Oak City K9

Oak City K9 Reviews

Excellent rating
4.9
454 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (454)
Remi
Remi
2024.04.19
My husband and I sent our one year old labradoodle for training. We didn’t know what to expect since she wasn’t technically a puppy anymore but wow she is a different dog! Calypso exceed our expectations. She is doing everything we requested and more. I highly recommend them to anyone looking for any kind of dog training but especially if you just want your dog to be obedient like we did. If I could give them 10 stars I would!
Olivia Savor
Olivia Savor
2024.04.15
Calypso Canine has been a game changer for our rescues. Luna went through the program and can out with much better manners. Stella was able to complete the service dog track and now spends her days being a therapy dog. We are beyond grateful for the team at calypso for really giving us our dream dogs
Evelyn Williams
Evelyn Williams
2024.04.08
We highly recommend Amanda from Model Citizen Canine. In 2 months Amanda transformed our very aggressive dog, with resource guarding and OCD, into a calm and relaxed pup that obeys commands! Amanda is a great teacher for owners to learn how to properly give commands and how to use equipment. We could not be happier with the results.
Reply from Oak City K9 2024.04.08
Thank you for the review! I really miss him, can’t wait to see you guys for your follow up lessons!
Allison C.
Allison C.
2024.04.07
First-time German Shepherd parent here. Z has been a high energy, suspiciously clever doggo ever since I rescued him at six months. I was committed to making our family and community a safe one, so I met with the Canis team when Z was 9 months old. We soon completed both Levels 1 and 2 group obedience classes, and Z really excelled! Cue a few months later, realizing my dog was too smart for his own good, I ended up signing up Z for the takeover AND off leash program to support his outsized bratty teenage pup behaviors and reactivity issues. So, so much gratitude for Christiana who managed his first three weeks of takeover, and to Brent who managed the off leash learning. Having Z work on impulse control and eventually build up his skills to use an e-collar has been transformative. I'm so proud of my doggo because oh my goodness, Z can sit in a car without crying now, he can run ahead and come back to me when I call him, he can ignore animals as big as horses and as small as toy chihuahuas, and most importantly, he can self-soothe and take care of himself when I'm busy in the house. We're looking forward to continuing our training journey with Canis. PS, scared of the e-collar? I was too, but as someone with a chronic disability who needed support to manage a 60 lb pup, training with an e-collar truly increased my confidence and independence with my dog. Not only has it been helpful and gentle on my body, but also using the e-collar intelligently has completely changed how I approach leash work and how I improve communication with Z that actually we use the e-collar stimulation less and less over time. What a wonderful tool! PPS, thank you Canis team for cleaning up Z's diarrhea when he was naughty and drank rainwater behind your back.
Erica Norman
Erica Norman
2024.04.01
Complete waste of money. Sent my dog for a month to learn only to walk on a leash...I sent him for aggressive behavior which was not addressed and house training which was also not done. No follow up appointments, no home checks like they said. I wasted $4000 and have nothing to show for it. Definitely not recommended
Sabrina Viveiros
Sabrina Viveiros
2024.03.26
Mike is amazing to work with! Highly recommend!
Tiffany Matheson
Tiffany Matheson
2024.03.19
We rescued the sweetest Doberman three years ago. He is the best boy but he loved to run and did not always come back when called. After his training with Calypso Canine he is 100% reliable off leash and a joy to take on walks or to the beach or anywhere. We recently rescued another dog and want her to be just as well trained and reliable so she will be attending dream dog training next month. I highly recommend this service to anyone that wants to make sure their dog is reliable which means they are safe.
Warrior For Christ
Warrior For Christ
2024.03.15
So, I got my dog 4 months ago. He needed training badly meaning he got into dog fights, Pulling the leach, Toy Aggression everything. Tobias stayed there at this guys house for one month and is a totally new dog
Kamrin Obrien
Kamrin Obrien
2024.03.13
I would 100% recommend! Not only were they incredibly responsive and helpful with all my questions, but I feel like I got a new dog! She’s so well behaved and in just a short time our relationship has become so much better.
Kelly Dorafshar
Kelly Dorafshar
2024.03.10
If you are looking for a true 5 start trainer, Canis is fantastic!!!! Behavioral issues? They’ve got you covered. They do not turn away bully breeds and really have a love and passion for dogs.
