TangerineDesign

adujourney.com/pro/tangerinedesign

TangerineDesign Reviews

Excellent rating
4.9
67 reviews Verified
TangerineDesign
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 30 ) 4.9

Rosanna T.
Rosanna T.
2024.05.26
Verified
We partnered with Jill to generate or at least understand our options for renovating the primary suite and hall bathroom in our 100 year old home. Jill was prompt and responsive and our onsite assessment was HUGELY helpful for us to consider new possibilities and eliminate impractical ideas. She blends real expertise with quick thinking and grounded pragmatism. We were very glad we partnered with Jill - the cost was worth every penny and then some.
Reply from TangerineDesign 2024.05.26
Yes Rosanna, TANGERINEdesign LLC is all about being pragmatic!  It was so nice to meet you and explain your options for what can work, and what might not be the best idea.  Your home is beautiful, and as an east coaster I appreciate the history, but we definitely live very differently than 100 yrs ago.  Keeping the character and feel of a historic home, while gaining modern amenities is always a fun challenge.  I'm happy to hear you found value in the On-Site Assessment... it is my goal to give 'real' information up front, so Homeowners can make educated decisions on their home/property, as to doing remodels or additions, as well as short or long term plans.
Nathaniel C.
Nathaniel C.
2024.04.05
Verified
TL;DR - I did not pay for/receive any services from Jill, but she took care of me better than most paid contractors do! Amazing! Thorough version: I have been in the process of getting my own permit for a detached garage on my residential property. Comments (to-do list) from the city can definitely be confusing, especially for a homeowner like myself that is new to the building permit process. Though Jill wasn't able to provide the specific services I needed to satisfy the city, she did provide several contacts that could. Upon consulting with one of the contacts (who was also very responsive and helpful), they said that they would need some work done by Jill first before they could do their part. I then spoke to Jill again, and she said that while she could do what is asked for her, she gave me the confidence to go talk to the city in person for more specifics, and see if I could do the work myself. Jill was so sincere and genuine, and didn't want me to pay for services that I may not require. Low and behold, the city (as usual) threw the entire book at us initially, but after meeting with them in person, I was easily able to satisfy their requirements on my own (at least for this round of comments), not needing any additional services from any contractor. This was unbelievable to me - a business owner (Jill) that would rather have me NOT pay for services from her that may not be necessary. She really believes in doing the right thing, not just making a quick buck. On top of that, she also went WAY above and beyond to discuss other parts of my project that I didn't think about, possible issues if the previous homeowner did something without permit, what I could do about it, etc. Never before have I ever felt that a contactor that i DID NOT PAY care about me so much as a human being and just do the right thing. I will definitely keep Jill in mind for any future projects that would need her services, and recommend her to ANYONE that needs an architect. This is the way to run a business and build a reputation. Fantastic!
Reply from TangerineDesign 2024.04.06
Nate - I am soooo glad to hear that you were able to deal with the city on your own and resolve these issues without paying some crazy amount the city made you think you would!  As much as I am a business owner, I'm also a consumer... and as you stated, I genuinely care about the service I provide.  Most of my services are in the tangible world and require payment, but there are plenty of times when just having a conversation or explaining the process is more valuable in the end.  I feel a great sense of pride when a Homeowner has a 'success story' after working or even speaking with me, and not the usual 'sad story'.  Nate - I look forward to working with you in the future!  (To be clear to anyone reading this, I am not an Architect [this is a legal term], but I am well versed in everything house-related, and why I call myself a Residential Design Specialist.)  I love what I do and love sharing my experience with others!
Farhan S.
Farhan S.
2024.01.26
Verified
I called Jill for advice regarding a project. She was attentive, respectful, and quite well informed. In a short amount of time she was able to provide me with a ton of information and steer me in the right direction. I'll be sure to contact her in the future for my planning needs. Thanks Jill!
Reply from TangerineDesign 2024.01.28
Really nice to speak with you Farhan, and happy I could offer you some useful information on your project. It's so important for Homeowners to find a reliable source to get real answers BEFORE they take on any type of project. Just as a Real Estate Agent can provide what your house is worth on the market, TANGERINEdesign LLC can explain the pros and cons of doing a remodel, addition and/or ADU, along with rough costs, and where to build. I'm just a call away!
Alyse P.
Alyse P.
