Dr. Lawrence R. Whicker, M.D.

Dr. Lawrence R. Whicker, M.D. Reviews

Average rating
3.4
28 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (28)
B. T.
B. T.
2023.12.01
Dr. Whicker is quite possibly the worst medical professional I've ever come across. Cold, callous, and shows an utter disinterest for people in pain. Shocking for someone working on his profession, particularly given his field of neurology. As another reviewer said, if I could give him a zero, I would. My girlfriend is in pain with a confusing set of neurological symptoms that appear to be worsening by the day. We waited a month to be seen by him. He was the only option we had if we wanted to be seen before 2025. The fact that he was the only one available should say something about how much people want to deal with him. We wanted to provide a history of symptoms lasting months. He'd seen us twice before and done a cursory examination each time. This time, his staff wouldn't even let me go back with her, despite her requesting I do so.
Jerome Kern
Jerome Kern
2023.11.22
Dr. Whicker was awesome. I had been seeing another Neurologist, for headaches, for a number of years and was not happy with her. On my first visit with Dr. Whicker, after some discussions and tests, within 20 minutes, he diagnosed and gave me some treatments that I needed to do. My headaches have now disappeared. Just wish I would have seen Dr. Whicker years ago. The office staff are outstanding, I did not have one issue with them. For those of you that have insurance issues, get them resolved before going to see a doctor and you won't have problems. I highly recommend Dr. Whicker.
JaeandMamaEats
JaeandMamaEats
2023.11.03
I have been a patient to Dr. Whicker since 2006. I can say he’s good at what he does but he should work on his mannerism to his patients. He doesn’t smile at all and he’s quick to leave the room out after he tells you your result's. I only stayed with him this long because he has all of my history and I don’t want to start treatment from scratch with another doctor. One other reviewer mention money. I called to make an appointment and the secretary said because I had not reach my deductible with my insurance I had to pay $261.00. I guess I was confused because my insurance says I would pay a co-payment of $20.00 for a specialist visit. I thought the deductibles calculate to the out of pocket cost you had to meet during the year before the insurance will pay 100% of your medical expense. They made it seem as if I still had to meet the full deductible amount by the end of the year regardless of the insurance paying 100% after the deductible is meet. I guess I need to read up on my insurance coverage again and make a change. Why would this office ask for $261.00 and the another specialist I just currently visited ask for a $20.00 co-payment ?
Risa Byrd
Risa Byrd
2023.06.21
Dr. Whicker seemed quite indifferent, as if he couldn't be bothered with questions or concerns from the patient. He was extremely matter of fact in his approach and rushed through the scheduled appointment. The person that coordinates insurance canceled my appointment due to some question of coverage rather than allowing me to straighten the insurance matter out. Once the insurance situation was cleared up, I could not make an appointment until the benefits coordinator got back with me. I needless to say decided to see a different Neurologist. I would not recommend this doctor's office. Extremely unaccommadating.
Heather Sell
Heather Sell
2022.01.03
I saw Dr Whicker in 2015 when I had a radiology report showing congenital fusions in my neck. This is a rare and potentially life-altering diagnosis. Dr Whicker never mentioned the fusions to me in any follow up appointment. At the time, I was considering going to a chiropractor for manual adjustments. This fell through due to insurance, however, if it had not, and I had gone through with this I would now most likely be paralyzed from the neck down due to negligence. I found out about the fusions in 2018 when I had to get the radiology reports from the MRI clinic before seeing a new neurologist. A medicaid insurance policy is what saved me from his negligence.
Z Z
Z Z
2021.07.06
I have been a patient of Dr. Whicker for over 25 years. He's very knowledgeable, thorough and responsive to my questions and needs.
Olga M. Funes
Olga M. Funes
2021.02.18
I received an excellent service and treatment from Dr. Whicker, he is very professional and answered all my questions. The Technicians are very patient and professional, also the staff are cordial. Jose and Olga Funes
Dennis Brown
Dennis Brown
2021.01.29
Extremely knowledgeable but very willing to listen to my issues and act on them. Also, willing to both answer my questions and explain results of test. He quickly determined my issue (unrelated to his field.) Very pleased with his staff and tech's.
