Kingfisher

Kingfisher Reviews

Good rating
4.0
77 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (78)
Ann R
Ann R
2022.02.09
Verified
Fun Place Always have a lot of fun with the kids at the Bar and Grill events. Good food and friendly, professional staff in the restaurant and 'on-stage'...
Advertisement
Hamiltonlass08
Hamiltonlass08
2022.02.04
Verified
Lunch with friends Visited for lunch with friends. Great service, waiters were very polite and helpful. Food was lovely and plentiful. Busy for midweek, good the roadworks hadn't stopped people coming in.
Marrz
Marrz
2022.01.06
Verified
Average Service was poor, however the staff where polite. We ordered the fish and chips and it was bland and tasteless. The chips where overly salted. This place is average and I wouldn’t visit in the future.
Mr W
Mr W
2021.12.28
Verified
Great - worth a visit First time here in a long time, very warm, clean, cosy, really attentive and welcoming staff. Menu was brill with lots of choice, food was great, good value, and came piping hot, quickly. Our server, Emily M, was great and attentive. Would recommend and will defiantly return.
CCC
CCC
2021.10.28
Verified
Kingfisher - Kirkham Service was extremely slow! Staff pleasant but seemed to lack knowledge of menu or indeed procedures! Asked for a table of 5 - offered a table for 4 so took a chair from neighbouring table to put at end of table given! Place was not busy so think we could of been given a different table! On the whole food was good but steak was tough - asked for medium rare & it was more medium to well done! Partner had chicken which felt it was a little tough & very dry!
Advertisement
Paul L
Paul L
2021.10.20
Verified
Well Worth a Visit On each occasion that we have visited the Kingfisher, we have commented on how nice the place has become under the management of JW Lees . A excellent choice of meals, from the extensive menu, never fails to please, and a great selection of cask beers from the bar , We have now decided to book a meal taken from the Christmas menu. I just hope that the Kingfisher maintains the standard that it has now set. Polite well dressed attentive staff, All good that a place like this is on our doorstep.l
Stephen S
Stephen S
2021.10.19
Verified
Great food First time visit while staying at Ribby Hall village nearby. Saw good reviews so thought it was worth trying, wernt disappointed either. Specials menu was very good, decent hand pulled beer and good service. Will be back later in the week for sure.
Terence B
Terence B
2021.09.23
Verified
Disappointing We had lunch on a Tuesday - and really wanted the visit to be a success - because most of the places around are shut on a Tuesday and the Kingfisher do meals all day. We wanted them to do well. The pub is nice inside and out - especially a nice outdoor area with comfy seating etc. Menu is extensive and reasonable and service was good. Drink prices are good. There were not many customers in. However, perhaps Tuesday is when they have a stand-in chef. We sat out-side in the sun. I had fish and chips - the fish was ok but the chips were lukewarm and the plate was cold. My wife had steak and ale pie. The pie was ok but did not have puff pastry as advertised and the chips were lukewarm, the mixed vegetables and the plate were cold. No point in complaining and sending them back - what would they do - prepare a fresh meal or use the microwave? And of course - the moment is spoiled. Also, the chairs were spotted with bird or seagull droppings and we had to move them around a bit to get clean ones. They need some-one to give them a good once over as the majority were soiled - and then they need checking each day and a cleaner spending 5 minutes taking the odd spots off with wet wipes. It was a shame about the food - hots chips, vegetables and plates and it would have been ok. Otherwise, the service was good.
Reply from Kingfisher 2021.09.23
Hi Terence, We are sorry about this, you did arrive just as we'd opened and we did pick up soon after. We did also do a check back during your meal in which nothing out of place were told to us. We can do very little when were only told about it a few days later in a review. As for the chairs we do apologise, we do daily cleaning inside and outside so either these have been missed or recently happened, needless to say we'll make sure more effort goes into this in the future. If you'd like to discuss it further by all means we'd love to speak to you directly. All the best
citypaul
citypaul
2021.09.15
Verified
Lovely Fresh Food Called in for a quick lunch and was very pleased. Had a Club Sandwich that was really tasty nice and fresh. And Scampi and chips that were delightful cooked in fresh oil that makes all the difference to often establishments cook them in old smelly oil this was not the case. Table service with a smile Well done to Simon and the team at the Kingfisher we will be back.?????
