Rio & Learn Portuguese School

rioandlearn.com

Rio & Learn Portuguese School Reviews

Excellent rating
4.9
685 reviews Verified
Rio & Learn Portuguese School
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 685 ) 4.9

UTAMULIZA Josiane
UTAMULIZA Josiane
2024.05.16
Rio& learn is adept school for both learning and meliorating portuguese in fastest way along with professional teachers
Ross G
Ross G
2024.05.11
Verified
La escuela en la que deberías estudiar. Esta escuela es fantástica, en total estuve aproximadamente 3 meses. Empecé la escuela sin apenas saber nada de portugués y cuando la dejé me sentía seguro de mis habilidades. Los métodos elegidos por la escuela son brillantes, incluido salir a practicar en la vida real con lugareños reales. Las actividades extraescolares también son una oportunidad increíble para conocer la ciudad y seguir practicando portugués. Los profesores son serviciales, pacientes y conocedores. Recomendaría 100% esta escuela.
JINTU MONI
JINTU MONI
2024.05.09
The ideal location for learning Portuguese in a short period of time.I had sessions with Natalia and Igor, both of whom are excellent teachers who encourage you to continue learning and speaking Portuguese.My classes are enjoyable for me.For foreigners, it is always recommended.I will give extra 5 points for my teachers.
Austin Lee
Austin Lee
2024.04.25
I studied with Rio and learn online over 6 weeks. The sign up process was easy and the administration is professional. I tried both the private classes and the part time group classes. Both were fun and I was able to improve my Portuguese substantially. The teachers are personable and qualified, and the material is well developed. I hope to stop by in person one day!
Fehnle Killmann
Fehnle Killmann
2024.04.17
My aim was to be able to speak Portugues as quickly as possible before visiting my family living in Bresil. I chose the school Rio&Learn and already after the first lesson, I was sure that it was the perfect choice. During the first lessons, the teachers changed so that I could see the differences in teaching and I could then choose whom of the teachers suited me best. I have to say that they were all excellent. Already after the first lessons, I felt that I made progress. I now dare speaking, of course with mistakes, but I am not afraid anymore. And I am quite confident that I will be understood. I can recommend this school to everybody who wants to learn Portuguese and having fun in doing so.
Cerine Bouber
Cerine Bouber
2024.04.06
Here is an honest review, with pros and cons of my 3 weeks experience at Rio en Learn with the group classes of 4 hours a day. I will start with the good part (teachers!), then the bad part (management!) and I will end with some things to take into consideration when choosing a school (neither good nor bad, but good to know) First of all, big appreciation to the teachers I had during these 3 weeks: Felipe, Diogo, José, Wanessa and Julie do a really good job and classes with them were always fun! The classes are organized, the teachers are enthusiastic and the school organizes an activity 6 days a week, so you never get bored. The atmosphere at the school is also good and all the teachers and staff know you by name. What unfortunately did shine through is that the management is failing. Two out of three weeks we sat in a very hot classroom. The first week was manageable because we were 4 students + 1 teacher. But the following week we had 7 students + 1 teacher and then it was unbearable in the room. First of all, it is strange that there were 7 students, while it was promised that there would be a maximum of 6, but especially the heat in the classroom made the classes unbearable. And that is a waste of the good work of the teachers. A simple rotating fan would already help a lot. Just go to the store, checkout the fan, put it in the classroom and we would have been happy. However, this didn't happen. According to the staff, they had "done everything they could." But of course they mean "we did everything management allowed us to do." The fact that an employee cannot just go to the store to buy an essential object for your student's progress and satisfaction, says a lot about how management thinks of its employees! Also, not all technology worked properly: A keyboard with huge delays, for example. Furthermore, I never saw the owner of the school either, so that says something about how involved he/she is with the school. As icing on the cake, 3 teachers left in one month. I think something is wrong then? (rethorical question) It's unfortunate because the school feels very small, but both me and my fellow students have occasionally run into ridiculous bureaucratic problems that should not happen in a school of this size. Now onto the things to consider when choosing a school: - If you speak decent Spanish already, the pace of the subject are probably too slow. (4 hours again to learn the difference between Ser and Estar is not necessary for people who speak Spanish already). If you don't know Spanish already, I think the pace is fine. - There is no homework. Some people will love this, other do not. - The school organizes many activities. This is both the familiar tourist stuff, but also less familiar tourist stuff. I liked it, but it always felt like a "big" activity to do that takes a lot of energy. Because of this, there were always fairly few people at the activities as well. I think an activity like lunch/dinner together is a lot more approachable and more people will come. This also allows students to interact with other students from the school as well. As the school is really small, there is not really space inside to meet everyone. - The class material exists of powerpoints. The powerpoints are always sent to you in the weekend before your class starts. Please keep in mind that this school does not offer schoolbooks. A school book would give me more overview in my mind, however it takes up space in a backpack or a suitcase. So think about whether you like this or not :) Hope this will help you making your decision!
