The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park Reviews

The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park Reviews

4.5

Excellent - based on 521 reviews

orchardsholidaypark.co.uk
is verified by Trustindex

We guarantee all reviews are 100% real.
What's Trustindex?
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (521)
Officer_Dibble
Officer_Dibble
2021-10-11
Verified
Not perfect but still OK We have been coming to the Isle of Wight for more than 30 years and have always stayed at The Orchards. So, when we decided to bite the Covid bullet and get away for a few days, The Orchards was the logical place to go. Our last visit was about 10 years ago and, in that time, very little seems to have changed. The outdoor and indoor pool areas, play area, shop and takeaway are as we remembered them. The mobiles have of course been updated, although there now appear to be a lot more than we remember. The shop has had a bit of a makeover, not particularly successfully in my opinion. There wasn’t much in the way of stock but it is the end of the season, so perhaps this was to be expected. The most obvious physical change to the site is the creation of a large area of ground where permanent mobiles/chalets for purchase will be located. It did occur to us that at the height of the season when The Orchards would hope to be full, the pressure on the existing campsite facilities would be greatly increased once all these new dwellings are fully occupied. Hopefully there are plans afoot to upgrade the facilities. For our short break we chose one of the new Sundance caravans, which are located at the north end of the static mobile area. The caravan is well equipped and comfortable, although the advertised 6 person capacity would make it very crowded! In common with other recent reviewers, we also felt that the cleaning could have been better. The caravan does have some strange design features that I think are worth a mention. In neither the main bathroom nor the small en-suite are there any razor sockets, so there is no way of charging electric razors or toothbrushes. Take a 3-pin razor plug with you!! Luckily, we had one with us. In the main bathroom there is no towel rail or any hooks for bathrobes. In the good-sized main bedroom there are no bedside lights, so if you like to read in bed you have to get out of bed to turn the light off. Take a torch!! Finally, a word about the internet on site. The charges aren’t too bad – we opted for 5 days for £10 – but they are per device. Also, the signal was very hit and miss and kept dropping out and the speed was fairly slow. In conclusion, did we enjoy our short break? Absolutely! The IOW is a lovely leisurely place – we always feel it is rooted in the 1950s - and The Orchards is well located for getting round the island. Would we return? Absolutely, although for us (aged grandparents!) we would avoid the high season crowds and stick to the spring and autumn.
Reply from The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park 2021-10-12
Good morning and thank you for your review. It’s lovely to hear we were your first thought for a break to the beautiful Isle of Wight. Just wanted to touch on the points you raise to bring a little more clarity. We are fully aware that the park is in need of a face lift in some areas. The park was purchased by our new owner Michael Jordan in January 2020, and whilst he had hopes of getting to work straight away, sadly covid-19 had other ideas! At the end of the 2020 season we started works on our new Meadow development for holiday home owners. This is housed on our former Shalfleet touring field. I appreciate you think that the facilites may struggle when these units are full in the height of summer, but there are only 20 plots which are now in place of 40 touring & camping pitches, so if anything there will be less people around in the high season. During our winter closure we also took the time to give the shop a refurb. The shop is a difficult part of the park as it is taking up a lot of floor space and is not quite used how it used to be back in the heyday of caravan holidays. We can’t bear to see waste so at this time of year when it is quieter we naturally cut back on the fresh produce because they just don’t sell. Most holiday makers opt for a home delivery from a supermarket to the park or will just go to a supermarket for their shopping for their stay. This is something that we are taking into consideration, but we can’t just make hasty decisions that don’t work for the long term. Our Sundance caravans are new for 2021 and unfortunately had to be bought blind! Usually we would attend trade shows or showgrounds to be able to see them in the flesh, but with Covid restrictions this wasn’t possible so we had to choose them purely based on the brochure. We have noted the lacking points on the Sundances, and have taken this into consideration when ordering our next 9 caravans for the 2022 season. I am really sorry to hear that the cleaning did not reach the expectations it should have. We have a contract cleaning company that carry out our cleaning and this is not acceptable. We will be highlighting all the issues raised with them. Our WiFi is in the process of being upgraded and will be free from next year for all users. We have had a better infrastructure put in place to accommodate this and it will be better than the current service. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Advertisement
