Depth Counseling

Depth Counseling Reviews

Good rating
4.0
20 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (20)
Daniel Murray
United States | 2024.04.04
I had the most-ever unprofessional therapist at Depth Counseling: Jessie Chasan-Taber , LMSW, who CURRENTLY works at Union Square Practice in New York City!! Top 3 (of 7 TOTAL)most complaints I have of this * CUNT* include 1) Her (Jessie) having showed Noooo emotion (WHATSOEVER!!!!!) about my dad having abruptly, nastily, demandingly, etc., having woken me up at 5:30 am 2) Her expressing “die-hard” uncertainty about the appropriateness/inappropriateness of a gym employee having ( PURPOSELY, OPENLY, WILLFULLY,IRREFUTABLY, UNACCEPTABLY , etc.) acted in a Fucken abnoxious ass manner * FUCKEN DIRECTLY * towards me, and 3) Her (Jessie) having been “shy as a duck” for the remaining 50-75% of all my (overall!!) sessions. { I swear to God , I’d speak and this SHITFACE would just Fucken look at me nonstop while barely (if at all??) speaking!!!!
Advertisement
Kenny Dawes
Kenny Dawes
2024.03.29
After more than a year working with my therapist here, I was dismissed for attempting to answer a payment question. I had a heavy burden on my plate and had missed an appointment. My therapist, at that point, had convinced me to see her twice a week. For many of us, seeing a therapist even once a week may be cost-prohibitive or impossible given our busy schedules. I still attempted to make this work based on her guidance. I asked to speak to the director to determine if it was the company’s policy or my therapist’s to charge me regardless of the reason behind missing the appointment. I simply wanted to gain more insight as I had felt I made a heavy investment to this company in money and time. I was told by my therapist that we could no longer work together and given referrals to therapists who were not accepting new patients. I have not returned to therapy again because of this horrible experience. Other reviews appear to be written by colleagues and other industry professionals. This does not represent the experience had by patients at this practice. This, in itself, is a deceptive business practice, and patients should wonder whether many of these “5 star” reviews are, in fact, solicited. If you search their names, you will see that many of these reviews are written by other therapists, some of whom work or are affiliated with Depth. UPDATE: After checking many of the 5 star reviews here, I can confirm that most, if not all, are written by affiliates and clinicians. Feel free to search and see the same. In fact, for many of these reviewers, this is their only review. Highly deceptive use of Google reviews and most certainly a conflict of interest.
Reply from Depth Counseling 2024.03.28
Dear Kenny, I am sorry for your negative experience and for what I can see was a painful misunderstanding. We do refer clients to other services when we feel that they need something different from what we provide (psychodynamic psychotherapy). That said, we never terminate with a patient for asking a question about payment. We consider this a normal and routine part of the therapeutic dialogue. I am sorry again for the pain caused by this seeming miscommunication. The American Counseling Association, among other affiliates, considers it unethical for a psychotherapist to solicit reviews (positive or negative) from their clients. While clients are certainly free to leave a review, we do not engage in this practice. We do, however, follow industry guidelines by inviting respected colleagues to share their experience of us. We are proud to have such a strong reputation among clinicians in the psychodynamic community. Sincerely, Greg Rizzolo Clinic Director
Meher Soni
Meher Soni
2024.02.20
Adam
Adam
2023.12.19
This was my intake appointment and wish I would've found this place months ago. My counselor is awesome she's very dedicated to her work in helping people. I would recommend depth counseling to anyone who needs help with all kinds of counseling issues they cover so many different things. Like I said this was just my intake appointment but I already look forward to my next appointment and many more well into the future...
W W
W W
2023.11.04
Advertisement
Daniel Murray
Daniel Murray
2023.10.23
My experience with therapist Jessie Chasan Taber was a NIGHTMARE. She 1) showed a lack of emotion to my dad nastily, abruptly, etc. having woken me up at 5:30 am 2) Changed unexpectedly the end-greeting from “Have a good day” to “I’ll see you next week “ 3) Told me “ I wasn’t there” ( as a way of expressing UNCERTAINTY) with regards to a gym receptionist/trainer purposely offering Pizza to 99% of gym members but me. *** FACT THAT I WAS SPENDING $35 MONTHLY IS -ALONE-AN EXCELLENT REASON WHY I SHOULDN'T HAVE EXPERIENCED THAT TREATMENT *** 4) Changed unexpectedly the amount of talking she did. First 2-3 months it was a 50/50 ratio , but after 2-3 months this changed to the point where I was doing 90-99% of the talking while Jessie only 1-10 % of the talking ( when I spoke up, she told me that her therapeutic approach *DIDNT* allow her to do more talking…. That claim is noooo less dishonest than for example a catholic priest claiming it’s “permissible “ to celebrate a MASS without communion!!!! 5) Got confrontational 6) Made arrogant, sarcastic, inappropriate comments and 7) Falsely accused me MULTIPLE times!! HAVE HAD IT!!!!!!!!! Soooo glad I stopped going there!!!!!
