Carrie Cantwell

Carrie Cantwell Reviews

Excellent rating
4.8
18 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (18)
Valerie KA Skarbek
Valerie KA Skarbek
2022.02.24
Verified
Illuminating and captivating account of the bipolar rollercoaster. Wow. A very amazing and brave story that I could not put down. It’s people like Carrie Cantwell shedding light on the rollercoaster that is bipolar disorder that will help those who suffer from it and everyone they interact with. Thank you, Carrie, for your honesty, creativity, and willingness to share.
Advertisement
Paul Allen
Paul Allen
2021.12.30
Verified
Poignant personal insight into mental health diseases, with heart, humor, and depth. I thoroughly enjoyed reading Daddy Issues, and highly recommend it to anyone who wants to better understand personal and family dynamics involving bipolar disorder. Carrie Cantwell's memoir describes her personal journey learning to identify and manage her father's and her own versions of bipolar disease. Her writing style helps the reader see the world through her eyes, and you truly begin to understand how differently she views and interacts with that world through the lens of the disease. I especially reveled in Carrie's descriptive language, where scent and color play such major roles in how she views the universe. 5 stars all the way.
Audrey S. Ma
Audrey S. Ma
2021.12.16
Verified
Excellent This is a beautifully written memoir that gives the reader tremendous insight into what it is like to live with bipolar, and how mental illness impacts the family. It’s a gripping, fast read. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is living with mental illness, as well as those who love them.
John Butler
John Butler
2021.11.29
Verified
Clear glimpses of the reality of mental illness and domestic abuse I spent my whole life being told how closely I resemble a relative I never knew, because he took his own life before I was born. Ms Cantwell’s memoir illuminates those parts of the human condition that touch all of us, whether we’re permitted to see them or not. She permits us to see hers, and we’re better for it.
Neena
Neena
2021.11.24
Verified
Brave & Informative A brave and informative memoir about dealing with bipolar disorder and the family aspects of it. I think this book would be helpful to anyone dealing with bipolar disorder in their family or circle of friends.
Advertisement
John F
John F
2021.10.26
Verified
experiencing manic depression in person I've known Carrie since she was in the 7th grade. This book is intense and well written. Every person who knows someone who has manic depression should read it.
Debbie White
Debbie White
2021.10.11
Verified
Engaging and brutally honest book This book was interesting, a page-turner, and provided insight to what it is like to live with a parent who has bipolar disorder and what it's like to find out that it has been passed on. An overall great read and very informative.
Lucy M. Curtis
Lucy M. Curtis
2021.10.08
Verified
A Real Page Turner! Cantwell’s vivid yet casual writing style kept me right there in the moment. This is the kind of memoir I’ll definitely read again!
leslie fears
leslie fears
2021.10.05
Verified
Multiple layers. Excellent Resource. The author’s writing style truly makes it hard to put this book down. You feel you know her, almost right away.She manages to bring you RIGHT INTO her head from page one. You feel these experiences with her. You cry, you laugh, you hold your breath.The issues she addresses are beyond tough, but her writing remains smooth and eloquent while she is raw, laid bare, wide open.This book would be helpful for anyone who suffers from or is close to someone with depression, anxiety, OCD, bipolar disorder, and likely other mental struggles—as well as anyone who has experienced a loss around any of the above.Highly recommend.
Advertisement
Daniela
Daniela
2021.10.03
Verified
A Window Onto Bipolar. I couldn't put this book down! You are practically in the author's pocket as she describes her life growing up in the shadow of a bipolar father, as well as the symptoms of bipolar in herself. This book easy to read, the characters pull you in, and at the same time you start to understand something about how it must feel to live with bipolar and how it can affect relationships. Both author and reader move from a place of great hurt and anger to a place of more understanding and incredible compassion. I found this book incredibly special.
Alexis A. Zinkerman
Alexis A. Zinkerman
2021.09.28
Verified
A tour de force. A look into bipolar disorder in families. This book is a tour de force of how bipolar affects the whole family both genetically and emotionally. Carrie delicately weaves her own story of bipolar disorder with her father’s illness. This is how a memoir should be—sensitive, life-affirming, humble and real.
Janet S. Forrest
Janet S. Forrest
2021.09.27
Verified
A true experience Simple writing style. Could visualize the characters
Sonya H. Ledford
Sonya H. Ledford
2021.09.19
Verified
Interesting and Meaningful Must Read I couldn’t put the book down. Cantwell’s story is interesting and meaningful, but most of all her voice is honest-so important in a memoir. This book puts bipolar disorder in context in a way I haven’t understood before. Must read for anyone who is struggling with mental illness, or has someone close to them struggling with mental illness, or if just enjoy reading a really good memoir.
Advertisement
Sharon M.
Sharon M.
2021.09.19
Verified
A must read!!!! What a poignant, raw, eye opener! Well written by a brave young lady who helped herself heal thru this process of writing about a hushed hushed disorder. I applaud her courage for putting herself and her family out there.
Regan L.
Regan L.
2021.09.18
Verified
A poignant, beautifully written memoir. A poignant, beautifully written memoir. The author, a mental health writer and advocate, opened my eyes to the realities of living with bipolar disorder, severe depression, and suicide survival. As I finished the book, I was flooded with love, awe, and respect for Ms. Cantwell. She brings the readers through her journey, shedding light on bipolar disorder, depression, suicide survival, and the heartbreak (and hope) surrounding mental health issues. A must-read if you or a loved one is struggling with bipolar disorder and depression.
Moira
Moira
2021.09.17
Verified
A Journey through Personal Catharsis This memoir is an important contribution to mental health literature. It will be immensely helpful to those with bipolar disorder. With her brutal honesty and clear-eyed assessment of her relationship with her father, the author grows to understand his impact as well as their similarities. It's a page-turner -- and a testament to family love.
Dianne
Dianne
2021.09.16
Verified
The Definition of Bravery I read this well-written memoir in two days during a bipolar episode my son was having. My son is the same age as Carrie. He is not married. I am familiar with Paideia, Little Five Points, Peachford, and expensive Rolex watches that mysteriously appear in a marriage. Carrie’s memoir took my breath away. Her bravery will help so many people struggling with or affected by bipolar disorder. It has helped me. Thank you, Carrie.
Advertisement
Tiffany Dumas
Tiffany Dumas
2021.09.14
Verified
A peek behind the curtain of manic depression The writer explained so vividly her experiences with not only a father with manic depression but of her own struggles as well. I now feel like I have a better understanding of what it feels like to be bipolar. If you have someone in your life that is struggling with mental health issues &/or suicidal tendencies, read this book. This book will not give you solutions, but it paints a picture of what it feels like from the inside while going through manic or depressive episodes.