roatan.travel

roatan.travel Reviews

Excellent rating
4.5
3297 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (30)
Toni S
Toni S
2024.03.29
Verified
Infinity Stay We just returned from a stay at Infinity Bay Resort, what a great time! The staff were friendly and accommodating; from the Front desk area, the Activities counter to the onsite Property dive shop. I had my 1st exploration dive with a young lady instructor. It was a wonderful, safe experience I will never forget. SO Much Fun! Snorkeling and kayaking are available as well. The Breakfast buffet sets you up for the day with a wide variety of served hot foods and fresh fruits. The Palapa is available for lunch and dinner if you want to stay on site with beautiful sunsets and fun music. The water taxi is a great way to see the shoreline. You can stay as busy or relaxed as you want! The new pool and restaurant additions looked like they will be great, once open. The pool looked SO close to completion when we left. All in all, a wonderful experience!
Katie V
Katie V
2024.03.28
Verified
2nd stay and planning our next one This is our second stay here and we will be back again. The breakfast is delicious great way to start the day. The pool is so clean and refreshing. Most amazing spot on the beach. Rooms are spacious with full kitchen and staff is very nice and helpful. You won’t regret staying here
Connector60347267774
Connector60347267774
2024.03.26
Verified
Overall Good!! Solo trip to keep my Scuba Certification active. nice resort, beautiful beach, good food. I had the premium package and scuba add-on (Sunwing). There were some negatives but they were minor in nature. Sunwing has to work on their transfers! I ended up just paying for my own transportation to the airport. Bar/Wait Staff are on Island time and can be inattentive at times and Tips are expected but do not change service level (Would be nice if they would play Music for the guests and not just what they like) . Dive/Scuba shop and program are well run with lots of Dive Options. Avoid the Shark Dive as it is run by a different company and they are restrictive as to the equipment you are allowed to use (GoPros etc). Construction was no problem, hardly noticeable. (may be complete by the time I'm posting).
zwoviotis
zwoviotis
2024.03.22
Verified
Mostly good, but transportation was painful. We arrived in Roatan on a Royal Caribbean cruise, and went straight to Infinity Bay Beach Resort with our day passes (pre-purchased on the resort's website: $96/adult, $78/child) to enjoy a relaxing day in the sun. There was both good and bad: - POOL - OK. A nice large pool with ample lounge chairs, towels, shower stations, bathrooms, infinity pool edge facing the beach, and swim up bar. It was mainly quiet; nobody really used the pool much while we there. I think everyone was there for the beach! - BEACH - GOOD. Beautiful soft sand and clear water, with ample lounge chairs and shade by the palm trees at the back, and sun in the front. An armed guard stood/strolled around, which was at first a bit unsettling, but he was friendly and helpful, and we forgot he was there after a bit. A quick stroll in either direction down the beach brought us past many other resorts with different restaurants and amenities. Many vendors strolled the beach selling things like shirts, hats, sunglasses, photo ops with monkeys and parrots, local food, fresh pineapple and coconuts / drinks. Our daughter even got her hair braided at a stand down the beach a bit. There is a small dock at the end of the beach, offering many water activities / tours. There is supposedly great snorkeling around, but it seems to have been a bit further down the beach as we did not see anything much directly in front of the resort, but still the water was beautiful. - FOOD - OK/GOOD. The day pass included food and 3 drinks per person. The menu was fairly basic (burgers, fries, grilled chicken, nachos, pizza, etc), but there were a few additional nice items (ceviche, etc), and the food was generally well portioned and surprisingly good! The bar was pretty low key, never very busy, and seemed reasonably stocked. The drinks were ok, but nothing special, but not bad, and came in cheap plastic cups (not solo cups...the flimsy kind), but they worked. - TRANSPORTATION - BAD. With the day pass, we had reserved a shuttle from the cruise port to the resort, and back (additional $75). It was easy enough to find the stand as we exited the cruise terminal. However...I didn't know you could fit SEVEN passengers into a Toyota Land Cruiser, but that is how they had us, and we got the rear "seat". With this rear "seat" up, there is no room for luggage behind, so our beach bag was on our knees. Our knees were actually pinned up against the top of the seat in front of us. It was literally painful, and completely unacceptable for the price. And this was the case for the shuttle going in both directions. Overall, it was a nice relaxing time. A little expensive, but not surprisingly so for a Caribbean tourist area. I just wish our relaxing beach time hadn't ended with such a terrible transportation experience on our way back to the ship!