Advertisement
micknicklin
micknicklin
2021.09.10
Verified
One major issue will stop me from returning Been eating in this Pub for years, since it was built in the early 90's. My Wife and myself loved it back then, and if i am totally honest everything is the same except for 1 thing. I called in for Lunch a couple of days ago, on my way to Preston UCLAN for my sons Graduation. The Manager was obliging, as all the managers i have known at this Pub always have been The Staff were lovely, and equally obliging, coming to the table , with face to face pleasantries asking if everything was OK and if any more drinks was needed....really, really pleasant and attentive guys. The food was really good for Pub Grub....Hot, well cooked, appetizing to look at, total quality. The pub itself was spotlessly clean, smelt fresh and if im totally honest, a venue you would want to eat in..... SO WHATS MY BEEF ???? I have been eating out a couple of times a week at places similar to this one, across the Fylde Coast, for as long as i can remember.....Right up until..."LOCKDOWN" I am certain, we all bare the scars of Lockdown, some less than others, and some with Mental Health Issues that will never witness normality again. But...after trawling through the past 18 months, the light at the end of the tunnel, was, when Lockdown was scheduled to end.....and then...it was pushed back with the message (just a little longer)...a month in fact...But it did finally end....weeks ago. I remember the first night in Blackpool with partying at the Golden Eagle, the Squirrel, and all the pubs in Poulton-le-Fylde....because restrictions had been lifted. No Masks were mandatory, and YES...for once in months and months...you could now walk up to the bar, (like we have been doing for over a hundred years).....Look at the various Ales on offer, and order whatever takes your fancy. The Kingfisher,... for whatever reason, has decided to hang onto those dark days, (the majority of the public, who regularly used pubs... Hated) by making you wait outside the door of the pub, like we was in Lockdown all over again... At this point we were shown to a table, and not allowed to enter the bar area, to see the Ales and Gins on offer,(My son had just gained his Bachelor's with Honors, 2:1.....it was a celebration) I did ask the Manager.... "Can I Go To The Bar And Order Some Drinks?" "No, Someone Will Come To Your Table" "When Are You Going To End This Table Service Only?" "Were Not, This Is How We Do Things Now" Don't get it really.....it is deffo not to protect the staff, as the face to face confrontation at the table is exactly as it would be at the bar. The majority of us are Vaccinated, and i would think the majority of us have had Covid by now So Please.... Lets all turn the same corner, look forward, and lets get back to how things used to be, where you could walk into a pub....pick your own table...get your family seated....walk to the bar and get the drinks in....have a browse at the menu....maybe walk to the bar and get another drink... AND PUSH THE LAST 18 MONTHS BEHIND US, INSTEAD OF USING IT AS AN EXCUSE FOR SAVING ON STAFF WAGES OR WHATEVER. Great Pub, Great Staff, Great Food....Bad Decision
Janet
Janet
2021.09.05
Verified
Lovely Been here several times now while staying at ribby hall and have always had a very good experience. The portions are very large, very tasty and served without delay. The puddings were exceptionally good. Will definitely be returning when we are next in the area.
Sandra W
Sandra W
2021.08.16
Verified
Meal out Lovely meal and lovely staff the meals are lovely and hot and fresh food staff always friendly and polite always ready to help
Lisa
Lisa
2021.08.12
Verified
so attentive I never write reviews but felt i wanted to today. I took my mum here for lunch and I have got to say how very polite, attentive and smiley the staff were. I came out of the pub feeling really relaxed, happy and well looked after!
