dynamicearth.org.uk

Dynamic Earth Reviews

Excellent rating
4.5
2892 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 1035 ) 4.5

Albia-Newton
Albia-Newton
2024.05.15
Verified
A great experience Visit with a group of 10-11 year olds Excellent experience Lots of interesting and educational aspects to experience through a series of engaging galleries Planetarium show was particularly good
Waddler
Waddler
2024.05.06
Verified
Rainy day Went with kids on a rainy day, and they enjoyed it - although they prefer more hands-on science museums like the Wonderlab at the London Science Museum, the Wonderlab at the National Railway Museum in York or Life in Newcastle. That's not to say that this one does not have hands on elements, there are a number of hands on attractions (mainly screen based, though there is the ice block which is literally a hands on experience). A lot of the experience is being placed in front of various screens, whether it be in the journey section or in the planetarium. That said, what is shown is good and educational whilst retaining the interest of the kids. It wasn't as crowded as I was fearing on a bank holiday weekend, and generally it wasn't a problem getting on things. The main wait was in the cafe - the queue was about 15 minutes.
Ellie w
Ellie w
2024.04.30
Verified
Helpful staff Went in for a little day trip for myself and had the most amazing men ever of staff help me out called ebony, she couldn’t have been more helpful and lovely. Made the experience so much better. Thank you to ebony for making the day amazing!
TwixUK
TwixUK
2024.04.26
Verified
Indoor experience Great visit for the afternoon - we did the gallery experience & visited the different zones. Thereafter the Planetarium. Enjoyed all, but would have been good to have further details on which planetarium show we would be watching when booking online tickets - no details, and would have preferred an experience around space, planets etc rather than a cartoon type film on the environment & satellites - geared towards children. Overall, we felt if Geography or similar was taught like this, or such an experience possible when we were children, we would have been very fortunate,
Mary C
Mary C
2024.04.25
Verified
Good, but be aware lat entry is two hours before closing! BE AWARE OF LAST ENTRY TIMES!! I saw that Dynamic Earth closed at 4pm and reviews said it takes around 90 minutes, so we arrived at 2:10pm. Last entry was at 2! I double-checked the website; the link to opening hours doesn’t work (nor does the one to reviews!) We went again the next day and it was a good exhibition; I recommend going, but I wanted to warn others about the last entry thing! If finances are tight, go to the free National Museum of Scotland instead; it’s also excellent.
David W
David W
2024.04.14
Verified
Good day at Dynamic Earth We went for the day as a family age ranges 5 to 72. There was something in the displays to suit everyone. The virtual reality section was marvellous. We were disappointed in the planetarium. We were expecting to learn about planets and galaxies but instead we learnt about saving the environment. My son, aged 42 said it was like Propaganda. We knew about most of it already. I have been to planetariums before and they have always been about outer space. The food was not good at all. The dishes were all dried up and overheated. .The staff were young and needed a supervisor to guide them. They were very busy. Perhaps they should think about offering alternative more healthy options. The food was also expensive. Even the tea was awful. We were wishing we had brought a picnic.
Skaula
Skaula
2024.04.13
Verified
Well worth a visit We spent a pleasant two hours at Dynamic Earth. It is well put together and has something for all ages documenting the history of our planet and universe. The planetarium talk was fascinating and we enjoyed the interactive elements of the displays.
Mihaela F
Mihaela F
2024.04.11
Verified
Interesting for kids from 5 to 9 years old The place is great for first time visiting it, but since it was our second time it was not so impressive any more. The 11 years girl was actually bored but for the 6 years old was interesting. But i will defenatly recomand this experience for families with kids not bigger then 8-9 years old.
Katy V
Katy V
2024.04.08
Verified
An educational visit Visited Dynamic Earth to check out public transport, parking, accessibility, cafe, events and pricing. Events looked exciting for children in the school holiday. Unfortunately it would be against my principles to encourage this kind of price structure. Museums and art galleries in the city generally have excellent catering franchises. But chips with everything is not one that appeals. We will not be visiting with the family.
Rosie J
Rosie J
2024.04.08
Verified
Fun, esp for smaller kids Unfortunately we were pressed for time and some technical issues meant we had to miss bits of the full experience (time lift not working). Got to see the planetarium show. We were maybe a bit old among the little kids but still enjoyed ourselves.
Olga
Olga
2024.04.06
Verified
