Omo-Turkana Tours

www.facebook.com/experienceawayoflife

Omo-Turkana Tours Reviews

Excellent rating
5.0
56 reviews Verified
Omo-Turkana Tours
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 55 ) 5.0

Fatih Mehmet A
Fatih Mehmet A
2024.05.02
Verified
Simply awesome I had a wonderful three days, everything was great. I definitely recommend it. He really did his job well. The places we visited and the comfort were at the best level possible.
Advertisement
Rafael Palou
Rafael Palou
2024.02.07
Verified
True Omo Valley Experience Unique experience with Melak and Abyi. We spent 8 days touring the Omo Valley, we told Melak that we wanted an experience that was as pure and non-touristy as possible and for 8 days we only saw other tourists at one point. We slept camping with the Mursi, we met 9 of the main tribes of Ethiopia, we chatted, laughed and became intimate with them. I 100% recommend Melak and Abyi, they helped us with everything and in the end they became friends!
Georg M
Georg M
2024.01.28
Verified
Super Guide, super Team. Tolle, perfekt organisierte Reise. Melak und sein Team sind großartig. Ich habe selten jemanden getroffen, der so gut informiert und organisiert ist. In 7 Tagen haben wir 10 indigene Völker besucht. Das Programm war sehr erlebnisreich und abwechslungsreich. Obwohl wir einen Tag früher angekommen sind, hat uns Melak vom Flughafen abgeholt und gleich am ersten Tag einen Besuch organisiert. Toll ist auch, dass Melak und sein Team auf alle Wünsche eingehen, wenn sie machbar sind. Ein Guide, mit dem man jederzeit sicher unterwegs ist. Der Höhepunkt unserer Reise war Silvester. Wir haben eine Zeremonie (Bull Jumping) gesehen, die schon sehr beeindruckend war. Auf dem Rückweg zur Lodge mussten wir einen Fluss überqueren, aber leider blieb ein anderer Jeep im Fluss stecken und wir konnten den Fluss nicht überqueren. Es gab keinen anderen Weg zurück und so saßen wir auf der einen Seite des Flusses fest. Während viele Touristen die Nacht im Auto verbrachten, gelang es Melak, uns eine Übernachtungsmöglichkeit bei einem Stamm zu organisieren. Das war schon ein Erlebnis. Aber noch beeindruckender war, dass er und sein Team es sogar schafften, Zelte und Schlafsäcke über den Fluss zu bringen. Man merkt, dass Melak top organisiert, super vernetzt ist und immer weiß, was zu tun ist. Zu jedem indigenen Stamm hatten wir zusätzlich auch einen lokalen Guide, der die Sprache des Stamms beherrschte. Die Geländewagen war neu und sehr gut. Die ausgewählten Unterkünfte waren super. Wann immer wir wollten, konnten wir anhalten, um Kaffee zu trinken oder Fotos zu machen. Professioneller geht es nicht. Ich kann ihn uns sein Team sehr empfehlen!
Наталья Г
Наталья Г
2024.01.18
Verified
Amazing experience with Melak It was an amazing five days with Melak and his team. First of all, I would like to note that Melak himself lives in Jinka and a huge number of people in different tribes know him and everyone is happy to see him and his guests. The second thing that was also very important for us was the excellent organization of the tour, Melak always spoke in advance about our plans to visit tribes, we had a delicious breakfast and lunch in local cafes, visited local markets, and in the evening we had dinner in hotels and went to bed happy :) I have never seen such a clear organization before, especially when I bought an all-inclusive tour, but Melak did everything as if it were for itself, it was very pleasant. Huge respect for people who love their work and do it wonderfully, I will definitely recommend Melak to all my friends on a trip to Omo Valley!
