Dolphin Beach House

www.dolphinbeach.ie

Dolphin Beach House Reviews

Excellent rating
5.0
257 reviews Verified
Dolphin Beach House
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 257 ) 5.0

Niall C
Niall C
2020.09.28
Verified
Staycation!! Thanks to Clodagh for a great stay in August with our family. The house is fabulous & located on the beautiful Sky road in Clifden. We really enjoyed the access to the cove beach where many a morning swim was had and the Kids enjoyed hunting for crabs / fish in the rock pools. Highly recommend for a week away and already booked again for next year!!
Advertisement
BER H
BER H
2020.09.21
Verified
A wonderful week Had a magical week in Cliften Dolphin Guest House We were greeted by Clodagh a lovely lady who introduced us to our home for the week All 8 bedrooms on suite and each one more beautiful than the other with spectacular sea views a true haven Kitchen well equipped and spotless sunroom with spectacular views and 2 comfortable family rooms Plenty ot eclectic reading a true gem in Connemara Absolutely superb Ber Healy
Sandra M
Sandra M
2019.09.22
Verified
Nice Bed and breakfast for s short break Stayed here for a couple of nights on a short break in August. Nice place near to the beach. Room and breakfast very nice. Breakfast room lovely with a great outlook The owners were friendly and helpful if we had any questions. No TV in the bedroom. Drive to the b & B is a little challenging as it is on a one track cliff road - completely doable but not for the faint hearted
CostaRicaSue
CostaRicaSue
2019.09.11
Verified
A People Friendly Place We just completed our 2 night stay at the Dolphin Beach House. What a lovely place to stay!!! The views are fantastic and Clodagh really makes her guests feel at home! The rooms are nicely appointed and clean. The breakfast is plentiful and there are several choices of cooked to order items to choose from in addition to cheeses, cereals, fruits and breads. The living room is a very comfy place to read a book and enjoy the fire or just sit and enjoy the view of the coast line. However, be sure to arrive during the day as the drive up the one lane road for the last mile is a little bit intimidating , especially if you’re a Newby to driving on the left. But, if I did it so can you and IT’S WORTH IT !
Barbara C
Barbara C
2019.08.25
Verified
Would stay here again The stay at Dolphin Beach was lovely, starting with the warm welcome we received upon arrival. The hotel is rustic and driving to it along the one lane, two-way Road is at first daunting, but definitely worth the trip. The room was spacious with a new bathroom with walk-in shower. The breakfast was copious and delicious. And the attention given to each guest by the staff was excellent. The view from the dining room and the rooms on the bay side is beautiful.
Advertisement
Corinna22
Corinna22
2019.08.19
Verified
Beautiful, romantic, mythical Beautiful little hotel with very cute owners who make you feel at home immediately. Incredible location right at the sea at a very far away location - all alone on a little hill next to the sea Incredible view from the breakfast room and the little living room
nilfab
nilfab
2019.08.18
Verified
B&B mit sehr schönen Zimmer, toller Lage und freundlichem Service Das B&B liegt an der der sehr schönen aber auch an vielen Stellen enorm engen Sky Road. Allein die Anfahrt ist schon ein kleines Abenteuer. Das B&B liegt etwas außerhalb von Clifden, zu Fuß ist die Innenstadt nur durch einen sehr langen Marsch zu erreichen. Vor dem Haus des B&B gibt es ausreichend Parkplätze. Der Empfang war sehr herzlich, wir haben uns sofort wohlgefühlt und bekamen ein tolles, sehr großes Zimmer mit Meerblick. Im Zimmer fehlte es an nichts. Ausreichend Handtücher, alle nötigen Bad-Artikel im Badezimmer vorhanden, selbst ein großer Fön. Toll: wir verbrachten zwei Nächte dort und das Bett in unserem Zimmer wurde wie im Hotel im Laufe des Tages gemacht. Das B&B verfügt über einen eigenen Zugang zum Meer. Die Inhaberin stand uns bei der Planung unserer Ausflüge und Aktivitäten sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit zur Seite. Das Frühstück, mit Blick aufs Meer, war ebenfalls sehr gut. Aus einer kleinen Speisekarte konnte man sich sein Frühstück zusammenstellen. Neben Lachs zum Ei (in allen erdenklichen Formen) gab es auch Pancakes, Irish Breakfast und einheimischen Fisch (Hering).