SunL0ver57
SunL0ver57
2021-10-09
Verified
Overall a lovely short break We first visited the Orchards back in 1984, and were regular visitors first with the children and then on our own, for many years, so it was natural that it was our first choice for a recent 4 night short break. We discovered that the park had changed hands after booking, but were not concerned about this as they were extremely helpful when we needed to change our ferry crossing just a couple of days before sailing. Our good impression was confirmed by the friendliness of the reception staff, on our arrival, and thought the introduction of a complimentary welcome pack containing sachets of tea, coffee, milk and sugar was a very nice touch. The layout of the park did not appear to have changed from the last time we visited, although I had the impression that the units were closer together than previously. A trick of an increasingly elderly memory I suspect! The shop has changed in that there are now displays of island themed goods taking up most of the available space. Being the end of the season, food stocks were naturally low, but adequate for our needs. The Prosecco went down very well! We didn't make use of the lovely indoor pool etc. We had booked one of the 'New for 2021' Sundance mobiles. These are beautifully situated at the bottom of the park, with views over the north of the island and the channel, to the mainland beyond. These units have a lovely veranda, furnished with table and chairs, but unfortunately, ours did not get the afternoon sun, due to it's north facing aspect. However, this was October, so I suspect it may be different during the summer months. We found the unit itself to be very comfortable - for two people. Although it is a 3 bedroom mobile and is equipped for 6, there are only 4 chairs at the table in the small dining area (2 others were in a cupboard) and the seating area would have been a quash to seat 6 (there were 2 block stools under the coffee table). However, the main bedroom was certainly more spacious than others we have had, with a good amount of space at the bottom of the bed. I found the bed extremely comfortable, and having the beds made up ready for arrival was another nice touch. Note - only 1 pillow per person is supplied. Overall there is a good amount of storage space. It was nice to have an en-suite toilet and washbasin. The main bathroom has a sensible sized shower, with first rate water pressure Now the areas we found lacking..... For the first time ever in our experiences of mobiles - no shaver sockets anywhere! So nowhere to charge the electric toothbrush or OHs razor. Very odd. The lighting: no bedside lighting at all, only the main ceiling light. Only overhead lighting in the living area. No lights over bathroom sinks, or the vanity mirror in the main bedroom. Note - this is positioned so low that it can only be used sitting down if you are anything over about 5'! No hooks in either bathroom, so nowhere to hang a bathrobe or large towel. (There are 4 hooks in the narrow corridor, outside the bathroom.) Not even a towel rail in the main bathroom! The cleaning: this has been outsourced to a firm, and quite honestly is not up to the standard it was previously. Our mobile was new this year, so how on earth has brown, rust type staining been allowed to build up in the shower? I was tempted to deal with it myself, but given we were only there for 4 nights, didn't want to waste our holiday on cleaning. The floor wasn't particularly clean, and clearly the sofa cushions had not been removed for cleaning as there was popcorn down the sides. No, we didn't report these issues, because we were there to make the most of our time away. Clearly a manager needs to be checking things more carefully. These niggles aside - we had a lovely, relaxing time. Would we go back? Probably.
Danny B
Danny B
2021-09-28
Verified
A changing site Been going to the orchards for years but do feel like it is starting to need some real work doing to the site as things are starting to look a bit neglected. This could be down to the fact they are installing the new lodge area of the site which has taken up a lot of space. I didn’t get the same relaxed feel as usual from this site it was busy and quite noisy at times with a few culprits in particular! Probably stemming from the fact they have taken away half of the touring and camping area that used to be available therefore cramming everyone in. Outdoor pool was also shut which was a real shame as the weather was incredible. Dog walk is a tiny area with broken fences all around so not secure however this didn’t affect us as our dogs are under control. Guy in the takeaway was rude! Yes it was very busy but still! Will we return? Possibly?! I do still like the fact this is one of the few sites on the Island that is not overly commercialised. Please keep it like this not all people love the “pontins” experience!!!! There are plenty of these types of sites on the island already.
