Henry Morgan

Henry Morgan Reviews

Good rating
3.5
1965 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (1965)
Lori
Lori
2024.04.11
Verified
Best island! Roatan Henry Morgan We just finished a 21-day stay at the Henry Morgan. The weather was fantastic! No rain! Windy, a few days, so we had an on shore breeze, so snorkeling was not the greatest or deep sea fishing during those few days. Still all good and ocean so warm. Yes, waves that are rare on West Bay beach. Best snorkling right at the end of the beach! Reservations - the room number we requested upon arrival was not given to us- Tamara in reservations needs to read and act upon clients' requests! Especially frequent guests! We eventually did receive a nice room! Thanks to Ariel he accomodated us. We have stayed at Henry Morgan numerous times. We have been going to Roatan for 14 years. Our favorite island. Henry Morgan is a nice beach resort. It was the first resort on the island, as we have been told. The food is good and there are many choices. They try very hard to cater to us Canadians. Snack bar: improved from last year. Hamburgs, frys, chk wings, and nachos. Beach bar: Some days busy, and they have tried to bring in an extra bar tender or set up another bar if busy. The only complaint is that they would run out of soda water or sparkling water. As I only drink vodka and soda. Inventory control mgr not doing their job. We had beachside rooms. Nice big king-size bed. The room needs dressers and a table and chairs. Entertainment during the day is way too loud! You can't even talk,read, or hear the ocean! My suggestion would be to only have soft mixed music playing. Zumba dancing hardly anyone does it except the hard working entertainment crew. To tell you the truth if the entertainment is not stopped, we may consider not staying at the H. M. NEXT YEAR! The few stairs from the beach need to have a hand railing for people with handicaps. Rosetta and her girls were great cleaning our room and always smiling! Freddy, best waiter! Man, he knows how to move and is so prompt with our coffees! Best for last! GEORGE customer relations mgr is absolutely the best we have ever encountered during all the different vacations we have been on. He truly cares about people and is so respectful! He goes above and beyond for his customers! The rest of the mgrs at this hotel need to follow in his footsteps. If H.M. didn't have him, I am afraid they would probably lose many customers and a great chance of going under. He should train your other mgrs and staff. Thank you, George, for making our stay special every year! ❤️
Kathy H
Kathy H
2024.04.04
Verified
Excellent experience. Henry Morgan resort was a wonderful experience. Property is beautiful and always clean. We had a premium room on the ground floor overlooking the beach. Every sunset was seen from our veranda. Food was very good and plentiful. We found all the staff especially George, very friendly and helpful. Will return.
Hellenemary
Hellenemary
2024.03.30
Verified
Henry Morgan versus Infinity Bay This review is based on the all inclusive packages, as Canadians it is often cheaper to go all inclusive and still eat out a few times. I have stayed at both HM and IB, these are my thoughts. Beach: HM- more beach chairs, more shade, and most important you don’t have to get up at 6 in order to secure a beach lounger Ocean is the same ocean at IB, 3 minute walk to snorkelling IB-very few beach chairs, lacking in shade and guest actually take your loungers. Snorkelling right out front Rooms. HM-clean, plenty of storage, large bathroom, comfortable bed. When called for assistance with safe had 3 different people show up to help. IB-sliding door lock broken, never fixed, pull out couch broken took 3 days and multiple request before fixed. Full kitchens (never used it) Food. HM- amazing. Roast beef, fish, chicken, turkey, pasta bar with pizza, salad bar, fruit bar. Microwave for guest use. Unbelievable selection IB-very small selection, one dinner at beach still buffet Hands down HM wins for food Bar HM-very poor selection of alcohol, no blender drinks IB-nice bar at beach for evening drinks Hands down IB wins for bar Pools. Never used pools. But did notice HM has far more pool loungers then IB. HM has a large shaded area with tables and chairs. IB most tables and chairs are reserved the night before Entertainment HM- daytime entertainment beach volley ball, salsa dancing, bingo. Evening entertainment every night (never made it there) IB- more of a laid back atmosphere during the day. A few evenings someone sang
mariemZ6705WO
mariemZ6705WO
2024.03.29
Verified
Love the hotel Room very clean, a bit old style chalet but i love it ! nice and comfortable bed for me, outside area super clean, 2 big pools very beautifull, resto buffet good food, good service, employees very nice, a lot of chairs and guards are very nice and helpfull. I would return there
Keith P
Keith P
2024.03.22
Verified
Just come relax here. Reviews are far from truthful on this location. Bunch of whiners and spoiled people so figured I'd drop a line. If your a fancy pants, rock another location. If your normal down to earth people,come here. Food, great with lots to choose from and readily available. Alcohol not high end, but will still set you on your lawn chair for a afternoon of blistering hot sun shine and white sand for miles. Cruise ships ( had 5 here yesterday with the arrival of the new Icon of the seas (the biggest) .... still lots of room, seats, food and drinks. Heard lots about how noisy it is, pfft ya right. Sun drops right in front of the beach and it's turns into a ghost town. Entertainment till 11 and maybe 50 people wandering around. We walked beach from end to end and past a dozen people for past 4 days. I'm sitting here right now at 10:43pm gassed from 3 scuba dives today with Bananarama and nothing going on.... good stuff (lol) Don't listen to the negative and come, nothing to complain about here. Peace out, ive 4 diver scheduled tomorrow in prestige coral reefs filled with all aquatic life, and sea 🐢. 2 thumbs up from this down to earth kinda guy.