Rene M
Rene M
2024.03.17
Verified
The Best driver Francisco Rene mejia i give him 200$ So good pls come Is the Best restaurant and hotel in the Island the service and tha Bay, pool, bar, and games are so good to entertaining the transporte its so so good visita him i give him 5 stars because of the service the food and come back in week of 22 to 31 of march
jefcath
jefcath
2024.03.17
Verified
Great Stay First we want to thank the staff for being so pleasant and accommodating. Special thanks to Shaggy who meets you with a smile and helps with your luggage, Autto (Heldor) who made our eggs every morning so pleasant along with Sandy and Fernando, Francis, Carmen, Gabby. Heila who took care of our room everyday, Olvin, and of course Oscar!! Also, Big thanks to Juanito at the bar always greeted us with a happy good morning as he set up the bar. and all the staff at the main desk. Can't leave out Mr. Anthony and the guy who walks around with the black baseball hat on :). Good guys wear white hats but we get it!! It was a great two weeks and the weather couldn't have been any better. make sure you try the Fettuccine Alfredo with shrimp at the Palapa pool bar area. Get to the Argentina Grill down the beach for their take on Provoleta as an appetizer and the skirt steak and some morning get to West End for a stop a Sandy Buns. Make sure you get one of Sandi's Buns!! As always awesome snorkeling and diving . See everyone next year same time god willing. All the best to all at IB.
Duane
Duane
2024.03.15
Verified
Never Again. Visited for a day. Way overpriced. You get lunch from a limited menu and 3 drink coupons. They can be used for Alcoholic drinks, water or soda. The only water available had to be purchased. Food was not very good and it took 1 hour and 20 minutes for them to serve it
Hailey B
Hailey B
2024.03.11
Verified
Great beach and white sand. We had a great stay. Lawerence at the front desk greeted us and was very helpful. Special thanks to Ms. Dearsey at the front desk who helped us with the accommodations and a condo with a great view. Can't beat the beach, white sand and clear water. My husband loved the nightly music at the beach bar and we enjoyed the organic farm stand "Fresco Market", across the street to get veggies to snack on. We are definitely going to come back next year and we are looking forward to seeing the new pool!
Marsha M
Marsha M
2024.03.11
Verified
Infinity bay resort fabulous!! We had a fabulous day at the beautiful infinity bay on our cruise Locating the transportation was easy once outside of the port area. Kevin, our driver, was personable and Informed. He made sure that we arranged a time for him to pick us up making sure that we would have enough time to get back well before sailing. Kevin was prompt for the return. The resort is stunning with a beautiful pool and beach. Vendors were kept outside of the resort. We easily got lounge chairs under an umbrella. Included In the cost was an appetizer, entree, and three alcoholic drinks. The food was delicious and more than plentiful. Drinks were strong. We would definitely return and were sorry to leave
rob l
rob l
2024.03.09
Verified
Once again still one of our favorites Infinity Bay. What can I say. Still one of our favorites on the island. Didn't disappoint. Tonnes of staff everywhere. Happy and helpful. Especially restaurant staff you guys are amazing. The new renos were mildly distracting but it will be amazing when finished. Many wait to come back next year and see it.
