River Valley Lodge Reviews

River Valley Lodge Reviews

4.7

Excellent - based on 564 reviews

rivervalley.co.nz
is verified by Trustindex

We guarantee all reviews are 100% real.
What's Trustindex?
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (317)
GrandTour15774844014
GrandTour15774844014
2024-02-26
Verified
Simply Stunning What a wonderful experience. Fantastic team looked after us every step of the way. We stayed 2 nights and it exceeded our expectations. We ate such beautiful home grown and cooked food. Cannot begin to explain the love put into the cooking..beautiful! Rooms are really comfortable, with the option of spas, saunas and a dip in the pristine waters of the river. We went rafting and were very well looked after by safety conscious guides. An amazing time. Thank you so much!
ChocolateLover77
ChocolateLover77
2024-02-24
Verified
An absolute must on your holiday, you won’t regret it! Amazingly scenic lodgings. You are in the absolute middle of nowhere, the nearest town is 30km away. I am currently writing this after my wife and I went on the scenic rafting tour ($230 NZD pp for 4.5 hours of gentle rafting and a picnic lunch included). The views are absolutely extraordinary. We arrived late the day before (6:50pm) but the welcome couldn’t have been warmer, it was like we were the last of the family group to arrive for a holiday. Janey was all smiles, immediately said to not worry about checking in or any of that “let’s get you fed”. While we were waiting to eat we had a couple of the team come over and explain what we could do activities-wise (rafting, e-biking, horse trekking, massages, hot tub) and then we had a mountain of food - all included. Genuinely one of the most welcoming places in a country famous for its warm welcomes. We also booked the hot tub for after our rafting and that was sublime! The one thing I would say is that this is not the Hilton or the Ritz. I suspect some of the poor reviews are from people who have been pampered! It’s an incredibly high standard for a rustic, out-of-the-way location! Big thanks to Janey, Hannah and Lupa (enthusiasm so infectious you feel guilty leaving!) Thank you!!
Journey55822939782
Journey55822939782
2024-02-22
Verified
Unbelievably good! My 3rd trip specifically for the incredible horse riding trips they offer. Ive done two 8 Day rides and this year a 3 day ride and 4 night stay. Very comfortable lodgings and the food is all grown organically and sustainably on the property. Unbeatable - the horses, people, place, food and the whole experience. Loads of fun and spectacular terrain for those that are experienced in the saddle.
Sarah P
Sarah P
2024-02-19
Verified
Loved it!! Loved this place and have regretted leaving ever since, we should have stayed longer! Staff were fab, facilities were excellent, whitewater rafting was one of the best experiences we have had - total beginners and we did the Grade 5, it was exhilarating and a total joy. Loved staying in the bus and having a bath with a view! Food was excellent, local and hearty portions. This will be our top recommendation to friends!
paul r
paul r
2024-02-18
Verified
Amazing Experience Absolutely brilliant! River Rafting [and we are 70+ year olds] - great, beautiful, peaceful and challenging. Even took a dunking! Meals, accommodation excellent but above all friendly, welcoming staff topped off a wonderful couple of days. We will be returning. Highly recommend for ourdoor type people - 20 to 80+. Paul and Patricia
Friederike S
Friederike S
2024-02-16
Verified
A day in paradise We totally loved the lodge! Amazing setting, super clean and everybody so friendly! Great food too. The tour was stunning and so much fun!
Royce M
Royce M
2024-02-13
Verified
A great back country bike ride - and outstanding dinner and breakfast! A group of 13 of us stayed at River Valley and biked the Back Country Ride. We were shuttled to the start, this was a very scenic drive even before the bike ride. The 37km ride was a fabulous 3 1/2 hour bike ride with many stops - and mostly downhill! The high country farming scenery and views were stunning. Our bunkhouse accommodation was clean and comfortable. Dinner and breakfast exceeded all expectations and were memorable! The sfaff were friendly and helpful. Thank you River Valley for a wonderful stay - highly recommended.
Anmer29
Anmer29
2024-02-09
Verified
Wonderful location Great trip, lovely place to stay , incredible food and very attentive staff. The location is very unique and only the river to listen to at night .
Percy S
Percy S
2024-02-08
Verified
Rangitikei River Explorer. Worth the trip! Our group (11 adults and a 10-year old) chose the 5-day Rangitikei River Explorer trip, the longest, in both time and distance, of several rafting adventures offered by River Valley Rafting. Our trip began and ended with overnight stays at River Valley Lodge, and there were 4 nights in tents along the river. (Note that Rathmoy Lodge, the usual last-night accommodation nominated on the River Valley website, was unavailable then.) River Valley Lodge. The lodge occupies a tranquil bush setting on the west bank of the Rangitikei River, Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. Meals are served family-style and feature fresh vegetables from the Lodge’s own gardens. The staff are friendly, attentive and responsive. The desk typically answered our numerous pre-trip inquiries within 24 hours. Rangitikei River Explorer. This rafting journey traverses an 80 km stretch of the river, starting at River Valley Lodge and ending near Hunterville. It follows a narrow, steep-walled 500-m deep valley, with sandstone cliffs and frequent steep waterfalls on either side. “Spectacular” hardly does the job of describing the scenery. Except for a rather exciting 15 minutes at the beginning, the river is easy going. Otherwise, rapids are bumpy, but easily negotiated. Our guides were, in a word, great, ensuring that the trip was safe, and that campsites, meals, and facilities were managed efficiently. Evaluation: Our group’s unanimous evaluation for our entire experience is Excellent, and the guides get an A+ for their leadership and hard work on-river.
