Open Air Jeeps, Performance | Repair | Restoration

openairjeeps.shop

Open Air Jeeps, Performance | Repair | Restoration Reviews

Excellent rating
4.8
49 reviews Verified
Open Air Jeeps, Performance | Repair | Restoration
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 49 ) 4.8

Christopher Marcus
Christopher Marcus
2024.05.13
After many years of dealing with frustration and disappointment in multiple corporate and local shops, Open Air Jeeps gave me hope in finding a shop that actually had passionate people that cared about the vehicles they work on- just the fact they only work on jeeps specifically “Open Air Jeeps”… Years ago, after having a frustrating experience with another shop, I stumbled upon them and I can’t tell you- Tim made us feel welcome and appreciated and walked us through multiple options and saved us quite a bit of money and frustrations and gave us multiple options to help us out… Understanding, knowledgeable and experience was unmatched and have made us customers for life… from our 83 CJ7 And two JK’s, we wouldn’t go anywhere else and would recommend them for anything in between…
Reply from Open Air Jeeps, Performance | Repair | Restoration 2024.05.24
Chris, thanks for taking the time to post a review. It's been a pleasure working with you through the years, please let us know if you ever need anything for that CJ! Thank you, Jeff (OAJ)
Jan Miketa
Jan Miketa
2024.04.26
Typical mechanic shop. Went in there after diagnosing that I had an issue with my thermostat. Went in to see my warranty would cover the thermostat. Found out after that my warranty only covers dealers and it would not be cover for a thermostat replacement. I told the guy that it's fine I'll just change it myself if it's not covered and still got charged $75 for them to tell me that I needed a new thermostat. If you're having issues with your car just take it to dealer and save the hassle. And if you want to know why your check engine light is on take it to AutoZone where the diagnostic is free vs $75 charge.
Reply from Open Air Jeeps, Performance | Repair | Restoration 2024.05.05
Hi Jan, I was disappointed to see this review - it's certainly counter to the feedback that we normally receive.  I discussed with our shop manager and the technician who performed the diagnostics.  Please understand that Autozone can read your OBDII codes but they do not do diagnostics.  The code they provided is a good starting point, but not independently sufficient to confirm the problem.  In this case, the P0128 code is most often a failed thermostat, but can also be due to low coolant, a faulty sensor, connector, or other wiring issue.  To ensure that we perform the right repair, our technician conducted the recommended diagnostics for the P0128 Code.  Separately, our shop manager spent over 30 minutes on the phone attempting to get an answer from your warranty provider on whether they would cover the repair.  As a result of the time we invested, we were able to confirm the diagnosis and the lack of warranty coverage for you.  With this information, you elected to take the Jeep and complete the confirmed repair yourself.  I'm sorry that you saw no value in the service we provided, but I would welcome the opportunity to better understand and learn from your experience. Please give me a call anytime at 757-828-8284 if you'd like to further discuss.  Thank you, Jeff (Owner, OAJ)
Katarina Tuerff
Katarina Tuerff
2024.04.09
They are awesome at Open Air Jeeps! The owner and master mechanic took the time to check my jeep out and gave me peace of mind that the clicking noise I was hearing was nothing to worry about. Very friendly & honest not trying to upsell or do any unnecessary work. Highly recommend!
Reply from Open Air Jeeps, Performance | Repair | Restoration 2024.05.05
Katarina, thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. Please let us know if there's anything we can do for your Jeep in the future! Thank you, Jeff (Owner, OAJ)
Brett Sapp
2023.12.11 2023.12.11 | United States
Best customer service This is by far the most personable and helpful company I have dealt with especially now days... the owner is the one that actually takes the calls and he is awesome to deal with he listens to everything u have to say and actually pays attention and doesn't just treat u like a numbed and try to just sell u on what ever.. I called asking about a specific item and he explained it to but also wanted to take his own time and do some reaserch in to what I was looking for and was wanting to make sure that there wasn't something available that was a better price and better product than what I was asking about he didn't just say give me your credit card number he actually wanted to make sure I got the best deal for the money amazing... this is the only I will buy jeep parts from here on out and if u go any where else u are a fool guarntee u won't get taken care of like u do at this place... thank u guys and God bless I wish your company the best in years to come
CHRISTOPHER LAYA
CHRISTOPHER LAYA
2023.11.15
Phillip Lane
Phillip Lane
2023.11.15
Tim is probably one of the best in the 757. Knowledgeable, honest, and accomplishes work within his scope in a timely manner AND still goes above and beyond.
Reply from Open Air Jeeps, Performance | Repair | Restoration 2024.05.05
Hi Phillip, Apologies for the delayed response but I I wanted to reach out and say thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're lucky to have found Tim, and to have him running the shop and taking care of our customers all these years. I appreciate you passing the kind words, and letting us and others know of the great work Tim does here at Open Air Jeeps! Thank you, Jeff (Owner, OAJ)
