Sterling Van Lines

www.sterlingvanlines.com

Sterling Van Lines Reviews

Good rating
4.4
388 reviews Verified
Sterling Van Lines
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 409 ) 4.4

Sarah Mutschlecner
Sarah Mutschlecner
2024.07.07
They were nice to deal with, picked up a piano and took it across the country for us.
Reply from Sterling Van Lines 2024.07.10
Thank you Sarah, pleasure to serve you!
Susan Polack
Susan Polack
2024.06.22
Pick up and delivery were on time and both crews were professional, courteous and helpful. Items arrived in good shape with no damage.
Reply from Sterling Van Lines 2024.06.24
Thank you so much for your good words! It was a pleasure to service you.
Jane A.
Jane A.
2024.06.22
Verified
Sterling assured me they were the right fit for my long distance move. I was told they would completely handle everything as their website states, if I could just be flexible with dates. I did not know this meant I wouldnt receive a packing or moving date until the week of the move! I provided Sterling with an initial list of furniture items & boxes under the impression packers would be arriving to pack the house & a more accurate inventory would evolve. I recieved the contract to sign & had several concerns. The contract said there were no stairs and many other things no one had even asked me. My concerns included boxes yet to be determined from storage, garage, shed, etc. I was assured they had padded the numbers to accommodate that. On May 3, I emailed more concerns about boxes. Without packers coming to box yet, I couldn't possibly know a total number of boxes. I asked again about when & how packing would happen. I was shocked at the response "I suppose there will be 2 people anyway that show up to pack." I realized for the first time the actual truck driver would also be the packer. At one point, they asked didnt I have anyone helping me. Sterling was supposed to be my help!! On this day they hit my credit card for the $3,000 deposit. After that, it was hard to get anyone on the phone. On Wed., May 15th, when the truck arrived I met the driver & his wife. I provided them with the remainder of my empty boxes they could use up. The driver spoke limited English & his wife did not speak to me. Two packers arrived who spoke no English. I thought the day went smoothly. At 7:41pm MST, I rec'd an email from Sterling. It was an ultimatum at a time too late to discuss with anyone even on the west coast. It stated that in order for them to continue, I must agree to pay over $4,000 more. That is a 35+% INCREASE over our agreed upon price. It also said that even with the increase, all my items may not make it on the truck. It was too late for me to make decisions about items already packed, because the boxes were only labeled with room names, not items. My choice of items to select to stay were furniture items. identified items to load last in case they did not fit. Those items included furniture items that belonged to my deceased parents that I would never choose to let go of under other circumstances. My stress & sorrow were overwhelming. The next day, I was presented with the increase price paperwork to sign before Sterling would proceed. I had absolutely no choice but to sign. We had already sold our bed and items I would need to remain in the house were packed in unmarked boxes. Not one furniture item I selected to go last made it on the truck. Delivery was scheduled to arrive on May 24th. The evening of May 22nd, I got a text from the Sterling driver at almost 7:30pm stating delivery would be a day early, the next morning at 8am. I agreed even though I had no help for the day. I thought if I said I was not ready Sterling would charge me more for storage. We discovered my empty boxes I gave them to pack were actually sealed and loaded EMPTY!. Items like the cushions & pillows for the furniture we had to leave behind were loaded too. It was heartbreaking the expensive, sentimental items we were forced to leave for empty boxes. Why would Sterling send workers who do not speak English? More non-English speaking people came at delivery and it was a flurry of unloading with zero regard to the inventory list. I was told I had to sign paperwork that all boxes were accounted for. There was no way I could possibly know but they refused to leave my house without a signature! I do not understand with all my concerns I brought to Sterling, they continued to tell me overages were accounted for. I emailed the company vice president with these complaints. He said they tried not to take my business but I insisted on using them!! What??? See Sterling's response to one of my concerns well before moving day in the photo I attached? Does it sound like they were trying to get me to go to another company or thought this was a small move?