sarah bowlin
sarah bowlin
2023.07.07
If you’re new to therapy, you’re in the right place. I’ve been a patient here for several months now. I also know of a few people who go here after I referred them. The interns and non-interns alike are compassionate and intelligent, though of course they have different levels of experience. This is an inclusive (in many ways) therapy practice committed to discussing and including the impact of systemic inequities on clients in treatment, which is very healing for many people. Many of their Illinois therapists accept Medicaid and I was able to find and work with therapists who offer sessions after 5pm to fit my schedule. They seem really up-to-date on research. I had a few therapists before landing with my current one, and each time, they went above and beyond to help connect me with a new therapist. I have also found my email communication with them to be really kind and caring. You can tell the high and deep regard these therapists have for their patients - I feel it with my therapist often. I haven’t experienced this with many other places. They take the well-being of clients, and the role of therapist, seriously. They offer some group therapy options, though I have yet to do them. I like the focus on trauma work that some therapists offer as trauma work is essential for many people. This place focuses specifically on psychoanalysis, so they have a specific focus on exploring the past - more than other therapy offices might - and connecting the past to current day events. This means you dig deep and it is very client-centered. You are accepted as you are and you lead the pace. It might feel slower at times, because it’s not immediately jumping to fast solutions, but getting to the roots results in deep healing, and you’ll see solutions start to naturally occur as a result. I am grateful a place likes Depth exists - wish more of their therapists had profiles on TherapyDen and Psychology Today so I could have found them earlier! Thanks to everyone here for all their hard work.
Reply from Depth Counseling 2023.07.10
Dear Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to write such a long and thoughtful review. As your message suggests, it can take a lot of trial and error to find the right therapist. I appreciate you sharing your experience, and I hope that it will serve as a source of encouragement to others. Best regards, Greg Rizzolo Clinical Director
Joan Servatius
Joan Servatius
2023.06.06
As an independent supervisor and consultant to several clinicians at Depth Counseling, I am consistently impressed with the therapists and the programs. If you are looking for a therapist who will focus on getting to know you as a unique individual and collaborating with you to develop and make the best use of a trustworthy relationship, contact Depth.
Daniel Murray
Daniel Murray
2023.06.05
Got terminated from overall appropriate, beneficial Depth counseling services with EG 80-100% of the motive being that I -LITERALLY-requested it 3 times. Nonetheless, most importantly, I EACH AND EVERY one of those times told depth to disregard this request and (but!!)after 3 ‘STRIKES’ …… I was undoubtedly (understandably?!?!) “out”! Can’t regret (enough!!)having spoken without thinking, and depth arguing/claiming that my termination had little-to-nothing with those requests I made , 1) Isn’t going to make me change my story [be mindful of that , please, and confirm that you understand that ] and 2) I’ll think twice before asking to end something in future (not just counseling services!!) Would hate (“hate” is a profound understatement!) to , for example, in the future be in a relationship with a girlfriend, one day while upset and unable to control(my) self tell her “ I’d rather not be with you anymore “ only to motivate her to not wanna be with me, whilst (WORSE YET; MORE AGGRAVATING) not have her admit the major/sole reason …. Referrals depth gave me didn’t work in sense of places not accepting insurance and/or me calling them
Advertisement
Denise Duval
Denise Duval
2023.05.24
I’ve worked with Depth Counseling and many of their therapists for several years. I find their clinicians to be dedicated, compassionate, thoughtful, smart and steeped in psychodynamic knowledge and practice skills. Their therapists that work with children and adolescents have additional expertise in understanding and working with development as well as family dynamics. I never hesitate to refer families to Depth Counseling.
Leila Yabiku
Leila Yabiku
2023.05.19
Eric Ornstein
Eric Ornstein
2023.05.12
An outstanding agency, with highly skilled and knowledgeable therapists! Our Masters in Counseling students have had excellent field placements at Depth Counseling. They are able to work successfully with very challenging clients, because of the excellent supervision they have received from talented Depth Counseling therapists!
Kurt Michael Hanus
Kurt Michael Hanus
2023.05.12
I am always confident when referring potential patients to Depth Counseling Chicago. The therapists here are committed to the highest standards of clinical care, undergo extensive continuing training, and emphasize the unique humanity of each person they work with. Individuals can expect to be heard, understood, and cared for. I highly recommend them.
Advertisement
Jim Grabowski
Jim Grabowski
2023.05.12
I’ve had the pleasure to work with several of their therapists in a professional capacity, and I have been impressed with the high level of care. I would recommend depth counseling without reservation.
Fanny AC
Fanny AC
2023.02.12
Highly recommend the team at Depth Counseling. I have been looking for psychoanalytic therapy and finally found them.
Reply from Depth Counseling 2023.02.13
Thank you, Fanny! We’re deeply committed to making psychoanalytic therapy available through private insurance, Medicaid/Medicare, and sliding scale. I appreciate you recommending us! All the best, Greg Rizzolo Clinical Director
Blaise Bayno-Krebs
Blaise Bayno-Krebs
2023.02.10
Francisco Verde
Francisco Verde
2023.02.10
Advertisement
Jenna White
Jenna White
2023.02.10
Sara Chamberlin
Sara Chamberlin
2022.10.11
Avoid. Inexperienced interns and uncaring, non-responsive supervision. Verges quite close to unethical.
Reply from Depth Counseling 2022.10.20
Dear Sara, I am terribly sorry to hear of your negative experience. It takes courage to reach out, and I am disappointed that we were not able to better serve you. We will do everything we can to learn and grow from our mistakes. Sincerely, Greg Rizzolo Clinical Director
Gabrielle Rosas
Gabrielle Rosas
2022.09.29
Wonderful practice with wonderful therapists who genuinely care about their patients. Therapy here has changed my life for the better. I would recommend Depth Counseling to any of my family or friends.
Reply from Depth Counseling 2022.09.29
Thank you, Gabrielle! We’re moved to hear of your experience. Greg Rizzolo Clinical Director