Kamahi Cottage

Kamahi Cottage Reviews

Excellent rating
5.0
85 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (82)
Elle Freestone
Elle Freestone
2021.08.15
A peaceful secluded hideaway with hosts who truly understand genuine hospitality.
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Kamahi Cottage 2021.08.15
Thank you!
Karllie Clifton
Karllie Clifton
2021.08.14
What a wonderful rural 5 star bed and breakfast just 25 minutes from Waitomo and 15 minutes to Otorohanga. Hosts Liz and Evan were so warm and welcoming during my stay. Liz was especially accommodating with my late arrival and it was a pleasure to enjoy breakfast in their company the next morning. This is the perfect place to stay for a single or a couple looking for a peaceful quiet getaway.
Reply from Kamahi Cottage 2021.08.14
Thank you Karllie. We enjoyed meeting you just as much.
Masys Mommy
Masys Mommy
2021.07.24
I have just spent a lovely few days at Kamahi, Liz is an amazing host and the experience was simply delightful. This is a cosy country cottage with tasteful choices and the feel of 'home'. Delicious food, wonderful hospitality and high quality accommodation. Liz also gave us great local recommendations for day trips and eateries which saved us loads of time as well having the option of her yummy (scrumptious!) home cooked meals. We loved every moment. Thanks for a wonderful stay!
Trip type
Solo
Vacation
Location
Rooms
Service
Lynaire Kibblewhite
Lynaire Kibblewhite
2021.07.19
One of the most relaxing places I have stayed at. Liz makes you feel so special and her food is simply divine, not to mention an amazing wine selection. I highly recommend a holiday at Kamahi Cottage. Thanks Liz and Evan for spoiling us so much. Lynaire
Kelly McAteer
Kelly McAteer
2021.07.15
Kamahi Cottage is a gorgeous home away from home - but better. The attention to detail, the cows out the window, uninterrupted views over the rolling hills of the Waikato, all makes for a genuine kiwi experience. The breakfast was clearly prepared with care and thought, and very yummy! I would definitely recommend this delightful cottage to stay for business or pleasure. Liz has created a true legacy for her family.
Trip type
Business
Location
Rooms
Service
Masys Mommy
Masys Mommy
2021.06.05
I have just spent a lovely few days at Kamahi, Liz is an amazing host and the experience was simply delightful. This is a cosy country cottage with tasteful choices and the feel of 'home'. Delicious food, wonderful hospitality and high quality accommodation. Liz also gave us great local recommendations for day trips and eateries which saved us loads of time as well having the option of her yummy (scrumptious!) home cooked meals. We loved every moment. Thanks for a wonderful stay!
Debbie Clarke
Debbie Clarke
2021.05.10
What a wonderful night we had at Kamahi Cottage. The photos don't capture the peace and tranquility of Kamahi Cottage. Spacious, light-filled, and sitting atop a hill with beautiful surrounding views, Kamahi Cottage is a real retreat. Liz has equipped the cottage with everything you could want, and more. Little touches that make your stay memorable, and Liz's cooking is outstanding! Make sure you pre-book dinner, as once you get to the cottage you won't want to leave. And Liz and Evan are delightful hosts who love sharing their special place with guests. It's so evident how much they love and care for their place, both their farm, and their community in which they are deeply involved. They are both people people, enjoying a good conversation with guests who share a desire to know more about their farm and their community. Their commitment to conservation and regenerative practices is also apparent, in the cottage and on the farm. These are the small business owners we all need to support, the ones leading the way, walking the talk, and truly making a difference, for their guests and their community. Thanks Liz and Evan for a wonderful experience.
Trip type
Couples
Location
Rooms
Service
Harriet
Harriet
2021.05.09
We had such a lovely stay at Kamahi Cottage for the weekend. Not only was the accommodation beautiful, cosy and incredibly comfortable, Liz and Evan were amazing hosts and made us feel so welcome. Liz cooked us a 3 course dinner and delivered it to the cottage - the food was delicious and the service was fantastic. Then Liz and Evan welcomed us into their beautiful home for breakfast. The homemade food was amazing and we ended up staying for a couple of hours and chatting, we thoroughly enjoyed our time. Thanks so much for having us! We highly recommend Kamahi cottage to others exploring the beautiful Waitomo region and hope we can come back again soon. Harriet and Marcos.