Advertisement
Emily Brayshaw
Emily Brayshaw
2021.08.09
Verified
Super Brilliant food and great service and I would recommend it anyone who wants to visit kirkham and I would definitely coming back again
Ian R
Ian R
2021.07.03
Verified
50th Birthday Celebration We booked for my 50th Birthday celebration with my family. There were 12 of us which they accommodated taking into account covid regulations. The staff could not do enough for us, they decorated the area for us, we never had to wait for drinks. The food was excellent and very filling. Lovely relaxed atmosphere which I really wanted. Anthony was the point of contact for my wife and he was very friendly and accommodating. All the team were lovely. Thanks very much, I am so glad we chose the Kingfisher to celebrate at. Xx
Evelyn23146
Evelyn23146
2021.05.30
Verified
A great place for family dinner We were staying nearby and needed a place for a family dinner: it was a Saturday night and we needed a table for 6: two families with two children. It was a struggle to find a place that could accommodate us: but we were lucky enough to get a table here. The standout feature was the service: the staff that served us all were lovely and really accommodating. The food was nice: two of the party opted for the signature Cheese pie which did look fantastic! They also had a superb choice of gins too! The place was very quiet but the facilities were lovely: seating outside with heating. We do not live in the area but I would recommend and the staff that work there are great! ? They also had a great music selection playing in the background!
Jess
Jess
2020.10.31
Verified
If i could score a zero, i would. 4 of us came for a meal, sat down and ordered food, unfortunately one of us 4 had an emergency call involving a family member and had to leave. As the food came, one of the waitress’s started saying we have broken the law by one of Us leaving before eating the food. Firstly, they had every intention of eating with us that night. Secondly the waitress made sure every table around the area heard her which as you can imagine was extremely embarrassing. So, the staff side was very poor but the food was even worse. Two ordered the Seafood board platter which is polite to say was edible. Another guest ordered the Katsu Chicken Curry which as can be seen in the below photo, still had pink bits inside. The only saving grace from the meal was the manager who was extremely considerate in the situation. We will definitely not be ordering again.
Advertisement
Samantha D
Samantha D
2020.09.15
Verified
Customer care poor 1st time being here to celebrate my grandson birthday and was appalled by the 2 women who were at the front of the house i understand from the Monday 14th there is to be no more than 6 in the group we were a family of 4 adults and 2 children and a baby and this was on the Sunday 13th -the women were awful towards us and so rude telling us they won't except us in due to the group been 7 despite the 7th one been a baby and this rule wasn't even enforced on the 13th when we were in!!! - the children were so upset and hungry my granddaughter was very frightened of the women it was disgusting how we were treated - the bar staff looked horrified and you could tell they weren't in agreement with what the 2 women were saying but mostly HOW they were saying it - we won't be back
emmawllc .
emmawllc .
2020.09.13
Verified
Great customer service My family and I visited on Saturday early evening, before a night out. Excellent social distancing measures in place. There was a misunderstanding re one meal and we had only just started to discuss it when a very observant member if staff came straight over to ask if everything was ok. We explained and she very quickly remedied the issue, the manager also came over to deliver the rectified meal. We all were impressed by this. The food was excellent too. Will definitely be returning.
Paul C
Paul C
2020.09.10
Verified
Great food and service. Avoid the cocktails. Booked in for a last minute family dinner hacking phones around several places trying to get 9 of us accommodated. Due to covid we had to sit across two tables but they managed to get us in and what a great time we had. Firstly the staff are fantastic. For a young staff they were so professional, friendly and helpful. They were able to recommend dishes to us and were the perfect hosts. Food was outstanding. Lots of homemade choices that were the delicious. Everyone’s food looked great and we all said how good it was. The cheese and onion pie was exceptional. Desserts didn’t disappoint either. Portions are large so make sure you arrive hungry! Food arrived promptly though it was a quiet evening in the pub. My only gripe was the mojito cocktail I ordered. It costs nearly £8 and though it tasted ok, it was just served in a tumbler, no crushed ice or mint! I felt a bit overcharged and was really expecting the presentation to be better as well as it having some mint! This wasn’t a huge deal though and I can’t wait to come back again soon. Recommended.