Luisa Ponce de León
Luisa Ponce de León
2024.03.07
Mike and his wife are THE BEST!!! We trusted them with our 10 months labradoodle Nani, and they did an awesome job! She graduated with the adventure dog program and it’s been a life changing experience for us. We can now take Nani on walks without her pulling the leash and have dinner while she very calmly stays in her place. THANK YOU MIKE! For taking such good care of our pup, she’s still her own self but now she is an even more wonderful dog. 100% recommend the program :)
Lou Besa
Lou Besa
2024.02.12
What an amazing difference in a short period of time. We can finally enjoy our dogs for the first time. We also now have the tools and instructions to continue with our dogs training. It was a great experience for all of us.
Andrea Swanson
Andrea Swanson
2024.02.04
Mike and his team took great care of my 7 month puppy and trained him with care. Mike has done a great job answering all my questions even after I took my dog home. My dog is still his quirky funny self but with better manners and more calm demeanor. I was really nervous when I dropped him off but I am glad I trusted the process.
Kristin Lau
Kristin Lau
2024.02.01
Thank you Calypso Canine for working with our 4 year old female Viszla Chili. My husband and I were searching for a place to provide behavioural training for our girl. Chili is a very sweet natured, loving goofy and reserved dog that was a bit on the fearful side and also full of beans with some anxiety. She would jump up on people, jump up on the table to grab food when no one was looking, and pulled on the leash on walks. She was ok out on the beach off leash but would not fully listen when there was distractions with other dogs or kids around. After 10 days at Calypso and working with Mike and Crystal, Chili is a new dog. We now have a new common language to speak to Chili with and she follows commands, goes to her "place" and walks very nicely on and off leash. Chili has less anxiety and seems very comfortable around the house and outside around other dogs and at the beach and parks. She heels very well and can go with my husband fishing off leash and heels on his left side while he casts. We feel comfortable taking her outside off leash to do the fun activities together that we always wanted to do. Many fun Camping, hiking and outdoor adventures to come! Chili still is her same goofy, lovey and happy self but now has good manners and listens well.
Karen Flomen
Karen Flomen
2024.01.30
Calypso Canine is fantastic! I took my 17 month pup there to teach her some manners. I was nervous because she’s a sweet girl but jumped on people and wouldn’t listen when called. I was afraid she wouldn’t have her puppy playfulness after she came home from Calypso Canine. Well, let me tell you she’s still sweet and playful but she listens so much better and finally has some manners! Mike is great to work with and exhibited patience and kindness toward me. I love this place and so glad I found them! Highly recommend Calypso Canine.
Liz Caruso
Liz Caruso
2024.01.30
Highly recommend Calypso Canine for all of your training needs. Had a great experience with my Golden who recently just completed her training. Mike was amazing to work with — extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable with any concerns I had regarding my dog’s behaviors. As well as , he kept in touch many different times throughout the process of scheduling, drop off, training days, and then pick up. Thank you to everyone involved for a great experience. Appreciate all of your help getting Willow back home after my injury. 😊
Victoria D
Victoria D
2024.01.26
I needed a Ruffland Kennel for my new dog to travel with me to dog training/ dog sports. I decided to purchase one from Mike and he was extremely professional and pleasant to work with. After our conversation, my kennel was shipped the next day and I was given a tracking number. I was extremely impressed by how quickly everything was done and how communicative Mike was in the process. I highly recommend purchasing a kennel from Mike if you’re on the market for one. You won’t regret it!
Elizabeth Teinert
Elizabeth Teinert
2023.12.27
I had my dog trained by CANIS (specifically Christiana) in this past year and after moving back to Texas and struggling to find a trainer as good as her I realized how great she really is. Some trainers will try to tell you that you’ll never see progress after a session but that’s just not true at all, I saw amazing results after every single session with Christiana and every problem I brought to her she was able to give us a solution. Ginger had to be muzzled at the vet before coming in and now they take her back and do things that used to require sedation, muzzle free and bark free. Thank you Christiana and CANIS for helping me make my dog feel more at peace in the world.
Ansley Baker
Ansley Baker
2023.12.24
If you are looking for a dog trainer choose Calypso Canine! My dog came back a whole new dog in a good way! I am so thankful for Mike and his family!
Shannon Baker
Shannon Baker
2023.12.24
I can’t recommend Calypso Canine enough! Our 8 month old golden doodle Stella completed the 10 day program. She walks on leash without pulling. She is a champ off leash also. No over excitement anymore when the cat walks by her. She is a dream puppy now! Mike and his team knows what they’re doing for sure. It seems far fetched to think a puppy can change behavior and learn so much in the 10 days there, but Stella is proof it works. Thanks to Calypso Canine we have a well mannered family member!