New Avenue Inc Reviews

New Avenue Inc Reviews

4.9

Excellent - based on 27 reviews

adujourney.com/pro/new-avenue-inc
is verified by Trustindex

We guarantee all reviews are 100% real.
What's Trustindex?
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (27)
Brian Birkett
Brian Birkett
2023-03-20
Positive
Professionalism
Quality
Responsiveness
We used New Avenue for a partial home remodel and building of ADU. Their expertise helped us stay on time and on budget. Their network of architects and GCs is great. Joe Reilly construction who we relied on was excellent.
Reply from New Avenue Inc 2023-03-21
Thank you Brian! This is much appreciated. Your project was way ahead of the ADU boom… you’re an early adopter and trendsetter! :)
Niketan rao
Niketan rao
2022-12-04
Senior Designer
Senior Designer
2022-06-23
Senior Designer role Pros:perfect system, for the architects, contractors team, and clients as well Cons:unstudied and unconsulted decisions. short time for interviews that can lead to incompatibility between the company and the employee
Timothy Quinn
Timothy Quinn
2022-02-11
Positive
Professionalism
Punctuality
Quality
Responsiveness
Value
I contracted with NewAvenue in 2018 to build an ADU on my Oakland property. The contractor they used, Ramon Larios of Brothers Works, did an excellent job bringing in the project on-time and on budget. Ramon is a skilled craftsman and extremely knowledgeable of all aspects of a building project, bringing in other skilled craftsmen to complete the different aspects of the job. Throughout the process he was very accessible and we discussed many aspects of the project along the way. He even pointed out where we could avoid pitfalls and save money. For example, he steered us away from a pocket door, which requires much more wall structure and tends to break. We went with a barn door style which worked perfectly, was easy to install, and saved money. I could not more highly recommend Ramon Larios and the NewAvenue team for your ADU project.
Jason Glithero
Jason Glithero
2021-08-14
Reply from New Avenue Inc 2021-09-09
Thank you Jason! We have a ton of people calling about ADUs in Oakland and you project is a great example of how to do it right, regardless of what the last owners may have done :)
Jenn Guitart
Jenn Guitart
2021-05-13
Positive
Professionalism
Punctuality
Quality
Responsiveness
Value
New Avenue has been a joy to work with and we couldn't be happier with the incredible result. Our experience with the New Avenue architect, contractor, as well as New Avenue management has been fantastic from start to finish. We set out to build an ADU in our back yard, and we knew that New Avenue were the experts in this area—plus they came highly recommended from friends who had worked with them. We didn't have loads of cash to throw at creating a dream house, so we were picturing a very simple, basic box in our backyard, no frills. What we ended up with is a gorgeously designed and built one-bedroom house that anyone would be thrilled to live in. It's energy efficient, has hardwood custom cabinetry and built-in bookshelves, gorgeous tiling and a beautiful kitchen, lovely polished concrete floors. The style is mid-century modern, inspired by the style of the mid-century architect Rudolph Schindler. Our architect, Randolph Ruiz, an architecture professor who is a fantastic communicator with an incredible vision, guided us through a design process that got us to a beautiful design that we absolutely love, despite the fact that my husband and I lack aesthetic talent of any kind. And it came in on budget. And as quickly as could be expected considering the COVID supply issues. The whole construction process took about 8 months because there were delays in obtaining basic supplies such as wood, windows, and appliances because of COVID. Their original timeline was 4 months, and I believe they would have come in close to that if not for the supply issues. This was for a 500 square foot one-bedroom house with a kitchen and a loft. We worked with Purev Baatarchuulu as our contractor. Purev's team was communicative, friendly, and affordable. And most importantly, very competent—one of their construction workers is trained as a civil engineer in Mongolia, and often came up with great suggestions for small improvements to the design as they went along. When one of their subcontractors turned out to be unreliable, thus delaying the project by a couple of weeks (unfortunately, he'd started the project and THEN flaked!) they managed to get him moving again by sheer polite persistence. (I'm certain they won't be hiring that particular subcontractor again). We felt consistently great about working with this thoughtful, careful, communicative, ethical, and hardworking team. Working with New Avenue was