Selim Suman
Selim Suman
2024.03.26
I've started taking online Portuguese courses from Rio&Learn and I'm very satisfied and happy. There are lots of class options (from 4 hours weekly to 10 hours weekly), so it's impossible no to find something which doesn't suit you. The classes are always very informative and entertaining with lots of material and creative approaches. The students are encouraged to talk and learn different aspects of the language. The teachers are very competent, they are both professional and friendly and they constantly prioritize the demands, requests and necessities of the students. I'm very glad to have selected this school, and hope to continue for a long time! Apart from the regular courses, the school also has a daily one hour meeting program (for no extra charge) which is called RioOnline, in which a different topic is analyzed every day. It's a great way to practice what you learn during the classes. This school is highly recommended! Obrigado!
Reply from Rio & Learn Portuguese School 2024.04.10
Dear Selim, we're thrilled to know that you're enjoying the Portuguese courses and find them beneficial! Thank you for your enthusiastic recommendation, we're excited to keep meeting your learning needs. Obrigado!
Marie Dianne Carlin
Marie Dianne Carlin
2024.03.05
I took some private Portuguese classes and they were fabulous. I was taking group classes with another school but I felt like the private classes really helped me with all the things that weren't clear to me. The professor such as Zé and Lucas were wonderful and took their time with me. They always gave me very detailed notes for me to review after class. Overall I would definitely recommend the school and the teachers. Thanks Rio and Learn!
Reply from Rio & Learn Portuguese School 2024.04.10
Thank you for your kind words, Marie. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your private Portuguese lessons. We'll pass your feedback on to Zé and Lucas. Happy learning!
Isabelle Atger
Isabelle Atger
2024.03.05
I highly recommend Rio & Learn. I've been attending classes online and I must say the instructors are extremely dedicated, enjoyable, and professional. Learning a new language has been made easy with them.
Reply from Rio & Learn Portuguese School 2024.04.10
Dear Isabelle, thank you for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that our dedicated team has made learning a new language enjoyable for you. Keep up the good work!
HyunWoo Park
HyunWoo Park
2024.03.05
리우엔런은 정말 편안한 분위기에서 수업이 진행되고 다양한 액티비티를 통해 브라질을 접할 수 있는 기회가 많이 제공됩니다! 친절하신 선생님들을 통해 포르투갈어를 쉽게 배울 수 있을 뿐만 아니라 브라질 문화도 경험할 수 있는 좋은 포르투갈어 학원입니다:)
Reply from Rio & Learn Portuguese School 2024.04.10
Hi Hyunwoo, thank you for your positive review! We're glad to hear that our teachers were helpful, and we'll work to make your experience even better. Thank you!
Dermott Lynch
Dermott Lynch
2024.03.04
I am really enjoying the teachers at the school (Zé, Felipe and Juliana). They have been my professors and are truly incredible. They have the ability and intelligence to introduce fun into the classroom. The content is informative and provides the appropriate foundation for a non Portuguese speaker. The only flaw in the classroom is at times ventilation. I am enjoying my experience
Reply from Rio & Learn Portuguese School 2024.04.10
Dear Dermott, thank you for your encouraging feedback. We're delighted to hear you're enjoying your classes. We also appreciate your suggestion about the classroom ventilation and will work on improving it. Happy learning!
Angela Liu
Angela Liu
2024.02.29
Vřele doporučuji!! Momentálně chodím na online skupinové lekce, většinou kolem 4 studentů. Lekce jsou velmi zábavné i prospěšné.
Reply from Rio & Learn Portuguese School 2024.04.10
Dobrý den Angelo, děkujeme za Vaši zpětnou vazbu! Jsme potěšeni, že si užíváte naše online skupinové lekce. Těšíme se na další spolupráci s Vámi.