paula
paula
2024.03.02
Verified
Great experience. Wonderful small resort I was nervous with all the negative reviews but we have been pleasantly surprised. Everything is good here. The rooms are cute and clean. No problem with hot water, air conditioning, or wifi. Staff are absolutely the best. Food at the buffet, although repetitive, is decent. Only negative is food temperatures would be questionable as far as being in the danger zone for bacteria growth. The snack bar would only deserve a one star and would need better thought by the resort. The beach chairs are also in rough shape but it didn’t matter to us as we never used them. The pools look fine but the best part is the beach. Superb! Snorkelling right off the beach! There are lots of vendors that do ask you for a massage etc. but are no where near as aggressive as other countries we have visited. I guess it’s all a matter of opinion but we felt really comfortable and safe at Henry Morgan. I am grateful for the generosity from the staff and wouldn’t hesitate to return here. Thank you, gracias, Merci!
Cathy B
Cathy B
2024.02.17
Verified
Great Resort for a good price We booked at the Henry Morgan because we wanted an inexpensive all inclusive resort close to some good snorkelling and we were very happy we did! The snorkelling was fabulous - no need to book an excursion, just walk down the beach and go! The resort itself was great. The staff, and George the "ambassador", were all very polite and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The food was quite varied and tasty, and we found many options in the one included restaurant. There was always enough food. The beach restaurant was handy on the days we didn't want to go in, with a nice shady area to enjoy our lunch. We did not use the 2 pools but a few kids at the resort enjoyed them. We felt very safe on the beach and all over the resort, with many security people. Our belongings were never touched when we snorkelled. There were no insects that we noticed. The free wifi worked well in our room and all over. The entertainment team worked hard to keep guests and their children occupied. This is not a new resort, but it is very clean, and we did not wish to spend a lot just to be at a fancier resort. I would definitely recommend the Henry Morgan to anyone who wants a great all inclusive Roatan vacation!
RGuy T
RGuy T
2024.02.17
Verified
Conforme à ce que je m’attendais. Ce fut notre troisième (3) visite HM. Nous avions un peu peur suite aux commentaires négatifs lus sur de Trip advisor . Notre dernier voyage au HM remonte à février 2020 Transat étant le transporteur officiel. 2024 c’est Sunwing le transporteur. De l’aéroport de Montréal jusqu’à l’aéroport du Roatan on peut dire que le service a été correcte et en Français. Après oublier le Français par le représentant Sunwing et aussi les excursions ( la je me suis ennuyé du service de Transat.)Par contre il a fait son possible pour nous donner un bon service en anglais.Nous avions réservé section L chambres côté plage. Chambre très propre, ménage chaque jour impeccable, grand balcon donnant sur la piscine et la plage. Seul désagrément la musique des spectacles entre dans la chambre jusqu’à 11 heures le soir. La nourriture était bonne mais manquait de nouveautés ( la même sorte de poisson apprêté de 6 façons). Plusieurs canadiens ont été malade, ( reconnu par les responsables de l’hôtel) pourquoi? : bactérie ?dans l’eau?, la nourriture? les glaçons? Nous n’avions jamais été aussi indisposé avant. La plage toujours aussi magnifique et au bout de cette plage la nage en apnée toujours plein de poissons. La force du HM reste toujours l’extrême gentillesse de son personnel. Les locaux sont beaucoup plus présents mais cela ne m’a pas dérangé ( il a fallu que le HM survive après 3 ans de pandémie.). Je vais probablement y retourner l’an prochain. Nous avons été témoin que dans d’autres sections de l’hôtel il y a eu des problèmes dans les chambres, manque d’eau chaude, odeur d’égout à extérieur, ect. Dans tous les cas l’hôtel a trouvé une chambre de remplacement.
