George Junior Republic

gjr.org

George Junior Republic Reviews

Average rating
3.3
252 reviews Verified
George Junior Republic
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 253 ) 3.3

thomas hibbard
thomas hibbard
2024.05.19
Poor management here. I applied for a job 8 to 4. Went in for a interview. The hours changed to 1.30 to 10. Definitely not the schedule I applied for. They do not answer their phones or email until they feel like it. What a joke
Michael Gorham
Michael Gorham
2024.05.03
Place destroyed so man young men’s lives. Treated terribly and so much abuse. Sickening this place is even still open. Judicial funded and almost all men are sentenced to be there by a juvenile judge. Disgusted to realize that it’s gonna keep going on and on because there are no consequences.
Direct Care Staff
Direct Care Staff
2024.04.25
Verified
Rewarding at times It used to be a great place to work, until the new upper management ruined the place. The head of human resources is quick to fire all the people that actually do their job and genuinely care about the youth. They seem to reward the ones that have no work ethic and could care less about the well being of the kids. The upper management are all shady and cover for each other and are very clicky. If the public only knew half the stuff that they cover up.
Aaron Brodsky
Aaron Brodsky
2024.04.19
I was here back in high school for 100 days. What a joke lmao 😂
Xenon
Xenon
2024.04.16
Spent nine months here under false assault accusation, and I must say the whole facility blows. I was in for nine months, troublemaker kid needing some reformation. Here's the kicker: they put kids wherever there's a spot open, regardless of their background or reason for admission. One of the residents was this 17 year old psycho-socipath and pathological liar who made everyone's lives a living hell if he wasn't paid attention to. Now mind you I was never in any fistfights in GJR only because of my temperament, but I saw people bloodied and a then friend of mine damn near killed someone with a chokehold. I even heard about a stabbing with a nail in the ISU that hospitalized a kid. Management is a total joke; half the staff were drunk on their power, though those who weren't really did their job well, or tried to if they weren't oppressed by the other staff. The supervisors (who, if you don't know, are basically the "campus'" enforcers) would intentionally force kids into their room to get the opportunity to bodyslam youth off-camera. This was horrendously common. The sole reason I give this place two stars rather than one is for the help I actually did receive from the TTC of SN9, Mr. Mike and the RM of the same name. Big props to them. Some of the staff were actually pretty honorable, Mr. Sid, who unfortunately lost his job to a lapse in judgement; Ms. Bry Dinger, she was the main one there for me; Ms. Amber and Miss Autumn, who were scared off by the aforementioned 17 year olds love-suicide letters, Mr. Josh, he wasn't there long but he was a real one. I had only ever been to GJR as far as placement goes but hearing multiple people say it was the best option... I don't have much hope for the future of CYS/F and Juvenile charge youth. Thanks for reading my PSA, and remember: they may be kids, but they still have minds and emotions.
Clinical Manager
Clinical Manager
2024.03.31
Verified
Interesting It was certainly different. I learned alot working with the clients. Didn't love it, didn't hate it. I wouldn't go back but look back at it as a huge lesson all around.
Anwen Thomas
Anwen Thomas
2024.03.13
George Junior Republic in Grove City is an amazing nonprofit organization that helps children and families.
Michael Tighe
Michael Tighe
2024.03.11
Dan Werner
Dan Werner
2024.02.20
Terrible place. I was there for 18 months. The only reason I was released was because they didn’t want to get sued.
Matthew Diehl
Matthew Diehl
2024.02.08
Mrs. Joy and Mr. Andy....man, Mr Andy made some mean Deer jerky. I know this place did a lot for me but unfortunately I decided to continue down my chosen path and ended up in the State pen. But I believe GJR did everything they could do to guide me in the correct path. I got scholarships, went to college on those, and decided I was going to do things my way. That said, now I'm clean a long time, I think back fondly of the 2 adoptive parents from cottage C and wanna say thank you.
louie v
louie v
2024.01.12
1965,66 i was on football team. It was great playing all the local high schools. Football taught me teamwork, purpose, and gave me some stability. GJR was a nice place.
Jason Singer
Jason Singer
2024.01.01
I would've been dead sixty yers ago if my parents hadn't sent me to George JR. I LEARNED BARBERING AND received my haircutting license in 1962 I opened the first Unisex studio in the 60s in DC and Maryland by 1970 earned my 1st million thanks PJR
Clerical
Clerical
2023.12.18
Verified
Toxic Toxic work environment. Negative attitudes. Constant criticism with no positive reinforcement. No room for advancement. It used to be a good place to work but has been run into the ground.
Andrew Farrell
Andrew Farrell
2023.12.07
I was there in 95-97 it was the best thing that happened to me. My cottage parents were great I had several but all treated us with respect and taught us good morals. There were lots of opportunities from sports to trades. I learned how to drive there, and had the opportunity to go to Hershey pa with the basketball team as they won state championships against reading Central Catholic. I wish I could go back in time and visit for the day. I now have a bachelor's degree and running my own business I made a big turn around not right away but the things I learned in that place helped me to be who I am today. Thank you GJR.
Behavioral Health Technician
Behavioral Health Technician
2023.11.19
Verified
Not bad What is the best part of working at the company?The pays good….working with the kids is awesome…..there just kids need someone to listen to them…..there not all badWhat is the most stressful part about working at the company?When you have to put them in a restraintWhat is the work environment and culture like at the company?Claim most days and might have a few bad daysWhat is a typical day like for you at the company?Dinner then taken then to the gymShowers phone calls and zooms with family tv time and bed
Jane foster
Jane foster
2023.11.17
My kid was there for almost a year and came out with the same issues and more. They are also allowed to watch adult themed movies while up there. Technically the kids kinda do what they want. These are glorified babysitters.
Custodian
Custodian
2023.10.25
Verified
Run. They should drop the nonprofit and pay taxes on their pathetic campus. What is the best part of working at the company?Worst place ever. Turnover is huge, because the mismanagement is epic.What is the most stressful part about working at the company?No plan, no accountability, no improvement. Period.What is the work environment and culture like at the company?Garbage. Lying and political bull never stop. Backstabbing is an Olympic sport.What is a typical day like for you at the company?I drank the memories away,thanks.
BHT
BHT
2023.10.24
Verified
Has ups and downs Pay was good but was under a big amount of stress after awhile. You can get hurt on the job. Some of the youth are great kids while others aren’t and you try and try to help them all, but it’s not always appreciated by them or by the company.
Ronna Gralitzer
Ronna Gralitzer
2023.09.18
Awesome experience
Direct care
Direct care
2023.09.03
Verified
Admin is out of touch Admin does not care what happens in units - not enough employees- poor management blamed lack of employee retention on COVID but it’s an unsupported environment