Mulgrave Country Cottage

Mulgrave Country Cottage Reviews

Excellent rating
4.6
104 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (103)
William B
William B
2024.02.22
Verified
Birthday trip to sandsend My wife and I visited to celebrate our birthdays which are on following days The accommodation exceeded our expectations ,this is a hidden gem a period property furnished appropriately ,we were greeted by Jasmine who was friendly and professional .the breakfast had a good selection and was very enjoyable .we shall return when in the area . Bill Brown ,Leeds
Advertisement
Lynda Hunter
Lynda Hunter
2024.02.21
My friends and I had a marvellous stay at Mulgrave Cottage. A warm welcome awaited us, and our wonderful host Jasmine gave us a fantastic knowledgeable history talk on the house and surrounding area.Our room was lovely warm and clean.The breakfast was the best 👌 Will definitely go back.
Trip type
Vacation
Friends
Location
Rooms
Service
Adventure64027281945
Adventure64027281945
2023.12.10
Verified
Lovely place Amazing place to stay. So many thoughtful little extras. Breakfast was lovely and we were made to feel very welcome. Hidden away in the woods but only a short walk into town and to the beach. Ideal for walking the coast paths.
Louise Nolan
Louise Nolan
2023.11.13
Absolutely lovely stay The hosts were very attentive and accommodating. Our room was exceptionally clean and well-appointed. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice. Would definitely stay again 💯
Trip type
Vacation
Family
Location
Rooms
Service
Sez
Sez
2023.09.14
Verified
A lovely peaceful stay. A gem of a find! We were visiting Whitby but wanted to stay somewhere away from the bustle of the town. Only 3 miles away down a little lane near Sandsend beach was Mulgrave Country Cottage, set in woodlands it was so peaceful and completely unpretentious. A lovely lounge and large bedrooms. Blaine and Jasmin were so helpful and provided a delicious breakfast. Would definitely stay again.
Advertisement
donnysoutherner
donnysoutherner
2023.09.10
Verified
A really lovely stop on the Cleaveland Way A really lovely quiet spot. A beautiful garden with a stream at the end. A short walk outside Sandsend. Lovely room and breakfast with fresh fruit , coffee, full English and other choices Very friendly staff. Being picky; maybe bigger and softer towels would be good! And as with everywhere, more milk for tea in the rooms!
jamie
jamie
2023.08.17
Verified
The perfect relaxing stay Everything was perfect from start to finish the hospitality perfect the rooms and breakfast perfect and not our first time and not our last. Perfect base for fossil hunting along the coast and a visit to The Fish Cottage highly recommended.
KMP
KMP
2023.08.06
Verified
First Anniversary weekend Thank you. It was for our first wedding anniversary. A weekend away. It was all just perfect, quiet, clean, the service, the people who ran it were so courteous. Would highly recommend to everyone. A hidden gem. Thank you
Robert Kanalas
Robert Kanalas
2023.07.16
A beautiful country house and surrounding gardens. Delicious breakfast and friendly host. A perfect place to relax. Would definitely recommend and visit again x
Trip type
Vacation
Family
Location
Rooms
Service
Advertisement
Fiona C
Fiona C
2023.07.02
Verified
Great stay in a beautiful location Beautiful property set in a stunning location. You receive a warm welcome from the hosts. We stayed in room 5 a big room with very large bathroom and access to a balcony area - nice place to sit on a summer evening listening to nature. There was a welcome tray with tea/coffee/biscuits and bottle of iced water, as well as a coffee machine. The room was cleaned to a very high standard. Breakfast was really nice and plentiful with something for everyone - fruit yoghurt fruit juice cereal toast as well as various hot options cooked to your preference and all tasty. Owners kindly let you park your car ahead of check in. We explored nearby Sandsend a quaint village with a lovely beach and walked the 2 miles or so to nearby Whitby. You can also walk through Mulgrave woods on the weekend. Would recommend to stay here.
Debra H
Debra H
2023.06.13
Verified
Disappointed not luxury experience. Very over priced. Our stay was definitely not luxury. We had booked room with balcony but on arrival we’re told this was not available. Our bedroom was big but lacking any of the usual touches like box of tissues, book explaining all about the hotel etc. The bathroom was tiny, with no towel rail and no room for our toilet bag. The floor and walls in the bathroom were cheap plastic. The bed creaked at the slightest movement which kept my wife awake. We were give a bottle of water on arrival which was obviously a bottle re-filled and did not look clean. Breakfast which is described as luxury was terrible. Our cooked breakfast arrived and consisted of one slice of bacon, one extremely cheap peppery sausage, tiny amount of mushrooms, tomato again budget and a very pale, soggy evidently straight from the freezer hash brown. Toast was the cheap supermarket bread and we were given one small piece of butter which was for 2 of us. We were offered hot water to pour onto our used tea bags rather than a fresh pot. I do not feel that our stay was worth the price we had to pay and was definitely a cheap budget hotel. Definitely would not stay again.