Mary W
Mary W
2024.02.15
Verified
Had a magical stay The food is great. Better than most resorts! All the staff were so friendly and worked very hard to make 9ur stay awesome. Special mention to George, hospitality manager. He goes out of his way and makes sure he checks in with us frequently to see if we need anything. As the face of Henry Morgan resort, he represents it so well. Also special mention to waiter Freddie. He is constantly on the move clean8ng up and still has time to check in with us to see if he can help us in any way.
SuzukiWB
SuzukiWB
2024.02.13
Verified
Good staff, but tired facility I so wanted to love this resort, but overall the experience was average. To be fair, every staff person I interacted with was lovely. All were friendly and most were efficient. The greeters at the restaurant stick out, as do all the chefs, bartenders and most of the wait staff. The challenge is the resort is tired, very tired. I understand there are upgrades, but my room was clean, but only fair in finish. I was concerned about the twice daily spraying for insects. This might account for so few birds and other wild life in the area. The food was generally good, but limited on options. We did the wine tasting at Gula, which was the best value for the week. We did excursions with Sea Land, Go Blue and Sunwing. They were good, but found Pancho to be amazing. There were two items that aren't the fault of Henry Morgan, but I want to mention. 1) this is a very cash based area, expect significant user fees if using a credit card (ask first or just bring more cash). 2) There was a significant single supplement. This is probably a Sunwing issue, but it made ir one of the most expensive all inclusive vacations I have taken. Felt the value was not worth the cost. That being said, the staff, the snorkeling and the Island itself are worth a good look.
Kevin A
Kevin A
2024.02.07
Verified
beach front room requests at the henry morgan for jan 8/23 with sunwing and the circle of incompetency after going to the henry morgan in 03/23 for two weeks i convinced my friends n family to book jan 8th beach front rooms two weeks. a total of 4 rooms with requests for rooms that were not limited to one all done at time of booking in july/aug of 23. i decided to go much earlier in sept and waited for their arrival in jan. i did meet with george the pr rep and passed along info in nov thinking he would look after the requests and or pass the info onto the right dept/person. approx 8 or 9 days before they all arrive i got to the front desk of the henry morgan to confirm check in time to find out that 3 out of the 4 bookings were not even close to the booking/room requests infact none were but 1 was in the right area but upper room. regardless i find this out and start one interesting circle about affair with first the front desk then the sunwing rep eddy and a reservations rep of the henry morgan tamara. so of coarse we were advised to submit our room requests with our agents in canada BUT that as i explained to them all there that that was a RE request but all partys in canada did! from there i was advised by the front desk and eddy that the only person who can change this is the reservations rep tamara and was kindly given her email as she does not have a office at the henry morgan as told and that the sunwing rep eddy and george have problems getting ahold of her themselves re this issue and others i believe. so i did email tamara with the sub matter stating " please contact me re jan 8th booking" with a short email stating in text please call me re room assignment for jan 8th...i have family and friends coming please call me on whats up or email" NO REPLY days later i send another text similar to make contact and go thru details ( altho by at this time names and current room assignments had been passed over to ed and to her by pic) NO REPLY i was then given what i thought was her phone number to receive texts back stating that it was her personal line and suggested that room requests were to be done at the time of booking ( re peat history) and that i never passed along the info she wanted when infact she knew the issue was room assignment for jan 8th 2 weeks before but failed to reply such as " hi how may i possibly help re your concern to room assignments for jan 8th !I pleaded for a reply in 3 emails over two weeks re this! NO REPLY till i inadvertantly called her so called personal line and then even then no reply or attention to the issue as described! to make a long story short none of this was sorted out thank you to all involved. amazing! and this is with me at their front desk weeks in advance! so here some conclusions re room requests at the henry morgan 1 sunwing in toronto collects room requests and passes them on "apparently" but they are not considered by the hotel or the reservation staff lead by tamara 2 incredible lack of communication between sunwing rep eddy and tamara in reservations and front desk 3 the pr rep george appears to have communication problems with reservations n tamara 4 the reservations supervisor tamara does not have a office on the henry morgan grounds 5 rooms 1,2,3,4,and i believe 5,6,7 have a smell of a septic tank behind them and smell bad so needless to say i wont be booking with sunwing for a while if i can avoid them.then henry morgan beachside rooms are awesome but do require some attention soooon or it will get toooo far gone. the pool bar and snack area is a disaster. please give the young kids behind the bar a raise! as for my experience dealing with this issue and sunwing and eddy and george of henry morgan along with the front desk and tamara the reservations manager...no thanks....my guests of family and friends the same...this situation i describe above i believe is a dysfunctional relationship between those involved and has been on going from what i understand thru friends of experience booking....there's some sort of dynamic there that doesn't work! there's no team effort there! after being run around in circles several times and focusing in on the issue....i believe that tamara doesn't look at the room requests as when i was there i asked others in the rooms and area we all selected if they put in room requests they all said no lol....and infact one said they booked at the last minute getting the last room for that week and with no room requests and got the rooms we wanted....that we summitted for in july and put in requests in the first week or two of the winter offerings from sunwing??? thank you sunwing and henry morgan i know 5 people that will avoid booking with you and the hnery morgan too....now the food was fine...the hotel other wise fine...the pool bar needs major upgrade...good staff...but we wont be back! and im thinking as i focus that the dynamic issue is dysfunctional due to tamara as her communication skills carried a very bad vibe and bad attitude. we never meet but the bad attitude thru text was obvious. a customer and client stating his concern was room assigment for jan 8 and she couldn't get back with out a attitude when as stated it should have been " hi mr ____ what is your concern and how may i help you? not good henry morgan! fellow travellers....beware....the room requests are not even looked at upon booking...no way!
