Ramble at Great Sand Dunes NP

ramble.camp

Ramble at Great Sand Dunes NP Reviews

Excellent rating
4.7
61 reviews Verified
Ramble at Great Sand Dunes NP
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 61 ) 4.7

Tree
Tree
2024.05.16
Location is key
Location
Reply from Ramble at Great Sand Dunes NP 2024.05.16
Hey Tree -- our team was disappointed to see your review, as it's unclear if you've actually stayed with us based on your review and the fact that we're not open yet for the season. Customers have consistently rated our location as a 5/5 and we have worked very hard to make an awesome place for guests to camp with family and friends. As a business that employs local folks and contractors and is reliant on customer reviews, we would ask that you reconsider your posting. Thanks, the Ramble team
Tom Mcclelland
Tom Mcclelland
2024.04.23
Trip type
Vacation
Friends
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Ramble at Great Sand Dunes NP 2024.05.16
Thanks for your review Tom! We're glad to hear you had a great time and enjoyed the silver orb installation :)
Sara McCloskey
Sara McCloskey
2023.10.23
My family of four spent two nights at Ramble at Great Sand Dunes group site with my friends. Everything was absolutely exceptional. The amenities were perfect (hot showers, grills, flushing toilets, potable water… the list goes on!) and the views were breathtaking. We loved the bike path and the provided bikes were so fun. My son said he wished we could stay forever. We can’t with to come back!
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Ramble at Great Sand Dunes NP 2024.05.16
Thanks Sara for camping with us! We look forward to hosting you again.
Molly Day
Molly Day
2023.10.22
After trying for 3 years straight for the spot I wanted at Pinon Flats campground, I stumbled upon Ramble. I have a 28’ trailer and it was great - water and sewer included. No electric but we dry camp all the time so not an issue. HUGE sites, camp kitchens, hammocks, wagons, amazing fire pits with lounge chairs and THE coolest bike and hiking trails. Forgot your bike? No problem, Ramble had plenty you can borrow. Need a shower or flush toilet? Done. Less than 20 minutes to the dunes. Ramble has ruined me for all other campsites.
Trip type
Vacation
Friends
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Ramble at Great Sand Dunes NP 2024.05.16
Thanks Molly for your review and for staying with us! We look forward to hosting you again.
Michael Dunlap
Michael Dunlap
2023.10.22
Wonderful Oasis near the Great Sand Dunes. Lots of great, thoughtful amenities. You can buy firewood on-site. They have small kitchens with burners and grills, great family-sized fire pits, bikes and sand boards. Really thoughtfully executed.
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Ramble at Great Sand Dunes NP 2024.05.16
Appreciate your feedback Michael! Thanks for your business and we look forward to hosting you again.
Lori OMalley
Lori OMalley
2023.09.25
Wow! What a great camping experience.
Trip type
Vacation
Family
Location
Reply from Ramble at Great Sand Dunes NP 2024.05.16
Thanks Lori! We're so happy to hear that you had a great experience camping with us.
Michele Raftery
Michele Raftery
2023.09.24
From approach to exit, Ramble at Sand Dunes National Park is a thoughtfully designed experience. Camp sites are appropriately integrated with the landscape while shade structures delicately enhance the natural valley setting. This unique setting provided our family a camping experience like none other. Aside from phenomenal star gazing, the most beautiful and jaw dropping moments were at sunset and sunrise when the surrounding mountain ranges provided stunning southwestern silhouettes. The kid’s favorite part (aka what they argued over the most) was pulling the wagon to transport camping items along the path from the car to the camp site.
Trip type
Vacation
Family
Service
J Hwang
J Hwang
2023.09.18
It was the first camping ever in my life and I am glad it was with Ramble campsite. They are well equipped and prepared. Everything was in great condition and the stargazing at the night was just amazing.
Trip type
Vacation
Friends
Location
Rooms
Service
A V
A V
2023.09.15
The place was beautiful! I didn’t even know the bike was free rental and didn’t ride it until I was going to check out in 30 minutes. 😆
Trip type
Vacation
Location
Rooms
Service
Josh Levey
Josh Levey
2023.09.11
Excellent private campground with top notch amenities that made it feel more of a “glamping” type experience vs rugged camping. Super comfy setups. Each site has its own shade seating area with a table and chairs, along with a propane grill and stove, a wagon to move things from your car to site, solar powered lighting. Bathrooms were immaculately clean, showers and sinks were a great plus. Free fat tire bike rentals and a beautiful 2.5 mile trail with art and stunning mountain views. Sunsets were gorgeous. It was clear that everything was very thoughtful and intentionally set up - kudos to the campground owners. Only downside, no fault of the campgrounds, was that at night there were lots of little mice and rodents that kept coming over when we were eating, which made us want to hurry up our dinner. The campground is about 25 mins from the Great Sand Dunes NP, you could see the dunes far in the distance from the site and was super easy to get to. Overall we had a very nice time and would highly recommend
Location
Rooms
Service
Sarah Morris
Sarah Morris
2023.08.28
Amazing camping experience, upping the game of car camping, while keeping the character of camping that we love as born and bread Coloradans! I wouldn't quite call this glamping, but the amenities made it a million times easier to be car/tent camping with littles. We managed to forget tongs or a spatula and our new tent was missing stakes, but we were able to easily borrow from the site. Gorgeous location and we can't wait to check out the other Ramble sites.
Location
Rooms
Service
Kimberly Brown
Kimberly Brown
2023.08.28
Trip type
Vacation
Friends
Location
Rooms
Service
Laura Cordes
Laura Cordes
2023.08.26
Amazing campsite! We had all the amenities, but still had a lovely outdoors experience. Super fun disc golf course. Good proximity to Great Sand Dunes NP. Highly recommend!
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Ramble at Great Sand Dunes NP 2023.08.26
Thanks Laura for camping with us -- we're glad to hear you had a nice time and hope to have you visit at this or another Ramble again soon!