Reply from The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park 2021-09-29
Good morning. Just want to touch on the points that you raise and give you a little more clarity around them. We are working towards upgrading areas of the park, however, Rome wasn’t built in a day and sadly Covid has not helped this at all. Our new owner took over the park in January 2020 and is keen to make some all important changes to enhance the guest experience. We have a 5 year plan in place to replace accommodation, upgrade buildings and more. Over the winter period when we closed at the end of the season in 2020 we took the time to have a brand new development for holiday home owners, replaced 8 of our holiday caravans on our hire fleet and also gave the shop a much needed makeover. So as I say, Rome wasn’t built in a day and these things take time. We are only closed for 5 months over the winter period and work has to be completed in this time as we cannot cause disruption during our open season. We took the decision to reuse the former Shalfleet touring field and create our new development as this was the most logical place to do it. We still have 120 touring pitches for use and with a boost in the staycation due to the pandemic, we have seen a dramatic increase in people staying with us at this time of year. We have only actually lost 40 touring pitches in creating our new ownership development, so it’s not quite as many as you would expect. Our outdoor pool closed early this year due to the fact that our pool attendants were returning to university and also that our pool heater is in need of some repair. We will look into the dog walk area to get this sorted. We have never been the kind of park to exude the ‘pontins’ or ‘park dean’ vibe and it isn’t our intention to. We are proud of the type of holiday we offer, and wish to continue with this, but with some changes to enhance the guest experience.
annemariesteve
annemariesteve
2021-09-28
Verified
Another good visit We stayed for the week 18th -25th September in a Bramley caravan. Check in was easy and friendly, with a welcome pack of tea, coffee snd sugar, which was a nice touch. The caravan was well equipped and comfortable with a spacious living area. The only negative was cleanliness, whilst I can’t say it was dirty there were some areas that had been missed ( there was food debris in the seal around the fridge, food in and around the bin and sticky marks on the dining table). Didn’t bother reporting to reception it was quicker to clean it myself. The shop was well stocked and the staff friendly as always. There are lots of changes being made to the site, all of which appeared to be positive. The one thing that hasn’t changed is how peaceful and relaxing the site is.
Reply from The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park 2021-09-29
Good morning and thank you for your review. It’s a shame you felt that you didn’t want to tell reception about your issues in your accommodation, as if we don’t know about any problems we cannot solve them. We use a contract cleaning company and I will be sure to pass this on to them as this isn’t acceptable. We are indeed making lots of changes to the site, and for the better. Our new owner took over the park in January 2020 and is keen to make some all important changes to enhance the guest experience. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Alan C
Alan C
2021-09-25
Verified
A lovely relaxing break We upgraded to a Discovery caravan this time. Caravan was clean, comfortable, spacious, well equipped with good facilities. Large kitchen area with good quality equipment and everything you might need. Shower room with large shower cubicle, wash basin and toilet accessible from the double bedroom as well as the passage. The site was well kept and very quiet. Bus stops at entrance of site going both ways. Reception staff pleasant, helpful and informative.
Advertisement
Tim B
Tim B
2021-09-21
Verified
Visit to Isle of Wight Great campsite in central location on isle of wight. Not too far from anywhere. We had a fully serviced pitch which was great as water and electric straight into the caravan. Great value for money as the ferry price was included in our fare. We travelled beginning of September this year so the weather was amazing. Only small gripe was that the open air pool closed on the Sunday after we arrived Saturday and so we only got to use it just the once and because the weather was so good I would have used it everyday had it been open. Shower block very clean and tidy. I would recommend for all ages.
Karen D
Karen D
2021-09-16
Verified
The worst customer service and dirty caravan We are so up set by the way we was treated at this site my husband had to have a emergency operation and we had to try and change our ferry times my daughter and her partner when a head with out us we was going to meet them later . After the way I was spoken to by a member of the staff there and no manger called me to talk about this we did not go on our holiday and I will say I am glad we did not . my daughter arrived on the Saturday and the caravan was dirty and in appalling disgusting state my son complain And at first they was trying to say it was clean well he took pictures and the caravan was smelly dirty and disgusting This used to be a lovely place to go but not now no one cares and the service is not good . The shop has no food or anything In it and they change disgusting price it is for a cup of hot chocolate and a tea which comes out of sashay If your thinking of booking I would look elsewhere until they improve the customer service and the hygiene of the caravans . They caravan had spiders everywhere and the sheets on the bed was dirty and this is how it was not even been change from the last occupiers The fridge was broken and the light not fixed the shower was disgusting with black mould And list it never ending. Were is the Covid cleaning In place because clearly it not there because they don’t care I have sent them two emails but they don’t care as they have not even bothered to reply ?
