Snowdon Red Dragon Holidays Ltd Reviews

Snowdon Red Dragon Holidays Ltd Reviews

5.0

Excellent - based on 338 reviews

dotcosmos.uk/awstage
is verified by Trustindex

We guarantee all reviews are 100% real.
What's Trustindex?
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (338)
Sophie Louise
2023-10-13
Great location at the base of Snowdonia and perfect for a group getaway As a returning guest, I was very happy to recommend and take my work colleagues to the Red Dragon Holidays as a perfect accommodation base for our company Dawsons charity hike up Snowdon in September 2023. As always, we had a lovely warm welcome from the owner Anthony who was equipped to be on hand for our needs. Before our Red Dragon trip, Anthony was always at the other end of the phone should we have any queries up until arrival with the 13 of us. We booked 4 pods, the Dragons Lair and Dragons Den which was a perfect opportunity to host our large group. A massive thank you to Anthony and I look forward to booking my next stay.
Advertisement
tt
tt
2022-09-30
Verified
My favourite place My second stay in the pods and I can not fault them . Showers clean , warm same with the pods . Location ideal (bottom of watkins path ) walks across the road . Just so much to do and see . Can’t wait to return . Oh staff are super helpful . No phone connection here but the pods offer Wi-Fi £2.50 day
Kyla B
Kyla B
2022-09-10
Verified
Absolutely Awful do not recommend This site states that these glamping pods are 'dog friendly '. These are not dog friendly at all , you have a main road less than 20m away from your pod with a poxy gate that wouldn't stop any child or dog running through. There is about 5 inches space for you to stand up and move around in your pod and the mattresses are awful. They smell sweaty and unclean. You have to cook outside despite if kts raining with no cover and there is no drying room. Weird for somewhere when it's going to expect alot of walkers/ hikers. When I had approached Antony about the situation and explained we were unhappy and that my lurchers did not feel welcomed by guests I had a reply of " sorry the weather changed your mind" despite the fact it did not and he refused to give me any refund. DO NOT GO TO THESE PODS. They were that awful we left early and told the new couple arriving not to stay aswell.
Reply from Snowdon Red Dragon Holidays Ltd 2022-09-11
Thank for your comments, It was your choice to leave early your choice to sleep in a pod with two big dogs, I got the feeling you wanted a refund because the weather changed. As you left early you activated in our cancellation policy and a refund was not applicable in your case. We treated you with respect and care which is more than I can say for your expletive torrent in your emails. We are not a B and B nor hotel. We are dog friendly in that we allow owners to bring their pets into accommodation. All we ask is that you keep them off the soft furnishings and bring the dogs bedding. We do expect owners and parents to supervise the children at all times. And yes the site is open so children and dogs could stray on the road if unattended. However we are set in 2.5 acres of ancient woodland and you can roam all of the site. Our pods and bedding are cleaned daily. You are correct that you need to cook outside there is a kitchenette which has basic facilities including a microwave. If you require a kitchen and dinning room table we would recommend that you stay in one of our wooden chalets rather than our budget pod accommodation. We follow the golden principle. And our pods are valued by ramblers and people that want explore the outdoors in comfort and are a pleasant alternative to camping under canvas. Please read a more representative review. If you are not sure a glamping pod is for you happy for you to ring me up and I will answer your questions, note we also have cottages which are equipped with everything you could want a home from home should you desire it. Red dragon team.
corny5016
corny5016
2022-09-08
Verified
Saved my weekend Travelled to climb Snowdon and of all things forgot to pack my tent, I tried several places for accommodation with no luck. Phoned the Red Dragon and explained my circumstances, the owner was brilliant and prepared a Pod in quick time after the previous owners vacated, I arrived around 1900hrs not really knowing what I was getting. The Pod was immaculate and comfortable, the bathroom block (which is no more than 10 metres from any Pod) was also immaculate and the showers are awesome, laundry room, kitchen area etc all clean and tidy. Couldn’t believe my luck as it’s literally a 5 min walk to start the Watkins route to Snowdon passing the beautiful waterfalls. Both lakes are a stones throw for Kayaking too. Had the best two nights sleep and if you ever fancy a night/week in a Pod I’d strongly recommend the Red Dragon. Beautiful area to explore. Thank you, Colin