Michael Peterson
Michael Peterson
2023.08.24
Absolute best campground I have ever used.
Trip type
Vacation
Solo
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Ramble at Great Sand Dunes NP 2023.08.26
Thanks Michael for camping with us! We look forward to hosting you again!
Michael P
Michael P
2023.08.24
Verified
Best campground to reserve in the San Luis Valley to explore the Great Sand Dunes! I am a Ramble convert! The absolute best organized campsite I have ever used! Not your typical campground, but a new concept that provides amenities and organization that I have never seen in a campground. Each site is thoughtfully designed to give you everything you need while tent camping, and allowing you to be isolated from other campers. Ramble is successfully filling a niche that has not been addressed before.
Beth LifeOnPurpose
Beth LifeOnPurpose
2023.08.20
Ramble will forever hold a sacred space in our hearts. Family of 4 and very first time camping for the kids (ages 15 and 9). This is the best place to gently introduce kids to camping. It's basically a turn-key site, one degree away from "glamping". All you need to bring is your tent and food. Everything else is available at your site or by an easy scan of a QR code (including firewood!). They have thought of all the typical camping challenges and solved them before it becomes your burden. Things I found to be so special and appreciate their attention to details: 🌟A pre-established shelter for shade (it gets really hot in the middle of the desert with no trees) 🌟 A table and chairs which we moved around to eat at the table, then around the fire for smores, then into the scrub oak for star gazing (the chairs even recline to make it easier to look at the massive night sky!) 🌟Solar lights along the path between site and car, solar lantern with just enough light to see your table but not too much to take away from the sky. There were even little fairy lights in the Porta potty which was incredibly clean. 🌟An area rug bolted to the ground. Simple but genius way to keep the sand and bugs out of our eating area. 🌟Tent pad with anchors. The surface was pre groomed and flat (no uncomfortable rocks digging into your back at night). There were easy spots to anchor your tent down which is highly advised because it gets windy AF out there! 🌟Grills!!! Omg what a convenience to have a grill and stove already set up. We didn't have to cook every single meal over an open fire. 🌟Fire pit was perfect. Kept the fire contained and cut down on the light pollution so we could still see the stars 🌟A Wagon waiting for us by the car. We used it to haul our tent, cooler firewood and more. What a very nice bonus. 🌟 James. The on site staff who stopped by to see how our visit was going. What an incredible human! He showed our son how to tie knots in cordage and shared his knowledge of the area. Although all of the advertisements suggest there is no staff on site, his presence was a welcomed surprise and just the added touch of hospitality on top of a fantastic experience. 🌟Location! close to the sand dunes, UFO watchtower, Colorado Gators! We hear that the goal is to create more Ramble properties all across the US. If that happens, we will absolutely visit them!
Trip type
Vacation
Family
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Ramble at Great Sand Dunes NP 2023.08.26
Beth we are so happy to hear about your family's experience camping with us. We shared your review with the entire company and the team really enjoyed reading it -- thank you for taking the time to share such detailed feedback about your stay. We look forward to hosting you at this or another Ramble location again soon!
Floyd Champion
Floyd Champion
2023.08.19
Trip type
Vacation
Family
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Ramble at Great Sand Dunes NP 2023.08.26
Thanks Floyd for your review -- we're glad to hear you had a nice stay! We are such a big fan of the view of the stars ourselves whenever we camp here, it's magical to see the Milky Way so clearly when the moon sets. We look forward to hosting you at this or another Ramble again soon.
Audrey Cui
Audrey Cui
2023.08.17
Such an amazing place to camp! All the facilities are super clean, hot shower 24/7, every campsite has stove top and a grill, it was definitely a luxury experience. Even though there’s no camp host present, all the instructions are really clear. There’s even a cute leash for your dog which is super sweet! The only thing bothered me was our campsite is really far away from the main bathroom so it’s hard to get water. But overall, 10/10 recommend.
Location
Rooms
Service
Kylie Brown
Kylie Brown
2023.08.14
This campground promises a lot and it delivers! We were blown away to arrive and find a wagon to help us unload, wood in the solo stove, a grill and a camp stove, and a whole living room set up. Plus it was beautiful. I loved the customer service with text and emails and I had service there as well. I would say the only downside is there’s only one ‘real’ bathroom that can be far away depending on which site you’re staying at. I don’t really consider this a big deal since most campgrounds we stay at only have a filthy pit toilet. Thanks Ramble! We look forward to visiting this and future locations again
Location
Rooms
Service
Natalie Hill
Natalie Hill
2023.08.08
Ramble provided a great campground for my partner and I to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. Campgrounds were surprisingly super clean, as well as the restroom/shower area. They provided an assortment of resources for us such as a sun shade spot at our site, a cart to pack/unpack the car, two sets of chairs, a fire pit stove, and grill. The only reason why this review didn’t get 5 stars is because the road into the campground was a mess… the dirt road had so much damage that we could only drive about 5-10 miles per hour (fyi we were in a jeep wrangler so a small sedan isn’t a factor here). Additionally, the water pump by our campsite was broken however, when notified, a ramble worker came and gave us a gallon of water. The night sky was also a huge plus! They aren’t kidding when they say it’s a certified dark skies region. Great site! Highly highly recommend especially if visiting the Sand Dunes is on your radar! Be aware though that the Sand Dunes National Park is roughly a 30 minute drive away!
Trip type
Vacation