NOZOMI T
NOZOMI T
2024.01.17
Verified
最高でした! たくさんの村を紹介してもらい写真を撮らせてくれ、村の方々とも交流できてとても良かったです。 ハマル族のブルジャンプを見る事が出来てとても感動しました! ガイドもドライバーもとても親切で素晴らしかったです。
Advertisement
laboueg
laboueg
2023.10.14
Verified
Visite Sud ouest de la Vallée de l'Omo (Ethiopie)) Très émouvant, troublant de rencontrer des peuples origines dans leur habitat quotidien. Bon accueil. Visite très bien organisée par Omo Turkana Tours autour de nos souhaits. Le guide Reco était à notre écoute, connaissait, anticipait et répondait à nos attentes en toute sécurité dans le respect des populations rencontrées. Très professionnel. Prix très compétitifs. Que des bonnes surprises.
Firew Girma W
Firew Girma W
2023.06.24
Verified
Omo-Turkana Tours Over the past 7 years, I have travelled to the Lower Omo Valley multiple times. I had the opportunity to visit many unique ethnic tribes who live in the Omo Valley, such as the Mursi, Bodi, Surma, Arbore, Hamar, Dime, Nyangatom, Aari, and Banna. The Lower Omo Valley is one of the most fascinating places in the World. I did most of my tours through the Omo-Turkana Tours, with Melak. I really enjoyed my tours with Melak. He is a fantastic man. He knows what to do to make his customers’ time enjoyable and memorable. Thank you brother for hosting me as well as for sharing your stories and experience!
Firew Girma Worku
Firew Girma Worku
2023.06.19
Over the past 7 years, I have travelled to the Lower Omo Valley multiple times. I had the opportunity to visit many unique ethnic tribes who live in the Omo Valley, such as the Mursi, Bodi, Surma, Arbore, Hamar, Dime, Nyangatom, Aari, and Banna. The Lower Omo Valley is one of the most fascinating places in the World. I did most of my tours through the Omo-Turkana Tours, with Melak. I really enjoyed my tours with Melak. He is a fantastic man. He knows what to do to make his customers’ time enjoyable and memorable. Thank you brother for hosting me as well as for sharing your stories and experience!
Uğur Kola
Uğur Kola
2023.02.10
Verified
Güzel insan! Melak harika bir insan. Onunla 3 gün boyunca omo vadisinde gezdik. Tek başıma göremeyeceğim yerleri bana gösterdi ve gezdirdi. Sizlerde mutlaka Melak ile bu eşsiz deneyimi yaşamalısınız. Çok arkadaş canlısı ve çok yardımsever. Sizi rahat ettirmek için elinden gelen her şeyi yapıyor. Çok teşekkürler Melak!
Advertisement
Andrea Marchan
Andrea Marchan
2022.12.23
Verified
OMO Valley, an other world Really nice experience! I was a in a rush on my trip but we managed to visit a lot and enjoy with the locals during 4 days. We changed our plans during the trip but was a great visit. In each tribe we had an other local guide to explain about the tribe (each of them has different lenguage) and we had no problems with the communication. Visiting this areas is not easy and there is lots to see. He know very well the area and its a well experienced guy. Thanks so much for everything!
Mursi Ethiopia Tour jinka
Mursi Ethiopia Tour jinka
2022.12.13
SoloTraveler1111
SoloTraveler1111
2022.11.28
Verified
A local guide you can trust First I have to say what an Omo trip with Melak was. The Omo valley typically needs 5 days. Due to my day's limitation, I only have 3 days. Melak and I had many communications to come up with the best plan. He was very flexible and was able to adjust the price accordingly. Finally, I visited 5 tribes. Of the two are rarely visited by tourists. Luckily I had the chance to see the bull jumping and the stick boys. The two highlights are camping with a tribe and a tribe family. He was born and grow up in the local. He is very proud of the local culture. He has the passion to show us his pride. He is a very energized young man. He knows almost half the town of people. People seem to like him. It is good for the tourists like me. He knows the place and people. It ensured I would not miss any good ones for my three days trip. That said, if you want to pick up a local guide for hiking, HE IS THE ONE.