sean freeman
sean freeman
2023.10.12
This shop was highly recommended by many Virginia Jeep folks. They did a great job on my Jeep.
Jose Martinez
Jose Martinez
2023.01.22
This little gem is neatly tucked away in the Lynnhaven area off of International Pkwy. Being it’s a bit hidden, it was not empty!! Lots of CJ, YJ, TJ and newer model Jeep Wrangler models being worked on. Talking to Tim, he is very knowledgeable and well versed on this platform, I had brought to the table of a TJ purchase that was to good to be true. He offered a shakedown and inspection for a small fee. This was a great offering that I did not pass up. I brought the TJ in and he went through it from bumper to bumper. Checked all fluids, leaks, flexed suspension, transfer case inspection, frame inspection. So after a thorough check he gave the thumbs up of a good find. He followed with a list of recommendations and he would be glad to take care of. I purchased the rig and it will be returning to knock out the punch list. Very down to earth service, doesn’t pull punches either-to the point and that is very appreciated and bottom line. Honest people, highly recommended!
Ryan Sawyer
Ryan Sawyer
2023.01.18
Recently took my Gladiator in after an accident. Tim jumped right on things to let me know what it would take to fix. The insurance company wanted to be difficult about needing some paperwork, and Tim made sure to get with me to get things sorted out. I would highly recommend Tim and Open Air Jeeps for your jeep work.
Darry Leaven Jr.
Darry Leaven Jr.
2022.12.23
Josh Iannetti
Josh Iannetti
2022.12.01
I Have never been here, But I will in the future or would recommend these guys to anyone with a Jeep . I was calling regarding a problem I was having with my Jeep and Tim was a really nice guy and not only did help with advice but took the time to call around to also get other opinions on my problem. Great Customer service here !!!
Jennifer Harden
Jennifer Harden
2022.09.09
I honestly cannot speak highly enough of Tim and Open Air Jeeps. I’m so glad I found him after my poor experience of buying a used Jeep from a dealership. Tim is kind enough to really take time to explain the issues, show genuine care, and do what he can to fix any/all issues. I joke that I wish more people I knew had Jeeps so they could come here as well. You know when you come here that you and your Jeep will be taken care of. It’s hard to find a place to go that aren’t looking FOR problems just to take your money. Seriously, this is the place to come to! Thanks, Tim!
Azariah Hollister
Azariah Hollister
2022.08.19
Amazing service. If you have a jeep, you definitely should take it here. I took my jeep in to MIDAS because it was overheating and they overcharged me for poor service. They kept saying they’ve fixed the issue and yet my car was still overheating. Today I took it in here and Tim took a through look and fixed the loose screws that caused leakage in my jeep. It was for not even half the price MIDAS charged me for.
Joe B
Joe B
2022.08.09
The folks at Open Air Jeeps did a great job and I would highly recommend them to anyone. They did a re-gear on my 2002 Jeep Wrangler TJ, 4.0 5-speed manual transmission. When I bought the Jeep, the previous owner installed a 3 inch suspension lift and 33 inch tires. However, the existing gear ratio for the front and rear differentials were still the factory 3.07 to 1 ratio, which caused the Jeep to struggle at highway speeds. Open Air Jeeps installed new 4.10 ratio gears, and now my Jeep runs much better at highway speeds with more power. Doing a re-gear is no easy task and requires knowledge and expertise. After talking to them, I can say they definitely know Jeeps. My TJ runs much better now. They also fixed an issue with my brakes that they noticed. The price was fair and the service was excellent.
Aaron
Aaron
2022.05.13
After a week of trying to correct a diy gone wrong, I contacted Ocean Air Jeep to see if they could assist with my daughters TJ. After speaking to Tim on the phone he said he would like to take a look at it to see what he could do and if he could even assist. Drove the TJ to Tim and right away he was very helpful and willing to fix it on the spot. Then Tim asked if it was okay if he looked over the Jeep since we just bought it and I said sure. With a shop full of vehicles he took the time to show me some things about the vehicle and also some things to keep an eye on as well. With all this, Tim never once tried to sell me anything which was awesome, so I asked for his prices on a few of the repairs that I was already planning on doing. It was great to take her Jeep to a place and have ZERO pressure to buy a bunch of stuff and on top of that with such great prices. Dropped it off that night, and next day was ready for pickup. Shoot I am even considering buying a Jeep myself just bc of this experience. Tim has a customer for life now and I am spreading the word to everyone I know who has a Jeep. Thanks Tim!
Payton Clouser
Payton Clouser
2022.04.07
Doc Meyer (Docreport)
Doc Meyer (Docreport)
2022.02.01
New soft top installed with perfection. Top notch Jeep repairs.
Durant Kreider
Durant Kreider
2021.07.22
Jeff and the whole team are the best! I was able to get all the little stuff I needed from OAJ to finish my Jeep camper build before its 10,000 mile trip out west.
Andrew Paloma
Andrew Paloma
2021.04.06
Update: Tim is a master of Jeeps and provides fast, friendly service. Thank you for taking care of my TJ. Super helpful over the phone. Will be bringing my wrangler in for work soon and will update with a full review.
gaspire nagy
gaspire nagy
2021.03.09
Owner was very accommodating and knowledgeable