Greater Huntsville Humane Society

ghhs.org

Greater Huntsville Humane Society Reviews

Good rating
4.4
693 reviews Verified
Greater Huntsville Humane Society
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 693 ) 4.4

Brandon Meyers
Brandon Meyers
2024.05.26
Eva Preston
Eva Preston
2024.05.16
Did not have what I was looking for
Jack Parrish
Jack Parrish
2024.05.15
Looking at potentially adopting a dog from here; their team was very kind and helpful. So grateful for the work they do.
Kat Elise
Kat Elise
2024.04.15
Leslie Roberts
Leslie Roberts
2024.04.09
The ladies at the Humane society were so helpful and polite. It was a very pleasant experience!
James Pestano
James Pestano
2024.04.03
Anna Geohagan
Anna Geohagan
2024.03.27
I had a negative experience adopting a cat from GHHS. First thing is the adoption system they have is flawed and a bit cruel. When you apply online for a cat, they can take days to approve your background. A bit frustrating but I get it. The problem is, if you don't pick up the cat as soon as possible once they approve your application, another person can come with an approved application right after you and get the cat. This makes it really stressful to wait days to know if you can even get the cat and then randomly getting a called mid day saying, hey come get this cat now or someone else can take it. This feels unfair that if I was busy the next day, someone could get the cat even though I applied first. Second, and more pressing matter, there is a lot of miscommunication when it comes to the health of their animals. We were told that the cat we wanted to adopt is getting over a contagious virus and that she should be done with her meds. We were given the cat and sent home. she looked bad but they told us she was fine and that she was getting over it. I took her home to our other cats and called again to see if I could get more information since she was clearly sick. They then tell us that they have medication for her that we could pick up if we really wanted to. So we did. We had a scheduled appointment with a vet 3 days later through the GHHS to get her spayed. The vet says she is very sick with a high fever. The GHHS tells the vet on the phone that they never treated her for this virus when they told us they did. So they sent us home with a cat who was contagiously sick knowing we had other cats, lied to us about her still being sick, didn't tell us she needed medication until after we got home, and then told the vet that they never gave her meds for something she was sick with for at least a couple days under their care. This is awful and I'm so glad my other cats didn't get sick too. Thanks to us, she is feeling better and was able to be spayed. I will never get another cat from GHHS again. (The vet they are contracted with was awesome, 5 stars to them)
DJ Pro
DJ Pro
2024.03.19
Hmm. Told the CEO was the foster and would be hand picking the owner of the dog; no meet and greets allowed. Tons of room for bias. Also, speaks volumes about their CEO and which dogs he himself is β€œwilling” to foster while others are boarded. Animal lovers beware.
Amy Kibbey
Amy Kibbey
2024.02.18
We adopted our guinea pigs from here. The staff was great!
Lin Bonen
Lin Bonen
2024.01.31
It was a real friendly and a nice experience. She is such a sweetheart we walk everyday and play a lot
Mark Hill
Mark Hill
2024.01.15
This shelter was was well maintained and the staff were very helpful but we did not find our additional family member.
Amy Landreneau
Amy Landreneau
2024.01.14
Amazing organization!!! Good people doing great work!
Rochelle Tolbert
Rochelle Tolbert
2024.01.03
Am ready to adopt Poppy
Nicole Schussler
Nicole Schussler
2024.01.01
Me and my kids loved going here and seeing all the cute dogs and cats!!!πŸ˜„πŸ•πŸˆ
Mathew LE
Mathew LE
2023.12.31
Floyd Ward
Floyd Ward
2023.12.26
Huntsville animal shelter a stone throw away has a wider selection, although the staff at this place was friendlier.
ellie anderson
ellie anderson
2023.12.15
Phil Donnelly
Phil Donnelly
2023.10.31
Picked up Hobbs, from their. It was my daughter's early Christmas present. The staff there was awesome. Hobbs is 4 months old very easy to potty train. Hobbs and my Rottweiler play in the backyard all day long. (The odd couple) He is a great addition to our family Thank You Greater Huntsville Humane Society
Suzanne Ray
Suzanne Ray
2023.10.29
Wahine Mamalahoa
Wahine Mamalahoa
2023.10.21
Huntsville Animal Shelter is so much better, cleaner than this place. The shelter has much better boarding and the cost is MUCH cheaper or free.