Sierra Canine Dog Training

Sierra Canine Dog Training Reviews

Excellent rating
4.9
54 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (54)
Jaime-Leigh Laxalt
Jaime-Leigh Laxalt
2024.03.23
Knowledgeable, professional, and a big help with our pup.
Liz Tucker
Liz Tucker
2024.03.19
Courtney is the very best! She is loving and caring and has a wealth of knowledge and patience. In a few short weeks, she helped our husky rescue with her recall! We are tremendously grateful to Courtney in helping us feel like our dog is mindful and safe!
Leona Lawrence
Leona Lawrence
2024.03.18
Courtney is AMAZING! I would give her 10 stars if I could after sending our Malinois to her 5-week Board and Train program. We found a stray Belgian Malinois. He was unchipped and not claimed at the local animal shelter, so we adopted him in hopes of re-homing him. He was about 2 years old and clearly had NO obedience training whatsoever. He was a terrible leash puller, had zero recall, and was showing signs of dog reactivity. Inside our home, we had to close the blinds to our windows because he was constantly trying to attack any critters he would see outside. It was absolute chaos! My husband and I are seasoned dog owners, and this was the first time we were at a loss with how to communicate with a dog. I scheduled a phone consult with Courtney and was immediately impressed and thrilled to learn she owns three Malinois. To have a trainer who is familiar with and loves the breed was a plus! Courtney’s training philosophy was spot on for Nalak. It’s like they spoke the same language! Within a week, Courtney brought out the calm and confidence in Nalak. Every time we would meet with Courtney and Nalak for the owner training, we were amazed at how much improved Nalak was. He was engaged with his handlers, no leash pulling, could watch a dog walk by without incident, it was beyond amazing! We were so impressed with Nalak’s transformation. He went from a whirlwind of chaos to a calm, obedient dog. Courtney brought out the best in Nalak, so much so, we decided to keep him!!! Do not be dissuaded by the length of her board and train program. Trust her process, it’s truly a game changer. Courtney knows what she is doing!
Jen Nowell
Jen Nowell
2023.10.11
Courtney's board and train program was a game changer for my 2 year old rescue pit bull mix, Kirby. Poor Kirby was found 20 pounds underweight and not socialized around dogs. He is a very nervous/anxious dog who protects himself by reacting with barking, growling and resource guarding. When he is with his people, he is the goofiest, sweetest boy ever! We started training him immediately but were not having success. We were at the point of surrendering him back to the humane society, but couldn't because he's such a sweet dog and deserved the chance to be trained. Another trainer suggested Sierra Canine's board and train as our last resort, so we gave Courtney a call. Best money ever spent! After the program, Kirby came home a new dog. All of the training Courtney taught him, really made a difference in his behavior. The biggest thing I've learned from this program is it takes constant consistency and practice. One of the best perks of the board and train is the after care. Courtney is willing to meet up to work on Kirby's reactivity when we need it and has group walks to further work on issues that arise. Don't be scared off by the cost of the program. It's an investment in your dog and yourself. We've learned so much about owning a dog and being a responsible pet parent, it is invaluable!
Reply from Sierra Canine Dog Training 2023.10.12
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave me a review about your experience ❤️ Kirby is a complex guy but has so much to offer and I am so proud of his progress and your guys continual effort to improve his behavior and quality of life.
Manuela Tik
Manuela Tik
2023.09.02
Huge thanks to Courtney @Sierra Canine Training for another amazing session in the books! Courtney is fantastic and always so professional, patient, and effective! She’s trained me almost as much as she has my dog Light! :) Courtney has taught me how to train and manage Light, to be attentive to his signals and him to mine. I wouldn’t trust my goodest boi with anyone else and I’m so grateful for the progress and success he’s achieved! Thank you so much again! We look forward to the next session soon!
Reply from Sierra Canine Dog Training 2023.09.04
Sorry I’m seeing this a few days late! I’m so grateful to have worked with you both so extensively. I meant it when I said you are one of the most dedicated and consistent clients I have and it shows ❤️. #renodogs family for life!
