%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 114 ) 2.7

Leah Bier
Leah Bier
2024.07.11
I lived at 777 for two years and in my opinion these apartments are not even worth the prices they’re advertised at. They might LOOK beautiful and cheap at first glance, but within the last year they have become nearly unlivable. The building is falling apart to the extent that city housing laws (2022 Chicago Cooling Ordinance, and the Heat Ordinances) are being openly and continually violated, even after residents organized and threatened lawsuits this winter. A TL;DR of issues includes: inadequate heat for long periods when temperatures reached -27 degrees, inadequate AC and no common cooling area (as required by law, the lobby is inadequate) when temperatures in apartments hit over 100 degrees, terrible windows, burst pipes, unreliable hot water, unreliable water pressure, water being turned off with little to no notice, compromised electrical due to constant flooding, fire code violations leading to a fire where no alarms went off, ancient elevators that can take 10+ minutes to catch, important external doors constantly being broken, terrible locks on individual apartment doors, no bathroom fans or garbage disposals causing awful smells and mold, $250 a month parking in a garage with no security or notice of break ins/theft, amenities closed for overly-extended periods, squatters, and more. Among all of this, Group Fox has refused to issue any sort of reimbursement for the constant issues, and instead have been increasing every fee they possibly can without notice. The office staff barely picks up the phone anymore, and when they do they are unfriendly and irritable. I don’t know a single person in this building who is renewing their lease. I've written an almost two page essay on the issues, but Google reviews has a character limit, so what I'll add is: 1. I’ll echo other reviews on the heat situation- we had no heat or hot water for nearly a week and half this winter. Temperatures reached -27 degrees and the cheap windows provide no insulation so it quickly became unbearable. Even with a space heater, 5 blankets, and a sled dog to keep me warm I was incapacitated and shivering in my bed for days. Residents began to organize and file complaints with the city, but Group Fox refused to issue any kind of reimbursement for residents who had to leave or for the astronomical heat and electrical bills residents received for that month. 2. The “AC” the building advertises is generally inadequate. The cheap windows and direct sun will bake the apartments year round. The building is still on the old two pipe system so the “AC” isn’t turned on until late May, after apartments reach over 100 degrees. Once it is turned on, you’ll find that the “AC” air being pumped in is lukewarm and barely makes a difference. I heard a cat sadly passed away from heatstroke in the building last year. Furthermore, the building is currently violating the 2022 Chicago Cooling Ordinance that requires a common cooling space. The lounge has been closed since January, so the building named the lobby as the new ‘cooling’ space. In reality, the AC in the lobby is inadequate to meet the codes requirements and it’s been hot in there even on 70 degree days. I'll add more in the comments if possible, but PLEASE don't waste your time and money on this building.
Advertisement
Brent Neavins
Brent Neavins
2024.06.28
Tenant for about three years. It’s an older building, so some wear and tear, but affordable for the area. Management, concierge and maintenance teams are mostly helpful and friendly. There are some minor issues like slow elevators, HVAC, and out of order laundry machines, but overall no real quality items to note. My only complaint is that there was poor follow-up from the property manager and concierge manager on staff at the time my car was stolen from the attached parking garage (not managed by the same company as the apartments). It was difficult to get any information, and general concerns were dismissed. Other than that, great building for the price and worth considering if looking for apartments in the area.
Reply from 777 South State 2024.06.28
Hi Brent, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear you've had a good experience at 777 South State! We hear you and take your feedback very seriously. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused due to the communication between us regarding your car. We look forward to improving our customer service. You are a valued resident and we're lucky to have you as a member of our community! Sincerely, Your 777 South State Team
B N
B N
2024.06.06
This is a terrible apartment company The leasing manager is rude the receptionists are terrible & rude they sound like young lazy ignorant, ladies with an attitude that don’t want to do their job. They don’t even greet you professionally over the phone. They need to be fired expeditiously worst customer service ever people are potentially trying to be a tenant here and this is how you treat your potential tenants and clientele is ridiculous. Please shut this building down or at least fire the team and bring new team members that are motivated to help.