key to moving this project along and completing it in a timely fashion, with the confidence that we were doing it right. Kevin from New Avenue was super helpful in answering our questions from the very beginning, when we had just started to think about what it would mean to build an ADU. He knows so much about it, he was able to help us think through our total budget, what our goals were for the ADU, and answer our questions about timeline, as well as many many other questions about how different things work, like getting financing, etc. Kevin is really good at finding the right fit for architect and contractor, so you're not just going with an architect or construction company that your friend recommends, but rather with people who are a good fit for you. He has a deep knowledge of this whole process and is really passionate about building ADUs (which, in my opinion, is super important work to make our cities denser, increase housing supply, drive down the cost of housing, and curb transportation emissions). He also really cares about people feeling great about their homes, and finding solutions that fit your family. Kevin gets it from a holistic perspective, and it has been so great, as people with no previous experience building housing, to have someone with deep experience to guide us through the process.
Cynthia Pett
Cynthia Pett
2021-03-24
Positive
Professionalism
Responsiveness
Thank you for your professional assistance Kevin! Your new construction in Benicia is really lovely to the eye. Very clean lines and modern. It is a welcome site in Benicia!
Julie Bruins
Julie Bruins
2021-02-26
I just spoke with the team at New Avenue and they were very helpful and informed about the crazy process of doing construction in Oakland. I still haven't decided whether or not to go ahead, but if I do, it will be with these people.
Aundrea Batte
Aundrea Batte
2021-02-15
Positive
Professionalism
Responsiveness
Though I’ve never used the service, I’ve had opportunities to speak and engage with the Team. In my experience, I gained Wisdom which sparked food for thought! Living in the Bay Area is Undoubtedly Tuff, the City of Oakland and it’s Council, RAP and Housing Anarchist has Completely Soured my dream of being a Housing Provider Here In Oakland Ca, But, because of the Great and Innovative Thinker at New Avenue, I haven’t lost Hope, and wherever my Next Best is (Out Of California) I remain Hopeful, Other States will Welcome and Encourage Good Community Partnerships and New Avenue will become the Model and Answer to the Housing Shortage(s) Thank You Team New Avenue! Much Success... LB
Director in Boulder, CO
Director in Boulder, CO
2021-02-11
Great Company, Meaningful Mission Pros:New Avenue solves one of the biggest challenges in housing — accessing home ownership in great communities. It's really exciting to be working with a team that's so passionate about improving our society, while creating something that you can see and touch. The company builds ADUs (additional dwelling units - think of a backyard cottage or mother in law unit), and has a diverse team of interesting people - designers, builders, software developers. The founder is a lot of fun to work with, has a great vision, and is very fair and level headed. I'm excited to see what we can accomplish together over the next few years! Cons:I'm fairly new, but haven't found any yet! Advice to Management:Keep pushing toward the mission you've set out to accomplish.
Full Stack Developer in Wexford
Full Stack Developer in Wexford
2021-01-14
Great company to work for! Pros:Training provided with plenty of resources and opportunities to grow and learn on your own initiative. Great exposure to the industry. Cons:None that I could think of.
Vivian Ukei
Vivian Ukei
2020-08-14
Positive
Responsiveness
We worked with Amy as our architect and Amer as our contractor. They were extremely professional and always quick to respond to my questions or concerns no matter when I contacted them. I would work with them both again if I had another project.
Reply from New Avenue Inc 2020-09-01
Thanks for your review. It was great working with you!
Paige Abrams
Paige Abrams
2020-06-10
Positive
Value
New Avenue Inc. was wonderful to speak with. I scheduled a free consultation call, and they answered all of my questions. They were easy to speak with, and were extremely knowledgeable. Had we moved forward with this project, we would of without a doubt chosen them to help us with our ADU.
Reply from New Avenue Inc 2020-09-01
Thanks for your kind words. We appreciate the support. Hopefully we will have an opportunity to work with you in the future!
Financial Consultant in San Francisco, CA
Financial Consultant in San Francisco, CA
2020-05-06