2024.01.16
Verified
I am a Real Estate agent and I learned about Jill and Tangerine Design through a presentation that she did at our office last year. Jill came and met with me and my buyers who were considering making an offer on a property in Lafayette, Ca. Jill is a pro and really conveys to people what their options are and what will be involved if they are to do an addition etc. Even though my clients did not make an offer on that particular property, the information my clients received was worth the fee she charges. Knowledge is power. I would definitely use Jill again and I highly recommend her and her services. Alyse P.
Alex H.
Alex H.
2023.11.10
Verified
My fiancee and I met with Jill to explore building an ADU in our backyard from the ground up along with a home expansion. We were glad that we chose Jill; she brings with her a wealth of knowledge in all facets of the construction phase, and she was very friendly and easy to talk to also! Most of the time we would ask her a question, then just let her talk, as she was very detailed with all of her answers and did a great job teaching. We also appreciated that Jill also has no problem telling you if your idea is a bad idea, but will provide the context and reasoning why. Lastly, we loved tapping her creative mind; she has the ability to look at a space and give you plenty of ideas for it that you might not have even thought of! We would definitely recommend her and would work with her again.
Jeffrey Ernst
Jeffrey Ernst
2023.07.29
I have known Jill now for a few years. She is one of the most professional, and personable people I know. Her profession is hard to describe but if you are doing any type home remodeling you really need to give her a call. She will guide you, inform you, and will make sure that you are aware of what you can and can't do. She will be completely honest with you on costs, timelines, needed permits, the list goes on and on. She has saved her client's thousands of dollars with her insight, and years of experience. Do not start any home improvement project without calling Jill first!!!!!
Reply from TangerineDesign 2023.08.01
You're right Jeff, it is hard to explain what I do because it seems I am the only one doing it!  Giving Homeowners information UP FRONT, so they can make an informed decision about all the ins & outs of Construction.  TANGERINEdesign was founded on the fact that there's so little information given to Homeowners, that I wanted to be a helpful resource.  Too often Homeowners are unaware of what they actually need to do, and end up spending tons of money on things they shouldn't.  My On-Site Assessments are inexpensive and well worth the time... everyone learns way more than they thought they would!
Kyle Troxell
Kyle Troxell
2022.12.08
Jill of Tangerine Design offers extremely thorough explanations and expectations for your design project. She will make sure you fully understand the entire process from demolition to permitting to design while keeping you within your requested budget. While being incredibly knowledgeable about the design process Jill also makes sure you understand what to expect from your contractors with regards to extra fees that often come as a surprise to home owners. Make sure Jill is your first step before beginning any remodel or large expansion to ensure you have a complete vision of the project to avoid any costly errors down the road.
HU-172888265
HU-172888265
2022.08.03
My husband and I met with Jill for a consultation to go through some potential renovations to our home. Jill provided excellent guidance and recommendations. Her insight about code requirements was what set her apart from others we spoke with. Her process is very clear and organized. Thank you Jill!
Elizabeth Cho
Elizabeth Cho
2021.07.25
I asked Jill for a second opinion on remodeling my two bathrooms (expanding my master bathroom and closet) and remodeling the hallway bathroom. My interior designer did not see a good way to remodel it the way I wanted without expanding the exterior walls of my home which would have been a much more costly and timely effort. If I had stuck to her design I would have been stuck with the same layout, without really improving the size of my master bathroom and closet. Thanks to Jill she was able to visualize a way to get the improvements I needed without having to push out the exterior walls of my house, avoiding a costly variance application. Without her vision, I wouldn't have been able to get the plans I needed. Thank you so much Jill. When I decide to update the other parts of my home I will hire you again!
Leonard Euler
Leonard Euler
2021.01.29
It is our first time considering a home remodel. We have spoken to quite a few people to get help with designs for our home. Jill has been by far the most practical and useful. She has a clear process in her head and she speaks in terms we can understand. She was able to give us much needed insight into the process so we could begin to wrap our heads around it all. I have also appreciated her transparency with how she charges, how she approaches design, and how she prioritizes our interests first. After speaking with Jill for 30 minutes on an introductory call, we decided to do a two hour paid consultation with her. The cost was very reasonable and she was flexible with her time. She has provided a ton of documentation and she actually ended up spending almost 3 hours with us which was very helpful.
Shireen Lee
Shireen Lee
2020.12.05
Jill Finn was very helpful throughout the process of remodeling my master bathroom and bedroom. She is knowledgeable about local regulations and gave us a lot of terrific information to shell us think though what we wanted to remodel and in what timeframe. Jill did 7 designs for my entire home and ADU, And we were able to phase our projects and costs starting with the master bathroom and bedroom where the need was most acute. I’m certain the floor plans she prepared will be the basis of the next two phases of our project. I highly recommend Jill for any project of any size, she is very pragmatic and accurate as to costs in her recommendations. We are thrilled with the results of our remodel.
