Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat

Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat Reviews

Excellent rating
4.9
253 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (214)
Tammy L
Tammy L
2024.03.28
Verified
3rd visit to Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat and we'll be back again for sure! Absolutely love this place. The cottages are so well equipped, it really is a home away from home. The nature is perfect to reset from city life. The hiking trails are well marked and the dam is the perfect swimming spot.
Trip10554797924
Trip10554797924
2024.03.26
Verified
Incredibly beautiful, superb views and accommodation. What an amazingly beautiful place with the most incredible views, mountain pools and hiking trails. Accommodation is superb for big groups of family or friends. It has everything you want and more. Greyton is around the corner for a visit to this quaint town.
Liesl M
Liesl M
2024.03.18
Verified
Absolute heaven on earth If you ever need to get out of Cape Town (a mere 2 hours drive!) and need to find yourself in heaven then stay at Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat. Perfect for a special occasion to book on an exclusive use (which we did) or just a perfectly appointed and decorated cottage. This is my new favourite! They have everything you can think of and more. Go!!
Anthony R
Anthony R
2024.02.10
Verified
Close to paradise Our third visit and not our last. In summer this place is close to paradise, even though we had almost one day of thunderstorms in a long weekend, with torrential rain and hail. The dam is simply blissful on hot summers days, and usable from sunrise till sunset. The whole place is in tip-top conditions, cottages better equipped than ever, with everything one needs for a weekend away. The walking and cycling trails have been significantly improved and were in great condition. I wouldn't change a thing, and we'll be back.
Shane Brassell
Shane Brassell
2024.02.05
Ah! The Husband beat me too it! We had the most amazing wedding at Rusty Gate 8 years ago and so we are back for an Anniversary weekend. Adam and his team have done an incredible job! It is truly a "Piece of Heaven." Thank you, team, for sharing your space and work with us. The hiking trails are well marked and the dam experience is exceptional. The cottages are well appointed and everything has been thought of. We will be back!
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat 2024.02.07
Dear Shane Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Piece of Heaven in the Mountains! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat
Shaun Brassell
Shaun Brassell
2024.02.03
Got married here 8 years ago with 300 of our favourite people, awesome coming back! Amazingly appointed Cottages, epic views, and fantastic, well marked hikes. Thank you for improving on this little piece of heaven, and thank you for the champagne!
Trip type
Vacation
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat 2024.02.05
Hi Shaun Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Piece of Heaven in the Mountains! We are thrilled to have had you back to celebrate your anniversary and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat
lolotte1961
lolotte1961
2024.01.18
Verified
Mountain break away Immaculate bedding in a perfectly furnished cottage by the river in the mountain: cannot ask for a better break away. We didn’t eat there because we were attending a wedding at Elandskloof the farm next door but we found the kitchen well supplied. Don’t forget anything though because the shops are 30 minutes away!
corliahurter
corliahurter
2023.12.18
Verified
Excellent! We had a great time at Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat. It is a though road to get up the mountain but once you're there the view takes your breath away, the quietness and beautiful nature makes it all worthwhile. There is so much to do, hiking, swimming in the dam. The highlight was the Fufi slide. It was so much fun!
Simon Fishley
Simon Fishley
2023.12.16
Reply from Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat 2023.12.18
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Piece of Heaven in the Mountains! We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat
Marcus Oosthuizen
Marcus Oosthuizen
2023.12.07
What an amazing experience. The view is unbelievable, the rooms and facilities is clean and modern, yet rustic. The kitchen at the function venue is one of the best equipped kitchens I have ever seen. Staff is friendly. Great for large bookings.
Trip type
Business
Friends
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat 2023.12.07
Dear Marcus Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Piece of Heaven in the Mountains! We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat
Seaside68183522808
Seaside68183522808
2023.12.07
Verified
Best end of year function ever. We had our staff end of the year function at Rusty Gate. The best place ever. Beautiful location and most helpful staff. The venue was immaculate,the kitchen are chef approved and the view spectacular
Marcus O
Marcus O
2023.12.07
Verified
Little piece of heaven Thanks very much for a fantastic mid week break. We had our annual conference and Rusty Gate is perfectly equipped for that. Staff is friendly. Views are amazing. Everything is clean and stunning. Perfect spot for large groups and the accommodation is fantastic.
