Peace Power

Peace Power Reviews

Good rating
3.7
112 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (112)
Claseophenia
Claseophenia
2023.08.31
Tyler Dupuis
Tyler Dupuis
2023.04.14
Not worth it because my credit wasn't over 660 they declined and they say they wanna help Canadians what a joke. Never heard of a.piwer company needing a credit score.
Reply from Peace Power 2023.04.14
Hi Tyler, perhaps you didn't realize, however, if an applicant has a credit score beneath our threshold they are still able to obtain service with Peace Power by putting a deposit on file. This is standard in the industry. If this resolves the matter, we would appreciate you removing the 1-star rating. Thank you.
igor fitlmadic
igor fitlmadic
2023.02.07
Every month they said "the money. Could not be taken out of the account" and threatened with late fees if they didn't not receive it. Yet according to my bank and bank account they hadn't even attempted to draw the money. And when I refuted, it miraculously came out on their next attempt. They'll try and fleece you for late fees.
Reply from Peace Power 2023.02.13
Hi Igor, we can find no account under your name. Are you sure you have the correct utility company?
Katelyn Beaumont
Katelyn Beaumont
2023.02.05
Awful customer service. Ignoring emails for over a month and not helping whatsoever. Terrible ISP with a horrible, unstable connection. Kind of weird how they respond to negative reviews and try to defend themselves. Looks like Loblaw's trying to defend themselves on Twitter. I've no idea who's right or wrong but my experience with them definitely doesn't make them look good in my eyes. Wonder what my response is going to be.
Reply from Peace Power 2023.02.13
Hi Katelyn, we were in communication with you multiple times working through the issues with your internet and never ignored you for over a month. As you are aware, your speed tests always came in fine for the plan you chose. In the end you confessed you were suffering lag in the midst of online gaming and otherwise your internet was fine. The solution here is to upgrade your speed/bandwidth which we proposed. What other solution were you looking for?
Sasha Butts
Sasha Butts
2022.11.07
This is a terrible company, I wish I had switched sooner. My bills have been soaring to the point of being over 600$ when we use a wood burning fireplace, have new windows and doors installed very recently. As the bills came in and the cost started to go up and up, the customer service got worse and worse. This makes me want to cry. They cannot even provide me with an answer on how this is possible that my electricity shot up like a rocket in usage with no differences in our home. The one difference, we weren't even home for two weeks of the highest billed month! Poor company, poor service. Please avoid using this company. They are terrible when it comes to taking care of their customers or even understanding how to read a meter.
Reply from Peace Power 2022.11.21
Hi Sasha, we are very disheartened to read your 1-star review. Our company does not read your meter, nor do we have anything to do with how much electricity or natural gas is consumed in your home. We receive the meter reads from the distribution companies in your area (Enmax/ATCO Gas) and bill you accordingly as your selected retailer. To leave us a negative review based on factors that have nothing to do with us is unfair. We have explained all of this to you and yet you still chose to leave us a negative review.
Robbie Lepp
Robbie Lepp
2022.10.08
Edit: I have been with peace power for 10 months and they have decided to charge another fee for using a credit card. Will be looking into other energy suppliers instead. And my bills have jumped significantly even with the government rebates. I don’t think my energy consumption went up as high as they are claiming either. My electricity bills have been really low since I started with them. Only been a few month but I am quite happy with them so far. There do appear to be a lot of fees but as far as I know, all companies are like that!
Reply from Peace Power 2022.11.21
Hi Robbie, we're sorry to see you amend your rating to a 1-star. Passing on credit card fees to customers is becoming standard practice for utility companies. Further, we have a no-fee option if you choose to do direct debit from a bank account. We also don't control how much energy is consumed in your home and simply bill you based on the meter readings that are sent to us by your distribution company (Epcor).
Greg or Alesia Risler
Greg or Alesia Risler
2022.07.07
Reply from Peace Power 2022.11.21
Thanks for the review Greg!
Craig Erickson
Craig Erickson
2022.06.10
Probably the worst power company out there for pricing and customer service. I have an average family home with a wood burning fireplace that we use religiously in the winter and we're very energy conscious with keeping lighting and appliances off. I had 2 bills in a row at 900$ each so I started questioning whether their readings were correct or not and to verify. No reply what so ever from them and they sent it straight to collections within days of cancellation of services. My bill dropped to 350$ the next month when I made the switch. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!! VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND OUTRAGEOUS BILLING.
Reply from Peace Power 2022.11.21
Hi Craig, as explained to you various times while you were a customer of ours, Peace Power does not read your meter, nor do we have anything to do with how much electricity or natural gas is consumed in your home. We receive the meter reads from the distribution companies in your area (Fortis/ATCO Gas) and bill you accordingly as your selected retailer. As explained to you, if you want to verify that the meter readings are correct and/or that your meters are working properly you have to contact the distribution company. To leave us a negative review based on factors that have nothing to do with us is unfair. We have explained all of this to you and yet you still chose to leave us a negative review.
Arthur Schultz
Arthur Schultz
2022.02.15
Peace Power has great customer service, but I don't know how they get off saying that you can save 40% on your utility rates. I have 2 properties and my rates with Peace Power are close to double the rates with the other supplier. All of the other fees (distribution, rider, local access fee, etc.) are essentially the same, so it's all about their exhorbitant rates.