Reply from The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park 2021-09-16
Good afternoon I will address your review point by point. . You say ‘after the way I was spoken to by a member of staff’ therefore implying that a member of the team was rude to you. To give a little more context to this, a staff member had informed you that due to you altering your ferry there would be a £10 administration fee added to your account. This is standard practise as laid out in our terms and conditions and this was actually then waivered by the manager as a good will gesture. The member of staff in question is new this year and has been told that the admin fee is standard practice so she was trying to make it clear to you. We are sorry if this came across rude. . Your daughter did come along on her holiday and the staff dealt with the issues that were raised regarding their accommodation. We are extremely sorry that the caravan did not meet the expectation it should have. It may have been explained to your daughter that we have contract cleaners that are supposed to have their own supervisor that checks the accommodation is to the expected standard. This clearly did not happen and we are sorry about this. We will be taking this up with the contract cleaning company to see what went wrong. . The shop has the basic necessities that you could need. At this time of year it is pointless in us stocking lots of fresh produce because there is far more wastage and it is something that we can’t bear to see. Our tea and coffee is priced in line with a lot of other local cafes. . We are sorry that the service was not at the usual standard it should have been. However the comment that you haven’t had a reply to your emails is extremely unfair. The email sent last night was forwarded to the manager this morning and she actually did come back to you to say she would be in touch soon after doing a little bit of investigating. I understand that the manager has since called you regarding the matter to point out she had emailed you and that she is dealing with the situation.
Clare L
Clare L
2021-09-12
Verified
Hidden gem This caravan site is just lovely! The most peaceful and calm setting for a holiday, our first holiday since October 2019!! This site is in a village called Newbridge, about 10 minutes from Yarmouth where we got the ferry from Lymington. We did find we had to drive absolutely everywhere (lots of country lanes that didn’t feel that walkable, although we’re not used to that as live in a busy town!) but we did favour the quiet environment, it was bliss! We booked a sovereign caravan that was pet friendly as we brought our dog, was also a disabled access caravan as well so had sliding doors and a ramp to the van and designated parking right outside the van. Caravan was clean and had all we needed in it. Our kids loved the outdoor pool but it closed the day after we arrived so we made the most of it! The indoor pool is quite small and can get busy quickly at times but you produce your welcome card and the staff tell you how long you can have in the pool. There is a children’s play area next to the pool which says you must stay with your children, not all parents did this but that’s no fault of the park! The shop is small also and does stock good produce but not a lot of it so we opted to go to the co-op that is only a 10 minute drive in freshwater or the Asda in Newport that is 20 minutes the other direction. The takeaway and bar is very good value for money, we ate their a few times and took dinner back to the van, you can call your order through and they let you know when it’s ready to save you a trip! Reception staff are lovely and helpful. We had to gather up our linen in a clear bag and leave the main door and windows open at the end of our stay, which we did (covid rules of the site). They did not allow day visitors to the site either but again they’re being covid safe. Overall, a lovely and relaxing holiday was had by us here, we will book here again if we get the chance.
Emma R
Emma R
2021-09-04
Verified
Peaceful but not the view we were expecting Peaceful caravan site. Caravan clean and comfortable. Great sized heated indoor and outdoor pools. HOWEVER one of our reasons for staying here and booking a Roxbury caravan with balcony was to “make the most of the views” as stated on the website. When we arrived at our caravan our view was the side of another caravan, to see the view you had to sit on balcony and turn to the left to see between 2 caravans. So my hope of sitting in the lounge with patio doors closed if it was cold and still enjoying the view was gone. The balcony was not clean, there were cobwebs, leaves and sand on the table and chairs. When I spoke to reception regarding the view and if there was another van with a view available, there was not one, but they could offer me a full refund and I could find somewhere else to stay on the island. After travelling since 6am this was not an option. Although staff were nice, I think some monetary compensation would have been nice as we were paying the same as people in the other Roxbury vans that had the full view.