brittney c
brittney c
2024.03.06
Verified
Some good, and some bad. But overall a nice stay. There are ups and downs to this place. First, the downs. It is crowded. It is a large facility so there are many guests. But they also sell day passes to cruise ship day trippers so it is more than crowded, making it nearly unpleasant overall in and around the pool. They are building a new pool but I suspect instead of spreading people out it will just allow more people to come. Not really a selling point for a return visit. Check in was delayed as the guests in our room "would not leave"- I didn't realise this could be an option. So we didn't get in to our room for a few more hours. Again when I moved rooms at the end of the trip, we all checked out of the 3 br unit slightly early and I was not able to get into my new room for another 5 hours as the guests were late checking out. This was really frustrating but there did to seem to be any concern about either of these inconveniences from any of the customer service agents at the front desk. I had the all inclusive package. The food is decent. Nothing special for most dishes but there was always fresh salad and fruit, and the soups- of all things, were always delicious. We had a 3 bedroom Ocean view villa which was a joke for calling it ocean view. Glimpse really doesn't even count either. But it was clean and comfortable. We were on the top floor (4th flor) and the elevator worked 50% of the time at best. The beach is crowded with hawkers so it was preferred to stay on the premises of the resort to avoid getting hassled all day. But the experienced guests rise at 6 am and block off tables, chairs, whole areas with towels or flags or whatever, so seating is limited if you come later than that to sit around the pool. It is a practice I feel should be eliminated by staff if the resort wants to welcome guests that didn't know you have to lay claim to your space early and whether you are going to use it or not. The reef out front was much better than expected. I was there for a dive trip and was pleasantly surprised by the shore dive. The dive shop was good. We dove for 5 days as a large group. Our boaty, Roger was safe and helpful. Our dive guide, Dario was knowledgable, helpful, friendly, exceptionally professional and kept safety and comfort of all the guests with different diving abilities in mind. The guide for the other half of our group was Bambi. She was as helpful and kind and whilst I did not dive with her I know the other members in our group that did were quite happy with her as their guide. I had a massage on my final day at the Tranquility Spa. My masseuse was Fabre. She was amazing and it was great to wash all the tension of a week long holiday in the sun and surf away, ha ha. I stayed on one extra night after the group left and got moved to a one bedroom room which was far nicer, cleaner and more comfortable and modernised than the 3 bedroom villa. This makes sense I suppose as many of these units are individually owned. The resort bar La Palapa is great. All the bar tenders - too many to name- were friendly and accommodating. The drinks are easy to get at the bar, pool or tables. The resort snacks were a nice treat if you were feeling pecking but not wanting a meal. The resort is in walking distance to lots of great places to eat and explore. Overall, it is a typical resort. However given the competition, I think Infinity Bay needs to up its game a bit if it wants to set itself apart as a destination people race to get to.
MidTransplant
MidTransplant
2024.03.03
Verified
Nice place but a little congested on the beach. We were a set of 3 couples coming in from Kansas and stayed at Infinity Bay. We had a 3 bedroom beach front condo which was great since it was very close to the "action". We flew in and was picked up at the airport by our driver which we had prearranged before leaving home. Jose Martinez was our driver for the entire week. He speaks excellent English and is a very honest and good natured guy. While we just met him on this trip our friends have known him for several years. He has a van that can accommodate 6 to 8 people. He took us anywhere we needed or wanted to go including the grocery store and sightseeing around the island. Highly, highly recommend! I got his card and his contact number which is 504-9725-9570 or 504-3369-0929 ( First dial 011, the U.S. exit code, then 504, which is the country code for Honduras. Then dial the 8-digit phone number). We spent 6 days at Infinity Bay but never once got in the pool as it was (unbelievably) too cool to use and spent most of time beach front on the loungers. The beach bar was less then 50 feet away, which was handy as we only once had any waiter come to ask if we would like to order. The breakfast was great and the food was good. We ate dinner out most evenings. The restaurant directly next door was very good and the prices seemed very reasonable. One day we walked to West End (along the water line) which is a bit of an "experience". Not something you want to do if you have any walking issues or small children. We ate at Tijuana Tacos, which is right next to the road. Very Good! 3 Street Tacos for $6. While Happy Harry's seemed like a cool place to hang out, the drinks were not that good. Fortunately, Infinity is upgrading their pool area and adding a hot tub/spa and it is a perfectly nice place, especially if this is your first trip to Roatan but I would most likely stay over by West End as opposed to the West Bay area if I ever go back.
