Alex Tzang Architects

adujourney.com/pro/alex-tzang-architects

Alex Tzang Architects Reviews

Excellent rating
4.9
58 reviews Verified
Alex Tzang Architects
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 58 ) 4.9

Sean O.
Sean O.
2024.05.12
Verified
Sent them a question with a very basic overview of what the project entailed and they didn't bother to ask any questions or understand the project. They just brushed me off. Don't waste your time with these people as they are lazy and don't care to understand scope or needs.
Reply from Alex Tzang Architects 2024.05.12
Hi Sean- I am unsure why my response warrant a 1 - star review. However - I have definitely attempted a similar project in San Carlos which I analyzed my firm capability and realized I cannot take on. All my jobs are not on tilts to say the least. I hope you understand this is not a brush off- rather my firm doesn't do tilts type of structure as it is not an expertise. We work very hard to provide our clients great service. However your project really isn't something that we do. Sincerely Alex T.
yan zhang
yan zhang
2024.03.13
Looking for a quality architect? Here are Alex and Jay can help u. I had a great experience working with Alex and his team (Jay), they are professional, responsive and deliver quality work, my plans got approved by the city without any comments, so I highly recommend them if you're looking for a quality architect.
Yan Z.
Yan Z.
2024.03.13
Verified
Looking for a quality architect? Here are Alex and Jay can help u. I had a great experience working with Alex and his team (Jay), they are professional, responsive and deliver quality work, my plans got approved by the city without any comments, so I highly recommend them if you're looking for a quality architect.
Karthikeyan S
Karthikeyan S
2024.02.01
Jenny  ..
Jenny ..
2024.01.25
Verified
Alex Tzang Architects is one of the most attentive, knowledgeable, and professional groups I've worked with. They are very thoughtful and take much pride in their work. We can't thank them enough for their assistance with our project and we hope this review can help others who are looking for a wonderful architect. Alex helped us design our single-family home which we built from scratch. We originally wanted to expand our existing home but after sharing with him our needs and wants, we all agreed that it was more effective to consider a new build. With only a simple vision and some pencil sketches on paper, Alex was able transform our drawings into an artistic digital renditions of our dream home. We've occupied the home for a few months now and continue to get compliments from neighbors and passersby. The process to build a new home was quite extensive and required a significant amount of deliverables to the City. These included a concept design, working with city staff, planning commission hearing, and neighborhood outreach. As a homeowner without any knowledge of how an entitlement process works, I am so thankful we chose Alex. He guided us through the whole process, none of which were without their challenges. He provided tips, liaised meetings on our behalf, advocated for us during City meetings, and kept us on track with our entitlement. This process alone took about a year during COVID. It may sound like a huge undertaking but it was only the tip of the iceberg as there was more to do after entitlement. The next phase after successful entitlement was to draft the actual set of plans and construction documents. We were a bit particular, to say the least, but he and his team were very patient with us. He understood that this was our home and wanted to make sure we were satisfied with the plans. He shared with us mondern design elements and also kept us mindful of simplicity to make sure the build was cost effective. For example, he made suggestions to make sure windows and walls were appropriately placed to reduce the number of costly structural components. He also gave us options on materials selection and the pros and cons of each choice. We also designed the house to be a smart-home and incorporated greener technologies. We installed a water recycling system, added solar panels, upgraded electrical infrastructure to manage multiple car charging stations, heat pump technology for our HVAC and water heater, hot water recirculation, and IT network system, all of which he incorporated in the plans. This showed a breadth of knowledge in construction and design of a modern home in the 21st century. At the time of writing this review he calls himself the ADU expert for the San Mateo County but in our eyes, he's much more than that. Our project required knowledge of every facet of residential construction from navigating through the Planning Commission for entitlement, local ordinances, aesthetic, design, structural, permitting, construction, utilities, public works, and ultimately how to pass the final inspection. He has built a huge network of service providers and recommended several contractors that were suited for our project. What I learned during the GC selection process is that the synergy between the contractor and the architect is extremely important. The GC we ended up with worked with Alex on several other builds and they understand each other and were very open with communication. Many of the clarification questions were dealt with solely between themselves which was a blessing especially when we were busy with other areas of the project. From start to finish, it took 3 years and 2 months and Alex and his team kept the same energy and enthusiasm throughout the project. We continue to praise him and everyone involved and HIGHLY RECOMMEND them. It was a yelp that connected us with Alex and I hope this review can help anyone who is looking for wonderful architect for their project, big or small!
Jennifer N.
Jennifer N.