Reply from 777 South State 2024.06.06
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are sorry to learn we have not met your expectations. W are disappointed to learn we have not met the high standards we set for ourselves. We take your feedback seriously and will use it to make improvements to our community. Sincerely, Your 777 South State Team
Ravi Vasnani
Ravi Vasnani
2024.05.13
Reply from 777 South State 2024.05.15
Hi Ravi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We strive to provide the best customer service and are disappointed to hear we have not met your expectations. Please reach out to us directly to provide more details. We take your feedback seriously and look forward to improving our community. Sincerely, Your 777 South State Team
Chiquita Holmes
Chiquita Holmes
2024.04.10
Current resident, I’ve been here 7 months haven’t had not one complaint the front desk workers are amazing the manager is the nicest person ever she’s always accommodates me when I need her. Friendly neighbors amazing amenities in the summer which i rarely use . Beautiful view for a great price . Every one has their own opinion.
Reply from 777 South State 2024.04.10
Hi Chiquita, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us! We're thrilled to hear you love living at 777 South State. We're lucky to have you as a resident and look forward to a great year ahead! Sincerely, Your 777 South State Team
Advertisement
gina tucker
gina tucker
2024.03.21
Well, I went to see an apartment today and was very disappointed. Microwave just sitting on counter looking very cheap & highly used. No ice maker in fridge, paint chipping from elevator to apartment door, and wait for, this the Best one yet… You know how high rise apartments have those pillars??? Well this apartment decided to build around it, In The Bedroom Closet!!! Hilarious And this one was Humongous! We’ll if you go for those types of inconveniences, this apartment is great for You! Washer & Dryer downstairs. 400$ fee to just apply as well….
Lisa Johnson
Lisa Johnson
2024.03.20
Do not, under ANY circumstances move here. I understand the price may be attractive for a Loop location, but the plumbing alone should scare you off. It appears to be an attractive building, but each winter, the pipes burst and leave residents without heat and hot water for nearly a month. They then refuse to compensate you for this. Further, they have an unaddressed leakage problem throughout the building. I have not taken a shower that has stayed with full water pressure or temperature (sometimes it just turns boiling hot for no reason, or the water shuts off entirely) since I moved on. Literally run from this place in the other direction. My kitchen sink faucet smells of rotten eggs.
Reply from 777 South State 2024.03.20
Hi Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We strive to provide the best customer service to all of our employees and are disappointed to hear of your concerns. We take your feedback seriously and look forward to improving our customer service. Sincerely, Your 777 South State Team
gabby garcia
gabby garcia
2024.02.13
I’m just finishing a year of residency at 777 and all I have to say is please consider elsewhere. I moved in with my best friend in a two bedroom on the 25th floor and within three months of our move we regretted it. 1st this apartments are not thoroughly taken care of or checked prior to your move in. We moved in with a broken dishwasher, floor damage/wall damage, and MUSHROOMS growing out of the floorboards. The mushrooms remained in our apartment for two weeks because the team did not act swiftly. Next we have been locked out of our building numerous times due to unwilling to work door staff and poor in place systems of safety. The worst case was when me and three other residences were stuck outside during the winter for 2+ hours with no answer from the phone, no door staff and a call to the police. Finally the new door staff lady came back and was clearly under the influence. The last two months though have been the worst. We have lost heat and hot water during -27 degree weather for 5 days with no action to relocate or help the residence, we have had roaches, plumbing shut off numerous times and no access to laundry for a week plus. Devonte and Tameka are the only reasons to live in this building because of their amazing assistance and warm personalities. I will miss them two but I couldn’t be happier about leaving. Save yourself the stress!!
Reply from 777 South State 2024.02.14
Hi Gabby, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We strive to provide the best customer service and care in our building and are disappointed to hear of your concerns. We take your feedback seriously and will use it to improve our community. Sincerely, Your 777 South State Team
Samuel
Samuel
2024.02.06
Current resident here. There are so many reasons not to live in this building, I don't even know where to start. 1) As others have said, the heating system is worse than you could ever imagine. It'll be 35 degrees outside in December and your apartment -with the heat turned completely off - will feel like a sauna. You'll be sitting around sweating in your apartment in Chicago winter. Why do I need to buy fans for December in Chicago?? This is absurd. 2) The noise insulation is non-existent. You will hear your neighbors, all the time. You will hear every ambulance or firetruck that goes by. I personally guarantee you will never get a good night's rest without being woken up multiple times. Even with ear plugs and a white noise machine, and I'm not even a light sleeper. 3) I messaged management about something that was driving me crazy, and they...didn't bother to respond. I know they received it, because their system automatically sends an acknowledgement. But it wasn't worth their time to respond. Thanks Group Fox! UPDATE: I've sent multiple further messages to property management, and they've ignored every single one. They have literally never once not ignored me. Please disregard the part where they claim to care about their residents' well-being (they don't). Looking for a place where management will pretend you don't exist? Look no further! Groupfox is right for you! 4) Unlike every other apartment I've ever rented in Chicago, they don't have a clause in their contract to allow you to pay a penalty of 2 months rent to break a contract. I made the mistake of thinking there's no way an apartment could be so bad I'd want to pay it. I was dead wrong. This apartment is so awful, I would literally pay it and find someplace else if I could. It makes sense why they wouldn't have the clause, because this building would be empty otherwise. 5) The elevators are crazy old and slow. Usually it's not a big deal, but sometimes you find yourself waiting 10 or 15 minutes just to get in the elevator. Huge waste of time.