Ashley
Ashley
2024.02.25
Verified
Mixed Experience at Infinity Bay - Beach Access and Clean Rooms, but Service and Crowds Fall Short Positives: Excellent access to the beach and conveniently located within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Hotel room was well-maintained, clean, and boasted a pleasant balcony despite a construction view. Easy access to water taxis and good opportunities for snorkeling and activities. Negatives: The resort struggled to manage the influx of guests, especially from cruise ships, leading to various issues. Towel availability was a major concern, as towels were reserved for cruise ship passengers, leaving paying guests without essential amenities. Multiple requests for towels went unfulfilled until late in the evening, causing inconvenience. Service at La Palapa, the resort's restaurant, was notably slow, with instances where our friends with Premium wristbands had to resort to eating elsewhere due to delays. Inconsistent meal service was observed, with some in our group receiving their meals much later than others. Persistent sales pitches on the beach and resort premises were intrusive and detracted from the overall experience. Summary: While Infinity Bay offered a decent experience with its beach access, clean rooms, and other amenities, the issues with service, towel availability, and the overwhelming crowds from cruise ships left an impact. The slow service at La Palapa and the relentless sales attempts on the beach contributed to a less-than-ideal stay. For the price paid for an all-inclusive stay, the expectation of a smoother and more enjoyable experience was not fully met. Considering these factors, I may explore alternative options for accommodation if returning in the future.
hoho223
hoho223
2024.02.24
Verified
Relax, Drink, Repeat We are back here at IB for our third time and our fourth time in Roatán. Everything is the same except for the new pool. (Construction delay due to epic rains last Nov/Dec.). As always, the staff is congenial as always. I am writing this before our two weeks are up because I don’t expect anything to alter my rating. Sunset pic was from our first night here.
BethanyA_CO
BethanyA_CO
2024.02.24
Verified
Unfortunately, they can’t deliver on what they sell you Understand what the resort offers before booking! I really was looking forward to this stay with our family and friends. Positives: The outdoor are of resort is very nice-Despite construction Access to the beach Access to water taxi in front of the beach Nightly live music most nights Large 2 bedroom villas with 2 balconies Negatives The resort can’t handle the capacity. They don’t have the infrastructure to handle what they are trying to offer. All my negatives pretty much link to this. Lots of miscommunication - for example, we were told our children couldn’t have a different all inclusive package than us-but the premium package is tied to top shelf liquor. Our friends who checked in were able to get different packages for their children. We bought the premium package and were given breakfast only bands and turned away at the bar/restaurant. The informational brochure we got also says kids can’t have premium wristbands but we of course charged $150 per kid per day for the premium bands. La Palapa is the only bar and restaurant for the entire resort- the only one! Website and brochures says it opens at 7. We sat and waited for 45 minutes yesterday trying to get someone’s attention. I waved someone down and they said they don’t open until 8. Another miscommunication that doesn’t match advertising. It took 90 min to get breakfast on Thursday and my meal was cold. There were 4 other people in the restaurant for breakfast-that’s it. The service is very, very slow because they don’t have enough waiters. Majority of our meals came out cold or luke warm because they sit in the kitchen for so long. Our room wasn’t ready on time and after traveling for 14 hours you just want to get your swimsuits on! We finally gave up and the kids found their suitcases in the lobby and changed in the lobby bathroom. There are never any pool towels. Never. We went down at 7:30 AM yesterday morning and they were still none. I never successfully got pool towels during our 6 day trip. We finally complained to the front desk because our kids were freezing and towels were delivered to us about an hour and a half later at 8pm. Beware-pack your own towels. The cruise ships-the resort is SWARMED by the cruise ship people. They have access to the pool, the chairs, the beach, the freaking pool towels, bar and restaurant…and since it’s the only bar for the whole resort, you will wait an extensive amount of time for drinks and food. I booked a facial which would have been much better if the Bluetooth speakers didn’t constantly cut in and out. Relaxing music would play for about 45 seconds and then cut in and out for a minute and then the music would stop entirely for about 10 min. This cycle repeated the entire hour. The poor lady tried to cover it up with a sound machine playing ocean waves. As for a recommendation, it depends on what you’re looking for. Paying $1200 per day between the room and all inclusive, you expect to at least be able to have a towel and hot food-even if it’s mediocre food. If you’re booking for close access to a beach and a nice pool area, you won’t be disappointed.