Rowan Nicholson
Rowan Nicholson
2021.04.16
Had a wonderful overnight stay at the Kamahi Cottage. A comfy, cozy little getaway with a beautiful little garden. Breakfast was also delicious and Liz made sure we were right at home with everything you could think of covered ! Thanks so much for the stay
Trip type
Vacation
Location
Rooms
Service
Grant Nicholson
Grant Nicholson
2021.04.16
Thanks for having us at the Kamahi Cottage - We had a lovey stay. The cottage was charming and spotlessly clean, with cake waiting for us on the table. Liz made sure we had everything we needed and more and breakfast was delicious! ?
Trip type
Business
Location
Rooms
Service
Julia Ricketts
Julia Ricketts
2021.04.09
Fantastic Easter at Kamahi! Yummy food, beautiful views and warm hospitality. Thanks for a great holiday
Allana Owen
Allana Owen
2020.11.25
Very comfortable and relaxing place to spend a few days. the fit-out was stylish and clever. the owner was more than lovely. the positioning is great for access to Masterton and the gorgeous surrounding area.
Amanda Wilson
Amanda Wilson
2020.11.19
Fantastic place to get away! The cottage was lovely, and the gardens and views were amazing. The meals were excellent and Liz is a great host! Thank you for a well needed escape.
Trip type
Couples
Location
Rooms
Service
Angeline Song
Angeline Song
2020.09.07
A healing balm for our weary souls in the aftermath of Auckland level 3 (second) lockdown! My husband and I were sorely needing some gracious rest and relaxation in a safe space, and we found it here in the Cottage's tranquil, luxurious setting, the warm, gentle hospitality of Elizabeth (Liz), invigorating conversations with Evan and Liz's exquisite breakfast choices which more than satisfied my French husband's palette! My four year old was over the moon when Liz's grand daughter Katherine shared the family's lambs, adorable pigs and goat with him, and he also highly rated lying in (or playing around) the hammock in the front deck while chatting with a bunch of curious cows. As a mum who is careful and conscientious about my family responsibly following the relevant Covid19 rules, the high standard of hygiene and cleanliness complete with provision of hand sanitizer helped put my mind at ease so that I could fully enjoy this much needed break.
Jacques Marnewick
Jacques Marnewick
2020.06.28
A wonderful break from the chaos and noise of day-to-day life. A cosy cottage and set in peaceful surrounds, it is an oasis of tranquility. Liz is a wonderful hostess and the care and food are second to none. Book it, you won’t regret it.
Trip type
Couples
Location
Rooms
Service
Timo Brooky
Timo Brooky
2020.06.07
Wow what an amazing cottage! Stayed overnight on a work trip and it was great to get stuck into work downstairs and also chill out. Liz had made some amazing cookies that I had to eat straight away haha. Wide range of tea selection coffee etc.. It is such a great use of space and it’s still very private with amazing views. Breakfast was amazing the bacon and eggs were restaurant worthy and so were the crepes. Shared some stories at breakfast time with Liz and Evan and it was amazing to hear great stories of the history of Otorohanga. Can’t wait to stay here again ??
Trip type
Business
Couples
Location
Rooms
Service
Andrew Potter
Andrew Potter
2020.03.07
The Kamahi cottage was without a doubt, the best place we stayed at in New Zealnad. The grounds were beautiful and Liz cooks some of the best food we have ever tasted. The owners are great and truly make you feel like part of the family. Can not recommend enough.
Trip type
Vacation
Location
Rooms
Service
David Krzywicki
David Krzywicki
2020.02.27
My wife and I traveled from Auckland to Wellington and back over a two week period and stayed in a variety of lodgings. By far our favorite place was Kamahi Cottage. The cottage is quiet and secluded and the surrounding gardens are beautiful. Liz and Evan are warm and wonderful hosts. The bountiful breakfast was delicious. I’m glad we opted to have Liz’s home cooking for dinner. I highly recommend Kamahi Cottage and would love to stay there again.
Trip type
Vacation
Couples
Location
Rooms
Service
Dee Killian
Dee Killian
2020.01.24
Wow what a wonderful place. Our every need was taken care of. Lots of thoughtful little touches. Dinner was delicious as was the 5 star beakfast. A very peaceful and secluded spot, just what we were looking for. This was the best place we stayed during our New Zealand trip. Thank you for a little slice of heaven. We shall certainly return again ? Dee and Roger
Trip type
Vacation
Location
Rooms
Service
N Benz
N Benz
2020.01.23
The welcome that we received was so warm, the cottage just perfect and the breakfasts were out of this world. We would recommend Kamahi Cottage to all discerning visitors to this beautiful part of the world.
Trip type
Vacation
Family
Location
Rooms
Service