2023.05.29
Verified
I knew I wanted to have an ADU built but didn't know where to start. After doing research online I knew I needed an architect to draw up plans. I heard about Alex from a friend and was later referred to him by a company that's helping manage my project. I reached out through his website, received a response within 48 hours and later that week he was at my house with his team to better understand what I envisioned, measure the backyard and explain next steps. Less than two weeks later plans were emailed and a meeting was scheduled at his office to review. During this meeting the plans were discussed in detail including the pros and cons, adjustments were made based on what we wanted and we left feeling confident we made the right choice by hiring Alex. The following week plans were submitted to the city for approval, after one minor revision the plans were approved. One would think that this is where the relationship with Alex and his team would end but it's the opposite. I've been able to reach out to Alex anytime I had questions, he even meet with the general contractor to make sure he understood the plans and is available for consults as needed. Glad to say we broke ground last week. If you're looking for a seasoned architect knowledgeable in local zoning ordinances and someone you can trust Alex is the best person to hire.
Andrew N.
Andrew N.
2023.04.06
Verified
It was really great working with Alex and his team on designing our JADU project. This was especially true because of Alex's experience and expertise in many areas including region-specific regulations, as well as what to expect working with the city for permits, inspections, and contractors. His services are structured well, which included a thorough design session to talk through living space considerations and navigating its constraints. Alex was even active during our construction, starting off with an initial meeting with our contractor to emphasize less obvious designs and answering contractor questions as they came up. I highly recommend Alex and would definitely work with him again on our next project.
Alan H.
Alan H.
2023.03.03
Verified
Alex and his team helped us design our project to turn our kitchen-dining-family room into a great room, which involved removing the structural walls that divided up the rooms and reinforcing the foundation. Additionally, he helped us add two skylights and design a few other improvements. We found Alex and his team to be excellent to work with. They were very responsive and thorough. Alex is very focused on designing affordable and buildable projects which look and feel great. I found him on Yelp. When we met with him for an initial consultation, I immediately appreciated his approach of being very honest about whether a client's desired design will drive up the cost of construction. During the design phase, he showed us several possible configurations of our new space to get us thinking about how we wanted to utilize it. Once the plans were drawn, Alex and his team got their design approved by our city's permitting process with only one round of revisions. As we finalized our GC selection, Alex strongly recommended us to bring our selected any potential GCs to meet with them to review his plans and talk through questions, which gave Alex a chance to give us his assessment of the GC. I would highly recommend Alex and his team to anyone looking to do a home renovation project.
Henry D.
Henry D.
2022.12.21
Verified
Alex helped us design with our Adu. He is very knowledgeable and was able to get our permits in a timely manner. The finish product was more than we asked for. We enjoyed him and his team services. Would highly recommend
Rich K.
Rich K.
2022.07.26
Verified
Alex to the rescue yet again! We did a major kitchen remodel and Alex and his team were great. Really enjoy working with him. Extremely knowledgeable and responsive.
Pauline M.
Pauline M.
2022.05.11
Verified
Anyone who has been through a remodeling project knows how daunting and nerve wracking the process can be. If an architect is needed for your project, this can easily be a "hit or miss". Fortunately in our case, it was a "hit" when we found Alex and his team to help us with our project. Our first meeting with Alex was at the property. He took his time and thoroughly walked through the property, asked us what we have in mind, listened patiently and provided some suggestions. Our next meeting with Alex was at his office and he was well prepared for the meeting. His staff has already went to the house, took measurement and input the property information into their system. Someone here mentioned about Tony Starks and that is very on point to describe Alex's office. We discussed our ideas as he made live changes on the spot using his cool gadgets. What I appreciate was that Alex didn't simply take our ideas and input into the drawings. It'll probably save him a lot of time/effort if he simply just do what we said but you can tell he is someone who is very passionate about his job and wants his clients to get the maximum potential out of their future homes. He said a few times that this is going to be our home and we have one chance to get this right. He took the time to asked questions on what we were looking for and whether the changes will give us the outcome we want. There were couple places where we ended up taking Alex's advice because his ideas were more logical and pragmatic (e.g. closing/opening doorway in one spot versus another). Alex was very transparent and upfront about timing with the city permit department. We never felt like we were in the dark not knowing what was going on. The timing to get comments from the city or plan approval pretty much went according to Alex's schedule. The entire process was very smooth and we couldn't have gotten this wonderful result without Alex and his team's help. If anyone is looking for a great architect, I would recommend Alex's company in a heart beat. You'll be in good hands!
Karen N.
Karen N.
2022.05.01
Verified
Alex was absolutely amazing to work with! I wanted to add 400 square feet to my house and he took the time to get to know me, listen to what I was wanting and also made some great suggestions/modifications to align with my budget. He also stayed in touch throughout the construction process, did periodic site visits to check on progress and helped when an issue arose with the structure of my current home. He was very responsive with questions even after the plans were complete. If your looking for an architect who is knowledgeable, listens, responsive and reasonably priced call Alex and his team!