Diane A
Diane A
2024.02.17
Verified
Snorkel off the beach My husband enjoyed our stay at Infinity Bay and will return in the future. The food was very good and we felt reasonably priced. Our accommodations in room 1003 had direct ocean view and was very roomy. Access to the beach and snorkeling was easy and the pool was a plus. Our only requests would be clearer instructions as to where the pool towels are located (on the beach at the activities center) and more towels as they ran out of towels 3 times during our stay. For $500 plus a night we felt that the condo should have glass glasses of 2 sizes (not just wine glasses) and bedside lamps.
DiverDon
DiverDon
2024.02.10
Verified
Not worth the price, not "upscale" services Our family of four paid $400 *per person, per night* for a 10-night stay between Christmas and New Year. We booked the 2-bdrm, 2-bath villa right on the beach. if you look at the photo from above on the website, it's the one on the bottom row closest to the beach. The villa was spacious and well laid out. nice interior, with a big veranda right on the beach. we spent many hours out there relaxing instead of using the beach chairs. The biggest issue we have is with the service. The staff is nice and friendly and helpful, but the management of the resort is very bad. For example, during this extremely busy time, where all the rooms are full, they continue to allow cruise ship customers to come to the resort. consequently, paying guests had to fight to get beach chairs. there was simply no room for guests, on the beach, at the bar, or around the pool. on these days, we had to wait 30 mins to get drinks at the bar, 30 mins to get seatting at the La Palapa restaurant, and (not kidding) an hour to get our food once seated. The restaurant and the kitchen and the bar are simply too small to accommodate this many guests, As for the food, quality is comparable to what you find at "fast-casual" chains in the US, but very expensive (think $17 for nachos, $20 for burgers, and $50 for steaks). The staff worked really hard to accommodate irate customers, but the management should have invested in adding peak capacity. We paid for an all-inclusive meal plan with all of our meals at the restaurant, which turned out to be the best decision we made. we went to the buffet a few times for breakfast and dinner, and it was simply terrible. the food was overcooked, way too salty or way too sweet. reminded our kids of school cafeteria. The all inclusive resorts in Mexico or DR have way better food, with more selection and many more tables. We had an issue of guests using our veranda when the beach was too crowded or too sunny. we normally wouldn't mind except that we couldn't then use it. we told the front desk and they put up a sign and problem solved. not sure why they didn't do it before. We had a problem of our flips flops stolen from our veranda. we notified management but nothing was done. We are all scuba divers and we dove a lot with the on-site scuba shop, Infinity Bay divers. we won't go into all the details here, but this resort is definitely not a dive resort. it is, first of all, an all inclusive resort with a diving operation attached to it. Don't expect things to be catered to divers. in summary, i think this resort is overpriced and the services don't measure up to what you normally would find in Cancun or in DR. the facilities are not as luxurious as the upscale resorts you can find in Cancun or DR (but the prices are). this is not a true resort, but a time share real estate development that build nice things but don't invest in customer services or enjoyment.
Martin J
Martin J
2024.02.07
Verified
Debbie downer Disaster! So we came along with another couple that had a timeshare two bedroom. Funny thing is, you can’t even get our bedroom door to close because the bed is too big, called to complain, and they move the bed enough to have to remove my phone charger from the wall but the door still doesn’t close. Four days in and that’s the best that this place can do. Maggie is supposed to be the best ever for accommodating, but zero help.
Benita M
Benita M
2024.01.30
Verified
Extorsión by the driver. We Whent to Roatan in a cruise. We bought a day pass that we were told included the transport when we come back from the port the drive request $50.00 dollars for transportation.. The beach is beautiful. I got a great massage at the beach by Rosa.