Roisin K
Roisin K
2019.08.13
Verified
A little haven Had a great 2 night stay. Room and facilities are great. Very comfy bed! Lovely sittings rooms to relax in and enjoy the view. Lovely breakfast. Loved the small private beach that is only 2 mins walk. From the moment you enter the tree covered driveway and see the sea you are instantly relaxed. The gardens are lovely too! And most of all Clodagh the host is fabulous!
thomas76ch
thomas76ch
2019.08.11
Verified
Super Lage mit genialer Aussicht beim Frühstück Das wirklich wunderschöne B&B liegt etwas ausserhalb, ist aber mit seiner Lage mit perfekter Aussicht - vorallem beim Frühstück - ein echtes Highlight. Die Gastgeberin Clodagh war super freundlich, hat uns mit vielen Tips geholfen und auch die Restaurant reserviert sowie Pub empfehlungen ausgesprochen, welche nicht zu toppen waren. Unser kleines gemütliches Zimmer "White Lady" war gemütlich, romantisch und einfach wunderschön sowie ruhig. Würden jederzeit wieder kommen.
Advertisement
195Suzanne
195Suzanne
2019.08.10
Verified
Beautiful location, wonderful room, excellent service! We loved the Dolphin Beach House. The location was magical, breakfast delicious, room wonderful. It is the perfect location for adventuring into the outstanding landscape of the Connomara. We couldn't have had a better location and the vice was beautiful.
Joep O
Joep O
2019.07.28
Verified
Beautiful location and nice place to relax Nice and clean room with a view of a garden with lots of flowers and the water. Nice and fresh breakfast and good service from the hostess. There is much to see in the area and beautiful nature. Beautiful location and nice place to relax.
Gillian F
Gillian F
2019.07.20
Verified
A quirky,delightful place to stay in a great location with charming host. Such a good B & B. Our room was spacious with inside and outside seating and views to the sea. Breakfasts were a delight, a lovely room with views all round, great range of food and everything well cooked to order. A lovely lounge for guests on the upper floor with views over the gardens and sea. Clodagh was friendly, helpful, and lovely to chat with. She gave us many good ideas for trips out and places to eat in Clifden. Although only about 15 minutes from Clifden (which is a very nice small town) Dolphin Beach House seems so isolated and peaceful - lovely for a quiet break.
kathyboy
kathyboy
2019.06.19
Verified
Tippy-top of the Sky Road; Tippy-top B&B I agree with the previous review (hi Sue!). We stayed at Dolphin Beach House for five nights, June 4-June 9. Clodagh Foyle is the heart and soul of this place. She corresponded with us prior, gave recommendations for other places we were visiting, and greeted us with her great good humor and lilting language (which I loved) when we arrived. We had a crazy-great time in Ireland for 16 days, but I'm kind of going for this experience might have been tippy-top. Our room was lovely, like a child's getaway room, with slanted roof, and windows on either side, one to the mountains, and one to the sea. There was a large bathroom with its own skylight. There was a white horse with her young one, and a brown cow with hers. There was a placid, stony beach where we spent most mornings, lolling about, waiting to change into selkies. There was Clodagh herself, always kind and helpful, and fun. There were Clodagh's breakfasts with a la carte offerings, and a round table with scones and breads and fruits and cereals and yogurt. Perfectly cooked eggs and bacon, scrambled eggs with salmon, and a porridge I heard one visitor say was the best she'd tasted, and she'd had porridge every day in Ireland. There was Sky Road, Lower and Upper, which we were finally brave enough to circle on night #3. Unbelievable views, and scary driving. A rainbow, double!!!, over the sea. I had to stop the car at the narrowest part of Lower Sky Road to snap a photo. Like a portent of the perfect place. And there was Clifden, the town, lively and friendly. And there was the Clifden Boat Club, halfway down the road toward town. With its kind patrons who befriended us and took us sailing with some of the finest sailors in Ireland! And the Boardwalk Café there where Simon served up scrumptious food and fellowship. This was Clifden for us, and we loved it. Thanks, Clodagh. It was awesome staying in your world.