Shaley Duplissie
Shaley Duplissie
2023.07.21
Courtney is sooo amazing! Not only as a trainer but also just as a person! She is so knowledgeable and so willing to help and be available. My pup (5 month old Great Dane) came back with so much discipline but still very much her silly self. And Courtney is so willing to help correct behaviors and listen once your dog has come home! She builds a foundation that it easy to maintain once they are home and you take over. Oh and my favorite part is if you follow her on IG she posts updates so you can see your babies❤️
Reply from Sierra Canine Dog Training 2023.08.17
Shaley! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review about your experience with me. I apologize for the late reply (google likes to hide reviews sometimes). You have gone above and beyond for Remi at a very crucial stage in her development. She is social, environmentally stable and extremely enjoyable not only because of her temperament but the training you prioritized. I hope to see you guys soon!
Anne Seward
Anne Seward
2023.06.02
After days of searching reading reviews we found Sierra Canine Training and after talking with Courtney we knew this was the one for our girl She is a Bermastiff we rescued at 3 weeks old after her mother first time mother rejected her pups and we sure had our hands full not only being young along came Covid so all the important socialization that our girl needed in her young life she did not get the chance to have So now we have this anxious large powerful dog on our hands like a car with no brakes that we are no longer in control of holding on for dear life with 2 hands and going grass ski-ing and being pulled over Scared of everything dog aggression barking at people and extremely stubborn used to using her weight Then the magic happened Courtney we put Nya into board and train initially for 4 weeks but she needed 6 weeks Courtney with her patience expertise and total love transformed our girl into having confidence and realizing the world is not so scary to having manners on the leash being able to ignore dogs and people not anxious a absolute joy to walk for the first time in a year I walked my girl with one hand and her by my side and we both felt relaxed and calm I literally cried with happiness Courtney is a incredible expert trainer that really loves working with the dogs and people puts your mind at ease straight away knowing your dog is in the best hands So if you are struggling with your dog in any way this is the place to take them it is top notch I can’t praise it enough Thank you Courtney
Reply from Sierra Canine Dog Training 2023.06.27
Thank you Anne for taking the time to write about your experience with me. Nya is apart of the Reno Dogs family for life. I appreciate your commitment to her and to the process and can’t wait to get together to train more on on one in the future!
Matt Tucker
Matt Tucker
2023.05.22
We took our newly rescued 5 year old Husky to Courtney because our wonderful dog had a well deserved reputation as an escape artist. Courtney trained her right up! We now have a dog we can take on adventures without fear of losing her in the backcountry. Not only that, but our dog loves to visit with Courtney on the occasions when we can't take her with us, and we can be sure she is in good, loving hands.
Reply from Sierra Canine Dog Training 2023.05.23
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with us. I loved my time with Kira and am so happy she is thriving with you guys after training, I knew she would! Looking forward to seeing her again!
Joshua Ellis
Joshua Ellis
2023.05.19
We used Sierra Canine for a 4 week board and train for our 2 year old Husky sisters and we are very satisfied with the results. Very professional, great dog updates during the training and good communication for the return home. Five Stars!
Reply from Sierra Canine Dog Training 2023.05.20
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with us. Kiska and Quima are RenoDogs for life!
Hunter Petersen
Hunter Petersen
2023.04.13
Alyssa is a fantastic trainer and worked wonders with our husky/GSD mix. Highly recommend this program! Our dog was lacking confidence and structure and this process helped us learn how we can advocate and support her in public as well as at home. The results have been phenomenal—you will have to put in the work following the program but we felt like we had all the support we needed to understand how we adjust our daily routine to make the changes permanent. I had been worried about spending significant sums on ineffective programs and the internet is full of horror stories about shady board and train programs. This was not our experience at all! At the end we had a happy, healthy dog and a new wealth of knowledge regarding how to keep a structured program. We also got plenty of updates and communication throughout the process as well, which was very comforting as this was by far the longest our pup had been away from us (and she’s very attached and a people person). More than anything Alyssa showed us what is possible to achieve and how to get there and stay there, and that is the absolute best thing when you’re starting out not knowing if you can tackle such seemingly hard issues with obedience and socialization. Cannot recommend this enough. Reasonably priced for how effective it is and would do it again in a heartbeat (thanks Alyssa and RenoDogs!)
