Herne Hill Driving School

Herne Hill Driving School Reviews

Excellent rating
4.8
605 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (605)
Ed Saunders
Ed Saunders
2024.04.23
I came to Gary having taken a few lessons when I was younger but not then driven for 20 years. I was rustier than hoped in the beginning, but ultimately passed the test first attempt. Would recommend Gary to others as he'll be realistic about your level and when you're ready to take the test, but without delaying unnecessarily, so has a very good pass success rate. His car is also very nice to drive as well.
Advertisement
Jameela Raymond
Jameela Raymond
2024.04.14
Do not waste your time or money with Herne Hill Driving School. Unreliable and unprofessional through and through. I've only given one star because there isn't the option to give zero stars I have had the worst experience with Herne Hill Driving School. Three instructors have taken me on as a student and each of them have left me high and dry after just a few hours of lessons. The first (2023) moved out of the area, and I think it was irresponsible to take me on as a student if he knew he had plans to leave. The second (Jan 2024) spent much of every single lesson complaining to me about Sadiq Khan and ULEZ and when I very politely asked him if we could focus on driving and not discuss politics he was visibly irritated. So I think that was his issue with me. However when he cancelled on me, he said it was because I didn't live in *his* area (bear in mind I live in Herne Hill - if this was the true reason, I don't understand why they would have instructors who refuse to teach in the area). The third cancelled on me (March 2024) with less than 1 month until my test due to personal reasons beyond his control. Fair enough. However, Herne Hill Driving School never once got in touch with me after any of the cancellations to help me secure another instructor or cover the gaps, despite knowing that my test was booked for April 2024. When I spoke to Peter and explained my situation and asked for the price of some future lessons to be waived as a courtesy for my inconvenience his response was 'why would i do that?'. Excuse me??? Customer service is as shoddy as the reliability of the drivers All of this means that less than one month to my test I have only covered about half of what I need to have covered to even have a shot at passing, despite spending HUNDREDS of pounds on lessons with this driving school. And no other reputable driving schools have availability at such short notice. I'll have to cancel my test. With a six month waiting time for another one, I feel like all of my time and effort has been completely wasted. I am disappointed and furious about it all, and Herne Hill Driving School are completely to blame. Avoid avoid avoid avoid avoid
katelyn dirienzo
katelyn dirienzo
2024.04.11
I would give Herne Hill Driving School 10 stars if it were possible. I want to thank Harish for teaching me the core skills for driving, and a huge thank you to Miz for getting me test ready in such a short period of time. I'm so happy to say I passed first time with only two minors. It wouldn't be possible without the confidence and reassurance Miz gave me. I would recommend Miz to anyone who wants to learn to drive, he is calm, friendly and just a brilliant instructor. 10/10.
Reply from Herne Hill Driving School 2024.04.11
Congratulations, Katelyn! Harish, Miz, and I thank you for using HHDS. I am grateful to have such a great team of instructors working with me, and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We wish you all the best for the many new journeys you will experience in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or need advice. Safe and happy driving, Peter—HHDS.
Samantha Coombes
Samantha Coombes
2024.04.09
Gary is a fantastic instructor, he was able to fit in my partners driving test date at very short notice. Giving him extra time before the test date. Gary is very experienced, and my partner passed his test!! We are both very thankful for his time and effort within such a short time frame of booking. We would happily recommend Gary 😀
Reply from Herne Hill Driving School 2024.04.11
Hello Samantha, I wanted to extend my congratulations to your partner. On behalf of Gary and myself, we would like to thank you both for reaching out to us and leaving a fantastic review for Gary. We genuinely appreciate it. Gary always goes the extra mile, and it's great to hear that his hard work is being recognized. Thank you for everything. Please get in touch with us if you need any advice or have any questions Best regards, Peter
Benjamin Clark
Benjamin Clark
2024.04.08
I passed 1st time after having lessons with both Sophie and Gary, 2 of the best instructors I could have hoped to have got. I couldn’t suggest a better duo. Sophie was a very calm and easy going instructor who taught me from the get go and made it so I was fully prepared and very confident on the day of the test when nerves were the thing I worried about the most. I had a few extra lessons leading upto the test with Gary who made sure any small mistakes I was still making were sorted and ironed out. Cant thank these two enough, would 100% recommend them both!
Reply from Herne Hill Driving School 2024.04.14
"Hi Benjamin, I want to take this opportunity to congratulate you on passing your driving test. Along with Sophie and Gary, I wanted to thank you for choosing HHDS and for sharing your positive feedback with us. Your review is highly appreciated, and I have taken a screenshot of it to share with Sophie and Gary. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you need any advice or further assistance. Best regards, Peter"
Advertisement
Zayd Haji
Zayd Haji
2024.04.03
Took advanced driving lessons with Gary. I wouldn't recommend anyone else. Clear, patient and has the experience and knowledge to turn you from a driver who recently passed to a skilled driver. Many thanks , 100% Recommend Gary !!
Reply from Herne Hill Driving School 2024.04.14
Hello Zayd, We are thankful you contacted us and found Gary's knowledge helpful in improving your driving skills. Your review is highly appreciated. Please do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance or advice. Best regards, Peter
Arabella Hamilton
Arabella Hamilton
2024.03.25
I was assigned to Gary two weeks before my driving test, having never been taken to the test site or been prepared for the routes I would have to do. Gary, despite not having any gaps in his schedule, made time for a series of four and three hour lessons over the course of the two weeks to make sure I was ready and in the best possible position to pass. He was consistent, communicative, knowledgeable and real pleasure to be taught by. He put me at ease on the day of the test, and I really believe that no-one could have prepared me better. I owe Gary a huge amount as after two weeks - I passed first time! A real gem - thank you so much Gary!