Jacqueline B.
Jacqueline B.
2022.04.20
Verified
Alex is our hero! We were referred to an architect by a friend and it was a nightmare. I contacted Alex after 1.5 years of trying to get permits for our ADU, Alex squeezed us in out of the goodness of his heart and got the job done! In less than 6 weeks our permits got approved! Alex and his associates are so thorough and efficient. They answer you right away and make this process a pleasure.
Chris B.
Chris B.
2022.04.20
Verified
Can I just start off by saying that Alex is AMAZING!!!!??? My wife and I were looking to convert our garage into an ADU. After an absolutely horrible experience with another architect (who's review you can find under my profile) Alex and his crew were a breath of fresh air. Our project had a few difficult things that the city was giving us a hard time on, but Alex was quickly able to navigate through this and designed an even better layout than we originally had planned on. He took the time to get to know us, understand what our wants and needs were, listened and executed flawlessly! Every step of this process with him left us feeling cared for, appreciated and in awe of his professionalism and knowledge. Not to mention that he has all the cool and modern tech for the field. I literally felt like I walked into Tony Starks place when we first went in to discuss the layout of our unit. Overall, we could not have imagined or asked for a better experience than we had with Alex. Highly recommend him for any projects you might be consider and will definitely be in touch with him for our future project needs. Thanks Alex and crew!
Sharon K.
Sharon K.
2021.11.12
Verified
Alex's team is responsive and knowledgeable. He has been focusing on ADUs for years. The city approved my plan with only one minor suggestion. He knows the most updated building codes very well. It's great value for the time and quality of work. Here's my timeline for my ADU in San Mateo county: March 2020 - interviewed 3 architects May - decided to move on with Alex June - first draft was submitted to the city August - pulled the permit October - started the construction Feb - passed all inspections and completed the project
J Ghorbani
J Ghorbani
2021.10.31
I had a great experience working with Alex and his team (Jay), they are professional, responsive and deliver quality work, you could not go wrong with choosing them, my plans got approved by the city in first try without any comments, so I highly recommend them if you're looking for a quality architect.
Ralpheal H.
Ralpheal H.
2021.09.28
Verified
If I could leave 6 stars I would. Let me share with you my experience with Alex Tzang Group. My wife and I both wanted to build an ADU as many others desire. I did extensive research and interviews with (3) prefab companies and decided against them, cost/timeline/customization just didn't make any sense. I contacted Alex one afternoon and by the end of that phone call he had already pulled up our location on google maps and asked for our goals/vision. He then had us come to his office the following week to review plan sets. We felt confident with Alex from the meeting leaving with a design and deposit. Alex and team worked tirelessly for the next two weeks and had a plan set submitted to our city planning department which was crazy fast. Design review was a breeze. Alex knows what will pass and what will not pass. This helped cut down on wasted time in the review process. Two months later we had permits in hand. Most will think this is where the saga ends, wrong. Alex was also a there assisting with GC selection. He has a reputable list of cost effective teams. We ultimately opted with our own GC but it was nice being given options from Alex had we not already had one. When we started construction we were flagged for a land surveyor request from the city. I reach out to everyone in the Bay Area and all had long lead times of two months. I reached out to Alex and he had a guy show up the same week! Alex is a go to for any ADU construction. His plans "make sense" according to our GC who noted they were also extremely easy to build. We look forward to working with Alex Tzang Group agin in the very near future! Enjoy the pictures and notice the 16ft vaulted ceilings!
Carrie Y.
Carrie Y.
2021.07.30
Verified
We needed someone to help us do drawings for our home addition project a few years and were glad that we were able to find Alex. He's friendly but also professional. He's super responsive to texts and phone calls. During our design phase, my parents had some changes in mind and he was very willing to incorporate their input. Alex's prices are also quite reasonable and he even came with us to City Hall when we had to pull our permits. Thanks to Alex's help, we are able to enjoy our dream home.
Emily O.
Emily O.
2021.07.29
Verified
We reached out to Alex for help to add two additional bedrooms and one more bathroom to our house in San Mateo last year. He was very responsive, came out on-site to meet with me right away and produced the plan sets in very quickly. We obtained approvals from the City also very fast as Alex's drawings addressed everything, thus eliminating the need to go back and forth with the city to obtain permits. We are very happy with the level of service Alex provided and he is also super easy to talk to. I would definitely work with Alex again in the future.
Ching W.
Ching W.
2021.07.28
Verified
I called him with some questions about getting a permit, but he no longer works in SF. Nevertheless, he wanted to help and spent about 15 min talking to me on the phone. I really appreciated his time and kindness, and if I ever live in San Mateo and needed permit work done, I'd definitely call him again.