Eagle Peak Builders
Eagle Peak Builders
2020.07.27
Jill Finn of Tangerine Designs is a creative professional. She develops designs for her clients to make the space work significantly better. She brings positive energy to all her clients and it is always a pleasure collaborating with her. Her clients love her as expected. We collaborated recently on a high-end Danville remodel and everything went flawlessly. The finished product matched her initial design well and the clients were very pleased with the results. I highly recommend Jill Finn of Tangerine Designs if you want a fun creative designer to work with. You will be very pleased with the result.
Karen Karatz Gonzalez
Karen Karatz Gonzalez
2020.04.02
Positive
Professionalism
Quality
Jill with Tangerine Design is very knowledgeable, and organized (which we love.) She provides you with a great consultation that helps put your remodeling ideas into plan, and gives you information that helps move you forward. She is an essential part of our design team. We have worked with Tangerine Design on several projects, and we appreciate Jill's attention to detail, and organizational skills which are key to a good outcome.
Toni Henderson
Toni Henderson
2018.08.10
Jill was my designer for a bathroom remodel. She was instrumental in working with the subcontractors in measuring and ensuring work was done correctly. She spent extra time working on the tile position in the shower. I don't know how this project would have ended up if it were not for Jill's expertise and design capabilities. I am so thankful for her advice, knowledge, and ability to design my waterfall theme shower. My bathroom is lovely and I owe it to Jill. Thank you so much.
Charles Miller
Charles Miller
2018.07.09
Fantastic! This was a VERY tricky design project where we needed to get very creative with how to make 2 undersized and poorly planned bathrooms not only big enough and functional enough, but also do so while optimizing the other spaces they touched. Jill was exactly the right person for this job - we ultimately saved a ton, and she did what no other desing-build folks would do, which was COME to the house and look at the space, then actually put some options down on paper before we went forward with thousands on architectural drawings. Which was KEY given we couldn't even ENVISION how it would work. She came up with EXCELLENT options, listened to our feedback and suggestions, and was super responsive. The project is on hold for now due to other conflicts, but we would definitely use Jill again!
KRISTIN KUSTER
KRISTIN KUSTER
2018.06.26
Jill was amazing! We bought a 1930’s house with character that we loved but it lacked in function (no dishwasher!). Jill provided multiple design options both utilizing the existing footprint and pushing the boundaries by recommending a completely new first floor layout to improve the function. She gave realistic timelines about what to expect with the remodel, provided resources to help with permitting, and recommendations for suppliers and contractors. It’s still a work in progress, and I can’t wait to see the final result! I’m so happy we met with a Jill- I never would have come up with these great ideas on my own!
Min
Min
2017.12.01
I work for Duro Design, a cork flooring manufacturer and called Jill one day to promote cork flooring. I was amazed how much experience she possessed and how knowledgeable she was about residential project, highly recommended if anyone wants to start their next Reno project.
Fritz Brunner
Fritz Brunner
2017.01.12
I needed help in learning about what would be involved in planning and sorting up an interior remodel. Jill Finn did the perfect job. She gave me a complete run-down on what I would be looking at in terms of scope and pricing. She explained how she can help me going forward, if I choose to do so. There were helpful handouts that covered everything we talked about and even many areas that I hadn't thought about. She is a complete professional. She was doing everything to inform me; she was not there to sell me. What I contracted for was a two hour consultation. She communicated ahead of time with me about what to expect and was on time for our consult. The printed material were a bonus that I wasn't expecting, and they will be very helpful.
Helen Harvey
Helen Harvey
2016.10.10
We hired Jill to advise us on converting our existing loft into two bedrooms. We really had no idea what was possible with the space or where to start with codes, permits and contractors. Jill provided an initial consultation which was enormously helpful and provided us with a wealth of information on all of the questions we had. On the back of that, she drew up the floor plans that we were able to show to potential contractors and also submitted to the city for our design review. Since then she has responded to our many, many questions and has been enormously helpful throughout this entire process.
Van Luu
Van Luu
2016.05.07
Jill was highly recommended by a friend who helped remodeled her kitchen. We were very impressed with her vast knowledge and really great ideas to remodel our kitchen that we have never thought about. She also design other living spaces. We also had consultation with our family room. During the initial consultation, she gave us very valuable tips to save money and hiring a good contractor. She is very easy to work with and not pushy. We highly recommend her!