Highland Base

Highland Base Reviews

Good rating
4.1
69 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (69)
Phill Jeffers
Phill Jeffers
2024.03.06
Following a journey to Skjól, we were collected by 4x4 and taken across the snowy ice fields to Iceland’s interior at Kerlingarfjöll. On arrival at the Highland Base we were greeted with a warm welcome and shown to the restaurant for some food. The staff were friendly and the food was delicious. From where we sat we had a beautiful view across the valley, which is well positioned to explore the mountains or the local hot springs. Our room was spacious and had all the required amenities. We can’t wait to return and extend our gratitude to Daði and all of the team.
Trip type
Vacation
Location
Rooms
Service
Reykjanes
Reykjanes
2024.02.13
Verified
An unusually luxurious taste of Iceland's wild highlands I have visited Kerlingarfjöll quite often through the years to snowboard, splitboard, hike, mountain bike and just to enjoy the area. Kerlingarfjöll are a beautiful group of mountains located between two of Iceland prominent glaciers, Hofsjökull and Langjökull. So the area in itself is spectacular and worth a visit. The facilities before the recent developement were run down, they used to have a ski school for spring skiing and a very old school lift there on the glacier. The new facilities called Highland Base, Kerlingarfjöll are really well thought out and tasteful, they connect to the landscape, rooms have large windows to see the views and they have built really nice hot tubs and a sauna to enjoy after a day of outdoor activities. The staff were very helpful, me and my wife got a room with single beds but the staff (I believe his name was Daði) sorted that out with a smile. The food at the restaurant was also very good, our group had the beef and were impressed. We travelled by our own modified Arctic Trucks super jeeps to the location and it took us about 2,5 hours from Gullfoss with the road snowed in and marked impassable. This can vary depending on conditions but the hotel arranges travel for most of their guests that do not have access to trucks like that. So a very enjoyable stay at this new hotel, I hope to visit soon again for some nostalgic spring skiing on Snækollur and Fannborg and a cold beer in the hot tub afterwards.
Yuliya N
Yuliya N
2023.11.25
We did not stay here overnight. We stopped by to get shelter from the bad weather, as we had driven up for the day. Absolutely stunning location. We got hot cocoa (it was rich and decadent, like drinking chocolate) and hung out upstairs for a bit as we waited for weather to clear. The space is beautiful, moody, century modern vibe, and quiet. The lady at the desk was super friendly and kind. The drive up was a blast, lots of muddy puddles and beautiful views. Driving up higher was super worth it, it was our favorite part of Iceland.
Trip type
Vacation
Friends
Location
Service
kuhlbear66
kuhlbear66
2023.11.17
Verified
Poor Communication My husband and I made hotel and shuttle reservations about a month ago for early December. Having been to Iceland many times, we booked this short trip for the sole purpose of checking out this new resort. When I recently inquired about their cancellation policy (we were worried about flights being impacted by a potential water eruption) - the response from management was they are not offering a shuttle on the days I had already booked, and my options were to cancel my reservation, change dates, or pay around $3200 USD for private transport. What? We leave for Iceland in 2 weeks. We are now scrambling for alternative plans, since it’s too late to change our dates. Needless to say we are really disappointed on how our situation was handled, and not being notified immediately that our shuttle reservation was not available.
Nicola Berti
Nicola Berti
2023.11.14
si può prenotare e pagare solamente con carta di credito. abbiamo utilizzato il camping per una notte, purtroppo è stata una serata molto fredda e piovosa e non abbiamo avuto modo di goderci la bellezza di questa zona. I servizi sono ancora in costruzione, a causa dell'elevato numero di persone che ne usufruiscono alla sera sono piuttosto sporchi. l'area mensa è piuttosto piccola per la dimensione del campeggio ma ben attrezzata le piazzole sono pianeggianti e ben servite
Trip type
Vacation
Family
Location
Service
Marco Wörner
Marco Wörner
2023.11.09
Sehr beeindruckend im „Nichts“ gelegen. Wir waren sehr überrascht als wir sufbjnseter Tour plötzlich an dem Resort vorbeigekommen sind. Auf dem Rückweg haben wir hier noch einen Kaffee getrunken. Freundlicher Service und faire Preise.
Trip type
Vacation
Location
Service
Vornicescu Dinu
Vornicescu Dinu
2023.10.23
Location
Rooms
Service
Harry Dörf
Harry Dörf
2023.10.22
Location
Margo Piątek
Margo Piątek
2023.10.01
Znakomite miejsce na wypad.