Jessica Jones
Jessica Jones
2021.01.18
I've had several appointments with Dr. Whicker and his staff. Most have been okay, but today's appointment was very disappointing. There was an issue with my insurance regarding whether or not I needed to pay a copay. No one informed me that I wouldn't be able to see the doctor until this was resolved. Had I known that, I would have just made the payment and sought reimbursement later. Instead they had me wait 30 minutes before telling me I should call my insurance company, which took another 20 minutes (the error was on my insurance company's end). Once I asked if this was stopping me from seeing the doctor and they said yes, I said I would pay and asked how I would be reimbursed if my insurance company confirmed that I don't have the copay. The front desk worker seemed uninterested in helping me as he never looked at me and gave curt responses. He said he would have to see if the doctor was even still available to see me (so yes, after I had waited an hour, there was the possibility I couldn't even see the doctor. Fortunately, the doctor was still available). Overall, I understand that the copay issue was not their fault. What prompted me to provide such a low score was the complete lack of empathy or consideration from the staff. There are several ways this could have been resolved that didn't require me to wait an extra hour. And fortunately I was off today, so the rest of my day was not impacted. I would discourage anyone from choosing this office for your neurological care. It's important to have doctors and offices that care about their patients, but even more so when that office specializes in neurology. Going to the doctor is stressful enough, but when the issue is impacting your brain, that stress is enhanced. You should have a team that's on your side and supporting you throughout the process. I made sure to ask Dr. Whicker if he were aware that his staff made me wait an hour over a copay issue, and he confirmed that he was aware, which tells me that he was no more compassionate than his staff. That is not the kind of person I want overseeing the care of my brain. I would strongly suggest choosing a different neurologist.
WILLIAM OWENS SR
WILLIAM OWENS SR
2020.11.11
Dr. Whicker and staff were very kind and courteous. So professional, yet personable at the same time. This was my first visit to the office and everyone made me feel so very comfortable and welcomed. I had to get 2 or 3 test done and staff was sensitive to my needs. Excellent visit and dare I say wonderful experience going to the doctor's office.
elisabeth sherrod
elisabeth sherrod
2020.09.22
Dr. Whicker is very thorough. I had 3 tests today and all results were given to me and were positive. That made me feel good. I’ve been seeing Dr. Whicker for 15 years and he stays on top of any issue I have. Thanks so much.
Elaine Clark
Elaine Clark
2020.07.28
Dr Whicker was the neurologist for both my mom who had Alzheimer’s and my dad who had more of an acute condition. He is equipped to provide the difficult conversation about end of life when the time comes. The office has most diagnostic tools available on premises,and the staff is gentle and helpful.
Renee Riviears
Renee Riviears
2020.05.19
I am very please with this office, Mona, Bill, Tina,and Natalie was very pleasant, even though my physician mess up on my referral. The team is very accommodating I saw them during COVID-19, yes I had the thermometer test worn my mask, Dr. Whicker worn his and saw me I felt same great team. Yes I recommend this doctor and his team. Mona went out her way to get schedule for my visit 10 plus stars. GREAT VISIT AND TEAM!!!!!!
Apostle D. Elaine Rainey
Apostle D. Elaine Rainey
2020.03.17
I found Dr. Whicker to be very distant when I went to see him. He wasn't friendly or talkative at all. Instead, he just did the test and was gone even when I was trying to engage him about my test.
Steve Rome
Steve Rome
2020.03.17
Dr. Whicker listens well, is patient, and his thorough in explaining details of medical conditions.
Asantewaa Amankwah
Asantewaa Amankwah
2020.03.06
Made me feel comfortable and aware of what was going to occur. Throughly explained the procedures being conducted. He explained in terms that were understandable.The wait is not long at all. I had a good experience. I am glad I was refer to this physician.
E N
E N
2020.02.18
Dr. Whicker is "businesslike" and that's a good thing. I had a series of tests in the office and went over the results right away with Dr. Whicker. He explained them, related them to my situation and talked about improvements and possible remedies. I asked a lot of questions, but he was not dismissive at all. In the Laurel office, the technical staff (3) were very kind and carefully explained the tests before giving them. The office staff were pleasant and efficient. Email notifications and reminders were very prompt; and being able to provide medical data and check-in online in advance was really time-saving and convenient.
James Meritt
James Meritt
2020.01.29
Appeared to know exactly what he was talking about and its implications.
Jerry Smalls
Jerry Smalls
2020.01.17
I received very courteous, professioal , and exceptional service from Dr. Whicker. I would definetly recommmend his services to others. The staff was friendly, courteous and very helpful. Dr. Whicker is not real warm and friendly, not all people are. But he answers questions about health concerns and explains test results if asked, in a manner that is understandable to me.
Jordan Walker
Jordan Walker
2019.10.30
Dr. Whicker is a very intelligent man, but there seems to be no sense of urgency when looking for treatment/relief. Always a fast in and out visit. If the original treatment doesn't work, be prepared for a 2 month waiting period before he tries something new. So much potential here, but like the other comments, there is a disconnect between the doctor and the rest of the staff as well. When I was in the hospital, it took the ER over 4 hours to get in touch with someone from the office! Also, when you call to make an appointment count on some major wrong info. They will tell you your appointment is at one time and when you get there they are like no it was actually this time. This happened to two other people while I was waiting to be seen. Tighten up people. This is absurd.