Reply from 777 South State 2023.12.07
Hi Samuel, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is important to us that you are happy in your home and we are sorry to learn we have not met your expectations. You are a valued resident and member of our community and we would like to take this opportunity to discuss further with you. Please contact your property manager directly or stop by our office to speak more about your concerns. We take your feedback seriously and will use it to improve our community. Sincerely, Your 777 South State Team
Advertisement
Марта Коленко
Марта Коленко
2024.01.29
worst building in my entire life
Reply from 777 South State 2024.01.29
Hi Mapta, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We strive to provide the best customer service and are sorry to learn we have not met your expectations. We would like to take this opportunity to discuss further with you. Please reach out to your property manager directly. We hope to hear from you soon. Sincerely, Your 777 South State Team
Sayuri Alwis
Sayuri Alwis
2024.01.18
run away as fast as you can. do not live here. issues with heat/water/everything you could possibly imagine. bathrooms are dirty upon move-in with cracked tiles and lots of plumbing issues. i filed ~15 maintenance requests upon initial move-in and multiple maintenance workers told me that they aren't taking care of the building the way they should. no one likes working here, no one likes living here. Desiree (sp?) specifically is the worst. for ex, right now, my heat/hot water has been over for over 24 hours, and my tap water was running completely brown this morning. they said the heat/hot water would be back on 9 hours ago, but it's not, and i haven't received a single clarifying email/any updates. i don't usually write negative reviews but it's concerning and appalling to me how little they care about their tenants. i've lived in a different place every year for the past 6 years and this is the worst by a landslide. i've never lived in conditions like this. i'm counting the days until my lease is over.
Maxwell Collins
Maxwell Collins
2024.01.18
Meghana Kollu
Meghana Kollu
2024.01.17
The office offers the worst service. They can't even get anyone there to hold their own job! Everything is a headache.
Advertisement
lizette z
lizette z
2024.01.03
We lived here this year and have been happy with our home! The front desk, maintenance and cleaning crew are wonderful and very helpful. The leasing office is open everyday so it is easy to get a hold of someone when needed. The lobby area is clean and they have great music playing while waiting for the elevators. Elevators can be slow sometimes but that's what you sign up for when living in a building with elevators so no complaints. We did not use the amenities very often but they are great! The patio and grills are nice (get booked fast in the summer), pool area is nice, they also have a dog bath which we love! There is a also a tenant lounge which we never used but it is a nice work/study area or a great place to host friends. We used the dog run daily and wish tenants learned to pick up after their pets. The building makes it SUPER easy and provides bags but people still seem to be lazy. I see negative reviews about the heating and cooling but we did not have any issues. We did have a fan if needed and opened our windows if necessary. The building explains their pipe system and most older buildings are ran the same way so again no complaints. They send emails out when there are repairs and we are always notified days in advance if they will be entering our units. Work orders are always completed within a day or two and we appreciate the maintenance team. Rent is affordable for the area and there are so many amazing things to do nearby. Overall, we enjoyed our time here and would stay another year if we could. There will always be minor issues anywhere when you are a renter, but 777 took good care of us and we have very few complaints. Everybody's experience is different but ours has been amazing!