Shawn Henegar
2024.06.20 2024.06.20 | United States
Ripped off by Sterling - BEWARE I was referred to Sterling by another company I contacted in the NASMM network. I then connected with Sterling by phone in April. I explained my situation and health limitations and was assured Sterling Van Lines was the right fit for my long distance move. I was told Sterling would completely handle everything if I could just be flexible with dates. I did not know this meant I would not receive a packing date or moving date until the week of the move. I provided Sterling with an initial list of furniture items and box number under the impression packers would be arriving to pack the rest of the house and a more accurate inventory would evolve from that. When I recieved the contract to sign, I reached out with several concerns including the contract said there were no stairs involved and many other things no one had ever asked me. Concerns I voiced in an email included boxes yet to be determined from storage, garage, shed, etc. The reply was a price increase would only be a lot if Sterling was "way off the mark". I felt I needed to do everything I could to prevent that, so I continued to update by email and phone conversations the number of boxes as best I could. I was assured they had really padded the numbers to accomodate that. On May 3rd, I emailed more concerns about boxes. Without packers coming to box yet, I could not possibly know a total number of boxes. I asked again about when and how packing would happen. I was shocked at the response "I suppose there will be 2 people anyway that show up to pack." I realized for the first time the actual truck driver would also be the packer. At one point, I was just told "it is what it is" and asked me didnt I have anyone helping me. Sterling Van Lines was supposed to be my help!! I thought all that was determined in our initial phone conversation when I made it known I suffer from Rheumatoid Arthritis and I was seeking a full service mover. On this same date, May 3rd, Sterling hit my credit card for the $3,000 deposit. On May 6th, I tried to get in touch with someone by phone and received an email saying they were too busy to listen to messages! They did phone me back however and assured me that they had accounted for overages and I should not worry. On Wednesday, May 15th, when the Sterling Van Lines truck arrived I met the driver, Kevin and his wife. I provided them with my empty boxes they could use up and showed them around the house. Kevin spoke limited English and his wife did not speak to me. Two other packers arrived who spoke no English. I packed along with them as best I could and as far as I could tell, the day went smoothly. I had no complaints about them. At 7:41pm, I recieved an email from Sterling that I did not see until later that evening. It was an ultimatum at an hour too late to discuss with anyone. It stated that in order for Sterling to continue with my move, I must agree to pay an additional amount over $4,000. That is a 35.162% INCREASE over our agreed upon price. It further went on to say that even with that increase, all my items may not make it on the truck. It was too late for me to even make decisions about items already packed that could stay behind, because the boxes were only labeled with room names, not items. My only choice of items to select to maybe stay were furniture items. I identified items to load last in case they did not fit. Those items included furniture items that belonged to my deceased parents that I would never choose to let go of under other circumstances. My stress and sorrow were overwhelming and my Rheumatoid Arthritis came on full body. The next day, I was presented with paperwork to sign before Sterling would proceed. I had absolutely no choice but to sign. We had already sold our bed and items I would need to remain in the house were packed in unmarked boxes. Not one furniture item I selected to go last made it onto the truck. Delivery of the items was scheduled to arrive on May 24th. The evening of May 22nd, I got a text from the Sterling driver at almost 7:30pm stating delivery would be a day early, the next morning at 8am. I agreed even though I had no help for that day, becuase I thought if I said I was not ready, Sterling would charge me another extra amount for storing the items. They showed up earlier than that the next morning. We discovered the empty boxes I gave them to pack in were loaded EMPTY and shipped. Items like the cushions and pillows for the furniture we had to leave behind were in other boxes. It was absolutely heartbreaking the items we were forced to sacrifice for empty boxes to be on the truck. Why would Sterling workers not speak English? More non-English speaking people came at delivery and it was a flurry of unloading with zero regard to the numbers on the boxes and inventory list. Again, I was told I had to sign paperwork under duress that all boxes were accounted for. There was no way I could possibly know that. I do not understand with all my concerns I brought to Sterling, they continued to tell me overages were accounted for. I emailed the company vice president with these complaints and the response was jaw-dropping. He actually said they tried not to take my business but I insisted on using them!! What??? See Sterling’s response to one of my concerns well before moving day in the photo I attached? Does it sound like they were trying to get me to go to another company or thought this was a small move? BEWARE and do not trust anything this company tells you.