Marco A
Marco A
2022.11.10
Verified
OMO Valley, an unforgettable travel experience I booked a 5-day trip for solo trip with Melak, owner of OMO-Turkana Tours. We visit more than 6 tribes in 5 days and lots of interesting places on our way. A really breathtaking adventure. I had the best guide and the best vehicle, a great 4x4. Melak perfectly planned the whole trip for me. He is a very experienced local guide. He showed me not only the well-known places but also hidden interesting places that not many people know. The tour itinerary was excellently planned including stops in amazing villages and lodges, which enhanced my holiday with excellent food and great amenities. Thanks to Melak who arranged all of this! This has to be the best experience ever. I would recommend Omo-Turkana Tours to anyone. Avoid middleman commissions. You work directly with Malek, who is a local guide. Hi is from Jinka, and knows very well the place and the people around it. A full experience is 100% guaranteed. Thanks for the awesome time!
Advertisement
Bora A
Bora A
2022.09.28
Verified
An Unforgettable Experience Ethiopia is the birthplace of humanity and I had the chance of visiting Omo Valley to see some of the most unique life forms and humans of our world. Melak is an excellent guide. He did a great job arranging everything A to Z from hotels to 4x4 SUV to meals. He was very flexible with the itinerary as far as pick up and drop off cities. We used dirt roads to visit some of the most unreachable tribes. Some of which have not even been visited by tourists before. There are over 16 different tribes living in the Omo Valley. Each tribe speaks their own language. Melak also knows the local guides that can speak each tribe's language which helped us communicate and understand the culture during these visits. I was lucky to see a bull jumping ceremony, enjoy a sorghum beer with the king of the Konso tribe and eat fish with the Kwegu. I highly recommend Melak and Omo - Turkana Tours if you are planning to visit Omo Valley.
Igor K
Igor K
2022.02.01
Verified
Mind shifting tour Melak and his team made fantastic trip. We have visited 10 tribes for 7 days. And once we have agreed on a price,, everything was totally included. We hd no worries about tips for photos in the villages as Melak covered everything. He loves people, he loves people in tribes, he is one of the guys in every tribe. That really helps. He organized evening dine in the tribe with the goat meat. Very authentic and unique. Everything was perfectly arranged - good 4W car, best restaurants and hotels. Before our visit Melak communicated very fast and very professional. We developed the program and adjusted for our needs. We became friends, and he became very special and important part of our impression of Ethiopia.
Jason d
Jason d
2021.03.19
Verified
Omo-Turkana Tours 2021 - AWESOME EXPERIENCE ! My great friend and guide Melak never disappoints ! I planned a last minute tour with his company and he organized all of my journey desires with an amazing fair rate. He is a very informative guide with years of experience in the tourism industry. During my trip, we visited various tribes in the Kibosh region of Ethiopia. I was so happy to finally meet the Suri people with their unique customs and eccentric fashion style. We camped out under the stars each night and i was immersed into the culture through Melak's knowledge and introduction to various people and activities while there. More importantly, Melak ensured my safety during these (uncertain times) and ensured my proper to/from the airport. Thank you for Everything Melak & Team
Alex
Alex
2021.03.03
Verified
Great experience Great trip! Thanks, Melak and your team! Tribes are so beautiful and unforgettable! My highly recommended
Advertisement
Solayke Anwar
Solayke Anwar
2020.12.21
recommends
The Pioneer Authentic gate to the unexplored corners of the omo valley.
Константин
Константин
2020.11.09
Verified
Незабываемо❤️ Мы искали долго этих прекрасных ребят. На просторах интернета информации крайне мало. Есть русскоязычные гиды. Но мы нашли только двоих и просят они очень высокую стоимость. Затем я нашел статью нашей русской девушки журналиста про южных народов Африки, связался с ней, она мне подсказала сайт английский, где люди делятся информацией с контактами. И так по шагам добрался до гидов Африки. Нашел около 10 контактов. Написал им везде где можно. Откликнулись только четверо и одним из них был Melak. Чему я очень рад😊. С этим человеком Вы сможете посмотреть Африку глазами её жителя. Его знают много людей. Все его очень любят и тепло встречают его гостей. Желаю Вам приятного незабываемого путешествия❤️
RICARDO BAZAN
RICARDO BAZAN
2020.03.20
Reply from Omo-Turkana Tours 2020.07.24
Thanks so much you are very respectful traveler