Misleading information on arrival We had a horrible experience there. My teen daughter, my mum and I visited this place on 4th of April. Firstly, we were overcharged, instead of £46.30 we were charged £64.30 (!!!) and didn’t get a receipt, which makes me think the cashier realised the mistake, but decided not to tell us. I realised it only when I checked my bank statement later that day because, again, no receipt was given. We’ve been told that there is self audio guide in multiple languages and someone will assist us on it. We were taken to the first room of the exhibition and everything was in English, no self audio guides were available, we found them later, with no instructions - but Russian language wasn’t an option, which is frustrating as everywhere else in Edinburgh my mum was able to enjoy full experience and understand everything (she doesn’t speak or understand English). Not in this place. The whole place designed for little children. I’d say it can be interesting for 4-8 years old kids (that’s why I generously give it 2 stars), anyone older than that will be bored. Graphics and designs are outdated. Planetarium was in English only (!!) and three was a movie clip for little kids about the importance of recycling and ecosystem. Everyone in the room who was older than 7-8 seemed very bored and disappointed about this clip. The worst thing - you can’t leave, you have to finish this planetarium experience, 25 minutes wasted. The staff is very unenthusiastic. I had a feeling that we bother them, almost wanted to apologise for inconvenience. We did not enjoy it at all. Maybe, it’s just not for us. But I would very much appreciate if someone could get back to me so we can solve it. Thank you
Ann B
Ann B
2024.04.03
Verified
Well Worth a Visit Fabulous experience at Dynamic Earth. Thoroughly enjoyed it. The planetarium was especially engaging, the presenter was top class and managed to keep the varied audience engaged. Most of all the staff (mostly young) were friendly, knew their stuff and worked hard to make sure we had a good time. The cafe staff managed to remain cheerful but efficient despite being extremely busy. The calibre of staff make Dynamic Earth as good as it is. Well done all.
Anna H
Anna H
2024.04.01
Verified
2nd time visiting Enjoyable time at this experience. This was our 2nd time visiting this experience and we would return again. Lots of fun information
The wandering wagon
The wandering wagon
2024.03.31
Verified
Fun and educational! We decided to take a trip not knowing much about the place in advance and only allowed a short time to visit. That was a mistake! We planned on going for the planetarium not realising how much else there was to do, sadly we had to rush though most of it but what we experienced was fantastic and we plan on returning and dedicating a lot more time to explore this gem. Dynamic earth makes learning fun and anything that does that deserves high praise.
Sland2000
Sland2000
2024.03.23
Verified
Day trip with my son Interesting 2 to 3 hours with my son. It was very interactive and my son did learn a few things. The earth, it's a deep subject but they managed to keep my sons interest for the visit. I enjoyed it too, although needed a rest in the rnd. Recomend.
Carole H
Carole H
2024.02.21
Verified
Flood Resilience Conference 2024 in Edinburgh Spent 2 full days at the Flood Resilience Conference 2024 in Dynamic Earth, Edinburgh. Great Venue, quick & easy check in each day. Good size networking area & conference room. Small cozy room for CIWEM training. Lovely food & coffee throughout each day. Didn't see anything inside Dynamic Earth other than business however look forward to going in my leisure time. Great views of Edinburgh and not far from the Royal Mile and Holyrood.
Alan H
Alan H
2024.02.17
Verified
An amazing educational and entertaining experience On our arrival we were left wondering what we were getting for our money, information signs on where to start was lacking. However, one of the very the helpful start set us on the way to the initial geology exhibit. The experience then started as an escorted tour into a simulated elevator that gave a real feeling of descending through millennia with scrolling images on the screen walls accompanied by shaking of the floor. After a commentated display of Earth's early days with more floor shaking we moved on to the rest of the tour which took us into large screen displays of Earth's physical and biotic features. Later on this took the form of a 3D presentation, anyone who suffered from travel sickness should really swallow a tablet before going to these presentations. This was followed by displays of evolution, polar environments (with an enormous lump of ice in it) and marine research and environments. I went with a 9yr old and a 5yr old who both enjoyed the experience at different levels but I think this experience would be best for 8 - adult. Some craft activities were provided in the eating hall and was a good wind down for kids. My wife and I will probably return for a more in depth visit at a future date. The restaurant had a reasonable menu and was reasonably priced but people are also welcome to bring packed lunches. Overall, I would thoroughly recommend visiting here.
curlyrosy
curlyrosy
2024.02.17
Verified
Meh. Expensive and better things to do in Edinburgh. Meh!!!! We arrived at 12 o’clock after coming some distance. Bought our tickets which weren’t cheap and the car park another £10!! The planetarium was closed but there were regular talks by a specialist that we could go to but we were told our allocated time was 3.15!!! With the best will in the world and walking slowly round all the exhibits and having some lunch, we were still finished by 2.15!!! My son is 10 and the only bits that really interested him were the iceberg and the ride through the continents. Think it’s definitely geared at a younger audience. He’d have liked the talk I think as he loves stars etc but he didn’t want to hang around for another hour.
PatfromSomerset
PatfromSomerset
2024.02.13
Verified
A great day out A brilliant experience for both myself and my grand daughter. Very interactive as well as informative and we are still buzzing from our great afternoon there. Reasonably priced and will visit again when we are back in Edinburgh.
Jonathan B
Jonathan B
2024.01.28
Verified
Good fun for everyone at Dynamic Earth The tour was very well put together, atmospheric and engaging. it takes you through the passage of time and has plenty for everyone to get interested. The 3D experience was good and the planetarium was worth the full price of the ticket. Only downside was the cafe had very limited options, so I would make sure you are fed before you go and take snacks