Advertisement
thekilpinfamily
thekilpinfamily
2021-09-03
Verified
5 night stay We have just returned from 5 nights here. Lovely site, good sized pitches, staff were polite and helpful. Both pools got the thumbs up from the children, outdoor pool was a bit cooler than it was supposed to be, but apparently the heater was on the blink and as it closed for the season in a couple of days. It was fine once you had been in there for a few minutes though. There were also hot and cold drinks available from the pool cafe. Washing up facilities were big, with views over the site and surrounding areas. Toilets/Showers were clean and spacious. Onsite pool tables and table tennis were also popular as was the play area. Shop was a little pricey and lacked stock. Never used the takeaway but there was a horse box bar which was busy.
suesi
suesi
2021-08-31
Verified
Couldn't fault anything We live on the island, so thought we'd stay local for our very first trip in our new campervan. There is a real quality about the facilities at The Orchards. We stayed on an electric hookup hardstanding pitch. The views are outstanding. Although we didn't use the pools, we were impressed with what we saw. The showers are excellent...private cubicle with sink, shower, mirror and room to hang clothes with lovely hot water. A separate washing up, laundry facility. We used the shop which was well stocked with all you might need, including fresh veg, fruit and local produce. Staff on reception were very polite and helpful. We didn't use it, but the take away was doing a roaring trade. Friendly, family feel to the site. All very organised, which eased us newbie campers in well. We'll definitely be booking again. On bus route, and beautiful country walks on the doorstep.
Reply from The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park 2021-08-31
Good afternoon, Thank you so much for your lovely review. So happy to hear you had a great time. We’re open until the end of October if you fancy some autumnal camping!
Rosalind G
Rosalind G
2021-08-30
Verified
Lovely well run campsite with excellent facilities. We have just come back from a very enjoyable week camping at The Orchards. The campsite was very well run with an excellent facilities block with lovely warm showers which have their own mirror, sink and bench, great washing up facilities and free irons, pay for washing machines available. The children were in the outdoor and indoor pools every day. A particular member of staff was great fun at teasing the children with water guns and even the hose...they thought this was brilliant of course! We had an evening and a breakfast meal from the on site takeaway which was very handy. Handy on site shop. This was a great base to explore the Isle of Wight with the nearest quiet beach 10 minutes drive away. Booking was easy and they organised the ferry there and back. Would definitely recommend.
Reply from The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park 2021-08-31
Good morning Rosalind. Thank you so much for your review it’s lovely to hear that you and your family enjoyed their stay. I think I can probably guess the member of staff you refer to and will be sure to pass your comments on. We hope to see you again in the future, don’t forget you’ll get 20% off your stay for 2022 if you’re a returning customer!
m0211
m0211
2021-08-30
Verified
Fantastic campsite with very good facilities Just returned home from a great week camping at the orchards. Lovely clean site, friendly helpful staff and brilliant facilities. Pitch sizes where good, we was very lucky to have such a large area with friends. Wash facilities immaculate and very good, my only slight grumble would be a more powerful shower, but didn’t really bother me, plenty of room and plenty for all. Stunning views from the washing up area! Lots of sinks and even washing machines & tumble dryers. We’ve all had a really good time and the children loved the pools and play area. We had a take away from on-site on the last evening, enjoyed by all! Loads of great day trips & beach’s near by and we are in some lovely restaurants. It’s the perfect base to explore the Isle of Wight
Reply from The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park 2021-08-31
Good morning Maddie, So pleased to hear that your group had such a great time at our park. We would love to welcome you back again in the future.
Advertisement
joanne38England
joanne38England
2021-08-25
Verified
Could be better Caravan musty smell dusty and had to wash all the cutlery before use Beds uncomfortable Went to visit the bay at colwell bay Another hoseasons camp which is lot more modern spacious and cleaner This camp is old fashioned and needs a good clean and updating
mummyblue
mummyblue
2021-08-25
Verified
Pleasant little site We stayed here for a long weekend recently. Our daughter booked this and kindly invited us along. Our first impression of the site on arrival was good. It's a small site set in beautiful countryside with a nice indoors swimming pool and an outdoor one too. There is a small shop but this was a bit disappointing as it's not particularly well stocked. Basics available such as milk, eggs , bread etc but No fresh produce whatsoever. We stayed in a Russet caravan which was clean and tidy . It was a basic model and It wasn't very well equipped , for example only a small amount of cutlery, no small vegetable knife ( although perhaps that's because they don't sell vegetables) only one pillow provided per bed. etc. The little gas cooker worked very well . There is a microwave and fridge with ice box. The bedrooms were ok but somewhat cramped and of course the walls are thin so don't gossip about each other. LOL. The shower room with a nice powerful shower is separate to the toilet which is useful but be aware that if you are either larger than average or claustrophobic you won't like the tiny loo space. If our 6 foot 4 inch son in law had been with us he would have struggled with the dimensions. A special mention for the excellent take away. We had delicious burgers one evening and asked if a whole chicken could be ordered for the next evening. This was done for us and it also was delicious. Very good service. It has been years since we've stayed in a caravan and it brought back happy memories of past times. The reason we chose a caravan holiday was because our 7 year old grandson has recently read about caravan holidays in an Enid Blyton book and desperately wanted to stay in one. This visit made him very happy. He loved the pools and playground. Also lots of open space to play . I would visit again but I'd be more prepared with regards food supplies and I'd also opt for a bigger more modern accommodation .