Stefan Ferreira-Pedersen
Stefan Ferreira-Pedersen
2024.02.22
Kæmpe stor ros til denne skole. Skal du lære Portugisisk, har de min største anbefaling. Fair pris. Og min lære Nathália er super fantastisk. Jeg er helt vild med det. Eu amo aulas de português . Português é muito fácil 😂😂
Celine Chang
Celine Chang
2024.02.15
I absolutely loved taking classes here with Zé. He was attentive to the types of language skills I wanted to improve on and I always felt safe to make mistakes. He was always punctual (rare for a Brazilian, apparently 😂) and such a character. Thank you Zé for everything! Laís you were amazing and very patient also. Muito obrigada por me ajudar aprender portugués, eu vou practicar com meus amigos aquí!!!
Aurora O'Greenfield
Aurora O'Greenfield
2024.02.15
I highly highly recommend the Rio&Learn Immersion program! I just completed two weeks of immersion at 6 hours a day and improved my Portuguese astronomically. All of the staff and teachers are so delightful and committed to the program, and their enthusiasm is contagious. I had Lucas and Paolo as my immersion teachers and they were both incredibly engaging and fun as well as knowledgeable and capable. Having sweet smart teachers who are invested is the most important thing, and I couldn’t have had it better! There is no better way to learn than immersion, and I felt so lucky to be learning as I explored the city with my teachers. If you’re considering taking a trip to Brazil to learn Portuguese, it should definitely be with Rio&Learn. I miss them and already want to go back!
Agustín Michlig
Agustín Michlig
2024.01.31
I started private online classes 1 month ago. Highly recommended for those who want to learn and study Portuguese. The teachers are very friendly and ensure that the classes have a mix of theory and practice. A must if you are planning to visit or moving to Brazil!
Aquanaut Diving
Aquanaut Diving
2024.01.31
Rio online is a great way to learn Portuguese. The teachers are excellent in explaining things toroughly and taking their time. they speak and write so whichever way you learn the best, you have here. I also enjoy the extras movies, games, and opportunities to speak with people from around the world outside of your class time.
Vittorio Capici
Vittorio Capici
2024.01.30
Excelente escola de português! Aprendi tudo o que eu sei e com certeza recomendaria para outras pessoas, fazer aulas com a Rio and Learn!
Dean Revels
Dean Revels
2024.01.30
I was looking for a language school to help advance my ability to speak Portuguese with the short amount of time I had in the area. this was the perfect fit! From the beginning they were in great communication to begin the classes. The pricing was very reasonable compared to other places I spoke with and the location in the Copacabana area is awesome. From the very first class with my professor Zé (super cool guy!) , I learned more conversational Portuguese than I had in months with self study. They have a very relaxed environment that made me feel welcomed and without pressure but still provide the tools to build my confidence in the language quickly. I would highly recommend and will continue to use their tools when I return home. 10/10 highly recommend!!!
Nicholas Jaeger
Nicholas Jaeger
2024.01.30
I spent two weeks taking Portuguese courses at the Rio&Learn language school located in Copacabana. Due to only having two weeks in Rio, I decided to take the Immersion classes, which meant I spent 6 hours daily 1:1 with a teacher. The "classes" are structured to help you learn Portuguese in real-world settings. Rather than sitting in a classroom, the school would plan daily activities for me to explore Rio with my teacher and design relevant lesson plans based on that day's activities. To provide a couple examples: one day we went to a street market to learn about the different fruits and vegetables, try the fruits/vegetables, and practice speaking with the vendors; another day we went to the Christ the Redeemer Statue and walked around a park, all while speaking 100% in Portuguese. My primary teacher was Paulo, but I also spent a few days with Ana Paula and Diogo. All three teachers were great, and I enjoyed having a mix of teachers because of their different styles. My time with Rio&Learn was amazing, and I couldn't recommend it enough, especially as a solo traveler. It was like having Portuguese Teachers and Tour Guides all-in-one. Not to mention, I was able to meet other students from all over the world who were also there learning Portuguese. Although I wasn't in their group classes (because I was in my 1:1 Immersion program), I usually joined the groups in the afternoon/evening for additional learning/exploring activities in the city. I consider my trip to Rio to be my favorite trip of my life, and I recommend Rio&Learn to anyone that wants to learn Portuguese!
Reply from Rio & Learn Portuguese School 2023.12.19
Dear Nicholas, we're thrilled to know you had a great week with our immersive classes and our instructors, Paulo and Anna Paulina! We're delighted our real-world approach is helping you learn effectively!