Date of experience: 15 May, 2024
Rebecca Roark
Rebecca Roark
2024.06.20
Doug and Sterling Van Lines gave me the best quote by far for the complicated move I needed. He and the scheduler were very courteous and responsive to my questions. When the two items were delivered, the driver and his co-worker did a great job of delivering the items and placing them right where I wanted them. I highly recommend SVL for their courteousness, responsiveness to client concerns, and professionalism from pick-up to delivery.
Reply from Sterling Van Lines 2024.06.20
It was an honor to serve you, our customers are awesome!
Peter Ruggles
Peter Ruggles
2024.06.16
Although the movers were great, the company overcharged me and ignored all requests to fully correct the charges. [Update: the company responded to my letter by email, but the emails were never received (spam folder?) so I was unaware of their attempts to contact me]. When I requested the estimate, I provided a guess for the size of each piece of furniture. Since I was in a different state, I didn't have the ability to measure the furniture until I traveled to the east coast. When I did measure it, I discovered the total cubic feet was a lot less than originally estimated. The estimate was based on the total cubic feet. The estimate also included two contingency charges which were not needed. At the time of the move I was charged the full cost of the estimate and was told the contingency charges and an adjustment for the total cubic feet moved would be refunded in the next couple of weeks. They were not. They only refunded the contingency charges after I contacted them several weeks later, but they refused to refund the excessive cubic feet charges. The workers who moved the furniture were efficient, careful and I was impressed with their professionalism.
Reply from Sterling Van Lines 2024.06.11
Hello Mr. Ruggles, So now I have checked into it and discover that in late October we responded to the complaint. After that the entire move was checked for any errors. Then a refund of $414.51 was given taking off any shuttle fee and a sewing machine and even an extra $100.00 discount that was an error on our part.) The move was done standardly and standard cubic foot measurements were used in determining the number of pounds that were charged for. There were no excessive cubic foot charges, cubic foot measurements are the standard measurements assigned by the industry. We actually gave more discount than we should have and feel we have been more than fair. Proper responses were generated also at the time of the complaint. I forwarded those emails today so that the dates of our response can be noted. We believe that we have delivered exactly what has been promised and aside from the complaint we feel the customers have been very nice people and easy to get along with and we are glad the move went smoothly. I can be contacted at our office in Los Angeles if there are more questions but the move is finalized and we believe we have been more than fair.
Carol M.
Carol M.
2024.05.30
Verified
Sterling provided careful help with a wide assortment of items to be shipped that were in need of serious repackaging. Objects of sentimental value were delivered in perfect shape. They shipped a very large number of items across the country for an excellent price. We got great service and peace of mind.
Reply from Sterling Van Lines 2024.05.31
Thank you so much for your kind words Carol, it was a pleasure to serve you!
Mark Rick
Mark Rick
2024.05.24
Did everything they said they would, on time, accurate quote, great customer service.
Reply from Sterling Van Lines 2024.05.28
Thank you so much Mark, it was our pleasure!
libby armentrout
libby armentrout
2024.05.21
We were a very small load move from Texas to Ohio and it was seamless! From the time that I booked it and until the time my movers arrived, I was informed of dates and times all along the way. The young couple that actually moved the furniture had a real challenge since they were driving an 18 wheeler and my driveway would accommodate a small pick up truck. These careful movers used dollies and muscle and rolled the furniture over a 10th of a mile to place carefully in my new house. I couldn’t have asked for more.
Reply from Sterling Van Lines 2024.05.21
Thank you so much, it was our pleasure to serve you.
S Mitchell
S Mitchell
2024.04.28
The entire team from home office professionals to moving staff were incredibly caring and supportive. Proactive communications, highly organized - with extreme care taken to transport my household goods safely, efficiently, and securely from FL to MD. Accommodated my unique situation and simply "got it done". Would highly recommend Sterling Van Lines for any move - they go way above and beyond for their clients!
Reply from Sterling Van Lines 2024.04.30
Thank you so much for your kind words!
Susan Moore
Susan Moore
2024.04.23
Great service and dedication to getting everything right!
Reply from Sterling Van Lines 2024.04.26
Thank you so much for your kind words!