Reply from 777 South State 2024.01.03
Hi Lizette, Thank you for sharing your recent experience! We are thrilled to hear you have loved living at 777. Please do not hesitate to reach out if we can assist you with anything additional. You are a valued member of our community! Sincerely, Your 777 South State Team
MDM montgomery
MDM montgomery
2023.12.24
This place is TERRIBLE..The water pressure is HORRIBLE. You will be taking a shower or washing dishes and the water will COMPLETELY shut off......you cant control the heat. Its either to HOT or to COLD in the apartment....the bathrooms look like the projects....the elevators are ALWAYS DIRTY. I emailed management about the elevators and I personally talked to him about them and he told me. "I have BIGGER things to worry about". Living there literally made me depressed because all I did was complain and couldn't wait until my lease was over. The apartment size is good and it's affordable for the location. Good luck
Reply from 777 South State 2024.01.08
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We strive to provide the best quality and customer service and are sorry to learn we have not met your expectations. We set a high standard for ourselves here at 777 South State and our property is cleaned daily. We're unsure of who you spoke with regarding these issues, but we would like to take this opportunity to discuss further. Please reach out to us directly at (312) 939-7000 to speak with our property manager. We take your feedback seriously and look forward to improving our community. Sincerely, Your 777 South State Team
Meadow Favuzzi
Meadow Favuzzi
2023.08.27
It was a decent affordable apartment for a year for me and my roommate. There were some pretty major issues that I put in for maintenance and it was marked done without ever being. The ducts are disgusting. So much dust. They have issues at keeping the temperatures comfortable in the fall and spring. I had issues with cockroaches, I put in maintenance request and they set out bait and traps, they lessened, but never went away. They are not flexible with lease terms, they wanted an extra $350 a month for a 8 month lease, after raising the rent more than $200. The deck was nice. The staff working in the office are super nice! Especially Randall, he was always helpful. I think if they could fix the major issues with plumbing, vents, and roaches, they could justify the prices. Also the trash shoots are really gross and will stink up your apartment.
Faouziath Gbetie
Faouziath Gbetie
2023.06.27
Advertisement
Jennifer Dickey
Jennifer Dickey
2023.06.08
Echoing what other posters have written recently. Run don’t walk. Several issues including multiple floods within a month, AC that doesn’t cool the apartment and it isn’t even summer yet, heat was out multiple times during the winter. Way too expensive to deal with this. Way better apartments in the area. The washing machines regularly smell like mold and I consistently lose money because they are always broken. The management service never refunds. Additionally my Mail was stolen from the mailroom and was signed for by a worker so I could not get refunded.
Tonie Wells
Tonie Wells
2023.05.31
I lived here for 1-year. Pros: the maintenance & Cleaning staff are friendly and they do what they can to help. The location is decent if you’re a student attending college in the area or younger adult not really ideal for anyone 26/27+ (my personal opinion). The views are decent and the new management team is friendly and try their best. Parking is attached to the building and covered. The lounge and rooftop deck is nicely done and kept well for working for home or lounging. Cons: the building is old so the air conditioning and heating system is ridiculous. The building won’t turn on the AC until June 1 and so you will literally live in sweltering conditions during the warmer months. I’m talking 90+ degrees at all hours of the day. During the cooler months, there is no way to turn off the heat - so again, sweltering conditions, not as bad because you can open the windows but still. just Have several fans on hand. Parking is not secure nor safe. The cost of parking is comparable to the area, but not worth it. There is no assigned parking spot and the lot is also for public use. Also, it’s difficult to get in touch with LAZ Parking in case of an issue. The pool area is rarely clean (floor wise) I only used it once. The elevators are rarely fully working as well. I took my laundry to the laundromat and didn’t use the laundry room because 1) the smell of the washers 2) If you lost or misplaced your card to use the W/D’s management can’t replace it for you. You have to go through the third party for a replacement and when I tried contacting them I was unable to reach anyone. There were several times where my water was not running or the water pressure was nearly non existent. And lastly the trash smell permeates through the hallways and corridors! I lived across from the trash shoot and I could SMELL the trash in my apartment often. I also felt as if the price for heating/cooling/energy/sewer/processing fees were excessive for what we were getting. Overall, 3/10 but if you’re young and looking for a nice location in the south loop at an affordable cost - 777, is your best bet.
Reply from 777 South State 2023.06.01
Hi Tonie, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is important to us that you are happy in your home and we are disappointed to learn that we have not met your expectations. We take your feedback seriously and look forward to improving our community. Sincerely, Your 777 South State Team
Victor Veitch
Victor Veitch
2023.05.30
The two pipe system on heating and cooling coupled with indifferent (or incompetent) property management means the building is unbearably hot in may and september. The place is also generally in poor shape, with, e.g., elevators and laundry machines regularly broken.
Reply from 777 South State 2023.05.31
Hi Victor, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We strive to provide the best customer service to all of our residents. We are sorry to learn we have not met your expectations. We must abide by the Chicago Heat Ordinance. We hope you understand that with temperatures reaching the lows they did this past week, we were unable to turn the air on sooner. Rest assured, we are doing everything in our power to make your apartment comfortable. It is important to us that you are happy in your home. We are working diligently to resolve this situation. Sincerely, Your 777 South State Team