Special ToursSpecial Tours

www.specialtours.is

Special ToursSpecial Tours Reviews

Excellent rating
4.5
4753 reviews Verified
Special ToursSpecial Tours
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 4733 ) 4.5

Sanna Pirhonen
Sanna Pirhonen
2024.07.12
We took the morning 9-12 am whale watching tour with the boat Andrea (big boat). We saw humpback whales, dolphings, minke whale and some white whales/dolphins, not sure of the species. The boat has enough seating, cozy cafe and the guide tells you when they spot whales. Worth booking!
B. Barnes
B. Barnes
2024.07.10
A great experience. Our group didn’t catch a lot day of our fishing trip but it was enjoyable and the food was good. Be prepared for waves if you do go. I did notice the last hour several people becoming nauseous and not having fun at the lower level.
Pedro Meinicke
Pedro Meinicke
2024.07.09
Giorgio Caporaletti
Giorgio Caporaletti
2024.07.07
Driss El halouat
Driss El halouat
2024.07.07
Magique. Notre guide était très amusant et instructif ! Nous avons eu l'occasion de croiser de nombreux dauphins, de voir des macareux de loin, ainsi que de voir plusieurs baleines 🐳 L'expérience est inoubliable. Équipez vous bien chaud et ayez de la chance !
Guanpu Chen
Guanpu Chen
2024.07.06
Todd H
Todd H
2024.07.06
Verified
Fantastic and Professional whale watching tour for a really good price! This was an exceptionally clean boat that was recently transferred up from Reykjavík! This is their first boat in this area and the tour was wonderful and Max (from Italy) the tour guide was even better!!! we had eight people on our tour and everyone had a great experience. We were on a cruise ship and we were able to walk to the terminal from about 10 minutes away. Once there look for the sign with blue lettering that says city Central Tours and you are there. Can’t say enough about how helpful and nice the staff was. Lots of room on the boat lots of different viewing areas. The inside of the boat was wonderful and warm. They have a great snack bar with hot chocolate and coffees and other snacks along with beer and sodas. We would do it again we were in the area.
tim m
tim m
2024.07.06
Verified
No whales rip off Wasted couple hours of life. Spent several hours bouncing around in ocean. No whales seen. Save your money for better tour
VictoriaJ5863
VictoriaJ5863
2024.07.06
Verified
Very good tour Whole experience was good from start to finish. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and we felt very safe on this tour. Our guide Maximus was very knowledgeable and went out of his way to ensure we had the best possible experience. We saw Minky and humpback whales. All in all we.wiuls highly recommend this tour.
Eric W
Eric W
2024.07.03
Verified
Puffin Tour Had a great excursion. Guide Livia and Capt were very knowledgeable about the puffin and other birds in the area. Got the boat very close to the island for great views of estimated 30,000 puffins living on the island. Bring good camera lens if you have but phone camera sufficient
Chiara Ricci
Chiara Ricci
2024.07.02
Tetyana M
Tetyana M
2024.07.02
The sea was rough, everybody got nauseated and throwing up it looks like money is more important than safety. There were small kids on the boat. We only got to see a small tail of the whale. Was not worth it. I felt it was unsafe.
Reply from Special ToursSpecial Tours 2024.07.03
Thanks for the review Tetyana, and the feedback. Unfortunately, the weather and the sea is not always amenable to is, but we can't be sure until we go there but I assure you, safety is always number 1. We set our boundries of whether we can sail or not based on the best information we have about conditions, but conditions can change quickly or the information could be less than a 100% correct.
Wanderer201161
Wanderer201161
2024.07.02
Verified
Perfect Sunny Day whale watching in Akureyri A new whale watching tour company called Special Tours was our host. The boat was very comfortable and provided both inside and outside viewing. Saw lots of whales with the superb help of Massi (aka Max) who spotted for us and provided excellent commentary on whales and birds as he a trained biologist. His vast knowledge added so much and his enthusiasm was infectious! Topped the wonderful morning off with a nice hot cup of tea and a tasty waffle with strawberry jam. Highly recommend!
Jessica P
Jessica P
2024.07.02
Verified
Knowledgeable guide! We saw about 10 whales and got some good videos. Our guide was a biologist and he was super knowledgeable about the different sea animals as well as the birds. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. Also it wasn’t crowded at all so we had plenty of room to walk around and stand/sit anywhere we wanted.
RGC
RGC
2024.06.30
We did the puffin express tour and it was fantastic. We saw so many puffins and it was perfect since we didn’t have much time (it only lasts an hour). Mel was a great guide!
Michał Gawlik
Michał Gawlik
2024.06.28
Świetna wycieczka, przyjazny personel i udało się zobaczyć zwierzęta! Okej, wiem, że to ostatnie zależy głównie od pogody, ale i tak 5 gwiazdek 😀
juliak
juliak
2024.06.27
Verified
Amazing experience We had a great time on the tour and our guide (Blanca) was very informative and was easy to listen to her, she obviously enjoys what she does and cares for these animals which is a very good thing. 🥰 We were lucky enough to see all the animals we wanted: fiat of course we could spot some cute puffins hanging out, saw a couple of minkie whales, dolphins. Its true that i didnt have high hopes (i didnt think we would see any whales and such) but I’m very pleased that I was wrong. Honestly, good job guys :)
Nicki G
Nicki G
2024.06.25
Verified
Fantastic Fantastic experience. Did the 3 hour whale watching first and it was more than we could have expected! We felt blessed to have seen 4 species - humpback whales (breaching x 4 times!), minke whales, harbour porpoises and white beaked dolphins. The guide was brilliant (sorry can't remember her name - 9.00am Tue 18.06 trip). The boat was large and with only approx 35 people on the tour gave plenty of room to view easily. Coveralls were provided if needed. I've seen a few bad reviews but, honestly, we cannot find anything negative to write. Maybe we were lucky with the showing we saw but nothing is guaranteed with nature. Returned to harbour and transferred to smaller boat to do the 1 hour puffin island trip. Again, guide was very informative. Binoculars handed out for a better view. Plenty of puffins, both on the island and flying around us. We were still buzzing from the whales we saw to truly appreciate the puffins but still a wonderful trip.
Detlef L
Detlef L
2024.06.25
Verified
Verzichtbar Ausflug bei solchem Wetter. Das Wetter war schlecht und es wurden nur ein paar Delphine gesehen. Fotos zwecklos wegen des trüben Wetters. Eigentlich hätte man die Fahrt nicht durchführen können, aber Isländer scheinenden doch einen ausgeprägten Geschäftssinn zu haben
LandonMN
LandonMN
2024.06.24
Verified
Disappointed Boat was clean and staff was friendly, but it was a large boat and the captain and guide only made whales visible to those who were in the very bow of the boat. Whenever a whale would surface, the captain would quickly turn the boat so the activity was directly in front of the bow leaving those without a viewing position directly on the bow out of luck. Disappointing experience and would recommend you book with another tour provider, but if you do book with Special Tours make sure you get there early and brave the cold to get a spot on the bow.