Reply from Herne Hill Driving School 2024.04.14
Hello Arabella I want to extend my congratulations on passing your driving test. Thank you for reaching out to us and for leaving such a fantastic review for Gary. He is highly knowledgeable and dedicated, and we appreciate the positive feedback. I appreciate your help in recommending HHDS to others. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or need advice. Gary and I are grateful for your review. Best regards, Peter
Issi Lloyd-Waite
Issi Lloyd-Waite
2024.03.23
Muji is the BEST, I’m going to miss our lessons together! Super clear instructions, always calm and patient and generally just such positive energy. Would recommend to all!
Reply from Herne Hill Driving School 2024.04.14
Hello Issi "I wanted to congratulate you on passing your test! I completely agree with you that Muji is an amazing driving instructor. She is knowledgeable, calm, patient, and professional, which makes her the perfect recipe for a great instructor. She is a valuable asset to the driving school, and her efforts are truly appreciated."I'm sure Muji will miss you as well. Please get in touch with us if you have any questions or need advice. We are always happy to help. Kind regards Peter
S Tempest-Roe
S Tempest-Roe
2024.03.20
Tina was an absolutely amazing driving instructor. After feeling very anxious about driving, and having bad experiences with other driving companies and instructors- Tina was incredibly patient with me, and I passed my test easily with her within 6 months. I would highly recommend Herne Hill Driving school and Tina 🙂.
Advertisement
Leo Santos
Leo Santos
2024.03.13
I’m very grateful to have had Harish as my driving instructor, he is a very calm and great instructor who was always patient with me! Thank you so much Harish for helping me pass first time!
Rosie Walsh
Rosie Walsh
2024.03.11
Very fortunate to have had Lance as an instructor. Thankyou for being a consistently great balance of patient, kind and strict with me - and for braving the very early start for my test today! 😂
sven lomas
sven lomas
2024.03.08
Positive
Professionalism
Could not recommend Ravi at Herne Hill Driving school enough. A truly exceptional instructor who makes you feel comfortable, and most importantly confident in your ability, lets you know where you’re going wrong and gives constructive feedback. For such a stressful experience learning to drive Ravi has made the whole process smooth and passed first time with just a few minors. Thanks for everything Rav!
Asher Reid
Asher Reid
2024.03.07
A big Thank you to Salim I passed my test today at Mitcham Salim I appreciate you, thank-you for believing in me your kindness didn’t go unnoticed. The feeling I have right now is amazing. Big up to Herne Hill driving school, Peter & Gary ✌🏾🥳🥳
Advertisement
John Spawton-Rice
John Spawton-Rice
2024.03.07
Couldn't recommend Ravi any more highly. After finding driving really stressful and failing multiple tests before, driving with Ravi was a total reset. He's patient, supportive and a great teacher. I passed the first test I took after learning with Ravi and I actually enjoy driving for the first time ever. Thank you so much Rav and Herne Hill.
Greg Ash
Greg Ash
2024.03.06
Gary is an excellent, patient teacher who helped me pass 1st time! Very good driving school.
Silvi Vargas
Silvi Vargas
2024.03.04
I'm pretty disappointed after getting pretty excited about all the positive reviews! I honestly didn't enjoy the lesson with Malek at all, was an hour of hearing the instructor talk. Too much information that wasn't relevant for the task. I drove for like 35/40 mins in a two hour class that finished 10 mins early! His driving was pretty shocking too on the way to the driving area and back to my house. Coming towards a speed bump? Let's just go full speed on it and bounce! The comment about 'driving men crazy' was not appreciated at all. I called Herne hill driving school to book with another instructor for manual and they said that it wasn't possible because everyone was fully booked for 6/8 weeks which I said I was okay to be booked for in that time. They responded with 'that's too far in advance'.
Tom Hughes
Tom Hughes
2024.03.03
Tye was my driving instructor at the Herne Hill Driving School. I passed on 19 February this year at the West Wickham test centre. Tye is easily the best instructor I have ever had. Getting this licence has not been easy as I learned to drive when I was younger and failed several times. Tye was calm, patient and clear when giving instructions and it was an absolute joy to learn with him. I can easily recommend Tye and Herne Hill Driving school to future learners. Many thanks Tom
Advertisement
Kimani Reid
Kimani Reid
2024.02.29
Thank you, Herne Hill Driving School for pairing me with Salim. He is an excellent instructor. I just passed my test 🥳and I owe him a great deal of respect and gratitude. He is such a patient and knowledgeable person and I would recommend ANYONE to him. He helped to restore my confidence in driving, as I had last driven (and failed my test) just before the pandemic. He provided sound advice throughout our lessons and helped me to develop the confidence I needed to become a better and safe(r) driver in a matter of 3 months!
Laura Round
Laura Round
2024.02.26
Can not recommend Herne Hill Driving School and Gary enough! I took some refresher lessons and he was great. Calm, experienced, clear communicator and great company!
M Kid
M Kid
2024.02.21
Saba was an extremely good instructor helping me pass my practical driving test first time