Reply from Sierra Canine Dog Training 2023.05.20
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We knew this was just the start for Ladle and are so happy to hear she is thriving at home. She is welcome back anytime ❤️
April Markowski
April Markowski
2022.12.28
Sierra Canine Training is fantastic. My dog had the pleasure of working with Courtney and absolutely loves her. Courtney was able to get my dog in last minute for training and it’s crazy the amount of progress he has made. They’re also able to board the dogs that have graduate from their training which is extremely helpful. The best part of training was the photo updates!
Reply from Sierra Canine Dog Training 2022.12.28
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Reno is such a pleasure to work with as he takes his training very seriously! We always joke that one of the perks of a board and train is now a dog that can pose for photos 😅 glad you enjoyed them!
Danielle Montalvo
Danielle Montalvo
2022.12.05
Highly recommend! Our Irish Doodle, Rusty, came from a farm where he had no structure and was constantly with a sibling dog until 5 months old, when we got him. He was very nervous and had no confidence in new situations. If we told him ‘No’ he would be devastated and run away and hide. He had never been on a leash and would react to any and all people or dogs. After training with Alyssa, he is so much more confident, walks on a leash right by our sides without reacting to dogs or people, knows and follows commands and biggest of all is not scared or nervous about everything new. He also still has his goofy personality. Totally worth the investment and time away from him to have him come home and be such an amazing dog !
Reply from Sierra Canine Dog Training 2022.12.06
Thank you SO much for taking the time to write about your experience with us. Rusty is such a special boy and we really enjoyed helping him come out of his shell during his time with us. He really deserves to feel the best he can! We look forward to keeping in touch about his progress ❤️
Kelly Dawson
Kelly Dawson
2022.11.23
My dog Arthur was in need of some confidence building and consistent recall as he is made up of some independent breads. I sent him to the 4 week training program and could not be happier with the outcome! Courtney was patient with my gentle giant and provided him the consistency he needed to bring out his bravery so that he can live his best life! Arthur was never a bad guy, but now he is able to go out and have fun and I know that I can trust him to respond positively even when he is hesitant. Thank you Courtney for all you do!
Reply from Sierra Canine Dog Training 2022.11.23
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are so happy to have been able to work with Arthur and help boost his confidence and reliability! Seeing him enjoy life to the fullest with you is the best!
Taylor Schultz
Taylor Schultz
2022.11.06
Courtney did a great job with my golden retriever puppy Henry! He is now amazing to walk on a leash and great off leash as well. I definitely recommend this great program. It made my life with my dog more enjoyable.
Adry MT Guinn
Adry MT Guinn
2022.10.19
Courtney and Alyssa took our 2 beagle puppies last September for their 2-week puppy program. The result is amazing!! They both came back home love their crates, behaved well, and react positively towards command. They are still on their way to be obedient pups, but with Courtney and Alyssa help we believe those dream can be achieved! 🙏
Reply from Sierra Canine Dog Training 2022.10.19
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We have really enjoyed working with you guys. Your commitment and dedication to your dogs does not go unnoticed! ❤️
edward kjaer
edward kjaer
2022.10.04
Best damn trainers we’ve had. Our Shepherd Mastiff mix (Moose) has responded really well to Courtney’s training program. Not to mention the great advice and training she has given to us too! If you are looking to better understand and control your dog’s behavior and social skills, then look no further than Sierra Canine Training and Courtney Dill!