Robin G
Robin G
2024.01.29
Verified
Great time at Infinity Bay We were a group of 8 people and we stayed for 7 days at Infinity Bay Jan 15-22. We had a wonderful time. Our transfer to and from the airport was easy without incident. Rooms: We ended up with a 2nd level 1 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit which had 2 balconies overlooking the pool. It was super spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable and it was very quiet at night for sleeping. There is a full kitchen and coffee maker, microwave and living room with tv with satellite. There was an elevator to the 2nd level which is handy for luggage, but the stairs were just fine for every day. Other members of our group had 1st level units and they were just as nice. The A/C worked fantastically! Beach: Beach was lovely – white powder sand and blue/green warm water. Very calm beach front with little waves due to the reef. Amazing Sunsets! Snorkeling was amazing right off the beach, we went every day. Lots to see and visibility was great. There were lots of snorkeling tour operators bringing their tours here because it was a great spot to snorkel although the boats sometimes came a little too close to us snorkelers a few times – especially the yellow glass bottom boat. Overall great snorkeling – we enjoyed it immensely. Bring your own equipment as you will have to pay to rent. There are a lot of vendors on the beach which could be annoying at times, but overall they weren’t too pushy except for the massage ladies who were relentless. One person in our group took a massage and said the ladies were great and it was well worth it. We did buy banana bread from the nice man who walks the beach every day saying “aaaaahhhhh Banana Bread” – it was VERY good. Little to no beach service for drinks, you will have to get up and get them yourself. Pool: The pool was very nice and kept very clean. There were many people swimming at night which we hadn’t seen in too many places. It’s not overly deep and is quite shallow at the bar area. Food: We did not upgrade to the premium package as it was $85USD per day, which we thought was excessive. We ate at the buffet each day for breakfast, lunch, dinner. We are not overly picky eaters, but we enjoy a good meal. We found the food very good and at times even excellent. No complaints at all. The staff were wonderful at the buffet as well. If I had to complain about anything, it would be the coffee, it wasn’t very good. I had higher expectations given we were in south America. There was a coffee shop in the lobby where you could purchase lattes, cappuccinos, etc .. We didn’t try it, as it wasn’t part of our package and would have to pay. We travelled with sunwing and they offered us 2 dinners on the beach which was nice. It’s always nice to have dinner next to the ocean and under the stars. Drinks: There was a menu of drinks at the beach bar that we could have as non-premium package people. There was plenty to choose from and were very good. My personal favorite: mojito and the rum punch. Snacks: There are some snacks available throughout the day across from the beach bar. Juice, water and 2 chafer dishes – one with fresh fruit and one with snacks like: nachos/mozzarella sticks/ salsa/chips etc.. It was always very tasty! Beach Bar: Great bar with equally great bartenders. We got all our drinks here while on the beach and around the pool. They have TVs usually with sports on to watch – it was great to watch the NFL playoff games! La Palapa: The restaurant on the beach La Palapa was not included with our package, but we could have purchased food at any time. The menu looked great and the food appeared to be very good. We didn’t feel the need to try La Palapa (any pay) as we found the buffet food to be great. Entertainment/Music: In the evenings there was some live entertainment (not much). If you are looking for nightlife, this is NOT the place. We enjoy some local live music, so it was fine for us, but won’t be everyone’s taste. Bugs: There are lots of sand flees and no-seeums, but not everyone is our group was affected. The bugs seem to be selective. They loved me, I was covered in bites on my legs, but some others only had a few bites. I would suggest wearing bug spray on your feet/legs at night. We walked down the beach during the day and got bit by some sand flees – just walk on the wet part and you will be fine. Overall we had a wonderful time, we never felt crowded and there was always chairs available on the beach and around the pool. We didn’t see many cruise ship visitors at Infinity Bay Resort, but the neighboring resort was super crowded from about 9am-2pm on cruise ship days. There was construction during the day, but we really only noticed when we walked past to go for meals. We loved that they took care of the resort cats. One had super cute kittens while we were there. We would definitely recommend and would go back.