Sandra Thomas
Sandra Thomas
2024.04.01
Hi, I had a family 45 year old Grandfather Clock moved from my now deceased parents home in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania to my daughter's house in Chattanooga, Tennessee this passed weekend. I couldn't be more happy with STERLING Van Lines service, professionalism, care and promptness. I first spoke to Doug Brown in February. He was very helpful, quoted me a very fair price ( I had researched moving lines for 5 month prior as the Grandfather Clock was so meaningful to us and I wanted it taken care of ) , did NOT Require a down payment. Kevin and Anna picked up the clock, disassembled the pendulum, chimes, and etc. and packed it quickly and carefully. Tony in the Shipping Dept. Called and gave me the tentative through dates so I can be ready for delivery. He was pleasant, helpful, professional and above everything put my mind at ease for the shipping. Both Tony and Kevin called me both the day before AND 30 minutes before the delivery was to be made.The clock got to my daughter's house in a very timely fashion, unpacked, reassembled the and moved it to the placed where my daughter wanted. Trust me, if you are looking for a qualified, fairly priced and caring company either for 1 very important piece of furniture or a whole house, STERLING Van Lines are the people you want!! Great Company and thank you!!!
Reply from Sterling Van Lines 2024.04.02
Thanks, Sandra, for this glowing review! Our pleasure.
Maureen Kelley
Maureen Kelley
2024.03.04
I had a piano moved in a partial load from Florida to Colorado and they did a fine job. I certainly couldn't have done it myself! Worth the cost for the care that Sterling provided.
Reply from Sterling Van Lines 2024.03.05
Thank you so much for your kind words. Glad we could help!
lupe lucenius
lupe lucenius
2024.01.28
Sterling moved my baby grand piano with care
Reply from Sterling Van Lines 2024.03.05
Thank you so much, your review is appreciated
Jaime S.
Jaime S.
2024.01.25
Verified
I was very happy with Sterling. During the pandemic when everything was difficult, they were very responsive and professional. They moved a very old family piano along with other furniture across the country and delivery on the other end was perfect . They were very good at keeping me informed of timings and any hold ups (weather and pandemic related). The guys were very nice, respectful and even a little fun making an emotional move much easier. I will definitely use them again and recommend to friends.
Ven S.
Ven S.
2024.01.03
Verified
Thank you very much, Sterling Van Lines for delivering our piano very efficiently. We noted the way your delivery crew were clicking like clockwork.
Martha Seidler
Martha Seidler
2023.12.22
Thank you! Thank you! They delivered as promised!! What a relief.
Reply from Sterling Van Lines 2023.12.27
Thank you for your kind words! Glad we could do this for you!
Evelyn Cole
Evelyn Cole
2023.11.29
Do not use this company as they are unreliable with poor customer service. I scheduled a move for pick up on November 15 and delivery on November 22. I then find out that the truck is in a repair shop on the east coast and they are canceling my move. . I asked Sandie Saxon whether we could change the dates and she indicated a pick up on November 25 and delivery on November 29.I agreed to those dates and she assured me in an email that the furniture would be delivered on November 29. On November 24, the driver called and said the weather was bad and he could not do the move. The weather was not bad and he could have made the pick up. He also said that dispatch would contact me with a new moving date. I have yet to hear anything from dispatch or customer service. This outfit is full of excuses. For those of you reading this review and still using them, I wonder what the excuse will be did for your move.
Reply from Sterling Van Lines 2024.03.05
We are very sorry that this happened. The weather was bad enough to have roads that we had to use for the size of our vehicle closed down. We had no way to get into your area to pick you up. We were willing to come back when it became safe but we were told no, I understand.
Robert A.
Robert A.
2023.11.10
Verified
The service was great. Very professional conduct and obvious expertise in moving a heavy, unwieldy player piano, along with a number of smaller furniture pieces. One word to learn by, be specific on the type of move you are hoping to make and the nature of the items. We required an iterative process, in our case, to refine the type of piano, weight, steps, etc. But all worked out well. Bottom line: It was a good experience over all with great service and a fair price. If I, or any member of my family, was planning a move, my first call would be to Sterling.
Sunita P.
Sunita P.
2023.10.20
Verified
They were awesome! punctual, professional, and easy to work with. I would highly recommend for long distance moves.