Stephen G
Stephen G
2021-08-22
Verified
Really good well run site in beautiful surroundings This site was recommended by my daughter who was full of praise for it . She wasn’t wrong. Our journey to the site started with Red Funnel ferry to East Cowes which set the scene for a great week. The administration at the site arranged everything including the ferry. The site is well laid out generous pitches. Toilets were spotless,the showers with was basin roomy. There is a on site shop, takeaway with simple good food. There are two swimming pools a play area and plenty of space for games, and for pet owners two dog walks.
Craig S
Craig S
2021-08-18
Verified
used tio be such a nice campsite - terrible customer service We have stayed at this site on several occasions it was always very friendly and staff helpfull however it has changed hands. We booked a 2 week stay here eventually as staff do not answer the phones. but unfortunately have had our caravan broken into and all fixtures and fittings stripped , so I tried to ring on several occasions to say we would have to cancel as we no longer have a caravan and insurance is going to take a
Advertisement
Julie W
Julie W
2021-08-15
Verified
Lovely little camp site Stayed here for 5 nights, what a lovely little camp site. All the staff are so friendly & couldn’t do enough for you. The toilets and showers were always immaculately clean & tidy which is very welcome!
dee J
dee J
2021-08-11
Verified
Site Deteriorated Stayed at the Orchards IOW for many years but sadly this year it seems to have deteriorated. In the past years reception staff have been extremely friendly and welcoming but this year staff were unhelpful and disinterested which was extremely disappointing. The campsite is undergoing some changes, which you except change has to happen but these changes don’t seem to be for the best. The toilet block which is normally in good working order and clean this year is not the case. We have had to use dirty toilets, toilets that are blocked overflowing with faeces smelling disgusting. The showers are Either cold or dribble out of the shower head so you can’t actually have a proper shower, very few showers are hot. I even had to let somebody out of the accessible toilet this morning in the washing up area who had been locked in the toilet. After many years of staying at the orchard and having very many happy holidays this I think is our last year, as it has been very disappointing. Come on team get your act together otherwise you are going to lose a lot of returning customers. Sadly other campers on the site who are also regulars all seem to have the same opinion that this site has deteriorated.
Laura Crombie
Laura Crombie
2021-08-10
Verified
Lovely quiet family friendly holiday base We stayed in a pearmain static caravan for one week. 2 adults, 2 kids (7and 9) and a baby. The older kids loved the pools which were clean and well run. We used the take away twice, which was tasty and well priced. The shop was good for oddments- but doesn’t carry much stock, a shame as we would have much rather spent our money there than Asda! With such lovely fresh produce available on the island I’d have loved to be able to buy some fruit, veg, eggs and salad! The caravan was spacious and comfortable, but didn’t look much like it had had a deep clean for a while as had lots of cobwebs and all the cook ware had encrusted food on, so needed to be rewashed before use. I didn’t go to the reception about this because on the website it advised that if work was required in the caravan we’d have to evacuate and wait outside whilst they worked.. and having only been able to get in at 5 we were all tired and the kids grumpy from travelling so I just cleaned up myself. However, we we generally enjoyed our relaxing holiday here.
Reply from The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park 2021-08-11
Good morning, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to the shop, we have trialled fresh produce on a number of occasions, but sadly we were seeing a lot of waste as more and more guests are now buying from the supermarkets or having deliveries to the park. There are some fresh salad pieces and eggs in the shop usually, and it may be that we had just ran out at that time. We are now stocking a lot more Island produce too which guests have reacted well to. It’s a shame you didn’t let us know at reception that you had issues with the cleanliness of your accommodation. We use a contract cleaning company so I will be sure to pass this on to them as this is not ok for our guests to have to deal with. In the future please do come and see us at reception. We could have issued you with replacements for the cook ware and could have sent the cleaning team back to your accommodation when you were out for the day. We do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future.