Gill C
Gill C
2023.06.13
Verified
Very disappointing in every way (other than the gorgeous location) Premium price, budget experience. · We were so disappointed from the start. We chose this for a special occasion and paid a premium (for us). We booked a room with a balcony but were allocated garden view. Were told that is what we had booked and we couldn’t be moved and to take it up with booking.com as they were having problems with the booking site. The room itself was large but we would not consider it “luxury” the bathroom had cheap plastic panelling instead of tiles. We were supplied with towels but there was no towel rail so nowhere to put them. The bed was large and fairly comfy but the pillows were hard and the bed squeaked very loudly every time either of us moved. This kept me awake a lot of the night. I mentioned this to the staff who replied they didn’t know about this as no one had told her. It is common for metal framed beds to squeak if they are not maintained (oiled and tightened) regularly so this was not acceptable. The room was lacking in the “the little niceties” of luxury rooms. The hospitality tray was very basic and water was supplied in a refillable bottle which didn’t look very clean and goodness knows when it was refilled. There wasn’t any information in the room and we were told that the TV was on a firestick and of course “you can work that out can’t you”! Other reviewers have rated the breakfast a outstanding but we were not impressed at all. We stayed in 4 different places this holiday and the breakfast at Mulgrave was the worst (and the place the most expensive). The ingredients were so budget, the beans were watery, the tomatoes had no flavour, the sausages weren’t were very peppered (usually the case for cheap sausages - disguises flavour), the mushroom portion was tiny and the bread from a cheap supermarket type loaf. There was one tiny Pat of butter on the table which when we asked for more we were scowled at. The continental selection was more limited than you would expect from a luxury place. No pastries etc. we were offered hot water to reuse teabags!
Carol Leat
Carol Leat
2023.05.15
Lovely welcome , superb setting and delicious breakfast . The house is absolutely gorgeous with a warm and friendly atmosphere and idyllic setting , but it's a little tired in places and whilst our room was warm, clean and cosy, the decor was in need of some TLC. Otherwise this place is perfect 🥰.
Trip type
Vacation
Location
Rooms
Service
Advertisement
AliBlun
AliBlun
2023.05.15
Verified
Beautiful property in a stunning location. Set in a beautiful location this property is a lovely place to stay for a quiet relaxing break. Sandsend is a great base to explore this part of the coast with Whitby, Runswick Bay and Staithes not far at all and easily reached by car or the regular bus. Pub for evening meals within short walk. We stayed in Room 5 which has a large spacious bathroom. The cellar bar mentioned in reviews last year was not open during our stay which was a little disappointing as the property is quite remote. It would have been nice to enjoy a tea/coffee or tipple in the stunning lounge area. Breakfast was good but would benefit from a few pastries perhaps. Pleasant outdoor balcony area with our room.
Darren Hirst
Darren Hirst
2023.05.14
Trip type
Vacation
Family
Location
Rooms
Service
jamie
jamie
2023.05.02
Verified
Simply perfection From start to finish perfect, jasmine welcomed us at the door and was so attentive showed us to our perfect room as was available throughout our stay. The grounds are fantastic and the wildlife including the deer and we couldn’t leave out the goats down the drive lovely. Short walk beside the stream we went to the Seafood cottage fantastic food and service oh and some wine. Breakfast perfect great full English and the salmon and poached eggs. We will be back very soon
Mavis
Mavis
2023.04.17
Verified
Disappointed 😔 We had big expectations of this accommodation from the website and prices charged . However soon let down by the smell in the bathroom ( cat pee) was told by on-site manager “it’s an old building “ several times after their attempts to rectify the issue . Coupled with mosquitoes in the room , told due to possible “stagnant water” in the bathroom , was given fly spray? Bedroom . Needs TLC chipped paint , dirty carpet , ceiling peeling . Poor drinks selection , water provided in a glass bottle , this appeared to of refilled not fresh or sealed. Breakfast . Good choice , however salmon poor quality poached egg over cooked . Overall we was very disappointed in our stay , lovely surroundings silt by accommodation , feel more attention needed to warrant the prices .
Advertisement
Emma B
Emma B
2023.03.12
Verified
Birthday weekend away Mulgrave country cottage is a little gem down a little track from the beach. Jasmin is a lovely host made us feel really welcome and the breakfast was really good too, lots of fresh fruit and a delicious full Yorkshire breakfast, a perfect place to spend your weekend, we will definitely be back! Thank you xx
Juli Shep
Juli Shep
2023.03.05
Our second visit and once again not disappointed. Now being run by Jasmin who was lovely and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was just perfect. Delicious breakfast and gorgeous rooms. Can’t wait to return.
Location
Rooms
Service
Colin Silverwood
Colin Silverwood
2023.02.20
Excellent in every respect
Trip type
Vacation
Location
Rooms
Service