Simon F
Simon F
2023.11.30
Verified
Exceptional. Rusty Gate exceeded every expectation I had ahead of our trip. The location is unmatched in terms of beauty. Eagles Eyrie where we (12 of us) spent the weekend is phenomenal. Everything is in perfect order and the kitchen is a chef's dream, equipped with everything you could possibly need to feed lots of people. The hikes are great, the dam is beautiful and wonderful to swim in. The beds are comfortable, the linen crisp and clean. The Wifi worked well, the generator kept the lights on, and the 2 fridges, and ice machine kept the drinks cold. I met and chatted with the owner, who was warm and welcoming.
Allie van Niekerk
Allie van Niekerk
2023.11.25
Excellent stay. Would reccomend.
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat 2023.11.29
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Piece of Heaven in the Mountains! We look forward to welcoming you back son. Kind regards Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat
Emile L
Emile L
2023.11.17
Verified
Beautiful treat Rusty Gate never disappoint. Was such a treat to stay here for the whole weekend. Facilities are very well equipped with everything you can think of. Make the time to stay in one of the cottages, or take a group to the 'main house'.
Voyage40248552586
Voyage40248552586
2023.10.02
Verified
The views, the tasteful cottages, the friendly atmosphere and being cared for - one in a million. Rusty Gate and the owner are excellent - they took such good care of us in a very challenging time just after the Overberg floods. The electricity to that area haven't been restored during our stay, but Bokkie took such good care of us to ensure we have a hot shower and all we need. The cottages are tastefully decorated, cared for and have everything one needs. Thank you Rusty Gate, you made a stressful time for my team and I a peaceful heaven. I hope to return again, this time to relax and enjoy the stunning setting and views.
shirley690
shirley690
2023.09.28
Verified
Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat We had the most amazing week-end! The cottages are beautifully equipped & the setting is just beautiful! I can highly recommend this little slice of heaven! The owners went out of their way to make our week-end perfect. The cottages are surrounded by mountain trails & the views are spectacular!
Jessie Bell-Adams
Jessie Bell-Adams
2023.09.27
Thank you so much to Bokkie and Anchen for always going above and beyond every time we stay at Rusty Gate, it’s become our favourite local family getaway. The last weekend visit, we ended up stuck at the retreat due to severe flooding and road damage. They made sure we were well looked after with food, hot water and connectivity. The most incredible hosts with the biggest hearts. Thank you! 🫶🏼
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat 2023.09.29
Dear Jessie Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Piece of Heaven in the Mountains! We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat
lynda483
lynda483
2023.09.26
Verified
Breathtaking views If you have never been before, Rusty Gate is WELL worth a visit. The view, the quiet, the home-comforts available and the incredible staff make this a bucket-list trip. The beds are comfortable, the linen is exceptional and tiny details that make this site exceptional will not go unnoticed. There are electric blankets in the cottages, hammocks for lazy days, and everything you could possibly need for self-catering. We will go back again and again and again.
Heather Laubscher
Heather Laubscher
2023.08.22
I took my team of new Prefects to Eagle's Eyrie for a training weekend - it was phenomenal!!! Our jaws dropped at the incredible views and the gorgeous accommodation. Eagle's Eyrie is extremely well appointed, with absolutely everything you could possibly need for a weekend of team building. The dorm style rooms were a hit and the fire pit area, outside tables, and inside tables allowed us to work in different spaces depending on the formality of the session. The kitchen is huge and perfect for cooking for a large group. We also made use of the Sunbird Cottage, which was the closest cottage down the bank from Eagle's Eyrie - it was also gorgeous (I have already booked a weekend stay with friends - it was that good!). The hikes are very clearly marked and offer a good range of difficulty levels. Dalene was incredibly efficient in helping me plan my trip and Bokkie was a welcoming host. Could not recommend more highly!
Trip type
Business
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat 2023.08.23
Dear Heather Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Piece of Heaven in the Mountains! We appreciate your kind words and are so pleased that you already booked your next stay! We look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards Rusty Gate Mountain Retreat