Clayton N
Clayton N
2024-02-04
Verified
10/10 WOW!!! 10/10 What an amazing experience from the drive in, to the friendly welcome as soon as we walked through the door, to the heated under floor heating in the ensuite bathroom, to one of the best Grade 5 rafting trips I've experienced and with gorgeous kiwi native scenery along the way, to soaking in the spa overlooking the waterfall, to wiping ourselves out with over steaming the sauna lol, to the yummy craft beer on tap, to the delicious food prepared by the talented chef's, to just sitting on the river's edge in the sunshine taking in the amazing surroundings. Highly recommend, I'll be back for sure.
Simon G
Simon G
2024-02-04
Verified
Best rafting Awesome experience with Sean and the other guides. Despite some hairy moments everyone felt safe and had an amazing day. This was by far the best rafting experience I have had anywhere in the world.
Helen A
Helen A
2024-01-28
Verified
Great Get Away River Valley lodge is in a beautiful spot. We stayed for two nights including meals in a room with ensuite. We did the scenic rafting tour and did some kayaking as part of this with our guide Sean. We had a wonderful day out on the water with an excellent guide. The food was great throughout our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the vibe of the place. On our last morning we did the Laughing Moa bike tour. This self guided tour was really great with wonderful views and only encountered 12 cars the whole time. Highly recommended if you want to experience a remove and beautiful part of Aotearoa.
Michael M
Michael M
2024-01-27
Verified
Excellent trip with experienced guides! We had an amazing experience! Max was our guide and did an incredible job not only leading all the rafts for the day, but giving us a fun and memorable experience! The rapids start off easy, and gave us a sense of confidence, before exploring more of the challenging sections; where Max expertly guided us and evaluated what was and wasnt safe to go through Can't recommend this company and experience enough!
Lisa E
Lisa E
2024-01-20
Verified
Do it - you'll love it! Spectacular river, great guides, awesome adventure Fun packed afternoon. The river & surrounding scenery is spectacular. Janey our guide was super cool - we felt completely comfortable in her capable hands. We took our 16yr old who loved the whole adventure - from the thrill of the rapids to jumping out of the raft for a swim & the awesome jumping rock. Can't recommend this highly enough. We definitely want to come back & stay in the accommodation next time.
Siobhán H
Siobhán H
2024-01-20
Verified
Another Fantastic Stay at River Valley Lodge - 10/10 Experience! Our recent stay at River Valley Lodge was fantastic! We loved the white water rafting – really well organised and our guide was knowledgeable and easy to chat with. The staff were lovely, and the food was amazing. Special thanks for accommodating a last-minute change due to a broken leg. We've been here several times, and we'll definitely be back. 10/10!
Mobile16564686378
Mobile16564686378
2024-01-14
Verified
Highly recommend! All was just amazing! Great food, great people, our room was clean and cozy. The place is stunning. If you want to try rafting in New Zealand, try it in River Valley, Rangitikei River is best opportunity. Highly recommend all from River Valley! Definitely will come back!!!
Marcus
Marcus
2024-01-13
Verified
Eher was für kleine Kinder und Rentner! Es war doch eher eine gemütliche Bootsfahrt als Raftingtour. Ansonsten war alles sehr spartanisch. Die Sachen die wir tragen mussten rochen extrem nach Schweiß. Die Tour dauerte insgesamt 7,5 Stunden. Wir mussten oft laufen, weil der Wasserstand sehr niedrig war. Und die Rückfahrt in einem nicht Verkehrstüchtigem Bus dauerte 1 Stunde. Ich kann nur abraten!
Nathan M
Nathan M
2024-01-09
Verified
Cycling from River Lodge A hidden gem…. Thoroughly recommend a visit whether for rafting, swimming in the river, cycling or just for the food and ambience… which were both amazing.
Mark B
Mark B
2024-01-08
Verified
Best White Water Rafting Experience Ever An amazing, awesome, adrenaline packed adventure which we would highly recommend to others seeking fun, thrills and the occasional spill. Tom our guide was masterful in mentoring and coaching the four of us through, initially grade 2s and 3s, in preparation for the more challenging 4s and 5s ahead. This stuff is for real and if that is what you’re looking for, go for it with River Valley Team. In addition to this it is one of the most beautiful canyons you’ll ever see. I for one can’t wait to go again. Thanks Tom, Hannah and the team!
Curiosity17910547089
Curiosity17910547089
2024-01-04
Verified
Great day out for experienced riders! Amazing trip, horses were very well behaved and the views where incredible. Loved the fact it was bit less riding! I would highly recommend to an experienced rider, wouldn’t recommend it for beginners!