Trip type
Vacation
Friends
Location
Rooms
Service
Albert Vu
Albert Vu
2023.09.28
Perfektní poloha a skvělý hotel. Pokoje jsou v moderním designu s výhledem na řeku do údolí. Restaurace je výborná. Večerní bufet i snídaně jsou na islandskou gastronomii na vysoké úrovni.
Trip type
Vacation
Location
Rooms
Service
Pei-chih Hsu
Pei-chih Hsu
2023.09.27
要去凱德靈加山必定經過的住宿點, 飯店經理人也很好, 有問題詢問都很耐心回答,早餐buffet餐點豐富。
Trip type
Vacation
Family
Location
Rooms
Service
Mark A
Mark A
2023.09.26
Verified
Luxury service at the end of the Earth: perfect base for avid hikers who want to go off the beaten path If you are an avid hiker who wants to experience a part of Iceland very few tourists get to see then this hotel is for you. The service is truly world class: Hlynur and Claudia and all the staff went above and beyond to cater to my every need, including providing me with helpful tips for solo hikes and customizing my dinner options since I was staying 5 nights. The restaurant and chef are truly exceptional and I recommend stopping in even if you don’t stay the night: there is an a la carte menu during the day and the dinner buffet is outstanding and offers many choices (and they might add a la carte dinner over time). My suite was terrific with an amazing hot tub on the balcony that fills directly from the geothermal pool and terrific shower with Blue Lagoon products. The bed is super comfy and the windows offer amazing views. There is a fun lounge area with games and books where guests gather to connect and socialize after dinner. Read a great book and disconnect from the world. Once the baths are completed later this winter it should be a big plus, but even now you can hike to the hot geothermal pools just 1km away and the cold river right next to it is also fun if you are into cold water therapy :-)! The weather constantly changes (I had snow and sun and wind and rain and more sun in my time there) but the hikes and landscape are amazing in any weather if you come prepared. I did a bunch of solo hikes and there are lots of easy and challenging options depending on your level. I also did an amazing guided hike with Ruben (they have many guided options and a guide on staff during the summer) which was incredible: he showed me the ropes on how to navigate the glaciers and hidden trails that are hard to find, so definitely recommend signing up for a guided hike if you are staying multiple days.
Rolf Liborius
Rolf Liborius
2023.09.24
Nach einer abenteuerlichen Fahrt ins „Outback“ einen sehr schönen Ort gefunden. Die Hotelanlage ist fast fertig gestellt. Die Bauarbeiten aber keinesfalls störend. Der Standardroom mit etwas wenig Ablagefläche, aber völlig ausreichend! Das Bad geräumig. Alles riecht nach und ist aus Holz. Wegen der niedrigen Temperaturen sehr angenehm, Heizung funktioniert sehr gut! Das junge Personal sehr freundlich und zuvorkommend! Das abendliche Buffet sehr lecker (nicht immer sehr warm) aber verhältnismäßig teuer! Für die Lage des Hotels aber angemessen! Auf Grund der Witterung leider wenig Wandermöglichkeiten, auf dem Berg Schnee und eisiger Wind. Im Sommer sicher eine Traumlandschaft.
Trip type
Vacation
Location
Rooms
Service
V NA
V NA
2023.09.22
Bed bugs in the accomodation
Trip type
Friends
Karin Portmann
Karin Portmann
2023.09.20
Location
Rooms
Service
Andrew Lang
Andrew Lang
2023.09.19
Super friendly and helpful staff, stunning location. Thank you!
Keith M
Keith M
2023.09.18
Verified
Ruined thanks to selfish group of Americans with Covid using the restaurant / bar and lounge Had a lovely room albeit too hot which we couldn’t control. But one night stay ruined when a group of Americans of which some were wearing masks decended on the lounge upstairs and restaurant joking about drinking alcohol to kill the germs and one promising to breath the other way when removing their mask to eat. We evacuated both areas when we heard their conversation but had already been exposed for a while and skipped breakfast. But now 4 days on I have this morning tested positive for Covid for the first time and am very unwell. Thank you selfish group of Americans - you know who you are
Olivier Swevers
Olivier Swevers
2023.09.16
Vriendelijk personeel. propere kamer.
Location
Rooms
Service
Gunnlaugur Einarsson
Gunnlaugur Einarsson
2023.09.16
Location
Rooms
Service
Sarah Beck
Sarah Beck
2023.09.16
Super Lage, toller Service (gute Beratung bei Wanderroute ect.)
Trip type
Vacation
Friends
Location
Rooms
Service