Reply from Snowdon Red Dragon Holidays Ltd 2022-09-11
Thank you for your kind words, glad that you managed to accommodate you and you could explore the outdoors in comfort. As we are popular particularly weekends I would recommend you book in advance to avoid disappointment. You were lucky that we had a pod available. You were a pleasant guest that clean up after yourself and good company. Feel free to drop by when you are passing this way again and share with us your adventures. We also have a facebook page if you want to look out for offers. all the best Anthony
Carol.H
Carol.H
2022-09-04
Verified
Great budget accommodation Amazing location - near to Beddgelert (cracking ice-cream shop), Snowdonia trails, Watkin Falls & Pools and Sygun copper mine as well as fresh water lakes. Friendly, helpful staff. We stayed in the larger cabin, which was well equipped and comfortable. The kids loved it - good time had by all!!
Advertisement
cycletourists
cycletourists
2022-09-01
Verified
Friendly house robin We enjoyed the outdoor seating areas for our meals and the friendly robin that seemed to know it's way around the house. Milk and tea and coffee provided for our arrival. The smells didn't suit us. Air freshener or otherwise.
Value
Location
Klovell
Klovell
2022-08-31
Verified
Lush time away Just home after a wonderful weekend away in the camping pods. Had such a fantastic time that we didn’t want to come home. It’s a perfect base with so many adventures to be had that we cannot wait to return soon. The pods are super cosy and comfortable and have everything you could possibly need, so relaxing , Thankyou 🤩
Jane T
Jane T
2022-08-29
Verified
Very poor owner's attitude We had to endure one night of the pod door swinging open and banging in the stormy night, so I think it would have been reasonable to get a discount, even £10, even though it was fixed the next day, we still had to endure that night. We had a great holiday, so don't let this stop you booking. You probably won't have to deal with the owner. The staff were lovely, and helpful. Nice bathroom, shared with one other pod, a shared kitchen sink with washing up stuff provided. Could have done with more hooks and shelves, and a bedside cabinet with storage space underneath, and pillow cases that fitted the pillows, and a bed where both the sliding doors slid, and a kinder more polite attitude when dealing with complaints.
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Reply from Snowdon Red Dragon Holidays Ltd 2022-08-29
Thank you for your comments. Sorry you felt that way, we resolved the problem that day the guest choose to leave before we could fix it. We have a very safe and quiet site, we are in the middle of a warm spell. We did offer you a discount on any future bookings but you were not able to accept it.
Jo
Jo
2022-08-28
Verified
Red dragon in the heart of snowdonia Stayed here for 4 nights in a 2 bed cottage which is in the heart of snowdonia, location was great it was central to lots of walks, lakes, places if interest. My husband and 2 boys had a wonderful time being able to get to many places withing 30min drive or just simply walk there's a beautiful waterfall you can walk straight from the house to which also leads to the start of the summit. Incredible views on the way here and lovely walking routes all around, the village of beddgelert was a about 5min drive were theres resturants, pubs, icecream shop and small convenience store, plus stunning views and rivers plus the people were all so very friendly, would deffo go back.
Reply from Snowdon Red Dragon Holidays Ltd 2022-08-29
Thank you for those kind words glad you had a great time.
Advertisement
Jack R
Jack R
2022-08-14
Verified
Very comfortable and a great location. My group stayed for 3 nights in the camping pods, which were very clean and comfortable. The location of the pods were perfect for us with the local shop only a 5 minutes drive away and a number of pubs and cafe’s only a short drive away. The site was only a 5 minute walk from the start of the Watkin path which is the route we used to climb snowdon, this was great as we were able to park and leave our cars by the pods avoiding paying for parking elsewhere. The scenery surrounding the pods is beautiful with 2 huge lakes within walking distance; given the weather was quite hot these provided an amazing opportunity for a swim to cool down. The facilities were good and gave us everything we needed for our stay, although the kitchenette fridge was a little small so was full most of the time. The bathrooms were good and kept relatively clean. There is a seating area with a BBQ and fire pit which was great of an evening for my group to sit outside, although I would recommend taking your own BBQ/ stove in case they are in use. Would definitely stay here again!