Reply from Sierra Canine Dog Training 2022.10.04
Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your experience with our program :) Moose is a Reno Dog for life! ❤️
Tim Richards
Tim Richards
2022.08.19
Before we contacted Sierra Canine training we were truly at our wits end with our dog Diesel. He was counter surfing, biting, unable to walk on a leash with out dragging you along, not listening to commands, couch surfing, ripping holes in the carpet and couch, barking aggressively at other people and dogs and just an overall rude dog. We had thought we did everything we could by taking him to obedience training and working with him daily on commands but nothing was curbing this behavior. We contacted Sierra Canine training and spoke to Courtney and she set us up with the amazing Alyssa!! She worked wonders with our dog Diesel. She kept us informed as to how the training was going on a weekly basis with Diesel. After our 1st meet up you could already see a dramatic change in Diesel's behavior he was respectful and followed commands. We were shocked that this was actually our dog.  When we finally got to bring our beloved Diesel dog home we were understandably nervous on how things would go but Alyssa thoroughly went over all of the training details with us and that made us feel very confident. Alyssa stated that we could contact her with any questions or concerns and when we have she has always been quick to respond and has given us some great advice and tips. Diesel is now the most well behaved dog! I can walk him for long walks and he isn't dragging me down the street or charging cars. He listens to commands now and he is a much calmer and happy dog.  If you are dealing with a dog that you are struggling with we highly recommend Sierra Canine training. Our Diesel dog is truly a member of our family and now having him act respectfully, responsibly makes him such a joy to have around!
Reply from Sierra Canine Dog Training 2022.08.19
Thank you Tim for taking the time so leave us such a nice review of your experience. Alyssa worked so hard building Diesel’s confidence and problem solving through some of his more intense behaviors. The best thing ever for both of us is to see Diesel living his best life as his best self and you guys enjoying him more because of that. It’s truly all we want and are so happy we could help! He’s welcome back anytime :)
Stephanie Garnin
Stephanie Garnin
2022.08.05
This training program is game changing and highly recommend Sierra Canine training to everyone! It has been 1 full week since Kiva has been home and she has grown and become an amazing and reliable companion. We still are following the guidelines of keeping her on leash for the next week or so, but all her commands are on point. Kiva used to be a nightmare to take on a walk or hike. We've been hiking everyday that she has been home and its been so fun and she is listening very well. Alyssa and Courtney have been such a pleasure to work with and can't thank them enough for all their help and guidance. I also highly recommend thoroughly reading the hand book and take home notes that they give you!! Thank you so much again ladies!!
Reply from Sierra Canine Dog Training 2022.08.08
Stephanie! Thank you so much for such a thoughtful review. It really was so easy and smooth working with you Gand your family. We adore Kiva! I love that you found your go home packet helpful! We appreciate the feedback a lot. Chief and her are welcome back anytime you need it! PS: love those photos of them! ❤️
Cecelia Conley
Cecelia Conley
2022.08.03
This is verryyy overdue. Our Pit Nala went to Sierra Canine’s Board & Train last year in Sept/Oct. She was a rescue who had a TON of love but was also hyper sensitive to everything. She pulled on the leash, didn’t listen consistently and would do anything she could to go after our cats. Now after the board & train program, Alyssa gave us the tools to truly enjoy Nala as the amazing dog that she is. She is engaged with us on and off leash and seems much more relaxed. Alyssa & Sierra Canine taught us how to speak her language & it was the best investment we could’ve made!
Reply from Sierra Canine Dog Training 2022.08.03
Cecilia! We love that crazy girl so much! Thanks a ton for taking the time to leave us a review about your experience!
Albert Fung
Albert Fung
2022.07.31
This review is looong overdue! A friend HIGHLY recommended Courtney. I'm glad I took a chance and drove 4 hours for the board and train program. Ninja (male Akita) started the training when he was 1.5 years old (Jan 2022). There was bite history. His coping skills weren't the best. He was quick to react under stress. Courtney was really patient in building a relationship with Ninja, and made a lot of progress within a few weeks. I loved all the updates. She was really responsive and accommodating, especially with the one-on-one training sessions during the board and train. It was very informative and thorough. Fast forward... Ninja went back for boarding (July 2022) while I was out of town. I was a bit nervous since it had been a while, but it was another amazing experience. Ninja and Courtney picked up where they left off.
Reply from Sierra Canine Dog Training 2022.08.03
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review Albert! I am so proud of how well you and Britt have followed through after he graduated. Although he had made so much progress with me while he was here initially, it is clear he has improved even more since being home with you. I’m super passionate about providing familiar and safe care for even the most difficult to handle dogs and you made his stay here easy and stress free (for everyone) due to the life changes you have made with him. I appreciate you guys so much and I know Ninja does too ❤️