YannickGermain5
YannickGermain5
2024.01.31
Verified
Wow Roatan !!! Nous avons séjourné ma blonde et moi et nous avons adoré !! Après une douzaine de voyages à Cuba dans les mêmes types de catégories d'hôtels, nous avons décidé d'essayer une nouvelle destination et wow quel belle découverte !!! Rien a voir côté bouffe à comparer à Cuba. C'est un hôtel rustique mais vraiment très bien. Tout est propre. Les chambres sont grandes. Le buffet est grand et on a jamais eu d'attente. La nourriture est vraiment bonne. Au snack, ils servent des hot-dogs, hamburgers, du pop-corn et des nachos. La plage est vraiment très belle et quand même assez longue pour marcher. Toujours des chaises de disponibles. Le personnel vraiment gentil et tres avenant. C'était notre première fois et non notre dernière. Et que dire des activités à faire sur l'île. Nous avons fait affaire avec Patrice Roatan québécois sur Facebook, un guide québécois qui vit là depuis quelques années et wow !!!
Marie-eve C
Marie-eve C
2024.01.25
Verified
Vacance du 15 au 22 janvier au roatan super endroit à découvrir L'hôtel henry morgan propre très bonne nourriture le personnel est gentil monsieur George de L'hôtel parle bien français ! La mer est splendide la plonger en apnée est super .à quelques minute de marche de L'hôtel à gauche la barrière de coraux est super... je retournerais au roatan c'est sûr !!
Angie and Darren
Angie and Darren
2024.01.21
Verified
Two weeks in the Sun Just got back from this West Bay resort. It's our second time here in as many years. Last year I gave this resort a 3.5 star but I am giving it a 4 star experience. I love this location right in the middle of West Bay. The staff and waiter service was great a big shout out Freddie our Waiter and George the hospitality manager. George was there for us each and every time we needed him. We were delayed and had to spend half the day sitting in the lobby after we checked out (Sunwing dropped the ball and that's another story) George would come by time after time making sure that we were comfortable and gave us snacks and drinks. Thanks again buddy. GEORGE also does a great West Bay walking excursion two or three times a week. It's free and it shows you all of West Bay points on both sides of the island. Places you don't really know that exists and the views are incredible.He don't charge anything for it but the people generally give him a tip. Thanks George that was a great sunset walk. Back to the resort. Renovation are still going on but we definitely seen some great improvements from last year. The buffet is a typical All-inclusive buffet. We had absolutely no problem finding something and it was never a issue. (We also eat at alot of the local restaurants especially the hangover hut. ). The very best thing about this resort is definitely the location, they have the biggest piece of beach and never a problem finding a chair even when the cruisers show up. They are typically gone by 2 pm and only a couple of times a week. There are many vendors right across the whole bay but a simple no thanks is enough and the ones in front of the resort will stop asking after the first or second day. Never once did they become pushy. We had a great 2 week trip here and will be back. Thanks again George and the rest of the staff. Hopefully we will be returning again. I'll add pictures of the West Bay walk with George
Travel07625399384
Travel07625399384
2024.01.14
Verified
Super semaine Pour notre 3 iem visite sur l'île de Roatan nous sommes retourné au Henry Morgan pour la 2 iem fois le but premier étais de profiter au maximum du snorkling dans les eaux limpides et plage magnifique et nous avons été très bien servi de plus nous avons bien manger et bu le ressort est oui vieillissant mais bien tenu au jour le jour et donne un bon rapport qualité prix West End est la place à aller sur l'île...plage,snorkling à proximité, restaurant, ambiance et coucher de soleil magnifique nous avons passer une semaine magnifique,et pour le peux de temps passer à la chambre (B36) rien à dire lit confo,wi-fi à la chambre et accès direct à la piscine juste wow si vous chercher un bon guide pour vos excursions consultez la page Roatan Francophone Québécois avec Patrice un Québécois expat sur l'île...attention aux commentaires car le voyageur moyen à tendance à vouloir une qualité 5 étoiles et payer pour 2 ...sur l'île la vrai affaire est sur la plage et dans l'eau je le recommande allez vous amusez