Caroline K
Caroline K
2022-08-07
Verified
Camping pods Beautiful setting ,quiet,clean, every thing you need We loved our stay Owner very helpful dog friendly we was very lucky with the weather, cooking facilities showers very clean We will definitely be back
JasH
JasH
2022-08-06
Verified
Very nice! I stayed here with a group of couples recently and I'd reccomend this site. Each pod has a designated bathroom (shower, loo, sink, heated towels rack, loo roll, shampoo and conditioner!) Which are very well kept and pleasant. You share these with one other cabin. The pods themselves are very nice, warm and have electric sockets (there is a kettle and teas too as well as a heater and matress and pillow provided). I stayed in pod number one at the back and I really liked it. The whole place had a friendly atmosphere, nice helpful staff and I know my friends enjoyed it too. The only downside really is the road can be noisy when busy, but very peaceful otherwise and very close to attractions such as the watkin path and snowdonia. I'd visit again 😁
mike r
mike r
2022-07-19
Verified
week of walking amazing location, walks straight from the door, clean and tidy, really cosy in the dragons den, staff very helpful but in truth we had minimal contact, great value for money, would totally recommend, very friendly fellow visitors
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Advertisement
Richmich64
Richmich64
2022-07-18
Verified
Perfect Snowdonia base Three night pod hire in July. Easy booking and nice staff on site. Pod included comfy mattress and pillow as well as sockets and tea/coffee making. Lovely shared, with max 1 other pod, shower/toilet/washing facilities. Communal BBQ and bench seating was nice to cook and chat in the evenings. Shared wash up, fridge, microwave and toaster are handy too. Perfectly located for Snowdon at the start of the Watkin Path and close to some lovely waterfalls/pools to cool down in. Two nearby lakes for watersports with hire available. No phone signal, as there is a mountain in the way, so worth paying for the excellent Wifi.
Value
Rooms
Service
Stuart
Stuart
2022-06-07
Verified
Pod perfect We've been to this area many times over the years mostly camping so this was our first time plodding. We will definitely be back Great location Don't worry about the proximity to the road it's very quiet after 8pm
Lee
Lee
2022-06-06
Verified
Clean, Comfortable & Friendly Loved my mini break staying here, it was everything we needed for our short stay. The lodges we clean & comfortable and ideally located for our planned hike up Snowdon. The site is situated just a few hundred yards from both the start of the Watkin path & the bus stop for the Sherpa bus service which takes you to the start of both the Pyg & Miners track. Shower / toilet blocks were clean with excellent showers, very warm & plenty powerful.
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Hannah Breckenridge
Hannah Breckenridge
2022-06-05
Verified
Excellent place to stay! After extensive research into where to stay when cooking Snowdon, we stumbled upon these pods and we were pleasantly surprised by them upon arrival. The pods themselves are warm, clean and comfortable and all the external facilities are great and of a much higher standard than expected. Super little place to stay and will definitely be going back in the future.
Advertisement
tt
tt
2022-06-04
Verified
A Gem. You won’t want to leave Loved this little place.I had 2 pods. Clean & warm with a shared bathroom for the 2 pods also clean warm 5* shower . Location was perfect for the Watkins path 4 min walk. Pen y pass 10 min drive . Wash & dryer on site shared microwave toaster & fridge if needed in a little shed . No phone service here but Wi-Fi available. Location perfect , villages in short driving distance each way . The only thing I can say is take repellent as midges bite out side the pods you can’t sit in peace. Can’t wait to return . I’m sad I had to leave . 5+ star
Peter H
Peter H
2022-06-01
Verified
Red dragon Lodge adventure weekend I used the red dragon Lodge for a weekend of adventure and what an amazing location and close to zip world and literally steps away from snowdon Watkins path...... We loved the lodge and 100% definitely will rebook next year, value was outstanding and the sites also offered pod with great facilities........ Superb
Samvdh
Samvdh
2022-05-19
Verified
Fantastic location and cabin We booked the Dragons Den lodge so we could be near the Watkin Path, Snowdon. Absolutely perfect location, lodge very well equipped with everything we needed for a two night stay, even milk in the fridge! Very comfy beds.
Value
Service
Sleep Quality