Reply from Peace Power 2022.02.15
Hi Arthur, we're sorry to hear you haven't been happy with your experience with Peace Power. We can certainly appreciate your frustration as market rates have been very high of late, which our variable rates are based on. Our website says you can save up to 40% with Peace power but, of course, it is circumstantial. We have saved many customers in excess of 40% but it depends on what rate you are switching to us from, what rate you choose with us, etc. Note, Delivery fees (distribution, rider, local access fee, etc) are independent of which provider you choose and are solely dependent on where in the province your site is located. Delivery fees are 100% regulated by the government.
Hanna Lemeneva
Hanna Lemeneva
2022.02.13
We've been using Peace Power's internet service for about 7 months now and I have had ZERO issues with them! Unlike bigger internet providers, it feels like there are real people behind this company who genuinely want users to have a good experience: they are very responsive (with multiple channels available for communication), they are clear about what they offer and how much it costs, and frankly they're quite affordable (with very decent service). This was my first time choosing an internet provider for my household with my partner and we feel really good about supporting this local Alberta company. We weren't locked into any contract (like most providers have), so we decided it's low risk if we don't like it. Brenna answered every conceivable question we had (and continues to!). 7 months later and we will be using only Peace Power for our internet services as long as we're in Alberta (:
Reply from Peace Power 2022.02.15
Thank you for the wonderful review Hanna, it is greatly appreciated! We are so happy you picked Peace Power as your provider :)
J C
J C
2022.02.11
They are charging 2 x what competitors are. Switch now if you haven't already. Any alternative is better than the rates here. If ATCO can charge me half of the Admin fee than what peace power is, how can that not be peace powers issue. My bill has gone from 740 to less than 400 for the exact same usage. Say whatever you like but the proof is in my bills. My outrageous bills from peace power. I realize power bills are expensive in Alberta right now regardless, but it is way cheaper to go with an alternative option.
Reply from Peace Power 2022.02.11
Hi JC, we're sorry to have received your 1 star rating. We are very transparent with our variable rate pricing, which is whatever the market price is for power/gas + a fixed retail fee (1 cent/kWh and $0.89/GJ). We haven't changed our fixed retail fees for many years. We can't control when the market price for power and gas is high - we make no money on the market price for power/gas and simply flow these costs through to you the consumer. We only make money on our monthly admin fee and our retail fees. We're sorry that you are frustrated with the high prices on your bills but you are blaming us for things completely out of our control.
Chase Henituik
Chase Henituik
2022.01.06
As a long time customer I’ve been quite happy over the years. Is peace power going to offer fixed rate contracts? With current energy markets I’m feeling the need to lock in. Sadly, I only see that option in other providers. 5 Stars because you have been excellent in my experiences.
Reply from Peace Power 2022.01.06
Thanks for the wonderful review Chase! We're working on some fixed rates and should have them available to the public soon!
Robert Miller
Robert Miller
2021.09.01
Told me I'll never pay more then .08c KWH when I signed up... last 2 month .20c KWH... tried to talk to customer support, they didn't respond until I canceled my services.
Reply from Peace Power 2021.09.01
Hi Robert, we've certainly had some expensive months on the variable rate in 2021, however, that is the nature of the variable rate. Peace Power still only makes 1 cent/kWh on your usage - the rest of your rate pays for the physical cost of power on the market. This is what you agreed to when you became a customer. At no time would we have told you you'd never pay more than 8 cents/kWh. We also have no record of you contacting customer service until you cancelled. Being unhappy is one thing, however, giving us a 1-star review doesn't feel warranted or justified.
Julie Bostwick
Julie Bostwick
2021.08.03
This company know what it is to have an outstanding Customer service
Reply from Peace Power 2021.08.03
Thank you very much for the review Julie! It's greatly appreciated!
Mathiew Nault
Mathiew Nault
2021.07.20
Customer service is very good, they always reply in a timely manner. They even waived an nsf fee when i asked. really glad i chose them to be my energy provider! Reason for 4 stars is you must set up automatic payments which i am personally not a fan of.
Reply from Peace Power 2021.07.21
Thank you for your review Mathiew!
Krissy Smith
Krissy Smith
2021.07.20
I've been a customer for just about a year now. This is a fantastic company they really care about their customers and the pricing is very fair. Do yourselves a favor and make the switch! It's well worth it!! 🙂
Reply from Peace Power 2021.07.20
Thanks for the great review Krissy!
Ashley Demyon
Ashley Demyon
2021.07.17
Have been a customer with them for several years now, no issues. Great service and great prices compared to other companies.
Reply from Peace Power 2021.07.18
Thank you for the review Ashley!
Jennifer Kessler
Jennifer Kessler
2021.07.16
Peace Power has had it's growing pains in the past, but overall I love how they respond quickly to my concerns, are competitive, local and support the community. I feel like I really matter to them.
Reply from Peace Power 2021.07.16
Thanks Jennifer, we really appreciate your review!
Victoria Darby
Victoria Darby
2021.07.13
Excellent company, fair prices, easy to understand billing and the customer service is always help and resolve my issues quickly and efficiently. I have recommended to many friends and they have also been happy too. Well done peace power way to gooo.
Reply from Peace Power 2021.07.16
Thank you Victoria!!
Daniel Arriaga
Daniel Arriaga
2021.07.11
Expensive and average internet. Tecksavvy or others are better. You will need to switch to 5.0 GHz band because the 2.4 band is always sluggish
Reply from Peace Power 2021.07.12
Thank you for taking the time to review our internet service Daniel. Our prices are extremely competitive throughout the market and, in fact, are cheaper than the big guys for same service and contract terms.