Fernando
Fernando
2024.01.03
Verified
This place is not goood This place is horrible really dirty and unattended,personal are not friendly and we will not come back they just have one restaurant and tha food it basic also you have to make lines for everything for drinks they need to change a lot things to do better
Biggy B
Biggy B
2023.12.19
Verified
Island Gem Great resort. It has expanded big time. Stayed in a beachside room. Huge room, comfortable bee, nice big walk in shower with good water pressure and temperature. Some of the features still need a bit more updating. Taps were corroded a little bit as is common in Central America. Bed was very soft and comfortable. We were very sad that the pool was down for upgrading. The weather didn't cooperate very well this time either. As usual George, the main man at Henry Morgan, was so very awesome. He made us feel very welcome and goes out of his way to make your day the best it can be. Freddy and the rest of the servers at the buffet were very helpful and super nice. Food was very tasty for the most part. A little bit more variety is needed. Would be nice to get juice instead of flavored sugar water. It is Central America though lol Will definitely go back again and hope the weather cooperates more. Thank you George!!
EMS T
EMS T
2023.12.18
Verified
Greassy food and bad hotel infrastructure. NOT AGAIN! Not a hotel I would atay at again. Very expensive for a four day package (airfare from San Salvador and hotel all included) which turned into a three day as the tour travel agent (Ana's travel) and or tour operator changed the departure time out of San Salvador to Roatan from 8am to 11:30 am. We arrived at the hotel at the end of the day or when already dark. Departure time was first thing in the morning (checkout at 6am) on the last day. Turning this 4 day package into a three effective days. Not trustworthy agent or tour operator. Food was very greasy and it was the same items every day in their buffet. Their salad items although the same every day, it was a bit more acceptable to ingest. Place needs a major infrastructure upgrade where the water supply pump died and did not supply water to my room for an entire day. They claimed that it would take longer than normal for us to get water in the room as we were located in the second floor as this would cause the water to take longer to get to our room (?)
Nathalie M
Nathalie M
2023.12.17
Verified
Hôtel Henry Morgan Quel déception, 3 couples et je trouves qu'il y a beaucoup de problèmes, 4x carte de chambre fonctionne pas et douche eau tiède jamais eau chaude et pomme de douche fonctionne msl aviser le 11 et j'ai aviser le 12 ils ont rien fait, 1 couple d'ami eux leur suite pas de poêle pas de grand frigidaire pas de laveuse ni sécheuse pas de comptoir horrible jamais comme sur la photo quant il vende le voyage, ils ont changer pour une chambre bord de plage un autre désastre pas de meuble garde robe , ça sent les égouts, chambre pas nettoyer affreux , le 3e couple eux chambre normale avec un plafond qui coule , toilette qui flush pas, lumière qui scintille électriques et problème de carte 4x minimum , je voyage de 2 à 3x par année et c'est la pire place que j'ai fait , de plus aucune piscine pour enfants fonctionne, et devant ma chambre la piscine est en réparation. Je ne recommanderai pas cet hôtel, par contre les gens qui travaille sont très gentils. Le seul point positif pour moi. De plus il faut marcher sur des corridor en bois très glissant. Si vous désirer aller au roatan payer le prix plus cher pour soit le mayan ou condo. L'endroit manque de beaucoup d'amour en réparation.
Sebastien R
Sebastien R
2023.12.12
Verified
Horrible Horrible. Une journée complète pas d’eau, donc pas de douche ou toilette. Chambre salle et désuète. Fumigation pour les moustiques à 5h am avec une odeur insoutenable. Nourriture correct mais sans plus. Pire endroit où nous avons séjourné dans les 20 dernières années.