Investment opportunity Pros:New Avenue Homes has one of the best real estate investment products currently available. Of all the many clients I help, Kevin Casey has developed a product I would invest my own money in. It is difficult to come across unique opportunities like this one, but Kevin has figured it out when it comes to risk/reward ratios. Amazing! Also, it was a great pleasure working with Kevin! He has a very deep knowledge of the market and a broad understanding of market forces in the locations/cities he invests. He is an astute businessperson from whom I learned a great deal. Kevin is a great person and I hope to work with him again soon. Highly recommended client!!! Cons:Redevelopment, with all the red tape involved, is not always a straight forward thing. However, Kevin has mastered this challenging aspect of his business and has created great investment opportunities.
General Contractor in Berkeley, CA
General Contractor in Berkeley, CA
2020-02-13
Truly a "New Avenue" for the residential home building and remodeling industry Pros:My experience at New Avenue has been a breeze. New Avenue has a collection of highly skilled architects and experienced contractors. By leveraging data from past projects the company makes it a lot easier for homeowners to understand full process of home renovations and new home building. They are always learning from past projects to see what worked and what needed improvements to speed up the permit approval process. Cons:The website interface is a little bit clunky, but it is still a growing company and they continue to update and improve their processes.
Outreach Manager
Outreach Manager
2019-05-22
Great company and team! Pros:New Avenue had some big ideas for small homes! I was motivated and inspired by the CEO’s passion, and learned much about the ADUs, the industry, the complicated permitting efforts and the entrepreneurial aspects in scaling a business. Cons:It was startup mode, so definitely had to wear many hats - which is great for developing new skill sets! Sounds like the business model evolved, happy to see its successes!
Director of Investor Relations
Director of Investor Relations
2019-04-24
Visionary provider of innovative housing solutions Pros:New Avenue is a very forward-thinking company that understands what they do well and incorporates that into a broader, innovative strategy with enormous growth potential. Upon being hired, I quickly found great support to not only complete my tasks but to also pursue other ways in which I can add value. Cons:As I work remotely, I'm unable to judge the in-person culture of the company, but the CEO has always been clear, communicative and fair. He has also offered me helpful feedback to continue and foster our working relationship. Advice to Management:Keep growing and keep hiring talent that is passionate about this business.
han_phony
han_phony
2019-01-30
Kevin at New Avenue is absolutely awesome. I called up to get an estimate on my bathroom renovation project. Due to the small size of my project, New Avenue isn't able to take it out. But Kevin introduced me to a different contractor that New Avenue has worked with. The new contractor was able to work on my project and deliver all the designs we planned for. Although I didn't work with New Avenue directly, Kevin's referral helped me build the bathroom of my dream. I can only imagine how great it would be to work with New Avenue.
Software Engineer in Berkeley, CA
Software Engineer in Berkeley, CA
2018-12-05
Great company, solving big problems and is changing our cities for the better Pros:My experience at New Avenue has been one of the best! It's great to be part of a company that's mission-driven, innovative and creates opportunities for homeowners, design professionals, builders, and employes. At New Avenue, we're focused on empowering and educating people about the design/build process. It's a start-up environment so there is multitasking and sometimes can be challenging. While everyone works very hard, but there is enough flexibility to provide work-life balance (no strict working hours). It is a fast paced environment and fast-moving company where there is room for growth. Kevin, our CEO, is driven, motivated and transparent. New Avenue is a great place to work. Cons:None that I can think of at this time.
Writer/Editor
Writer/Editor
2018-12-02
Excellent experience all around Pros:New Avenue is well-run and deals professionally with customers, employees, and contractors. The founder, Kevin Casey, communicates well and truly understands how good leadership works. I've worked on projects with a few people at New Avenue, and everyone I've dealt with has been professional, easy to communicate with, and pleasant. The work is interesting and challenging. Cons:I have experienced no downsides to working with New Avenue.