after picking it up. This shop will scam you into thinking you need your transmission rebuilt when it's only a clogged filter or shift solenoid. CUSTOMER BEWARE: After they tear your car apart, Jim then states you must pay with cash only, no credit cards. That's because they know under law that they can hold your car if you don't don't pay. Very deceptive stay away.
Reply from Melbourne Transmissions 2017-10-02
We never performed this job or any service to this customer. He must have the wrong location. We guarantee all services and repairs performed with a 12 month/12K mile warranty.
Lisa Moore
Lisa Moore
2017-06-16
Don't take you car to one of those chain shops. You can't beat the personal attention you will get at Melbourne Transmission. My Honda Accord needed a torque converter/transmission rebuild and these guys did an excellent job! It only took 3 days and my car runs good as new and a fair price as well. It's hard to find mechanics that you trust. These guys know what they are doing, you won't be disappointed!
Advertisement
Brandon Blankenship
Brandon Blankenship
2017-05-08
Jeff Meyer
Jeff Meyer
2016-12-05
These Guys are Straight up, no bs ,know their business people,they did an excellent job completely rebuilding my transmission on my Subaru......,Note they do not take credit cards at this time
Richard Perry
Richard Perry
2016-10-26
Unbelievable,,,that in today's world I have found a Transmission Repair Shop that actually does what they claim, that is repair the transmission to as good or better than new! "1999 Dodge 2500 Cummins Diesel w/Bully Dog High Performance. The owner also saved me $500 by talking me out of a H/D $ 500.00 Torque Converter that was sure I needed..lol. I now have 4600 miles pulling 14,000 lb travel trailer. Thanks again for such a great job and quick turnaround!!