Advertisement
Gabi111222
Gabi111222
2019.06.14
Verified
Mit Abstand das beste B&B was wir in 12 Tagen Rundreise hatten Dieses Hotel ist ein Highlight. Wunderbare große Zimmer, schöne Ausstattung, großes Bad. Man kann runter in die Bucht gehen oder sich auf den Terassenstühlen sonnen. Das Frühstück wird mit einem wunderbaren Ausblick auf die Bucht, eingenommen. Es wird ein warmes Frühstück zubereitet. Wir wurden sehr freundlich empfangen. Allerdings ist die Straße zum Hotel ein kleines Abenteuer, weil sie einspurig ist. Aber das würde uns nicht davon abhalten dieses Hotel nochmal zu buchen
susan m
susan m
2019.06.09
Verified
Absolutely terrific stay! We have stayed in many b n b ‘s and this particular one was one of our best. Yes the room was big and lovely and yes the breakfasts were just delicious and abundant and yes the view from this House was a million dollar view but best of all was the proprietor, Clodagh. She was the sweet most accommodating , most helpful , and simply made our stay that much special.
Compass216367
Compass216367
2019.05.04
Verified
Retreat on the sky drive. Our hostess Cloddagh, was delightful. Breakfast abundant and fresh. We stayed in the Cove room which had a beautiful view. The location can’t be beat. On the beautiful sky drive yet just10 minutes out of Clifden where you can find several great spots to eat. If need be you can get a cab take you round trip for about 27 euro. Worth it to spare you the drive back after dark.
adi4adi
adi4adi
2018.09.16
Verified
Amazing b&b We have just stayed for 4 nights. We were 3 and reserved the crooked room which is the bigger one. As we arrived we were upgraded to 2 rooms - the original one to me and my wife, and a smaller one (Fucsia) to our son. This was a generous gesture! Setting is amazing, just off lower Sky Road with magnificent ocean view.  Clodaugh, the hostess is friendly, energetic and very helpful. Breakfast is great with a la carte selection of main dish - we tried all options which were great. Everything (but the weather..) was perfect! We will surely recommend this b&b to anyone arriving to Connemara area
Advertisement
Greg7210
Greg7210
2018.08.26
Verified
Très belle escale au calme dans le Connermara Situé en bord de mer près du village de Clifden dans le Connemara, ce B&B se trouve le long de la "Sky road" (à 5mns du village en voiture), très jolie petite route faisant le tour d'une presqu'île. Parking gratuit. La parc national du Connemara et la superbe abbaye de Kylemore sont à 10-15 mns de voiture. Superbes chambres de grande taille avec vues sur mer et grandes baies vitrées. Atmosphère très clame, aucun bruit autre que la nature. Quel plaisir de se réveiller la matin avec la mer quasiment à ses pieds ! Lits très confortables et salle de bain très vaste également avec douche à l'italienne (et baignoire également). Le petit déjeuner est très bon (continental ou Irish, au choix mais je recommande les pancakes !) et très copieux, servi dans une salle baignée par le soleil le matin (il y a également une terrasse mais compte tenu des températures le matin elle n'était semble-t-il pas ouverte pour le petit déjeuner). Les hôtes sont très sympathiques. Le Wifi dans les chambres marche très mal, il faut se rendre dans le salon.
tilluna
tilluna
2018.08.12
Verified
What a place - absolutely beautiful What a place to stay - breathtaking views, close to the ocean (not swimming...), extremely nice hosts, great service and great breakfast. Very nice rooms. All perfect. It is out of town though, about 15 minutes drive on a small countryroad. But: absolutely quiet!!!!
Leocrafts
Leocrafts
2018.08.08
Verified
2 nachten in de Green Room Vanuit Clifden moet je een heel smal weggetje naar boven met prachtig uitzicht over het water - wel uitkijken voor tegenliggers! Dolphin Beach house ligt op een prachtige locatie met een schitterend uitzicht. Comfortabele kamers, mooie ontbijzaal en vriendelijk medewerkers die er alles aan doen om je thuis te laten voelen. Versgemaakt ontbijt, warme gerechten op bestelling, het buffet staat klaar om gebruikt te worden met ontbijtgranen, scones, vers fruit en yoghurt. Gemeenschappelijke ruimte waar de wifi beter is dan in de kamers, maar wij hebben op de kamer spelletjes gedaan, het was ondertussen net te koud om van het tuinsetje gebruik te maken. Clifden overigens ook een gezellig plaatsje met een aantrekkelijke lokale boekenwinkel.